We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to go home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We, my partner and out 2 young children stayed here for a week in 2011 and we loved it!!! The staff from the pool attendant to the recepionists were all wonderful and they were 5 star!!! All very helpful and mannerly with a smile! I have been looking at booking a holiday for next year as 2011 was out last holiday and we have decided to go back to the Porto Bello Royal as we still talk about the boat trip around the Island and the trip to Bodrun as well as those pools!!! We had a room at the back of the Hotel with a sea view and if we could change anything it would be the room to the front of us as they had pool access so next time as this means we could go for a swim straight from the room at night while the children slept and the other partner watched from the Balcony and vice versa. We had a fabulous holiday in Kos and loved everything about it, the only downside was having to leave so soon so 2 weeks next year!!! Thank you all!!! xxxxx
PS the Hotel had ethernet,
and Wifi in the Hotel but not in the rooms.

Room Tip: If you love to swim then get a room with direct pool access so you can literally go from your room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review!

I just would like to inform you that some things have improved since 2011 and we are very excited to host you again and to hear your opinion from your next stay with us!

See you next year then....

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for two weeks with my girlfriend. The food is excellent and this is probably where it gets the 5* from. Hotel looks amazing, probably the best looking hotel I have stayed in. What lets this hotel down is the lack of evening entertainment I am afraid. We watched 1 show in the Theatre and this was the worst show I have seen in a hotel. I've stayed in 2* hotels with better shows! The whole theatre thing doesn't work either, there is no bar so why would you want to spend the evening there? Why don't they dispose of one of the pools and have its own stag by the pool bar? However, we did enjoy the piano man, thought he was really good.

Italian restaurant was our favourite, followed closely by the Greek restaurant. Rooms were okay, but we only was in our room to sleep so wasn't bothered with what they looked like. However, the lack of English channels annoyed us a little when we relaxed before dinner time.

Apart from that we enjoyed our two weeks but probably wouldn't go back due to the entertainment issues.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mclark1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback.

I am really sorry that you didn't enjoy our evening entertainment.. We are working very hard on improvements and if you could give as another chance I am sure you would enjoy it during your next stay.

I am glad to read your opinion about the food and especially our Italian Restaurant- our chef will be delighted!

Thank you once more for your comments and we do hope to see you again at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

now let me start by saying im not one to bore you with what the soup was like on my second day of the holiday, or how the the bar lady had her fringe thursday afternoon, so if thats is what your after, please stop reading now!

first of all, check in. this was handled smoothly and superbly, i am even considering recommending my local post office send there staff here for training, as they may be able to process my many weekly parcels a lot more efficiently. the silver fox who checked me in went by the name nikos, and as he checked me in, my wife checked him out, he was such a lovely character, so full of whim and charm, and even cracked a topical joke which i enjoyed and also found myself chuckling to through out that evening.

we were then whisked away to our room by manolis in his speedy little golf buggy, i felt like the pope in his pope-mobile, the service was first class. he even stopped to pick my wife a wild flower that was growing in the beautiful hotel gardens, and made a comparison to how the wild red of the petals matched her ginger barnet, she was ever so taken a back and flattered.

we entered our room, which i had decided to upgrade to a suite to celebrate the day that i divorced my first wife and met my current wife, and boy did that score me some browine points with the current wife. we had an amusing picture of some animals playing poker on the wall, and i thought to myself they dont even have aposable thumbs, how is that even possible!? but that was just one of the homely touches in the room, and i also like how the maid decided to rearrange my collection of rare vintage flip flops on a daily basis in a different order which certainly gave me and the wife something to converse over when we retired to the balcony for a spot of pimms. the room was of ample size, i imagine a small gypsy tribe would have had plenty of room to squat in there if their current land site was taken away from them

the food in all of the restaurants was, to put it simply, food-a-licious (dont care if its not even a word, it sums up my emotions) there was such a wide variety every single day, my only complaint would be the plates were too small for my hearty appetite. i also enjoyed the fact there was an on site ice cream parlour which i could help myself to, a stark contrast to when i was younger and mother only let me have ice cream if i helped bathe grandma on a sunday evening.

the staff around the hotel were nothing but delights to meet, i do have a few special mentions;
first of all the restaurant manager, i never did catch his name so i shall refer to him as simon for this review. he ran his restaurant how i imagine mo farah runs marathons, efficiently, sensibly and well planned out. i never did see him smile, but that was a good thing as he always looked like he was thinking up new ways to to rearrange the knives and forks. three cheers for simon.

next is a special lady who goes by the name jo, the thomson rep. on the third day of my holiday my wife was taken aback to realise she had left her favourite brand of custard creams at home, and she selflessly drove to the supermarket and got her some. she was also a whizz when it came to setting up my wifi, so i could read over the daily minutes from local neighbour hood watch meetings i had left mr jenkins in charge of in my absence. i left her my blue peter badge as a token of my appreciation for her help through out our stay.

a final shout out to the bar staff through out the hotel. now being a person who suffers from ocd, i emailed the hotel a week before i arrived to let them know all of my ice cubes must be perfect squares, and low and behold, every one was! i shared multiple jokes and puns with the whitty bar staff up in the lobby bar, and they always kept my gin and juice topped up to perfection.

we did the thomson day out to the volcanic island of nyssiros, which was a blinding treat, the guide ester was amazing, i was half tempted to leave my wife in the volcanic crater and make ester the 3rd mrs jasper trumpington, but alas, she managed to climb out.

a minor niggle of my holiday, although not down to the hotel. you get one bunch everytime you go away, and they are commonly known as complaining clives. you know the type, the ones who seem to get more satisfaction out of moaning the grass isnt soft enough or that the sea isnt as blue as in the photos etc, rather than actually enjoying themselves. a prime example being people saying the hotel was not 5 star, complaining they didnt have a kettle in the room and such. if the hotel does not advertise such facility then please realise it will not be provided, do a bit of research before you come away like i do, and if a missing kettle is the reason you believe a hotel should be downgraded from a 5 star to a 4 star then you seriously need to be banned from coming on holiday.

one final shout out is to my homedawg spiros, the hotel shuttle bus driver. he made my escapes into kardamena to go disco dancing with all the young chicks away from my wife that much easier with the frequent free coach they put on 8 times a day, you saved me many a time over the 2 weeks.

so all in all, id give this holiday a special golden star, a rating of 10 on a scale of 1 to 10 and high five for awesomeness.

i have already recommended mr jenkins take a well earnt break here after he covered my neighbour hood watch shifts and had to deal with those ruffians down on brook lane after they gratified rudes words all over the childs play den in the park. he deserves it, and the hotel is just the place you can get away to and relieve yourself of the stresses of chorley.

thank you and good night

Room Tip: all the good rooms and a bed and a door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
26  Thank jasperblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

What can I say now? How can possibly write an official reply to you?

Thank you so much for probably the most hilarious and amazing review we have ever received!

I am so grateful that you and your wife have had an enjoyable stay with us, and the only thing I am sad about is the fact that I didn't have an opportunity to meet you in person... which I truly hope for in the future!

Thank you for recommending our hotel to Mr. Jenkins (:-)!

If you are planning to visit us again, please contact me direct at info@portobelloroyal.gr- it would be my great pleasure to make unforgettable your next holiday with us.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from two truly unforgettable weeks at the stunning Portobello Royal Hotel on the beautiful Greek island of Kos. (This wasn’t just our first visit to the Portobello Royal, it was also our first time in Greece.) The wonderful ‘village’ layout makes the Hotel seem much ‘smaller’ than it actually is and it was only when sitting in the Lounge Bar after dinner that you realised just how many people were also staying there!! (There is so much room around the numerous pools within the Hotel itself and also down at the beach. It’s only a shame that people don’t respect the Hotel’s request NOT to reserve sun loungers around the pools...) Given the scale of the resort we had both expected that the Hotel would be rather impersonal. How wrong were we?? We were both delighted to discover that it is in fact the complete opposite as we found the Portobello Royal to be the most personable Hotel we have ever stayed at. We made friends with so many of the staff, ALL of whom made our two weeks there so very, very special. Those that we wish to single out for extra special praise are the following:

To begin with we thank the ‘Dream Team’ of Nikos and Mirela at the Reception: the pair of them were the most welcoming, professional and entertaining reception staff we have ever encountered on our travels. At the Main Restaurant we were greeted at each and every meal time by the Maitre D’ Fotis Koklas. He worked all day, every day throughout our stay yet his professionalism and good humour remained undiminished throughout. Fotis is a true star!! He was ably assisted by his two ‘Captains’ Vasso and Katerina. Out of all the fabulous waiters/waitresses in the main restaurant we have to single out the husband and wife team of Kosmin & Mirabella together with Rada and Rosita. (Rosita also served in the Lounge Bar. She is a fantastic waitress and we were both amazed to learn that she had only been at the Hotel a matter of a few weeks.) At the Lounge Bar we were served throughout our Holiday by George and (mainly) by the beautiful Kornelia, our special little girl. At the Beach Bar I forged a FANTASTIC relationship with the staff there but most especially with Karina!! Finally, the Watersports Team were simply brilliant, helping a 46 year old man overcome his lifelong fear of heights and enabling him to experience ‘parascending’ at well over 100 feet above the beautiful Aegean Sea!! However, as I said at the top, the level of service and hospitality we received from EACH & EVERY ONE of the staff throughout our time at the Portobello Royal Hotel was truly second to none.

We have done the ‘All Inclusive’ option before and had differing experiences. In our opinion the ‘All Inclusive’ offered by the Portobello Royal was the BEST we have EVER had as it felt like everything was included!! We have never eaten or drunk so very well throughout a two week holiday, with food and drink being available all day and night!! We chose to eat at the Main Restaurant every day (even in spite of there being other restaurants available) simply because the choice, range and quality of the food served there at breakfast, lunch and dinner every day was simply fabulous. I managed to eat a different meal every day and my wife (something of a fussy eater I’m afraid to say) had absolutely no trouble finding something different to eat each day too!! Believe me, this says an awful lot!!

Along with the food and the incredible service/hospitality, the accommodation at the Hotel was exceptional (we were very, very lucky in having an amazing Royal Suite) and to us the Portobello Royal Hotel completely merits its 5 Star rating. We simply cannot wait to return there next year!!

Before anyone reading this little review starts shouting ‘what about the entertainment??’ well...

The only criticism we would aim at the Hotel was regarding the entertainment... It would have been really nice to have some genuine variety up at the Lounge Bar each evening rather than ‘having’ to listen to the same chap singing (badly) and playing his keyboard!! The Portobello Royal shares an amphitheatre with its neighbouring sister Hotel the Portobello Beach. There are ‘shows’ there every evening but the quality of the entertainment and the amphitheatre itself sadly just didn’t fit in with every other aspect of the Hotel’s 5 Star rating... (I would like to add here that you could NOT fault the effort put in by Karen, Laura and the rest of the team. It was the quality that was lacking...) Finally, it would also have been rather nice to have had an English language TV channel showing some British and/or US drama or films. If the World Cup hadn’t been on for the duration of our stay we would have had nothing to watch during those ‘chill out’ times back in our room. Surely this is something that could easily be rectified??

These very minor criticisms notwithstanding we cannot recommend the Portobello Royal Hotel highly enough and would like to thank ALL of you for making our two weeks there so very special and totally unforgettable. See you next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cwardle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so proud that we managed to offer you "two weeks in Paradise" it means a lot for us!

Thank you very, very much for your lovely comments and we will do our best to improve our "weak points", so your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our working team, especially the one mentioned by name.

Thank you ones more and we are looking forward to seeing you next year at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here from 18th June to 2nd July with our 1 year old son. The reviews posted are all reasonable. Here are our comments:

Negatives
- there is def a lack of bars which results in the two pools nearest the pool bar being very busy.
- there are not enough sun beds around the two most popular pools (those closest to the pool bar) despite being ample room for more
- there are few shaded areas to allow babies to play freely, we always used the area outside the indoor pool, but this was not ideal for our baby to play
- the food is repetitive e.g. What you have in the a la carte lunches are then in the evening buffet....very little potato choice, chips and one other. No real 'gala' type night
- in the restaurant you were never offered a second drink and were frowned at if you asked for one....or for anything....e.g. a teaspoon
- there needs to be more highchairs in the restaurants
- the theatre is appalling for this class of hotel....concrete covered in ants and Mosquitos galore....no bar, the floor is unfinished concrete so no good for young children

Positives
- other than asking for stuff in the restaurant the staff are very friendly - I was told off for picking up the food the baby had put on the floor
- the drinks are very good with a large selection
- the deserts in the restaurant are great
- the pools are very clean as is the whole hotel....the pools were cold to get in but once in they were nice.
- Asian restaurant very good but a set menu which you don't see until the day
- Gelateria - yum!

Room
We had a delux room which was the standard of a regular hotel - nothing special. Lovely view though. I did hear that some rooms had a shared balcony which I wouldn't have liked.

All in all we had a good holiday, and I think this is the best hotel I have been to in Europe, however I think it is of a 4star standard - there s nothing that makes you think wow.....like you would expect in a 5 star, for example, a welcome drink on arrival.....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank midwifeclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you felt your experience with us was not that of a 5-star hotel. I have read all your comments and I have informed our General Manager already about all the issues you had during your stay with us.

From the other side I am really glad that you have recognised the friendliness of our working team and that you have enjoyed the selection of drinks and desserts we are serving.

It would be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel if the future plans will bring you to Kos.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a one week stay on the 28th June! This hotel is beautiful and very clean and also pretty quiet for the size of the complex. The main restraunt is great for all meals and lots of variety with a couple of stations cooking fresh and different things every meal time, wasn't impressed at all with the italian as you serve yourself so may as well stay in main restraunt as you can get all pastas etc there! There's only 2 bars open through the day so if your at top pool or bottom at the beach that's fine but anywhere in between up and down lots of stairs to get yourself a drink as there's no waiter service so constantly up and down, The lobby bar opens at 6 til 1 in the morning and they were excellent there especially George and Eva. In my opinion this is a 4 star not 5 however if they had a couple more bars in between the top and bottom one that would be great, oh also impressed with the ice cream parlour that's open 10 hours a day bar snacks n beach was great too, I recommend the free shuttle to kardemena as it's a lovely place with lovely bars restraunts and beach all in all good value for the money we paid!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the quiet character of the hotel.

Thank you for your compliments about the outstanding, professional and welcoming service offered by our team in the Main Bar.

Thank you for all your suggestions as well, they are very helpful.

We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We upgraded to a junior suite and were not disappointed. Our 2 rooms included a very large double bed in one room, and two sofa beds (used by us as sofas) in the other room. The fridge was re-stocked daily and included much needed water and soft drinks. There is also a kettle in the room and tea and coffee which is nice.
The main restaurant has an abundance of tables outside, just as well as it can get hot indoors. The food was very good, and the staff everywhere couldn't do enough for you.
A favourite place for us to have lunch was the beach bar. Tasty hot snacks including hot dogs and toasted sandwiches were on offer as well as fresh fruit and cake, along with tea coffee and all types of drink. A nice place to relax and stare at the beautiful shoreline.
We also ate in the Asian restaurant twice and the Italian restaurant, both very good. But the most unusual part of this hotel is that it has its own Ice Cream Parlour, delicious!!
As you can probably tell we were great fans of this hotel and came back well rested and ready for anything.
The only thing that could be improved on is the amount of shade available, the umbrellas are of the net variety, when what you really need is good solid shade, then this hotel would be perfect!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite (room 310) that opened out on to nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonneflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer holiday and thank you for your positive comments.

We do really appreciate that you have found us on Trip Advisor and you are sharing your experience with our future guests!

We are looking forward to have an opportunity to see you again, when your future plans will bring you to Greece.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,459 reviews
15.0 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
466 reviews
11.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
14.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £100 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing