We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Kemi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my daughter stayed at the Atlantica Portobello Royal for a week at the beginning of August. We travelled back home a week ago.
We want to go back as soon as possible, because week is too short in this lovely hotel.
First of all hotel´s concierge drove us with our luggage to our room with a colfcar. That was hilarious!
We stayed at Royal Suite. Room was spacious and clean with many amenities. We had no complaints, fridge was filled once or twice a day with soft drinks and water. Bed was good, air-condition made no noise and was very efficient.
Food was delicious and much choice, something for everybody who is too picky.
Pool area was good, but too hot in the daytime so we spent our time mostly on the beach, which was never crowded.

What made this holiday so pleasant was incredible friendly and efficient staff. There are not enough words to praise them. Many thanks especially to Kosmin, Rositsa, Kornelia, Apostolis, Olga, Elena and many others, not forgetting the beach "boy" who kept the beach clean and in order. He made us feel special.

There is always something to complain though. WiFi is too slow in modern standard. Mostly everywhere else has WiFi in rooms, at Portobello Royal there is a cable connection. Very old-fasioned.
Constantly flying aeroplanes disturbed our relaxation, but we got use to it.
We never got a chance to eat in the asian restaurant. it was always full, despite how early we tried to make an reservation.

In all, great hotel and the best holiday ever. Want definitely stay at Portobello Royal next summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sapukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for dedicating part of your precious time to review your experience with us.

The hotel was having internet issues, especially during peak seasons when many guests were attempting to access the internet simultaneously. Since your visit and thanks to travelers like you voicing their concerns we are in the procedure of updating our internet service to accommodate guests.

I am really glad to know how much enjoyable stay you have had at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Thank you for your compliments and please allow me to personally assist you with a reservation in the Asian Restaurant upon your return.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    443
    131
    48
    9
See reviews for
626
768
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

When me and my parents stayed at the hotel for the 5th time it was just like any other time we went but for the first time we found some little things that could be approved on such as poor Wi-Fi which was ONLY available in the main building (reception area), a couple of small niggles were that there were only 2 good English speaking channels which were Bein Sports 11 and 12 which had all re-runs of the same stuff almost 2/3 times a day, and one other niggle was the Entertainment which in my opinion listening to a man playing the same old stuff on a keyboard was a bit boring but some people liked it . On to the positives overall our stay at the Porto Bello Royal was very enjoyable, fun , relaxing and every staff member in the main bar was very attentive which is good because it shows everyone how well the hotel is. The restaurants were brilliant my personal favourite is the Italian Restaurant which is a buffet setup with its own chef that does all your pasta dishes you would want right in front of you. The people in the reception are very very welcoming especially Nikos who has sorted out so many thing for us over the past years that we have been there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DRWHO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for entrusting us with your visit for the 5th time.
Thank you for being a return guest- we are honored to serve you!

We appreciate your loyalty and your 5* review, here on TripAdvisor- your opinion means so much to us and others!

Please accept my apology for the few negative issues you have had during your stay. Your comments are very important for us, and we are already working on improvements.

It would be our great honour to see you for the 6th time next year. Please fell free to contact me personally, in order to reserve your favourite room for you.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST Germain en LAye
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 2 unforgettable weeks and think already to come back next summer....

Thanks a lot to the animation team and particularly Effy, Laurie (miniclub), and Rollo for their efforts and nice activities.

We really hope to see you again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback.

Thank you for your compliments about the service offered by the animation team; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

I am really glad to read that you are thinking of visiting us again next summer, which we are really hoping for!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a fourteen night stay at this super hotel.
Can't speak to highly of the staff, all very friendly courteous and efficient. Would particularly mention George and Karolina in the bar they always have a smile and love to welcome you.
The food was very good with lots of choice, we were a party of seven made up of four generations and we all throughly enjoyed ourselves, thank you to all the staff.
If you are thinking of going , do so I don't think you will be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jkp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to know how enjoyable stay you have had with us, and that we managed to fulfil the expectations of four generations!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, and for recommending the hotel to our future guests.

I sincerely hope that I will have the pleasure to personally welcome you on your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from a week in the Portobello Royal and would definitely return as a couple ..Unfortunately this time our 15 year old son was with us and had expected wi fi as advertised in the Thomson brochure. The only place where wi fi was available was a small area outside the dining room and then it was very weak . Our room was lovely and opened out onto a pool area and there were plenty of toiletries. Again our son was dismayed to find only one English language t.v channel - Alljezira !
On the positive side myself and my husband enjoyed every minute . Food and drink was plentiful and of excellent quality and service very good,
Daytime entertainment was there if you wanted it . We enjoyed spending our evenings listening to a keyboard player but the mini disco and shows took place at an amphitheatre just outside the hotel ! We would have gone to some of the shows but were amazed to find there was no bar there!
We would love to go back but at a time when our son is no longer holidaying with us !

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a ground floor room facing a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huwandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am really sorry to learn that your son didn't have an enjoyable stay with us. We are providing a wide selection of outdoor activities for all the ages, such a beach volley, water polo, water volley, darts, table tennis, canoe, pedal boats, tennis court and more. It would be great to know if he participated in any of them and if he enjoyed it.

It is a great pleasure to know that you would be definitely visiting us again as a couple, and that you have enjoyed every minute of your stay!
We are looking forward to having you with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a great weeks holiday (August 2014). Travelled with Thomson. (Very smooth). Hotel was absolutely brilliant. Everyone is all-inclusive and there didn't seem to be any upgrades for anything so everyone is on a par. The whole place is well maintained and very clean, rooms all fab, and directly out onto pool areas. Food great. Lovely restaurants. Staff all very friendly. All 14 Pools are lovely (but don't expect to be able to swim underwater - they are saltier than the sea!). Indoor pool (open to all) was fresh water though so no prob. Plenty of sun loungers, especially on the beach. We had loungers right next to the sea every day - and we didn't usually get down there until 11ish. (People still reserved pool-side loungers with towels though!!)
No road to cross to get to (lovely) beach, and there is a hotel beach bar - all part of the all-inclusive, where you can get drinks and snacks - lovely paninis & sandwiches all made freshly to order. So no need to go back up to the hotel restaurant for lunch if you don't want to.
(All-inclusive drinks are local brands throughout hotel).
We travelled with two teenagers, they also had a fantastic time - they found a group of lovely people the same age (14-17) on the first day, and spent the week playing beach volleyball, water polo, swimming, and going out on the pedalos. They also went to the new water park (big slides) at the hotel next door, which was €10 each.
We would all definitely recommend this hotel for a totally stress free holiday in beautiful surroundings. It definitely seemed to be the nicest hotel in the area, with the biggest wow factor (gorgeous reception area, amazing pools).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank TheBookFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am truly glad that you and your family had such a great holiday at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
I feel very proud that you have found our facilities, services, food and our staff to your total satisfaction and that we have exceeded your expectations in all areas of our hospitality.

It would be our pleasure to have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very good all inclusive hotel. Stayed here for 6 nights and were really spoiled. Food good at al the restaurants, Italian restaurant a big plus. You are forced to reserve sunbeds with your towel in the morning because otherwise after breakfast theres no place for you. A lot of people that have rooms adjoining the pools keep their sunbeds on their terraces even if they are not there but are at the beach.

Real complaints about the wifi. In 2014 this could and should be much better. We visited 5 hotels this holiday and the wifi at porto bello royal was the worst. Not acceptable.If you wonder why all the teens gather around the toilets near the main restaurant. I suppose theres a wifi point out there so they hang out there.

Furthermore the complete resort is nice, clean, good beds, very good food, very friendly waitresses and management. The bars are nice although I think when the hotel is fully booked they should open the beachbar at nights. 2 evenings we could not find a place to have drinks at the pool bar or the loungebar because between 9 and 10 after dinner its extremely busy there.

Would definetely return although the wifi is not a plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you much indeed for taking the time to share your remarks about our hotel. We are very grateful that you also chose to stay with us.

Our Staff and Management is encouraged that the services you received were recognized as satisfactory!

You are welcome to return anytime, when we will again be pleased to have you as our guests.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#8 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Property: Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing