We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Home......!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second Home......!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Porto Bello, and yes the wi-fi needs updating and yes the evening entertainment is not quite 5*, but you will struggle to find a more relaxing holiday!
We knew the moment we walked through the glass doors that we were "home"
Spotlessly clean as ever, fantastic staff and great weather, what more do people want?
Our room had been updated with new beds and new key system, and had a view to die for!
All the restaurant experiences were as before, really attentive and friendly staff.
I know some may think that 5* means waiter service for every whim, but read the brochure. All is spelt out more than clearly.
One guest asked to be moved because of the plane noise......again, read the brochure and get over it!
We will be returning again next year, and we will have yet another fantastic time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments.

It was great to welcome you back to the hotel for the 5th time!

Thank you for all your compliments, and be sure that your "second home" will be here next year waiting for your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    435
    129
    47
    9
See reviews for
611
753
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is amazing & has the "wow" factor when you walk in to the lobby & reception. Check in was quick & efficient. We were given a map to find our room but it did take a bit of walking around until we eventually found it. Room 719 above a pool with a full sea view which was beautiful.
The room had a stocked fridge with soft drinks & water, robes, slippers a fruit basket & a bottle of wine. It was spotless & plenty of wardrobe/ drawer space.
We went straight to the pool & easily found a sunbed at 2pm. There really is no need to get up early to get a sunbed although the usual selfish people do then leave the towels there until late afternoon before deciding to use them. Signs say that towels will be removed but we didn't see this happen. Each umbrella has two beds & so well spaced apart that you can easily move your bed around.
The pools were all salt water but a great temperature & never crowded.
The buffet restaurant staff work very hard & the food is good quality & varied. The Italian & Asian are both good but the system of booking them at 7am the day before is rediculous when you're on holiday.
The bar staff are great especially Kornelia & George. The drinks are lovely ask for brands & that's what you get otherwise it's local brands. We didn't go to the entertainment shows but sat in the bar each night Kostas singing is ok maybe a bit of variety would be better. Odd that no singer on a Saturday night!
The plane noise didn't bother us at all & never woke me. We'd definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mum2em1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review here on Tripadvisor!

We are happy to hear that you liked the luxurious setting of the room. In addition to this we are pleased that you enjoyed the food in all of our restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you back for another pleasant experience!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Okay,
Honest review:-
Last year we did sensatori turkey, to do the same this year same times same 2 bedroom, flight upgrade, taxi transfer etc it would have cost us £3k more so let's do some realistic comparisons based on what you pay for !
Negative: afraid it has to be the wi:fi, unfortunately we do lived the 21st century and social media is a major part of lives, this really does need to be improved - does let hotel down.
Another one is probably the flight path, not exactly Heathrow but can disturb your sunshine snooze !!
POSITIVES:
Loads of them,
The hotel is amazing, amazing views, clean, friendly staff, good food, great service.

Our room was a junior suite, big room with closing doors not partition.
Mini bar with water re stocked every day
Room cleaned to new pin standard every day, clean towels, linen etc.
Each room had its own air con unit. We were on the ground floor (room 232) and it was literally a swim up - the amount of pools and layout means that so many rooms almost have their own pools!
Pools, yes there are 13 - including 1 x kids, 1 x indoor and 1 that is used for the sports. All pools are extremely clean, salt water and monitored daily for cleanliness etc.
Bars, beach bar which is probably the worst looking of all the bars but it's on the beach and is only open during the day, it does exactly what it says on the tin!
Pool bar, elevated - amazing views, great staff / service - fresh sandwiches / biscuits / cakes / fruit every day from 10am until 6pm - open until 1am
Lobby bar, (George) both inside and out, absolutely stunning, overlooks complex / sea etc. service is second to none, inside fully air conditioned - plenty of seats outside.
Restaurants - buffet - no complaints, plenty of choice, great service with seating inside and outside.
Asian - highly recommended - Christiana - excellent member of staff great food and we were given as much as we wanted - 2nds etc !
Italian - again excellent - this is buffet style but pasta cooked fresh to your likings / flavours etc.
Greek - only did this once for lunch, service was good, but we weren't feeling the best (self induced) when we went !
We didn't do the Mediterranean so sorry can't comment.

Overall - if I'm comparing to Sensatori I am not being fair, but I have absolutely nothing but praise for this hotel, staff etc.
Would definitely recommend
Would definitely return
Place is stunning, the photos both professional and posted do not do the place justice

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We really appreciate your honest and kind comments regarding the facilities and the services of the hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and we hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel end of July for 2weeks. Beautiful holiday overall. Amazing room! Beach view and next to the pool. Room and hotel building very clean. Cleaner was fantastic. Plenty of sunbeds no need to get up early for sun lounger. Only down fall was no pool waiter for a 5 star hotel. And the pool bar and beach bar were a little walk away.
The buffet resturant was good. Variety of food. Only down fall was the resturant service. When we sat indoors felt like we were forgot about. While when we sat outside appeared more organised, waitress came pretty much straight away.
Italian resturant was one of our favourite. Fresh food and the pasta dishes were amazing.
Asian resturant was lovely if u like lovely food. However a bit of communication would have been nice.. To know that each day u have a different set menu.
We went to the Greek resturant at lunch a couple of times though it was lovely untill out last day!! On our last day was a little disappointed as most of the food was delayed being displayed and saw a lady cool using her bare hands touching raw meat, then rubbing her hands in her overall and touched more food, and to top that off she was then blowing over the sausages over the grill! This was very disappointing! And for a 5 star hotel, was very shocked to see this sort of behaviour. We were glad that we witnessed this on our last day rather than the beginning of our holiday as this would have ruined our stay. Just hope the rest of the chefs and cooks had higher standards than her at the Greek resturant.
The entertainment over all was average, the poor man on the keyboard looked fed up and was repetitive.. Maybe it would be better to have different acts every night rather than the same person. The acts at the theatre were fair, through our fortnight stay there were some relative shows which was disappointing .. Expected 2 weeks of different entertainment. The only other thing I would say that it would have been nice to have a comfy seating area in the theatre and a drinks service.. You would have to bring ur own drinks from the main bar into the theatre.
The wifi was very poor. Some days were not able to connect at all and the wifi was only available at one spot next the the buffet resturant.
Overall we had a fabulous holiday but we would not rate this hotel as 5 star. Would say that it was a 4 star hotel. With the small little factors raised with improved wifi, improved entertainment and some waiter service at the pool then that would have made our stay perfect.
Also a small factor to raise would be the planes.. It didn't really bother us that much as majority of the time we would sleep through it, but it did bother some people.
Would only go back to Porto bello royal hoping that they would have made these improvements. Was a lovely holiday overall and missing the lovely weather.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimjamie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you much indeed for taking the time to share your remarks about our hotel.

We are very grateful that you also chose to stay with us!
Our Staff is encouraged that the services you received were recognized as satisfactory!

Please be aware that your comments have been passed on to each concerned department and has been taken into great consideration.

You are welcome to return anytime, when we will again be pleased to have you as our guests(s).

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned back from 2 weeks at the atlantica with my husband. Very relaxing at the pools ,never felt crowded due to so many pools. No problems getting a sunbed at anytime of the day. Rooms lovely and clean no problems maids do such a good job. Hotel spotless always cleaning staff do excellent job. Food was lovely could do with better cuts of meat and more labelling so you know what you are eating. Visited the Italian restaurant buffet food again but nice. Carnt fault the waiter service at all restaurants. Drinks good quality from the beer to cocktails. All the staff from the reception to the maids cannot do enough for you so helpful and friendly. The weather most days nice and hot but can also get very windy from morning through to the night. Entertainment could do with improvement only man playing a keyboard and singing 6 days a week. Would be nice if there was a la carte restaurant. Visited the town of Kardamena stayed only 1 hour what a dump. Kos airport is an absolute s**thole. Although it would not stop me returning to this excellent hotel. LOVELY RELAXING 2 WEEKS STAY SAD TO BE HOME Denise & Mark

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niecey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the charming and relaxing character of the hotel.

Thank you for your compliments about the outstanding, professional and welcoming service offered by our team; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

I am pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable for you and that you also enjoyed the food served in our Restaurants.

I am truly grateful that you are thinking of visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel, the individual pool areas give extra privacy around surrounding villas, and the food is amazing! Staff are lovely too. Also welcomed me with a surprise birthday cake upon an unknown request. Well worth the 5 stars and will come back one day soon

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share positive feedback on your experience with us!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service, restaurants and convenient location of the pools.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Wishing you Happy Birthday again!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have not long returned from our 5th visit in 5 years to this great hotel. You will see from my previous reviews how lovely and relaxing this place is, so I'm not going to repeat myself, but please read them for your information.

But I will say this, if you are looking for total peace and relaxation, with virtually all 13 swimming pools to yourself, then this is the place for you.

I do have to mention though, that the hotel has lost 3-4 of it's best members of staff this year and you can see the void that they have left behind. They were Antonis, Goran, Fotis and Patricia. All of these people had such excellent, personal, customer interaction and their replacements just don't offer the same 5* service. Please bring them back, they are missed so much!!

However, some of the other members of staff that are still there, such as all the reception staff especially, Tamara, Nikos, Sofia, Monika, Mirela, and Ross. George and Rositca in the main bar and Katerina, Anna, Rada and Cristina in the main restaurant should be rewarded for their excellent customer service and friendliness. we love them all!

I have to agree that the Wi-Fi does need to improve in order to keep up with the rest of 5* european hotels. It's more or less impossible to connect to the internet and contact family members back home, unless you go to a small area near the conference room at 8am!!! You've got no chance in the evening!!!

We have always loved this place though and we find that no other hotel compares, so we will definately be booking our 6th visit again for next year!!

Please don't hesitate to book this hotel, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: virtually all rooms have a swimming pool outside. Most ground floor rooms are more or less swim-up r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this brilliant review of your stay at the Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

I am delighted that you chose to return to our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Kindly note that all your comments have been taken into great consideration.

It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a great impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in.
We truly appreciate when guests notice our dedication and our attention to detail and I am thrilled that you will choose to return to us because of these personal touches.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
2.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#6 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Property: Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing