We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel...just ensure your room is on the hotel map!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel...just ensure your room is on the hotel map!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We chose Carda Beach Hotel on the basis that we wanted a relaxing, all-inclusive holiday in the sun with few distractions. We would say that this holiday in Kardamena, Kos largely fitted the bill. However, we had a few teething problems upon our arrival (namely, we were put in a different hotel to the one that we had booked) and there were a few issues which prevented us from giving this hotel an excellent rating.
Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- We chose a seaview suite which was absolutely amazing. Really spacious, serviced everyday with a wonderful balcony overlooking the bay.
- Location: this hotel is one of the nearest ones to the town of Kardamena, without being TOO close to hear any of the revellers and a short 15 minute beach walk to the centre of the resort.
- Service: the hotel has great service in the main part with all of the amenities and restaurant kept absolutely spotless. There are always cleaners and gardeners discreetly maintaining the grounds. The rooms too are also serviced everyday to the highest standards. The staff, while almost all are not Greek, speak several languages and are always extremely polite.
Amentities: the design of the pool area and hotel is fantastic. It blends into the natual area without looking ugly or out of place. The spa and fitness centre are also very attractive spaces.

Cons:
- The hotel seems to have a policy of overbooking and then sending guests to its sister hotel, the Mikri Poli, next door. It's not that this is a bad hotel and you can still use all the amenities and dining areas of the Carda Beach Hotel but it is much more of a family oriented hotel with childrens entertainment etc. Also, it's older than the Carda Beach and a little more tired looking. We had booked a suite and were given what seemed to be a family room. After insisting that we were moved, we were moved the following day to the suite that we had originally booked and the differences were huge. We were not the only people that this happened to and it even seemed if perhaps some guests were unaware that they were even in a different hotel. it seemed to us that if you booked the hotel through a major operator, you were fine but if, like us, you booked independently, you were at the mercy of the hotel management and could find yourself staying in a very different level of accommodation than you had originally booked.
- Food: Obviously catering for hundreds of guests of all different nationalities is difficult but we felt that the food was quite bland and although there was plently of choice (the salad bar is especially good) we ended up eating pretty much the same thing almost everyday. Choices seem to centre around grilled fish, liver, pork and pasta. It's not awful but it does tend to get a bit tiresome after a few days. We also booked into the onsite Chinese restaurant Wok 'n Roll for dinner one night. It was a little better but really not even up to the standard of a normal Chinese takeaway in the UK. Service there was actually quite slow. It was 25 minutes before somebody even came over to take our order although they were extremely apolgetic and helpful when they did turn up.
- Beach: the hotel is built 50 yards from the 'beach.' However, do not expect rolling white sands. The beach consists of little more than rock and sunbeds. It looked more like a narrow track than an idyllic beach location.

The resort of Kardemena is the typical, cheesy resort...from the 1990s with an abundance of places that can offer you free shots, English breakfasts, Pukka Pies and fish 'n chips. It's pretty rundown and tends to cater to the tourists who stay at the more basic accommodations within the town itself. It's extremely dated but it's not without a couple of gems. The Velvet Bar on the sea front is great for an afternoon beer or frappe and the local owners are really friendly. Armetis is another bar on that strip and does a great Apple Mojito. There are also a couple of restaurants which looked quite good. We ate at Pelagos and the standard of food was great and the service was fab. Alvi is another restaurant which is meant to be good but we didn't get there.

Our top tip would be to hire a car. The island has some stunning vistas and the journey from Zia to Kardamena via Pyli showed a different aspect of Kos.

All in all, a stylish and modern hotel with good facilities. Just ensure you end up there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyoughal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    379
    155
    45
    30
See reviews for
86
852
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

My wife and I both in our mid 50's had a fabulous week at the Carda Beach on an all inclusive basis.We thought the room to be 5star,very spacious with a super kingsize bed,very sleek en-suite bathroom and a very large balcony.Mini bar,tv and dvd,bathrobe and beach towels were all provided.
The food (quality and presentation) was excelent and service in the restuarant was very good.We paticularly liked the Chinese and Italian Restuarants which you can book into once a week when all inclusive.
The beach just across the road was sandy and narrow with 2 rows of sunbeds and parosols, but not popular with most hotel guests.Probably because the beach gave way to a very rocky shoreline making entry into the sea awkward,some sort of shoe is essential.
The pool is something else.Imagine a letter L,this pool is nearly 50 metres both legs of the L with another pool in the middle.Poolside bar is spot on,stocking most drinks.
The but is,Thomson (Chic and Unique)brochure advertise this hotel as adults only. IT IS NOT. There were plenty of children at this hotel, indeed there were highchairs and a children's pool available. My other gripe would be the main hotel bar, this being the only bar in the hotel at night, every guest was there and service was slow and seats not readily available. Therefore, if you want an adults only environment and a sandy gentle beach, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

we arrived wednesday for 3 nights. although late september, the weather was very nice most of the time. Upon arrival we we were greeted by the friendly and patient Angela (althoug we were about 40 people just arriving from the airport), we were able to hae breakfast and got our room around well before noon (not at 14:00 as the policy states),
since we were all inclusie that meant we got 3 meals a day and free drinks and snacks in the afternoon and evenings (at the bar). For this hotel i would recommend all inclusive and not half board.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet - especially around the beautiful pool area. The staff was polite and friendly (a change from Turkey for instance), One morning we walked to the village of Kardamena (7 minute walk). Lots of gift shops, bars and a marina. The bars are best to visit in the evening of course - quite empty during the day.
We stayed in a suite (upgraded due to anniversary). Big spacious room with TV, minibar, safe and veranda. The bathroom was huge - walk in shower (no door), Led to the bedroom - huge bed.
Food - Not the best but we were never hungry (we are not picky eaters but chicken and liver were overcooked, veal lacked any taste, etc). Plenty of salads, bread, side dishes and drinks. If you are all inclusive you get to eat at one of the restaurants - italian or chinese. We heard the Chinese was good so we took our chances. The food was nice, Could be better though.
To sum up - very relaxing if you are looking for simple, straight up r n' r - resting, sun bathing (no swimming - the pools were freezing at this time of year!) and just laying back and enjoying the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Just back from a fantastic week at the Carda with my wife, sister-in-law and her partner. We booked this at the last minute after our previous holiday disappeared when Flight Options ceased trading. We were very happy with our choice as it turned out. Weather peaked every day above 30C and the breeze was welcome in the afternoons.
I was a little concerned by some of the negative comments we read beforehand but my view is that you would have to be fairly picky to find fault. We found the staff to be very helpful and made sure that any issue we had was dealt with efficiently. A special mention to Costas who was always willing to drive us in his golf buggy back to our room on the top level of the complex at night. One word of warning. The steps / slopes are very steep and not that well lit so it helps if you are fairly fit if you need to go back to your room on the top level very often. At least for this year there is a lift between 2nd and third levels.

The swimming pool was cool but you soon got used to it once acclimatised. Watch out for the slippery surfaces around the pool however.

The food was better than the typical all inclusive buffet and the hotel did it's best to provide as much variation as possible. Both a la carte restaurants provided a nice change, particularly the Asian restaurant.
The only let down was in fact the Thomas Cook flight which was extremely short of space. Even at 5ft 10", there was zero leg room so I suggest you book with a different carrier if you can.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked this hotel as a package with Thomas Cook-stipulating that it needed to be a beach resort, therefore we were very disappointed to find that you had to access the sea via a jetty after you cross a road and that the beach was a narrow strip of sand with volcanic rock across the entire sea front.
However, the hotel made up for this disappointment-the food was great if a little repetitive, but there was always plenty to choose from and the salads were excellent. The bedroom was great-but could be cleaned a little better during the stay.
Staff were not all that friendly, (apart from the Russian staff members) except for reception which were a little more willing to give a smile.
There were previous complaints about the fertiliser that was used on the grounds but this was not an issue during our stay.
We had one of those ridiculous flights back to UK and were given a room in the next hotel which was adequate at no extra cost which was appreciated. We requested this the day of our arrival.
We hired a car for a day which allowed us to do some of the activities at half the cost of the deals that were offered by Thomas Cook. We did do the 3 island hopper and although we enjoyed the outing we were packed in like sardines and some people were sitting on very uncomfortable obstacles thoughout the boat journey. You can get a cheaper deal offering exactly the same trip in Kos and have the comfort.
On our last day at the hotel I was locked in a toilet for 10-15 mins which was not a very pleasant experience (laughable now but with temp being about 40d very distressing at the time). Staff member who let me out, after another guest could not open the door either, showed no remorse nor apologised-later on I did get an apology from persumably the hotel manager, but is this good enough for a supposedly 4 star hotel?
We found the pool area good and with plenty of sunbeds but the water was cold-much colder than the sea which was disappointing considering the difficulty of accessing the sea. There is no bar down on the beach, so if you needed a drink there was a trek back to the pool area.
On a positive note the hotel offers a relaxing holiday - mainly couples; very few families.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Have just returned from two week stay. Seaview room was excellent, always cleaned and drinks replenished. The bathroom was beautiful but we discovered ants who loved the coating on husband's razor - deet took care of these. However, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows appeared to be in need of renewing. The weather was excellent and we had two weeks of unbroken sunshine and this was the saving grace for us.

The hotel states it is four star but it is more akin to Butlins abroad - no offence to Butlins appreciators intended. This hotel is not worthy of the four stars. The place is very crowded and noisy from morning till late at night. All of the sunloungers are squashed together and there is less than half a foot between them - no privacy and this distance decreases as people move to get the best of the sun. Each morning at 7am the loungers were 'reserved' by guests placing their towels on their chosen lounger. By 9am, they were all reserved but none used until 11am each day. The only way to secure a place by the pool was to do the same - this cheapened the whole experience.

Likewise in all of the restaurants, the tables sit on top of each other and are brightly lit. There is no opportunity for any romance at mealtimes and the whole effect meant you did not linger. The food was mundane - no traditional Greek food and it was consistently cold. The only hot food we discovered was the chips, but only as they came straight out of the deep fat fryer. Chips are always good, but shouldn't have had to become be a holiday abroad staple! The chinese was good, the Italian restaurant a distiinct disappointment. Again, nowhere near 4 star!

Finally, and lastly I was taken back by the rudeness and complete lack of manners of other guests - sorry, mostly Eastern European, Russian and Israeli/Arab. They pushed in, shouted and demanded attention, talked loudly, ate food where they took it from and dominated the whole hotel with an off putting arrogance. They also allowed their children to run free, climb over you and cause mass irritation throughout.

On our last week we met several couples who had booked to stay at the hotel who were placed into the adjacent hotel or who did not get the rooms they wanted. Seemed to be a constant theme. Reception would apologise but did little else until threats of legal action were made.

I would not return to this hotel, nor could I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madcats63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Somerset. England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Carda Beach from 15th - 22nd September and found it to be a clean quiet and relaxing hotel. Neither of us are fussy eaters and thus the volume and selection of food was adequate for us. The chinese was well worth a visit but less so the italian. The staff, across the hotel, were all very polite, efficient and professional. We were very impressed with the bar staff who were able to cope with drinks being ordered in a number of different languages and, in the majority of cases, answered the customer in his or her own language.
Having booked the holiday in February, based on reviews we had read from 2009, we were a little concerned before we arrived having read some poor reviews, since the start of the season in May this year, on this website. We were however pleasently supprised, and reassured, from the moment we arrived with how we were treated and the quality of service and accomodation we were provided. Our recent holidays have been in this price bracket of hotel and we found the Carda to be as good as any we have previously visited.
I would say that if your taste in food is selective and rigid this is not the place for you. But if, like us, you are less conservative in the type of food you eat, this is a more than adequate hotel which we would be happy to return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.1 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.9 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
12.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica

Property: Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece (Formerly Carda Beach Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our fantastic world! Defined by inspired, vibrant design, and located along the south coastline of Kos Island. You stay in SENTIDO Carda Beach in comfortable rooms or family rooms - some with a sharing pool. The hotel offers a selection of restaurants as well as fitness and wellness facilities and also has a large, inviting sun terrace with a lovely view of the sea. Use of the aqua park at the adjacent hotel Mikri Poli Kos is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carda Beach Kardamena
Hotel Carda Beach
Sentido Carda Beach Atlantica Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing