We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
341
372
181
73
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
372
181
73
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian guestsanimation teamgrill housepastaevening entertainmentpool barplenty of sunbedskos townall inclusive drinksminute strollwater poloworked really hardfantastic holidayhotel is spotlessthe air conditioninghotel guestscourtesy bus
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Sovereign Beach Hotel for 15 days in June 2014 and had a fantastic time. The staff are very kind and helpful and you always get attention, help and a smile from all of them.

The rooms have a high standard and were newly renovated. We have stayed both in doublebed rooms and a family room with three beds and a bed sofa. The sea view from the balcony is beautiful.

The hotel was very clean and tidy everywhere.

The all-inclusive restaurant has a broad variety of both breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was easy to find something that all of us liked. During lunch and dinner there were also a barbeque chef that offered fish and different grilled meat.

Just across a small road the hotel has it's own beach with free sunbeds and watersport activities. We used to be there some days but also at the pool area where we participated in fitness activities and other fun stuff. We also went to the gym in the basement several times.

In walking distance (15 min) is Kardamena, a small village/town with restaurants, bars and shopping. We rented a car for our stay that also made it easy to go to Kos town in about 25 minutes and to other nice places.

In the evenings there where different shows and entertainment and also a greek night when the restaurant buffet was all greek food. Very nice!

We will definitely come back to Sovereign Beach Hotel and can recommend this hotel to travelers that want to have a calm and relaxing but not boring time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mats B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mr Mats,

We would like to thank you for your lovely and detailed opinion that you share with our Trip Advisor visitors and we are looking forward seeing you again very soon!

Kind regards,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived home this afternoon (2Jul14) and felt compelled to write a quick review on this fantastic gem of a hotel and resort.

We travelled with Cosmos/Monarch and the flight was on time and Cosmos dealt with the arrivals process very efficiently
.
We arrived at the hotel and found the reception staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. We were initially allocated a ground floor room (which I don't like) and requested a room on the top floor which they replied ' no problem, we have a very special room with beautiful views' and this room (302) certainly did have the most amazing view I had ever seen; overlooking mountains to the left and the sea to the right with islands in the distance.

The room was spotless, facilities modern (loved the multi-jet rainstorm shower and top quality memory foam bed) only minus, no kettle /tea/coffee making facilities; I have since discovered a kettle is available at reception on request, we brought our own though. We had a safe in the room but this cost steep 30euros a week! Air-con was quiet and efficient.

Meals - possibly one of the best all inclusive hotels we have stayed in; the food looked appealing and well presented but most of all, very varied served hot and very VERY tasty. Every night, the usual buffet fare was available (majority of guests are Italians and the menu reflected this, but saying that.. we love Italian food!) also, a roast meal station, 'pasta to order' station and the veranda BBQ station.

Hotel facilities are fantastic, a large clean and well maintained swimming pool, kids pool and huge bubbly bath. The gardens are beautifully manicured, a real oasis of green grass and hibiscus flowers. The hotel also has a spa and indoor swimming pool; I personally found the treatments expensive e.g. 50euros for manicure and pedicure! but the facilities were 1st class!

The hotel is situated in a semi rural setting with direct access to a narrow beach where sunbeds and shade can be found and the hotel beach bar. A beach road runs along the coast and quite a lovely (15-20min) walk into Kardamena, best done late in the afternoon when its cooler. For the bird watchers this is a haven; so many migrating and resident birds can be seen including hawks.

The animations team did a good job and tried to include us their activities, translating into English but it was mainly aimed a the Italians and Russians.

Our major disappointment was the travel rep. from Cosmos who failed to turn up at the welcome meeting and seem to be very unreliable, the other British couple staying at the hotel (only 4 Brits staying at the time) had a dreadful time with trips being booked through the rep and the bus not turning up for them!

On the whole, this was a fantastic holiday brilliant value and we will be back! :)

Room Tip: Request a high floor for the views which are stunning. Take a travel kettle and tea bags Book your trips in Kardamena not with the rep and take the local bus to Kos Town (only 3.20euro compared to 20euros with Cosmos). Hire a bicycle and find the quieter pretty beaches along the coastline.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tkzvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time in order to write all these detailed information on our Trip Advisor site.
We are looking forward seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived on 4th June 2014 for two weeks AI The reception staff were very efficient and answered any questions we had There were not many British people here mostly Italian families the room was spotlessly clean and the sea view and pool view was great. I requested a sea view and pool view on 2nd or 3rd floor The food was excellent and and had great choices in Greek dishes Puddings to die for too The animation team were all lovely and lots of things for children and adults to do The Greek evening was great. There is a little Shuttle bus took you too into Kardamena 1000am and return 12 30pm useful when it is too hot to walk along the beach to Kardamena There is also an evening one at 20 00hrs and return 22.15 if you wanted to escape. 6 euros for taxi back from Kardamena. The beach was great too but buy some greek beach shoes as it is stoney when you go into the sea. There is fun on the beach also at extra cost pedalos jet ski s, boats etc Book a holiday holiday here you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elayne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your critical on Sovereign Trip Advisor site.
We would like to mention that the shuttle is 10:00 am - 12:15 am and in the aftrenoon is 20:00 pm - 22:45.
We are looking forward seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I was a little unsure with this hotel at first as it had only just reopened to British travellers after 8 years. I visited with my mate and we were both really impressed. The pool, the food, the staff, the room and of course the weather were fantastic and we had no complaints. Even the animation team who were Italian did their best to include us in their shows, which were very good and not the kind of thing we'd usually enjoy. All inc drinks are good and the cocktails are particularly strong (in a good way!). The food was excellent and they always had a good Greek choice for those looking to try local cuisine (rather than pizza and chips...). Don't hesitate, just book now!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
10  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr James,

We would like tou thank you for your helpful opinion on Trip Advisor and we are looking forward seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Arrived home on the 11th June after 2weeks at the Sovereign Beach Hotel.
The reception staff were very efficient at check in and immediately gave us a top floor bedroom when I asked if this was possible. Every time we went to reception the staff were great at understanding English and sorting out any problems like the television not working, changing money,phoning the rep when our bus was late picking us up and coming to rescue us from our balcony when we shut the balcony door behind us and it locked, we had to shout down to friends as they were passing to inform reception that we were stranded on the balcony and we were soon rescued.
The bedroom was lovely 316 with a terrific view of mountains swimming pool and the sea. Housekeeping was very good, our maid did an excellent job. There is a fridge and flat screen TV with BBC world news, Euro news,a film channel in English with foreign subtitles and the odd documentary in English. There were toiletries soap shampoo etc. in the very modern bathroom.
Food we found good with a plenty of choice, soups and salads to start always something cooking fresh on the grill outside, stews and vegetables,chips and potatoes ,carvery with lamb or pork and the pasta station did pasta to die for. There were some delicious sweets and cakes. I can't believe that anybody would not find something that they liked to eat. The restaurant manager was in attendance at every meal, what a pleasant man who speaks perfect English with an American accent ( he has lived in America) he was the one to see when you pick up your packed lunch in the morning (which you have to order before 8pm the night before.
Outside the gardens are very pretty and the pool area lovely.
The pool bar beach bar and main bar serve A.I. Drinks including cocktails beer soft drinks wine and spirits, tea and coffee, we couldn't complain about the drinks or service from all bars well done to all bar staff especially Mil.
Now for our only negative comment ,the entertainment which is very hard to follow unless your Italian,we gave up trying. The animation team are predominantly Italian and some didn't even try to talk to us but some were very sociable and tried there best to speak English like Aliccia who went out of her way to speak every day and was always saying how do we say this in English or what does this mean in English, my husband had a laugh trying to explain what being a guinea pig meant when she tried to get him to join a group of around 15 ladies to have a Japanese face massage. We enjoyed the Greek night with the professional Greek dances and although it didn't spoil our holiday not understanding most of the entertainment it did annoy most of the British guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your helpful and detailed reference on Trip Advisor for Sovereign Beach Hotel and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews