We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Akti 25th July - 8th August 2012 as a family of 5 (3 kids - 9, 10 & 11) and I would highly recommend it for a good value, well run family holiday location.
We were upgraded to the new side which was lovely, we had a duplex room with 3 beds and an en-suite downstairs and a double with en-suite shower room upstairs, perfect for our needs and I would definitely pay a little extra to upgrade if we went back.
Food, as has been mentioned is very good for an all inclusive, there were sometimes queues for pancakes, omelettes or pizza but with some guests asking for 4 omelettes, or taking a whole pizza at a time then the staff do the best they can. We always found something nice to eat- hot and good variation at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
For me, the best thing about the Akti is the staff, the majority bend over backwards to help, Christina in the restaurant was brilliant and Sophia on the beach bar (or Sophia's bar as it became known!) is amazing, after 2 days she knew the names of our children and what we all liked to drink after dinner. One of the nights we mentioned we like Woo Woo's but the bar doesn't stock Cranberry. The next night we walked to the bar and she had personally been and bought Cranberry juice so she could make us a Woo Woo - now that's service!
We met the Manager of the hotel, several times doing his rounds - he was openly chatting to guests about the refurbishments around the hotel and grounds and very approachable. His office is in the main reception and most days he was in his office with the door wide open, totally accessible to all guests, clearly a man confident in his staff and property with nothing to hide!
Final mention must go to the animation team who worked round the clock to keep the kids entertained without ever being obtrusive - special thanks to Dan who our 3 adored - we are getting nagged to go back to Akti next year just in case Dan is there again! Great venue and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    469
    152
    47
    27
See reviews for
582
345
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Transfer took about 25 mins, first impressions were very good.

Check in very quick and painless, 50euro for the aircon and tv remote, defo needs English chanels as the only channel was BBC news, we were in the main reception block, rooms123/125 with view of the main pool and the sea in the distance. Beach towels 10eruo, you can swop them every other day, when you take them back your get your money back

Room had kingsize bed and single bed, lots of wardrobe space and nice bathroom, cleaned everyday with clean towels, fridge good, aircon not the best but ok for time of year.

Food was very good lots of variety and can agree with other reviews the pizza is to die for as are the little custard pastries they serve.

Beer not the strongest guess why we never had any trouble with drunks, small plastic cups round the pool but larger glasses in the bars themselves. Cocktails were nice at all the bars and always served with a smile. Tehy dont like you filling water bottles at the bars but there is fountain just at the side of the restaurant that the water is always very cold and you can fill your water bottles at with no probs.

Main pool, near reception, was where the action was at, aqua gym, pool games and the animation team trying to encourage everyone to join in but they did accept no if you only wanted to watch, the sunshine song will get into your mind very quickly. The animation team work there socks off from morn till night, well done chaps. Night time enternatiment was what we expected, very watchable and had a few laughs. As your near the hills there is always a breeze, made getting in and out of pool very chilly, need a light cardi at night

Beach very close but very stony, you defo need water shoes as its hard on the feet, especially for little ones, lots of fish to see so take your snorklle.

Only draw back was that its very remote, and very dark for walking about at night, no Sky Sports in the hotel and nearest taverna is a good 15mins in the dark, not advisable as there are no lights whatso ever. Shuttle bus goes into town but found the area to look very run down and did not appeal .

Any further info just ask

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

After a long flight and quick transfer, we were ready for the hotel. It took 15 minutes to get there. The booking in was quick and efficient and you need your euros for your air con, tv remote and safe key. All refunded on checking out. Our room was a distance from reception so a golf cart and young man took us directly there. The view was none, but it was a lovely quiet room so i wasn't too bothered. The bed was rock hard as were the pillows, stiff neck every morning. The food was good, constantly replaced. The pizza's are to die for, go as soon as they are out. Omelettes in a morning are worth waiting for. Drinks on tap so no problems there. The pools are clean and lots of sunbeds. The beach is awful! Everyone had said take beach shoes which we did, but it was safer without them. The rocks are very slippery and the shoes just disguise that. Lots of people with wrists bandaged up. The beach sunbeds are unusable, even saw a man carrying one down from the pool. The entertainment is funny and good. The team do work very hard at it. One or two things the hotel could improve on is the TV, All foreign channels bar one, that's a news channel and the other is around the pools, although they are quiet pools a little bit of piped music would be nice. All in all though a nice relaxing holiday. Not the place to go if you want to walk out on a night because there is nothing around the hotel. The bus to Kardamana is good but the place is also a bit run done, i presume this is due to the All inclusive killing it all. One last thing it is VERY windy. Take a jacket for the evening plus some bug spray.

Room Tip: We had 1452 the view was over some land that was desolate, but it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Atki Beach is a fabulous hotel and everyone else on here has covered the basics! Food is amazing, beach amazing but stony (bring snorkels with you.. 1000 of fishes and so clear water), rooms are basic but clean, need money for air con and remotes, entertainment is fab! Don't miss the Michael Jackson show as the dancer is amazing! And lots of things to explore on Kos!

There is one thing that hasn't been mentioned which is the trips that first choice or any travel company run from the hotel... Location of the hotel isn't amazing for some of the atractions like Zia, Kos town and trip to turkey.. We booked two of these trips and spent an hour and half picking up various hotels because we were first to be picked up and last to be dropped off due to there being 1 main road through Kos and all the other hotels were dropped first! Which was not good.. My advice is to organise these trips yourself as the location for buses is not great! However one of the good trips is to Turkey! It's so cheap and well run.. It's a must for any shopper!!!!

Another tip is to bring a cardigan for the evening because sometimes there was a strong wind that was quite cold!

Overall an amazing holiday and would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam-walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just back from two weeks at the Akti Beach Club with husband and daughter aged 11, the overall experience of the holiday as fantastic.
Rooms
We were in xperience section of the complex which caters for the Dutch and French customers, the room was modern and clean and was peaceful at nights, maids cleaned everyday and towels changed every other day
Food
The food was good usual for typical AI restaurant busy at times but never had a problem getting a table good selection of salads and pizza and Chinese areas very popular as were pancakes and omelettes at breakfast
Pools
We used the quieter pool by the tennis courts and the xperience pool both had plenty of sunbeds although ones with shade went quick
Beach
The beach was very rocky and shingled instead of sand we were aware of this by reviews before we went so were prepared with beach shoes beds were taken early on the beach and the usual towels left all day although we never had a problem...snorkelling is a must was fab...plenty of activities for Water sports...pedaloes and canoes free and a charge for the rest
Entertainment
There was plenty of entertainment around the main pool and shows in the evening although we never joined in...the bar pool in the evening was fine for us with quizzes and karaoke...daughter made loads of friends and we met some lovely families too...made the holiday more enjoyable
Cleanliness
Can honestly say the staff work hard to keep the complex clean and had no bad experiences at all
Extras
The shuttle to kardemena was available until around 11 at night, kardemena is a typical tourist attraction but was pleasant change to wander around the shop...only downside was the lack of queuing for the bus...is it only the English who queue patiently ? The Dutch customers in the hotel do not queue for anything !!!
Small shop on complex very expensive.....take extra money for deposit for air con and tv remote 50 euro....would recommend getting the hotel towels which can be changed every other day for 10 euro deposit per towel
Overall a great family holiday and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickygdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife,my 11 year old daughter and myself have just returned from akti beach after an 11 night stay.Cannot recommend highly enough.The food was very variable,with the daily italian and chinese cooking stations making a pleasant addition to the greek and grill bar.A selection of well maintained pools to choose from,all with plenty of sunbeds.The place was spotless,with cleaners being spotted all day and night.The animation team were superb,with constant activities for children and adults alike.E.g (football and tennis tournaments,water polo,darts,table tennis) plus lots of fun games.The animation team were also responsible for the evening shows.Whether you enjoyed the shows or not,there was no denying they worked tirelessly on their routines.I would like to mention the animation team by names,Adam was the main man in the shows,with his dance routines.Navy was always very happy and smiley.But special mention for Daniel (booboo), Ricardo and Mark.What thoroughly nice guys.Ricardo had us in stitches when he tried to teach us a russian card game called stupid,he was as confused as us! Daniel,Ricardo and Mark would join us for a game of cards after our evening meal,which they didnt have to do. Only criticism,was we had to pay 35 euros to use the safe(not a deposit).
All in all,brilliant place.We will return next August,hopefully the same team will be there!!

Mick,Sherie and Dolsie.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bed room in the hotel itself.Short trip to restaurant,main pool,and with a pool and sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Akti Beach club is vast .....it covers a huge sprawling landscape....but with clever planning never feels busy...except at meal time !

with a vast array of pools, bars ....sun bed areas and beach area too there are plenty of places to escape a very cosmopolitan customer base....huge amounts of Dutch seemed to inhabit the property whilst we were there.

We stayed in the newly developed 'other sde' with good room facilities and subtle lighting options made it very pleasant ..although renting a remote controls for the TV and AC unit seemed a little odd?

Food options were good, plenty of fresh additions and available all day and all night except between 5am and 7 am ......

Staff in general were very very friendly, unlike a lot of the locals - taxi drivers and shop workers who seemed under pressure and erring slightly towards aggression ....I guess the economy is having its impact at every level.

the one down side to the property is also one of its virtues...built next to the beach and at the foot of a collection of hills...there is a wind problem......and its a very strong wind problem ....and not necessarily one you expect in the middle of August.

It did however not distract from a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: do try and get the new development....very pleasant and modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MR_NUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Club Hotel

Property: Akti Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Hotel
Hotel Akti Beach
Akti Beach Club Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing