We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

went to akti beach in june for second visit, like first time the hotel was great. good variety of food good service from friendly staff and good entertainment from a very hard working entertainment team. good location just outside kardemena with a excellent courtesy bus service to town and back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    509
    175
    52
    28
See reviews for
649
376
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have just returned from our Honeymoon at Akti Beach and we must say it was fantastic! Its about a 45 minute casual stroll into Kardamena itself which was great for us with it being our Honeymoon, but there is a free shuttle bus which runs up and down all day too. The Aegean 3 Island Cruise is highly recommended for couples (very relaxing) but maybe a bit boring for kids as its a full day out and you only get off the boat once at the second island, other 2 islands is for swimming/snorkiling and on boat BBQ. The water park is also worth a visit but it has now closed for end of season, we just made it but recommended during high season. The hotel food was amazing, my Husband is extremeley fussy and every meal he was back for seconds! BREAKFAST INC: cooked typical english breakies, omelettes, pancakes, cereals, continental, yoghurts and fruits and fresh breads, LUNCH INC: large salad selection, greek, italian, grill, fresh bread and sweets/fruits, EVENING DINNER INC: same as lunch but with a chinese section too with always different choices for lunch and evening meals. Tea and coffee available 24/7 all other drinks inc beer, soft drinks, local drinks at all the pool bars. Ice creams available during day from the terrace of the restaurant. Also one of the little bars on way to the beach do hot dogs/ chips during day too which we didnt find out about till half way through holiday. Fresh towels and bedding EVERY DAY! All the complex, rooms etc kept very clean and tidy! All the staff are friendly and very helpfull. Only pay phone is in the Hotel Reception otherwise nearest one is in kardamena. Shop on site is handy but more expensive as kardamena is like i said before 45 min walk away, but the free bus stops right by a huge supermarket, bank, pharmacy etc. The water sports available on the complex's beach are very good we did most of them and the more you do the cheaper you get them for! Pedallos are FREE. The beach is shail and rocky so beach shoes are a must really, we bought some there and we lived in the sea after that they are well worth the money (10 euro from local shop about 7 euro from kardamena supermarket). Sun cream is quite expensive to buy so make sure you have plenty with you! Hiring the remotes (they come as a package) for the Air con, TV etc are highly recommended, 50 Euro deposit which you get back when you return the remotes but the Air con keeps your room cold without having windows/doors open, I was bitten over 20 times by mosquitos on the first few days we had left the windows open as we thought we would manage without the Air con! Never again!! ha ha. If you are thinking of Hiring a car then look out of the Hotel, the hotel hire for 50 euro a day, we got ours for 33 a day. When you walk along the beach road towards Kardamena about 10 mins down that road is Nikos car rental, they are very good and there is No excess either which means you pay nothing if anything shoud happen!. The tiny mountain village of Zia is definatley worth a visit, up the mountains throught the pine forrests, the views are amazing, there are quite a few tavernas there and plenty of shops selling local produce, this is also where you can capture the sunsetting (which we didnt unfortunatley see as we had to get the car back before it..... gutted i missed that!!) If you continue up through Zia when you have done it will head you out to Kos town, the other Island recommendation is Thermos beach where the HOT volcanic prings are, take the main road right out of kos town and follow the road to the end where you will see a car park from here walk to the bottom of the hill to experience these springs, there is a beach cafe here too. If hiring a car be aware you need a little sense of direction as we found that 1 minute you have sign posts for a place the next you come to a turning/ junction and there is nothing, its all good fun exploring though and really the Island is too small to get lost! Entertainment on the complex is great, lots to do during the day and the evening entertainment is great fun, the animation team work hard all day!! There are 3 pools, the main one is where the restaurant overlooks and alot of the daily entertainment is done the other 2 are quieter. We will definatley book to go here again! This holiday is great for everyone! We came for a honeymoon but my kids would love it too!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lisa2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed at the Akti Beach from 05/09/2012-19/09/2012
First impressions were that the hotel seemed alittle far from Kardamena however the hotel does offer a free shuttle bus which is a brilliant idea and something we took advantage of.
Rooms are a good size, clean and maid service daily with clean sheets and towels. Hotel communal areas are well maintained and clean.
Plenty of pools to choose from with ample room for sunbeds.
Restaurant was very spacious and the food was delicious, plenty of variety and it is sooooo true the homemade pizzas are amazing!!
Bar service is excellent and offer a good variety of drinks.
All staff work extremely hard and are very friendly, special shout out to the animation team who work soooooo hard all day and night to entertain all hotel guests luv the SUNSHINE song :-)
I would definitely recommend this hotel, had a fab relaxing holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraShabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I cant recommend this resort enough. I travelled with 2 older children aged 11 and 12 and its really tough to please them. All the activities that went on in this hotel made this holiday for me. The animation team worked their socks off to keep guests happy. Whilst the sunshine song did become tiresome by the end of my holiday my boys loved it. The restaurant was fab and something for everyone at all times. The only negative i really have is that the bar used plastic glasses(even at night time) so it never felt like i had a proper drink but other than this i wouldnt hesitate in recommending this resort. The free shuttle bus into town was also great and we made our way there 3 times. Friendly locals although can be a little pushy to get you to buy things but generally we had an amazing holiday! Thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Akti 25th July - 8th August 2012 as a family of 5 (3 kids - 9, 10 & 11) and I would highly recommend it for a good value, well run family holiday location.
We were upgraded to the new side which was lovely, we had a duplex room with 3 beds and an en-suite downstairs and a double with en-suite shower room upstairs, perfect for our needs and I would definitely pay a little extra to upgrade if we went back.
Food, as has been mentioned is very good for an all inclusive, there were sometimes queues for pancakes, omelettes or pizza but with some guests asking for 4 omelettes, or taking a whole pizza at a time then the staff do the best they can. We always found something nice to eat- hot and good variation at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
For me, the best thing about the Akti is the staff, the majority bend over backwards to help, Christina in the restaurant was brilliant and Sophia on the beach bar (or Sophia's bar as it became known!) is amazing, after 2 days she knew the names of our children and what we all liked to drink after dinner. One of the nights we mentioned we like Woo Woo's but the bar doesn't stock Cranberry. The next night we walked to the bar and she had personally been and bought Cranberry juice so she could make us a Woo Woo - now that's service!
We met the Manager of the hotel, several times doing his rounds - he was openly chatting to guests about the refurbishments around the hotel and grounds and very approachable. His office is in the main reception and most days he was in his office with the door wide open, totally accessible to all guests, clearly a man confident in his staff and property with nothing to hide!
Final mention must go to the animation team who worked round the clock to keep the kids entertained without ever being obtrusive - special thanks to Dan who our 3 adored - we are getting nagged to go back to Akti next year just in case Dan is there again! Great venue and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Transfer took about 25 mins, first impressions were very good.

Check in very quick and painless, 50euro for the aircon and tv remote, defo needs English chanels as the only channel was BBC news, we were in the main reception block, rooms123/125 with view of the main pool and the sea in the distance. Beach towels 10eruo, you can swop them every other day, when you take them back your get your money back

Room had kingsize bed and single bed, lots of wardrobe space and nice bathroom, cleaned everyday with clean towels, fridge good, aircon not the best but ok for time of year.

Food was very good lots of variety and can agree with other reviews the pizza is to die for as are the little custard pastries they serve.

Beer not the strongest guess why we never had any trouble with drunks, small plastic cups round the pool but larger glasses in the bars themselves. Cocktails were nice at all the bars and always served with a smile. Tehy dont like you filling water bottles at the bars but there is fountain just at the side of the restaurant that the water is always very cold and you can fill your water bottles at with no probs.

Main pool, near reception, was where the action was at, aqua gym, pool games and the animation team trying to encourage everyone to join in but they did accept no if you only wanted to watch, the sunshine song will get into your mind very quickly. The animation team work there socks off from morn till night, well done chaps. Night time enternatiment was what we expected, very watchable and had a few laughs. As your near the hills there is always a breeze, made getting in and out of pool very chilly, need a light cardi at night

Beach very close but very stony, you defo need water shoes as its hard on the feet, especially for little ones, lots of fish to see so take your snorklle.

Only draw back was that its very remote, and very dark for walking about at night, no Sky Sports in the hotel and nearest taverna is a good 15mins in the dark, not advisable as there are no lights whatso ever. Shuttle bus goes into town but found the area to look very run down and did not appeal .

Any further info just ask

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

After a long flight and quick transfer, we were ready for the hotel. It took 15 minutes to get there. The booking in was quick and efficient and you need your euros for your air con, tv remote and safe key. All refunded on checking out. Our room was a distance from reception so a golf cart and young man took us directly there. The view was none, but it was a lovely quiet room so i wasn't too bothered. The bed was rock hard as were the pillows, stiff neck every morning. The food was good, constantly replaced. The pizza's are to die for, go as soon as they are out. Omelettes in a morning are worth waiting for. Drinks on tap so no problems there. The pools are clean and lots of sunbeds. The beach is awful! Everyone had said take beach shoes which we did, but it was safer without them. The rocks are very slippery and the shoes just disguise that. Lots of people with wrists bandaged up. The beach sunbeds are unusable, even saw a man carrying one down from the pool. The entertainment is funny and good. The team do work very hard at it. One or two things the hotel could improve on is the TV, All foreign channels bar one, that's a news channel and the other is around the pools, although they are quiet pools a little bit of piped music would be nice. All in all though a nice relaxing holiday. Not the place to go if you want to walk out on a night because there is nothing around the hotel. The bus to Kardamana is good but the place is also a bit run done, i presume this is due to the All inclusive killing it all. One last thing it is VERY windy. Take a jacket for the evening plus some bug spray.

Room Tip: We had 1452 the view was over some land that was desolate, but it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#15 of 39 in Kardamena
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Club Hotel

Property: Akti Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Hotel
Hotel Akti Beach
Akti Beach Club Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing