We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing week in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing week in the sun”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week at the Akti Beach Club Hotel. Prior to departure we were a little worried after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, but we had a great time and couldn't fault the staff and facilities. Pricey58's review was spot on and we were well prepared.

On arrival we were allocated room 1201 which was next to the cess pit, not ideal and very smelly! We requested a room change, but because of our late arrival time this could not be accommodated until the next morning. The staff were very helpful/friendly and we were re-allocated 1553 the next morning. This room was much better and had a view over the quieter pool courtyard.

The rooms may be a little tired in terms of decor, but they are very clean with bed linen replaced every other day and towels changed daily. Our only minor criticism would be that the mattress was very hard and you could feel the springs every time you turned over.

The buffet restaurant was excellent with a good selection of food to meet all variety of tastes and dietary requirements.

Everyone we encountered, from the staff to the other paying guests, was very friendly and polite.

We did have a Welcome Talk from the Thomson/First Choice rep. but apart from that we didn't really see much of him as he was based in another hotel. However, he did provide us with his mobile number and the 24/7 helpline details, so in an emergency we would have been able to reach him.

We went on a couple of trips - a day trip to Turkey and the volcanic experience. We enjoyed both; however the trip to Turkey was a long day as we spent over six hours travelling or waiting. Akti Beach appeared to be the first pick up and last drop off for all the excursions and transfers.

We had a lovely time and would like to thank all the staff at Akti Beach for their hard work in trying to please so many visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    473
    152
    47
    28
See reviews for
589
347
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Went with a friend to KOS for the week and stayed at Akti Beach Club Hotel, we had a lovely time the food was excellent, plenty of choice, the catering staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel and rooms were very clean.Rooms were nice but have to pay extra for A/C which is needed. The staff were lovely and friendly they work very hard especially the Animation team who work very long hours. The pools were lovely and clean and within two minutes you are down on the beach,Where you can go on a pedaloe or canoe for free or hire a jet ski and banana boat or go hanggliding. You can get a free bus into Kardamena or hire a scooter, quad, or car from the hotel. Paradise beach is definitely worth a visit. The only thing that let it down was the evening entertainment which was very poor but done by the same Animation team who work throughout the day, they would be better to get professional entertainer's . They also had a kids club but didn't use it so can not comment. L would most definitely stay here again if l was to go to KOS again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 392francine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned back from Akti Beach. Had a fantastic holiday, pools are lovely, everywhere is spotless, food is amazing. Considering they are catering for so many people and nationalities, it is superb, always something you will like. Animation team very good, they work very hard, although some of the shows are not particularly professional!! Rooms are basic but do the job, only one English Channel, you will be very knowledgeable about World BBC News if you watch it! Air Con and Remote 50Euros Deposit, also 10Euros each for beach towels, but this is no issue as you get the money back once returned. You can also change the towels every couple of days. Bar staff all very pleasant, especially Sofia, she always magics up a 'surprise' cocktail for you. Drinks are good, even the wine is fine and self service in the restaurant. Bits we were not impressed with, reception staff were so slow and not very attentive, when we arrived our welcome packs from First Choice were not given to us so we had to try and find out when the arrival brief was, small moan but should not happen. Rep not available very often and our return pick up details etc were not put on the noticeboard until the day of departure. On the plus side, you have to check out at 1200hrs but you can book a shower room so we had a full day sunbathing, and then had a nice shower, no charge for this and very helpful. The real shame of the holiday was the airport on the way back. Not having been to Kos before, we had no idea of the disaster at the airport. Too many people crammed in, nowhere to even stand, let alone sit! Awful experience which next time we would not go through to departures until the last minute! Lesson learned. Overall a lovely holiday and Akti Beach is lovely, would definitely return. On one last note, do not feel the need to book the trips with the holiday reps, we went to Bodrum for the day with Offshore Travel in Kardemena, half the price of First Choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzmirTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

just got back from akti beach yesterday, the biggest plus was the friendly animation team, a special mention for luca and Ashleigh regularly taking time out to interact with the holiday makers. We can stop singing their song sunshine for me sunshine for me which was sang around the pool, great sense of humour. Food was good big big selection (put on half a stone in a week). Something for everybody, young families and older couples all catered for...the accommodation was fine. we had an amazing time on the beach, water sports must be given a try, very reasonable priced....Katie and David who work at the main pool bar in the evenings are a joy very helpful and good for a laugh.....would definitely go back..............

Room Tip: room by main pool an advantage as close to restaurant and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Akti Beach Club from 7-21 August and had a great time (2 adults and 2 children ( 13 and 11 ). Transfer from the airport is about 45 mins. It is very multi-national with lots of French, dutch, swiss, belgiums, germans and english, and has a lovely atmosphere. The complex is made up of 2 storey buildings and because of its size it never feels busy. Some people have complained that the "Xperience" end of the complex was a long way from reception. It takes a couple of minutes to walk, believe me!!! We had a family room with 2 separate bedrooms just a couple of steps from reception and it was ideal. It is worth paying that little bit extra for a bigger room and ask for one overlooking the pool. The ones overlooking the main pool will be noisier though!! Rooms have a fridge in which is ok and beds are very very firm (take a bit to get used to at first - ask for extra pillows) The complex has a main pool where all the entertainment takes place, with a small children's pool next to it, plus another 2 pools around the complex. There are lots of parasols around the pools and you can also sunbathe on the grassed areas using the trees as shade. There are lots of sunbeds around and we never had a problem getting sunbeds together.
The reception staff were helpful especially Mary, and spoke very good English. We had a problem with our first room and had to be quite firm when they tried to fob us off with an inferior room. But the problem was sorted in a few days and didn't spoil our holiday. Check in was very quick and efficient and as other people have mentioned you need to pay for the remote controls for the TV and the aircon (50 euros which is refundable), 35 euros for the safe key for 2 weeks (non refundable). The air con worked really well although a bit noisy!! ( we took earplugs!). You can also hire beach towels at 10 euros each which is refundable. They aren't the best quality but ok and save on your weight limit. So be prepared to fork out before you go.

The food at the hotel is the best we've had in any all inclusive hotel. The restaurant staff and manager are all polite and courteous and the restaurant is scrupulously clean. There are indoor and outdoor eating areas and it never seemed too busy even at the height of the season. Outdoors is cooler. We were all spoilt for choice at every mealtime, even our fussy children!! Breakfast is normal all inclusive food with pancakes, eggs etc Lunch and evening mealtimes there was a huge salad bar, vegetables, speciality dishes, fish, meat, a grill bar where fish and meat were cooked in front of you, chips, a fresh pizza bar, a fresh pasta bar, another meat or fish unit (whole fish or joints of beef, pork etc (amazing!), a huge selection of fresh fruit and desserts, and on an evening there was also a Chinese where they cooked fresh in front of you (about 6-8 dishes) and sushi. Can't rate the food highly enough. There are snacks available all day outside the restaurant near the main pool. There is also unlimited icecream available all day in the same place. Pancakes are cooked in the main restaurant every evening at 11pm.

Drinks are served till 12 oclock. There was never a queue of more than a couple of people at the bars. Drinks are local and don't seem particularly strong!! Lots of cocktails. Beer we think is non-alcoholic and not particularly nice. If you want a good pint, walk down to the beach turn left (looking at the beach) and walk along the road till you come to a little tavern on the left (about 5 mins walk). Lovely drinks - ice cold beer and guiness, free Wifi (have to pay for it in hotel), and Sky Sports. A pint was about 4 to 4.5 euros. There is another tavern apparently if you turn right at the beach but we didn't try this one. But well worth it!!! Or go into Kardamena.

Daytime entertainment is good with something to do every hour (if you want it). The entertainment staff are very friendly and like to get to know you but aren't pushy if you don't want to join in. There's football, french boules, waterpolo,tennis, aerobics, yoga, stretching, beach volleyball, darts, pingpong, cocktail game. Its very inclusive of all ages .We've been to some hotels where entertainment was geared to the adults but al ages were taking part and having lots of fun. Can't comment on Kids clubs though. The evening entertainment is by the same entertainment team and although they work exceptionally hard, it is very amateurish and lets the hotel down. It would be nice if they had more professional entertainment at least a couple of times a week. Evening entertainment takes place outside so its not too hot and lots of seats.

The hotel is situated on its own stretch of beach and there are free sunbeds on the beach with parasols. The beach is coarse sand leading straight onto rocks at the sea edge. Water shoes (not flipflops) are an absolute must for getting into the sea. You can buy them for 10 euros at the hotel shop if you don't take your own. At intervals along the beach they have put down sand bag walkways so you can get into the sea easier. The sea is warm and crystal clear and there are lots of fish. Take snorkels and get bread from the restaurant. You can use pedalos and canoes free and there are also banana boats, rings, couch (about 10 euros per person for 15 mins) and jet skis (40/50 euros for 15 mins).

The hotel has a free shuttlebus into Kardamena (about 5 mins)- last bus is about 11.15pm. Ask for a timetable from reception. Kardamena is a bit rundown through the day but ok at night with lots of shops selling fake sunglasses, t-shirts, watches, bags etc.Nice bars. The bars in the main square are slightly more expensive than those facing the marina but good for people watching!! We booked a couple of trips in Kardamena through Dave at Sailaway(think that's what its called) - much cheaper than rep. We went to the water park which was ok -not too big (7 big rides, large pool, childrens play area) lots of sunbeds, food not nice. Got picked up from outside hotel main gate and had about 5 hours at the water park (cost 17 euros each - and need 5 eauros for locker when there). Also went to thermal springs (don't bother - tiny pool, overcrowded, smelly, horrible ""Beach", very hot) and Kos town (which was ok -lots of tourist shops). We were on the coach for almost 2 hours(due to picking up etc) and air con wasn't great so ask how long journey is before booking.

It was hot when we were there but there is a wonderful breeze which starts about 1pm. It is windy at night which is very welcoming and we didn't need a cardigan. Suntan cream is very expensive (£20 bottle of factor 20 nivea) so take what you need.

Kos airport is a nightmare - very small and busy. When you get there make sure you are standing in the right queue to check in- sounds simple but so chaotic its not that easy!!!!

All in all it was a wonderful holiday, on the beach, with fabulous food, nice rooms, lovely staff, just need to improve evening entertainment and alcoholic drinks not great (but drinkable!!). We booked with Jet2 which was a lot cheaper than First Choice.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool on the first floor. If you want to be near to reception and ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gamegirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed at akti beach 4th -11th sept, well what can i say just fabulous,food was brilliant with so much choice fresh pizza which is a must,chinese-,carvery even fresh salmon.hotel staff very pleasent,animation team fantastic especially ashleigh-luca-and him with the moustache, ,the hotel has a free bus which takes you into kardemena several time a day, throughout the hotel and gardens are very clean and definatly 4 star,the rooms are good and spacious but the bathroom although ok could be improved, as some previous reviews mentioned about queing for food and people putting towels on sunbeds etc-etc we did not have that problem on the dates we stayed i would think that was in the school holidays ,there was around 500 people there as apposed to 1500 in aug, 70% were german -dutch-holland etc,which we found very polite and friendly
would definitely go back

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9 05 which was a very short walk to pool-reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuteteddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

i stayed here with my partner and three kids from 21st aug for two weeks , the rooms are a good size and the maids keep them spotless everyday , the main pool is good but way to deep so if you dont want to tread water all day the other pools would be better suited ! the food is excellent and always spoilt for choice and even i who dont really dont eat them enjoyed the freshly prepared pizza !all the staff are excellent except one of the evening bar staff (Sofia i think ) who is always rude and abrupt ! this was my first all inclusive holiday so didnt really know what to expect when it came to drinks but i do now , the soft drinks are fine as are the fresh juices but the alcoholic drinks are just about drinkable in the tiny plastic cups the red wine is ok but the lager ( DAB ) is terrible ! luckily enough the little shop onsite sells amstel and mythos in six packs to fill the fridge in the room :-) all in all a good four star hotel and i would return !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Club Hotel

Property: Akti Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Hotel
Hotel Akti Beach
Akti Beach Club Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing