We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed between the 3rd and 10th of August 2014 with our three children aged 17, 11 and 9. We arrived late and met by a friendly chap on reception.

Stayed in room 876 (a two bedroom family room) with a view over the hills and quieter pool, stunning! Could ask for nicer room or views.

ALL the staff were friendly and helpful. Get up early to reserve sunbeds and then go back to bed for an hour...we did and it never failed.

Not sure why some complain that there is not enough seating in the restaurant...maybe they all try to sit at the front as if you go further back there are two other dining rooms? Food was amazing, good quality and plenty of choice... Live cooking stations were great!

Snack provided were fantastic with different snacks being served at different snack bars, cheese and ham toasties at the quieter pool, burgers, kebabs, salad and chips at the experience pool and hotdogs and chips at the beach bar. Ice-creams were not in pots but various flavours in cones that the children can help themselves to. Drinks were good quality too!

We used offshore travel to book trips and did the three island tour (which exceeded all expectations) and went to Zia to watch the sunset...fantastic. Do not book through the reps as they charge a stupid amount for the same thing.

The local village is run down and not worth the visit, we drove through and were shocked. Think Doncaster but less money spent on it on a sunny day. You will see it as you drive from the airport to the hotel, so you can judge it for yourself.

The safe costs 20 euros a week and you do not get this back, however, a 20 euro deposit for the aircon and TV remote which you get back upon check out. If like us you have a return night flight it will be worth you booking a late check out as check out is at 12pm, for 40 euro we kept the room until 6pm and with children this was a bonus. However, you can only register your interest as it cannot be confirmed until 20:00 the night before you leave.

I really have no complaints about the hotel, it is very clean and well maintained, all the staff were polite (even the reception staff) and the food was spot on. It is an international site which is great, sometimes nothing worse than going aboard and only speaking to fellow brits, English is the common language and everyone got on great.

Please ensure you buy beach/swimming shoes as there are lots of slippery rocks going into the sea at the beach area.

Bring tons of suncream to avoid paying the prices there. And do not panic about the lack of info at the airport on your return journey as they call you...no boards or reps past security.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angharad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the Akti beach club for one week from the 29th July - 5th August. There was me my husband and our two sons 14 & 12. The hotel is multi national. We arrived late at night and the men on the desk were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the day staff,on the main desk, are not as helpful. The younger lady is very nice but the two older ladies are unapproachable and rude. We had an open planned family room. They are basic but met our needs for the week. The beds are actually comfy, I suffer with a bad back but didn't have any problems. It's definitely worth having the air con. The grounds of the hotel are very big and lovely. There is three large pools and four children's pool. The daytime activities are mainly around the main pool near the restaurant, so if you want to relax go to one of the other pools. The animation team are fab, very friendly and they work extremely hard. They were great with our boys who were always entertained ( they met lots of other children their age, about 16 in total, which helped). There are lots of drinks / snack bars around the complex so you never have to cue and can always get a drink. As the hotel is close to the Beach there is even a snack bar there so you don't have to walk back. They will even cook you fresh food there upon request. The food is exceptional, one of the best all inclusive we've been to, with a wide variety. There is four different cooking stations with live cooking - traditional, Chinese,grill and Italian( who cook fresh pizzas- our boys loved it). Each meal time there is fresh food and always something to eat. Even the snacks in between meals are good. They also open the restaurant at 23:00 and do pancakes. The staff in the restaurant are very polite, welcoming and hard working. The manager, in the restaurant, is also brilliant he works as hard as his staff. The only downfall to the restaurant, for me, was the cats. Yes they're wild but I think they should be shooed away from the outside eating area. The maids are lovely and very friendly nothing is a problem. Beds made and clean towels everyday. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We came back to this hotel having come here in 2013. We were concerned after some poor reviews that the standard of the hotel had dropped, however we need not have worried as the hotel was even better than a year ago. The staff were all friendly and it was clear that they had listened to previous reviews from 2013. The experience pool was not taken over anything like as much as it was a year ago by the Belgian travel company. They had also reduced the deposits for the remote controls down to 20 euros, and have improved the restaurant.
One night our balcony door had broken and we reported it at 7pm. By the time we went to bed that night a brand new locking mechanism had been fitted. Not even sure that would happen in the uk.
Yes the food menus do repeat, but you always have chinese and Italian options. You can go 2 weeks with a different meal every night.
In our opinion this is still a good hotel and is perfect for a family holiday and is value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank EssexThompsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arrived back today after two weeks at the Akti Beach with our three teenage boys (12 ,14 & 16). We all absolutely loved it & we all made loads of friends both English and international,especially through the animation activities programme. The animators are superb and work tirelessly from morning until the early hours to keep everyone involved in the many activities. The evening shows particularly Rock Of Ages , Mamma Mia & Madonna were great and were also a credit to the animation team. In particular Patricia (Holland) and Ashleigh (UK) always made time to sit and talk to us in between activities. The boys played football twice a day at 1100 and 1700 on the lovely astro turf court and spent a lot of time in the main pool. The rooms and the grounds were spotless - rooms cleaned and clean towels every day. Reception staff were always helpful and the bar staff were always pleasant too. Food always plentiful and warm with loads of choices every day. Only 15 mins from the airport too. Our visit to the water park was a great day out too.All in all , there was nothing to fault - everything was great. We did not want to come home and would really consider going back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveAlison2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here late July/ Aug for 2 weeks with First Choice All Inclusive. In the main the hotel met our requirements. The food and restaurant staff were really good. The food was well varied given that it was catering for at 700+ all day. The tables were cleared efficiently and we never really had a problem finding a table for our party of 5 even at peak times. The live cooking stations were a huge hit and the freshly prepared food was very tasty and a popular option. The room was cleaned and tidied every day and fresh towels daily were also a plus point. The bar staff were friendly and efficient and the bar area was spotless. Bar staff remembered our drink choices every night and did a great job. The kids loved the pools and enjoyed this part of the holiday the most. They didn't sample the kids club. However, what lets this hotel down is:
1) evening entertainment - the animation team work really hard and put a lot of energy into the evening shows but they are not entertainers and watching them dance and mime to Michael Jackson music and act out Mamma Mia was painful. The best I could say is that it was like watching a school play but without the vested interest of your child acting in it!
2) horrible smells around the grounds on many of the days apparently coming from drains or sewage treatment plant - very unpleasant.
3) the drain in our bathroom kept flooding the bathroom after one shower. There were 4 of us in the room and so it was like a swamp once we had all showered. One day, my daughter had a bath and the water drained from the bath back up through the drain bringing horrible black bits with it. Very unhygenic! Until that point we had put it down to the poor quality of the greek drainage system but as the black bits didn't appear until our holiday had almost finished we decided it wasn't worth complaining about.
4) reception staff were OK at first but once there was a problem they were unhelpful almost to the point of rudeness. This is not appropriate and not 4* service.
5) we were staying at peak time and did anticipate competition for sunbeds, however, the hotel has an abundance of space (the gardens are well kept and I never saw any litter) so they could supply many more. More shade would also have been nice as this space was also at a premium. Quite a few of the sun beds were broken or stained - again not 4* service.
6) the beach (not the fault of hotel but applicable for the holiday) - this was disappointing. It was very rocky and I didn't feel safe trying to walk into the sea as many of the rocks were very large and extremely slippery.
7) Resort was rundown with many properties derelict - not particularly pleasant although all the shopkeepers that were trading were pleasant and very friendly.
8) There was a smell of vomit outside the main pool toilets for the last few days we were there. The toilets were being cleaned regularly but the smell seemed to be coming from outside the toilets but it wasn't obvious where it was coming from.
9) the free bus service to Kardamena was shocking.A very well used 15 seater minibus provides the service which seemed to be giving priority to the customers staying at the 5* Akti Palace next door. The timetable was not applicable and customers were left hanging around waiting for the bus driver to return, Also, there was no queue and customers from other nationalities pushed in in front of less able customers. On one occasion only 2 of our party of 5 got on the bus as one member had poor mobility and used a walking stick. The bus driver did his best but it was inadequate for the purpose. We used a taxi sometimes to return to the hotel but the taxis only take 4 passengers although would squeeze 1 more in if you asked. It cost €10 per trip so not a cheap option.
10) the bar area inside was very dark - not many lights put on -no idea why. Another customer asked for the lights to be put on but only 2 were switched on for that night but not another night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 10 days in Akti Beach Club from 3rd-13th August 2014. We were late arriving at night but the gentleman on the desk was very welcoming and we were soon in our room which was in the main building. We did ask for a second pillow each which were delivered the next day so thank you so much to reception/housekeeping for finding them for us - it made a 100% difference! The whole of the extensive site is very well looked after and even when the pool steps became loose one day, the next morning they were cemented back in. The main food area runs like a well oiled machine with the staff working non stop to clear plates and glasses and the manager is present at all times ensuring that it is kept very clean. There was a bit of a queue at the various food counters (ie Chinese, Italian etc) but this moved on very quickly. We never had a problem finding something to eat and even vegetarians like myself will not have a problem however please remember this is not England so the choice isn't huge. The entertainment team have unending energy apparently and there are quite a choice of activities to join in, if you want to. A tip would be that if you want to do a few lengths of the pool, choose early morning or lunchtime! The only down side to the whole place would be the beach. Its a shale beach and then rocks into the water - there's no graceful way of getting into the sea! Once there though the sea is very clear and quite big fish (Dori type?!) can be seen without a snorkel. If you want to go to Kardemena there's a small courtesy bus which goes back and forth a few times a day. Dont worry if it gets full, he will come back for those that are still waiting. We decided to walk back along the sea front one day which took about 1hr however it was at lunchtime so very hot (Mad dogs and Englishmen!!) All in all we had a lovely holiday and would thank all the staff there for their efforts which made sure we had a stress free, very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Akti beach for 2 weeks and although we had a great time I would only stay a week if going back.

Arrival we were checked in quickly and shown to our room by the porter we paid for AC but nothing else you don't need a safe if you carry a money card and not cash, our cleaning lady was fab she never touched anything of ours that was left out and did a great job.

Room a bit basic and a bit seventies in style but clean bathroom small but adiquite towles changed daily.

Pools are great and lots of them to suit everybody we stayed around main pool and enjoyed the entertainment

Drinks are very good for AI beer and wine are not cheap rubbish and I also got Baileys which was a nice surprise the cups for the beer were small but if you had a pint it would get warm before you could finish it so they do the job just fine.

Entertainment at night was good but not great, they did there best after running around all day after the kids, some shows were better than others.

The position of the hotel is out the way a bit and the shuttle bus is a nightmare nobody queues up for it its just a free for all and they need a bigger bus not just a minibus someone always gets left behind and standing out in the open in 37 degrees is not even funny not with kids and it was never on time.

Beach is OK we are not beach people so didn't really use it not that we would of got a sunbed they all had towles on them at 6am, there is a nice bar along the beach road though well worth a visit left out of the hotel.

Hire a car in the town if staying more than a week and all other trips as well they are cheaper to book there, we did lots of trips and saved loads by doing this a Jeep cost us 110 Euros for 2 days water park 55 Euros for 3 of us horse riding was 150 Euros for 2 hours mountain ride for 3 and boat trip cost 130 Euros

Overall we had a great holiday the staff were friendly and the hotel is beautiful, we got to do everything we wanted to do on the island would we go back, no but only because there are so many other places to go in the world but if we were to ever return we would stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Club Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £69 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Akti Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Hotel
Hotel Akti Beach
Akti Beach Club Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing