We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Lovely food relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
79nffc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value Lovely food relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

A lovely good value for money all inclusive hotel. Our room overlooked the main pool and was spacious, clean and modern with air con and TV which (50 euro refundable deposit for the remote controls). Fridge is useful in the room but remember it is only on when your key is in the electric switch.

Arrived at 10.30pm to be told at 11pm there would be snacks available, so we waited around but were offered only pancakes with chocolate sauce – which is not what we fancied so opted out and went straight to bed.

There are 3 pools, main pool is where the animation team were based, entertainment 10am – 1pm, then 3.30pm – 5.30pm. Music very loud and struggled to hear own iPod music so opted for the quieter pool for the rest of the week near the amphitheatre which was a lot more civilised and quiet, with pool bar which provided excellent service 10am – 6pm. Plenty of sun beds and shade under the permanent umbrellas around all 3 pools.

Daytime entertainment was varied and you were never hassled into taking part, the free snorkelling sessions are worth having a go, look out for the company in the main pool on certain mornings.

The evening entertainment was funny but only because it was so amateur. The animation team had worked hard on Grease the musical of which we saw the first show of the season.

The Fire Pool Show was excellent and well worth getting good poolside seat, good choice of music and varied show.

The food was varied, hot and plenty of it. Waiting staff were always efficient and salads being refilled. The Chinese food was excellent freshly cooked and tasty.

The restaurant manager seemed a particularly rude person, not to us as a family but on one occasion was completely out of order as he got into an argument with the bar maid who was in the middle of serving us and she had to pass our order on to another member of staff while they seemed to have this verbal slanging match in Greek. There was no need for this and he seemed to be lacking people skills.

The free courtesy bus was excellent – always on time (if not a little early) so arrive 5 minutes before departure time.

The pharmacy in Kardamena was English speaking and very useful when I had to purchase cough medicine and hay fever tablets.

The hotel does hire beach towels at a deposit of 10 Euros per towel, which is useful for those families wanting to save luggage space.

The only issue we had was the lack of communication to us about extending our room beyond the normal 12noon checkout time on day of departure. We booked our room till 7pm and they said no problem then when we came to pay they said that they had never guaranteed us the room. Many of the flights seem to be night flights, and you have to request you keep your room on for longer. They do not confirm if this is possible until the evening before you depart. You are not guaranteed your room and the cost is 20 euro till 6pm and 50 euro till midnight but this is no use if they say your room is not available.

The beach hut hire pedalos and sun beds free of charge on the beach. We went on the extreme activities which involved being pulled around on a speed boat while lying on what could only be described as a double mattress. 15 Euros per person and up to 4 people can go on it at once. The speed boat driver was brilliant, very funny and allowed one of our families to sit on the boat and take photos and video of those being pulled around. We had a good 15 minutes on the water, which was plenty. We wore lifejackets but strong swimmers would be recommended for this activity.

Overall a fab holiday which was as active or relaxing as you make it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79nffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    492
    159
    49
    28
See reviews for
616
359
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This resort is absolutely beautiful . Good value . Great food and drink . The staff are very helpful . What more can I say that hasn't been said before . Can't wait to go back next year .

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

this was our second year at the akti beach.the food was as lovely as ever.drink was great and all the ice cream my little darlings could eat ,fantastic BUT nearly all the animation shows were exactly the same as last year, so for us the evenings were boring.It would be nice to have them changed yearly.We suggested to the manager if they could have a tv room that showed childrens films that would be a great idea, just to get them out of the mid day sun for a bit.Last year we were in an upper floor apart this year ground floor with some very selfish LOUD neighbours, not english !! i wasnt impressed but this is not the hotels fault. yes there was a problem with mozzies but only when the wind died down.i still love this hotel and its great if you have children but i wouldnt go year after year if they wont change the entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witchiepoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallasey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

just readthey some of the bad reviews and they are pathetic how can you blame the hotel for being bit and it being to hot what do these people go on holiday for. The air conditioning is free you just need to put a 50 euro deposit down but get straight back. the animation team were amazing they make you so comfortable and have alot of time for you and going out of there way to talk to you in the day the main town is 10 min on the free bus . the egg woman is my fav she is so grumpy but so funny loved her amy and the two brothers were great and will have you dancing to the sunshine dace DISCO DISCO WO WO the only random things are the shows its done by the animation team who are shattered from being with us all day the hotel maybe needs to get maybee two nights with proffesinals in defo going back

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellybeanWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharm el
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

just returned from the akti club,we had a fabulous time and we will defo be going back the food was fantastic the drinks and there was no body saying you carnt have more than one drink BUT bewere of the MOSQUITOS they are rife over there at this time every thing from begining to end was fabx

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonestaclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

excellent value, wide variety of food and helpful staff. My only negative was that the evening variety shows by the animation team was not appropriate for young children (of which there were many), But they were fantastic with the kids all day long and provided many different activities for all ages. It was fairly quiet when we went at the end of May not sure what it would be like in the height of the season - you had to be up very early if you wanted a sun lounger.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank grannypruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Just come back from a great week's family holiday at Club Akti and would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially families.

A spectacular mountain backdrop to the whole site, shingly beach with FREE loungers and pedalos/ kayaks for hotel guests 1 minute's walk away and a FREE regular hotel bus to Kardamena, the nearest town, were some of the highlights of staying here.

Hotel staff almost without exception (one off-hand receptionist and a dour restaurant manager) were polite, helpful and couldn't do enough to look after us. They worked extremely hard and many of them for long hours in the heat, and although we were obviously paying for this service, we appreciated this as it helped make our holiday experience so good. Apart from the entertainment bar which was staffed single-handedly by one uncomplaining barman, there were lots of people in quick and efficient attendance to run the whole complex.

The food was exceptional and having done the all-inclusive buffet thing several times before, found that the variety on offer couldn't have been better. Everything from truly authentic Greek dishes to plain English staples were on offer each day, as well as Sushi (fab!), freshly made pizzas and Chinese dishes. Lots of self-will needed here if you want to keep the weight down, though there were also lots of fresh salads and tons of veggie options which isn't always the case abroad. Local wine and beer was perfectly drinkable (again not always the case everywhere) and All Inclusive means the kids can eat and drink what and when they want which surely makes life easier for parents trying to chill a bit.

The hotel had even specially prepared a light breakfast as we arrived early morning (6am) and a supper buffet after midnight as we left at 3am, which was really thoughtful and they didn't have to do this. Our daft overnight flight times were down to Thomas Cook and having to leave our room at 6pm for a 3am departure from the hotel (20 Euro supplement to keep it on from midday) was a pain, especially with young children. However, there are loads of settees in two large reception lounges so we crashed out and even did a beach walk in the small hours to pass some time. (Imagine this scenario in England...?!)

Kardamena is a lovely harbour town with everything from waterside restaurants to touristy shopping streets and clubs for those young and energetic enough to take advantage. The bus takes 10 mins from the hotel and is regular enough to fit a trip into town alongside the rest of your day's plans (a lovely cool evening outing too!)
Book your trips and excursions here as they're much cheaper than the travel company offers in the hotel- day trip by boat to Kos Town was perfect for 10 Euros each.

There's the usual evening entertainment on site in an outdoor amphitheatre if you want it staffed by a very enthusiastic international entertainment team, with a Pool Fire Show and traditional Greek dancers being the best nights.

Rooms were fairly basic but comfortable (Greek 4 star= English 2/3 star) and for a 50 Euro refundable deposit you get air con and TV remotes. AC is essential for a good night's sleep as it was up to 30 degrees even at the end of May.

The Greek people are always friendly, welcoming and seem genuinely pleased to be your hosts, especially on the islands which rely almost completely on tourism. I can only imagine any duff reviews for this hotel were odd exceptions as you kind of expect the odd mozzie/ ant or beetle in your room don't you? The All Inclusive package is great value for money and much better quality than you'd normally get elsewhere.

I'd definitely stay here again- if you do, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DayTripperDooLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
774 reviews
6.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Club Hotel

Property: Akti Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Hotel
Hotel Akti Beach
Akti Beach Club Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing