We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Booked this hotel for our last 3 nights after travelling around to Rhodes and Turkey for previous 11 and wanted somewhere really nice to chill. Booked it after seing reviews on this web page and i have to say i was left very disappointed. We were in room 125 and although room was slightly clean i have to say the bathroom was terrible. sewage smell out of it and shower right on top of the toilet was less than higenic. I knew rooms on 3rd floor had been refurbished (and the rest of hotel is being done over winter) and asked to be moved and was told we couldnt (although hotel wasnt that full)
Celing fan barely moved and room was like a sauna, so they delivered us a full size fan which never worked and was supposed to be changed twice but never was.
Towels only changed 2 times a week although you have to use them to mop up the water off the whole of the bathroom floor after showering other wise you would break your neck (think modern day wet room but 20 years plus old and minging!!)
All in all i wouldnt stay there again based on our room/ Like i say there refurbishing it over winter but once was enough for me.
Used pool at cleopatra superior hotel and that looked amazing

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stellacurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manovrb9, General Manager at Cleopatra Classic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,
as the hotel has been totally refurbished in 2009, i believe your comments no longer apply. I kindly ask you to reconsider, visit the hotel's website and social media to see how the hotel looks now as your review does not apply any more.
the hotel is awarded every year since 2009 as one of the best in its category.......
kind regards
Manos Hatzikonstantinos
Cleopatra Hotels General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    70
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
88
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

put honestly,m the worst hotel i have stayed in.

rooms were stinking of sewage and there was mould everywhere! an extremely basic hotel which was quite un clean!!

our friends were staying in another room which was just as bad! sockets were hangin out the wall etc.

we were advised that the hotel is being refurbished, however first impressions do last and i wont be returning to this hotel.

the cleopatra superior was by far a better class of hotel!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank stallion_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manovrb9, General Manager at Cleopatra Classic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,
I herewith would like to kindly bring to your attention that the hotel has been 100% refurbished in 2009. Since then it is awarded every year as one of the best in its category. I believe your comments no longer apply.
Kind regards
Manos Hatzikonstantinos
Cleopatra Hotels General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I stayed in Cleopatra Classic Hotel from 6th to 11th of August.I read so many good reviews for this hotel at tripadvisor site so I decided after my pleasant stay to write a review too.

Cleopatra Classic is just 50 meters away from the beach and a distance of just 5 minutes walk from Bar Street where most of bars and pubs are located and from restaurants (tavernas as they are called here in Greece)

As far as the staff are concerned they are very friendly and in your services every moment.The room where I stayed was very clean and looked like a modern appartment.It included air-condition,tv set,a small fridge and wardrobe if you have too many clothes.The bathroom was also very clean.The towels where changed daily and the cleaners where always using chlorine to keep bacteria out of there.The shower was simple but good.

About breakfast,it was simple not something special.There were cereals,milk,bread,butter,jam and orange juice.

There's also a swimming pool.I think that it's really clean in comparison with the ones from 2 other hotels I lived in the past.

In conclusion I really recommend this hotel to everyone.To families with children,to friends who go to Kardamena to have a good time and to singles like me.It's an excellent choice!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRock23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This was our first time to Kos, and therefore our first time staying at the Cleopatra Classic Hotel.
The hotel is BB, it has 3 floors, an inside bar, an outside poolside bar in the main building and a seperate self catering block.
Our room was in the main building, The decor was a little dated but o.k, basic accommodation with twin beds, a dressing table and not much room for anything else!! the bathroom was your usual greek style setup comprising of a shower head and a drain in the floor, with a shower curtain, so as you can guess when it is used everything in the bathroom gets a little bit wet!

Breakfast is very basic, just tea,coffee,juice, toast and cerial but if you wait until 10am you can get a fantasic bacon roll from the poolside bar for just 2 euros!!!

The pool is fantasic, very clean and well maintained, the sunbeds are free and plenty available.

Location wise, the resort is only 10 mins drive away from the airport. And the hotel is only 2 mins away from the beach and 5 mins away from Bar Street.

The beach is split in 2, with the beautiful harbour in the middle, with many restaurants and bars along the sea front. Kardamena also has 2 back streets which run along side each other, jam packed with shops, bars & even more restaurants, small bit of advice, the drinks prices get more and more expensive the closer you are to Bar Street, almost double the price!

Kos town is worth a visit, just catch the local bus from the square, it takes about 40 mins to get their for just a few euros each.

Take the trip to Nisyros, but book it through your rep not the little shop down the road. it does cost you 45 euros each compared to 15 euros if you book it independantly, but you deffentaly get your monies worth, the boat sailed at 1pm and the crossing took an hour, once at the otherside we were meet by an English speaking guide who took us on a tour of the island, we visted many small villages along the way, before jumping on a coach up to the famous volcano. this was the best part of the trip!! we actually walked inside the crater and hopped over holes with bubbling mud and sulphur gasses!!! ( hold your nose it smells like rotten eggs)
We sailed back at 7.30pm just intime to see the sunset!!! excellent day out. (aparently you only get your crossing and a quick visit to the volcano for the cheaper price)

The Greek night in Zia is also lots of fun, free flowing wine all night long!!! and an 11 course meal and 3 hour show.

All in all a great holiday, perfect weather all week, not a cloud in the sky, we would deffinatly consider going there again in the future.

p.s> This hotel is due for renovation within the next 12 months, the top floor has already been done, we were told about the plans and it sounds really nice.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — DATED DECOR
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOLLY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Had a great time at cleopatra, nice hotel, great staff, nice pool and met great folk!!
Breakfast not great, just toast and cereal but you can buy a nice english breakfast for about €3.50.
Would definately come back here if coming back to Kos, oh location perfect, about 1 min walk from start of strip with bars and restaurants but you get no noise.
Stavros bar guy fab, will miss our wee friends from scarborough and the guys from Nottingham.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We had a lovely time here, our first two days were rain but after that the weather was fantastic. the rooms were small, basic, typical greek but clean although the shower was just a whole in the floor, coulda done with a bath too but hey!!!!

The pool and terrece was lovely although the pool and sea were FREEZING cold!!!! stavros and maria and all the other staff were lovely and couldnt of been more accomodating!!! they even came to wish us a farewell and safe journey!!!!

This is my 3rd time in kardamena and i LOVE it!! it was my boyfriends 1st but he loved it too!!! nightlife is good, busy but not too mad!!!!! We found a good indie club called MAD with decent music also downtown full of the old classic- cheesey pop!!!

LOVE IT!!!!

  • Liked — the pool, terrace, bar and food!!!it had an ironin room too!!!
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go over your luggage allowance cos they will charge, we got charged both ways!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
#23 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#29 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Classic Hotel

Property: Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopatra Classic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotels are ideal for couples of any age and families. For people that want to be near the center, where everything is happening, but also want to relax and get a good night's sleep. Large groups of youngsters should reconsider before booking in our hotels. Manos Hatzikonstantinos, Cleopatra Hotels General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cleopatra Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Cleopatra
Classic Hotel Kardamena
Kardamena Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing