We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Akti Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akti Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We travelled to Akti palace at beginning of June with Broadway travel. We arrived very late at night and after an efficent check in and being taken to our room on a golf buggy( only two mins walk) we were able to return to the dining room to eat. maria at reception was always friendly and helpful.
Our room was large , very modern and clean. there was a fridge in the room with water , fruit and wine and tea and coffee facilities. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels and beds changed every other day. the fridge was replenished each day. Air con in the room and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Shower was good and always plenty of hot water.
We were in a room on the ground floor with a small pool that we shared with 3 other rooms. it was so peaceful and great to be right outside our room. we did go to the main pool on one occasion but preferred the peace at our little pool. At night the complex was very quiet and easy to sleep.
The food was good although lunch and dinner were very similar, lunch at the pool bar was good and a nice change from eating in the restaurant at every meal. It was lovely to sit outside the restaurant at night and the staff were friendly and helpful. The wine and drinks were all very good. As another guest said the lady on the egg stand in the morning needed to learn to smile! we ate in the greek restaurant and the food was good but the restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere, maybe a bit of greek music!
In the evening we used to sit outside and have a drink and chat, the young girl and young man from the bar were lovely and always smiling and interacted with the guests. The hotel contained guests from many countries.
We did go next door one evening to see the fire show, but it was soo bad it was good!
We were happy to relax and chat in the peace of the Akti Palace but there was games and music all day in the Akti Beach if you wanted it. there is a gift shop at both hotels for gifts and any forgotten toiletries, like the mosquito relief stick I forgot to take!
The town of Kardemena was about a 45 minute walk along the sea front and this was very pleasant in the morning and evening but far too hot during the day, we did get the shuttle which only took 10 mins. The streets around the square have lots of shops and restaurants but unfortunately a lot of the shops and restaurants on the outskirts have closed down.
We took a boat trip over to the island of Nisyros which we booked through an agent in Kardemena, it cost 48 euros for both of us and it was well worth the time and money . We set off at 9.30 in the morning and sailed over to the island , then got a coach to the crater of the volcano which was amazing to see, we then had a stroll around the town and lunch there, a really good day out.
We went away for a relaxing break in a good hotel which is excactly what we had. We dont tend to go to the same place twice but if we went to Kos again we would definently go back to Akti Palace.

Room Tip: choose a room with a small shared pool if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    177
    59
    19
    8
See reviews for
189
262
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As many others have said the staff are very welcoming and wanting to offer good service.

The food on offer is good quality and well prepared but a buffet is always going to be difficult for two meals a day when it is offering a wide choice as it gives the impression as being the same meal each day. The trick is to treat it like a menu and have, say, salmon with grilled salad for lunch and chicken with vegetables for dinner and ringing the changes over the days.

Many people seem to pile their plate with a mixture of all sorts of things each meal and that way it will seem "samey". In addition to the normal buffet there was usually a "carvery" option such as roast beef or whole salmon.

The three specialist restaurants are worth trying. There all work in the same way, so if you like one you'll probably like them all. Booking these restaurants was easy.

As mentioned in other reviews the architecture is stark and there are few green areas.

The main problem is if you want a bed near the pool especially with shade. I assume if you go down in the middle of the night with towels it might be possible. The only option is to sit at a table in the shade of the pool bar where you will be brought as many drinks as you can manage. The bar staff here and in the main bar are first class.

Food is also available near the pool for most of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Can't fault the staff, very helpful, hardworking and friendly.
Hotel and rooms were clean, not sure I'd say 5* but definitely a 4.
Food was good, lots of variety- didn't eat the same meal twice, lots for the kids to eat also.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurayn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is very clean. The food excellent. Perfect for families and older people as well.
Fairly good for disabled like me, but could do with more access to the restaurant.
The staff were excellent, kind, very helpful and efficient.
My husband and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: This is a modernistic hotel, just over a year old. I would ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this for anyone that value luxury vacations on a modern, peaceful, child proof environment. On the plus side is the amazing food and drinks quality. Overall the hotel is designed to remove any stress and worry during your stay offering everything one may need

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable week at Akti Palace (10-17 June) aided by the right weather - high 20s with a light breeze. And yes, staff were helpful and friendly (with the exception of the girl on eggs at breakfast who seemed to have a grudge against the world).

The bad news - I have to agree with others who say "don't expect real 5-star". In effect Akti Palace is an extension of Akti Beach next door, which has been open longer and is rated 4-star. Yet to us Akti Beach looked better, having more greenery and more attractively designed buildings (you could call Akti Palace "minimalist" - you could also call it "basic" or "brutalist".)

While the speciality restaurants were excellent, the main buffet was not - the food was ordinary, repetitive and unattractively presented, and we did not see any of the promised "show" cooking; yet guests at the Akti Beach told us their reestaurant was superb. it was fortunate that the weather permitted eating outside, because the restaurant interior resembled a works canteen - similarly the reception area was a bit like inside an aircraft hangar.

Something to watch out for - there are a lot of unexpected small steps around the pool/bar area which can easily trip you up and are not good for anyone with sight problems.

Our conclusion: we had a very good all-inclusive internet deal (through Broadway Travel) and there is no doubt the holiday as a whole was good value. Our feeling is that the owners developed Akti Palace at the wrong time for the Greek economy and are struggling to make it pay for itself.

Room Tip: You may have a choice between a room next to one of the small pools, or one with a sea view - but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you have been to the Greek Islands before, you will know that a 5 star hotel is really about the same as a 3-4 star in this country, in saying that, this is a great value hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff in all departments.
The hotel is situated about 20 minutes from the airport, more or less on the beach, although to swim, it is not easy to access the water from the beach. The swimming pool is next to the beach and more than adequate, with the pool bar right next to it, serving food and drinks all day, can't really comment on the food there, as we preferred to eat in the main buffet during the day, which also had plenty of outdoor seating.
The main buffet is ok with various choices of food, but as other people have mentioned, gets a little repetitive after a while and if eating indoors, does feel a bit like a modern canteen.
We enjoyed the themed restaurants, Asian, Greek and fish, with the latter being our favourite, they have to be booked in advance, but that was never a problem.
We had a garden room with private pool, which was shared with 4 other rooms, this was great and really made the holiday, no early morning towel rush to save a sunbed.
The only things I really disliked, was the fact that in a modern 5 star hotel, you were still not able to flush away toilet paper and also that people were allowed to smoke in the outside eating area next to the main buffet.
We never go back to the same place twice, but I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: A garden room with shared pool is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sonrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Palace Hotel

Property: Akti Palace Hotel
Address: Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akti Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Palace Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing