We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunny View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny View Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was my second visit to Sunny view and I will be going back again 2013. First of all I would like to praise the family for their hospitality. The food was lovely, all home made by Katerina. My 12 year old niece had a great time especially playing with Sunny the dog who is just the cutest little dog ever. Frantzis could not do enough for you. The pool is lovely and plenty of sunbeds. The rooms are very clean. Bedding and towels get changed every day and theres a lovely view from balcony. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Janet Glasgow

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    81
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
52
131
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Two days before our departure to Kos in early June, we were forced to postpone our vacation and we were really desperate to leave our country (on top of the rain) . Once arrived in Kos, especially at the Sunny View Hotel we were in paradise and we started our new Greek (short) life with Frantzis' Familly. it's was our first trip to Kos, Kardamena, and knew better the island of Leros from the past where we stayed also one week this year.

Sunny View Hotel is a golden Olympic choice. Kardamena is a lovely place hidden behind an impressive mountain sitting on the peacefull seaside, wonderful sandy beaches, many restaurants and shops, trendy bars, boats lazing in the city-center with some palm trees and good fruits cocktails. The sea temperature is warm without waves as this side of the island doesn't suffer of windy weather anytime in the year.

Be sure that you will have a very special welcome at the Sunny View Hotel no matter what time you check in at the hotel ( max 10 min from Airport) and you will quickly forget that you're a tourist . The familly works with their heart and passion. All of them are always in good mood willing to make your stay magic and confortable; they were always extremely very kind with our son. He was the youngest one and he never cried except for delicous extra size ice-cream.

We had a triple room which was simple and very clean, TV good size with satelite, the swimming pool was a little paradise as it filled with crystal clear water coming from deep source. Our kid became a self-swimmer after 3 days at Sunny View Hotel. He was feeling very confident and he loved homemade food which was important for us as children can be a nightmare during holidays if food does not suits their tastes. Lucky us, we were all extremely happy with theproposed menu and the weekly BBQ.

Hotel's guests were all very friendly and we went out for a drink several times with other guests and had great time in Kardemena. My husband loved the hotel's bar as Frantzis has a real talent for many of cocktails.

We had only one regret during our stay : Italy was not European Football Champion (:-
Thank you for this unforgettable holiday we had during the last week of June 2012.

See you next year Frantzis & family !

Tonia, Stefano and Bruno

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinette201277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Arrived on a late-ish flight at around 10.00 p.m. and check in was quick and straight forward. Katarina was happy to prepare anything from the menu even though we were so late and we had a lovely cocktail to start our holiday.
Frantcis, George and Katarina really make this a warm and inviting holiday experience. We have stayed in many different types of accommodation (from downright dreadful to 5*) and our time at the Sunny View ranked as one of our favourite holidays. This is due to the owners warmth, cleanliness of room, availabilty of beds round the pool, variety and quality of home cooked food. The accommodation is simple and honest - no frills but comfortable with free wi-fi which always worked and a TV with a couple of Sky channels if you really want to watch it. Aircon, if you need it is at a small charge - we prefer to try to acclimatise but by day 5 we submitted and used it as the temperatures had really soared.
Dont think I can think of any negatives - yes it is a 30 minute walk to Kardamena town (or 6 eu taxi fare, or 1.80 eu bus fare) but you should have worked that out before booking I guess. The walk is along a gorgeous coastline and we tried to do the round trip each day for the exercise, sometimes jumping in the sea on the return walk 'just because you can'. Buses do pass by one side of the hotel - but not so often and it is certainly not intrusive and its quite handy to jump on and off if you choose this mode of transport into town.
What a lovely family-run hotel and a great bbq night shared by residents, plus friends and family of the owners so the atmosphere was great. George - thank you again for going out of your way for us (you know why....!) - your an absolute gentleman and made us feel special.
Missing you all already and working on our next trip to stay with you as we speak.
Really recommend a trip to this hotel and this island if you want to get out of the All Inclusive rat race and if you want to experience 'real' people, 'real' food in a lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlewanderer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was our first trip to Sunny View Hotel, we flew out on 21st July and returned 30 July 2012. What a brilliant holiday George Franzis and Mother (as my husband insisted on calling her) were excellent hosts and you really do feel part of the family along with Sunny the dog. We can't fault the Greek hospitality or praise them enough. The barbecue on Tuesday night was a wonderful social occasion and we were disappointed that we were coming home on Monday as it we'd been there one more day we could have gone to another BBQ. Mother's home cooking can't be faulted and on our last day we were asked what we would like to choose for our dinner and they would endeavor to provide it, we chose apple pie and we weren't disappointed. Upon speaking to other guests we discovered that the majority of them had been there many times before and this just goes to show how good it is that people keep returning (we are already looking at September next year!!) We were a varied party of boys aged 17-21, parents (48 years) and grandparents (70 plus) we all agreed what a wonderful relaxing holiday we had had and it was only a 30 minute walk or a taxi ride (6 Euros) for the boys to Kardamena to sample the night life. The pool was lovely and quiet and there was always shade left for us without the need to get up at 7.00am to put towels out. Brilliant hospitality, brilliant cooking and a brilliant all round holiday. Thanks to George, Franzis and Mother - we hope to see you real soon. Les, Tracey, Robert, Grant, Sue and Richard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 10 days between the 9th - 19th of July 2012.

The hotel is kept spotless, there are always sunbeds available, decent size swimming pool, ocean view rooms and the laid back and peace atmosphere hits you as soon as you walk into the place.

The food is lovely (all freshly cooked from scratch) and the family who run the hotel helped make our holiday so good.

They were always accommodating, from keeping the bar open as long as we liked (Thank you Francis!) too making sure we were happy and havin fun at all times.

We truly left feeling part of the family and was sad to leave.

Gemma and Simon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just had a great time at the sunny view hotel. rooms are basic but what you would expect for the price you pay. A lovely peaceful pool area, great family bar, we only had food at lunch time but the food we had was good. We joined the family BBQ night and enjoyed that too. All the family are friendly and go the extra mile for you. The centre of Kardamena is a 30-40 walk or 6 euros in a taxi so you are near enough to go to the bars and restaurants and far enough for it to be lovely and peaceful. Thanks George, Francis and family we had a brill time. Martin & Kim

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 801charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at sunny view and I have to say what an amazing time we all had.George and family were welcoming,personal and ensured we all had a great time.I have travelled all over the world yet never received such a high level of personal service......food was home cooked,rooms basic but spotless,pool perfect and I think we were the only guests there that hadn't visited it before.Franks cocktails were to die for and the chocolate milkshakes were the yummiest yet.Best budget holiday we have ever had.Thanks sunny view!!!!

Room Tip: Excellent location if you want a more relaxing and quieter holiday. Room 13 where we stayed was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
1.1 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#24 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#28 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny View Hotel

Property: Sunny View Hotel
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kardamena
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny View Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing