We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but perfect for a clubbing holiday”
Review of Elga Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elga Apartments
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but perfect for a clubbing holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and 3 friends spent 2 weeks in the ELGA and had the holiday of a lifetime!!! Kos is such a good place to go on a clubbing holiday.
This hotel is probably in the best location for a clubbing holiday, you could see the two main clubs from either side of our apartment. Every week the clubs have a famous visitor (e.g. Reggie Yates, Joey Essex and Danny Dyer when we were there). Photos of one club are on facebook: search ‘starlight club’ and you’ll get an idea of the atmosphere.
Do not buy the entire package of events from your reps!! The only things I would recommend buying is the FRAT party and maybe the booze cruise. The rest is just a rip off basically all you do is go on a bar crawl before going to a club(some nights there is a free bar or 2euro bar but its still not worth the money). The drinks in the bar crawl cost more than if you just go out with your friends because they don’t do any deals. I would recommend Mario’s by the harbour (5euros for 3 shots and 2 cocktails!) or just ask for deals when you go to bars.
The hotel room wasn’t amazing. In the kitchen all we got was a toaster, one hob, a fridge and a kettle. So all we could really cook was supernoodles and pasta. One day the electricity was down for a few hours and so everything in the fridge got warm and our milk went off. Oh and you have to keep bread in the fridge, ours went mouldy in less than 24hours. There are loads of restaurants and cafes, some quite cheap so we ate out every lunchtime. We had two twin rooms with decent beds. One room had a mirror and wardrobe and both rooms had a bedside table. We were lucky because we were at one of the corners of the hotel and so had two good sized balconies. The bathroom was okay, clean and simple. The shower was odd, you basically had to use it like a hose and without a shower curtain the water got everywhere so we used a towel to soak it up then hung it on our balcony. It dried pretty quickly so it didn’t bother us. The shower was almost always cold but it was nice and refreshing. If you wash clothes and put them on the balcony and they fall off, you probably won’t see them again. I have a feeling that the hotel manager collects them because I saw them with bin bags full of clothes. We lost a top and 2 towels.
The maids were crap. They did as little as possible. You were lucky if they swept the floor or emptied the bins. We were there for 2 weeks and they didn’t change our sheets until 3 days before we were leaving. But to be fair we did live like tramps and it didn’t bother us much because we didn’t spend much time in the hotel. I wouldn’t leave anything like tickets or paperwork hanging around, we almost lost our Joey Essex autograph because they sometimes go around your room with a bin liner and throw away anything that looks like rubbish.
Probably less than 10 meters away from the hotel is a tiny shop which sells all the basics you may need and a larger supermarket about 3mins walk away. There are a lot of cashpoints around Kardamena. There are a few nice beaches, nearest is only 10min walk. It has watersports there if you’re brave enough.
The worst thing about the hotel was if you broke anything you have to pay, a lot. We broke 4 glasses and had to pay 8euros, so we ended up buying plastic cups from the shop to save anymore accidents and washing up! Some boys next door broke a balcony chair (25euros) and then swapped it with one of ours, don’t worry if this happens to you, they have room numbers on the bottom so you just have to let the hotel know and they sort it. We didn’t realise this for a few days so we were hiding our chairs inside and planning to jump the balconies to swap ours back.
The hotel pool was good, always enough sun loungers and never really very busy. It plays music and there’s a bar which also sells food. The bar in the hotel reception was really good, 24HOURS.
I would certainly return to Kos and stay at the Elga. This hotel is perfect for CLUBBERS, which means noisy all day and all night. Definitely not for families. Heres a few tips…
• Wear shoes in clubs.. I cut my toe on glass
• Pre-drink, even before going to the bars, you’ll have so much more fun. We even popped home from the clubs to have a few shots (they write a time on your wrist so you have to run) to save some money.
• Don’t leave valuables on the beach, lots of people decide to go swimming after the clubs and get robbed. There are a lot of gypsy kids who try to sell glow bands at the bars, I felt sorry for them on the first night but they are not nice people. The teenage boys offered us ‘free blow jobs’, we got rocks thrown at us and some kid hit this girls boob. They are fine as long as you ignore them, we stupidly started an argument.
• Be nice to the hotel owners, they can easily kick you out. We got a warning on our first night because our neighbours threw water at us!
• If any of you have seen sun, sex and suspicious parents, Ronnie and his friend are out there at the moment working for one of the clubs. The programme was all a set up and he was already working in Kos before filming. I think he’s really embarrassed about it so if you see him, he probably wont admit he’s Ronnie.
• We think that the small Glens vodka from the small shop may be fake, just be careful with that one
• The hotel managers don’t like guests at night (if you get what I mean) you either have to pretend that they are staying at the elga or go to the beach.

Room Tip: Get a corner apartment for two balconies 1st floor is good, any higher and you have to climb a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gracev530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    41
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
13
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is in a great place - almost next door to the two clubs Status and Starlight. Also really close to the strip/bar street and the supermarkets. The pool is great, the pool bar is pretty cheap. The staff are so friendly, Scott and Pedros were great the entire week. The 24 hour bar is a great way to meet the reps and workers, and other people in the hotel. I made a bunch of friends and felt safe the whole holiday. However, the only problem is the heat if you're not used to it. The rooms get very stuffy without air conditioning. They made a difference but sleeping was still uncomfortable. You'd be lucky to get hot water when you showered, but you mostly want cold water so its ok. The 18-30s reps seem to only like you if you'll buy all of the nights, which is a total rip off unless there is one thing you particularly want to do - they want 230 euros for the whole week. We did all the nights for less than that, so don't buy the whole package, but they will try and pressure you into it. Watch out for the beach, I had everything stolen when I went swimming - neeeeever leave your stuff alone at night! I had a great time, but I was uncomfortable due to lack of air con and not enough money for decent meals. Also, strongly reccomend the Garden restaurant and bar - its cheap and delicious. Enjoy, I love you Elga!

Room Tip: Lower floors have more noise but more of a breeze, rooms by the pool have sun in the morning so heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed here from 7th-15th june 3 ladies, with 18-30s. hotel is in a great loacation right next to starlight and status clubs and the beach only a 10 minute walk down the road. apartments are spacious, clean and good little kitchen... the cleaners came in almost every day but they dont replace the loo roll once its gone so make sure you take some with you. there isnt a shower curtain so water goes everywhere in the bathroom but it does the job. Pool area is clean with plenty of sun loungers, with music playing all day and a reasonable priced pool bar (you cant take food or drink down with you, you have to buy from them.. bottle of water is one euro). the owners have a dog... but hes harmless, you just have to watch out for the strays who sometimes come for shade underneath your sunbed. the bar is 24 hours so worth having drinks there before heading out. If your going with 18-30s this year your in for a treat with vikki and wilcox (remember to remind him about his ladyboy experience haha!!) it is worth buying the wrist band as after 12 the music in all bars get turned extremely low... so best to follow the crowds into the clubs for uv glow party, silent disco and of course the FRAT party!! had an amazing time here glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in Elga from 7th-15th June 2012 with one of my friends!!!... For the price we paid we could not have asked for more, 2 big bedrooms a massive balcony and decent bathroom and kitchen! The maids cleaned our room everyday and they were superb, our room was left immaculate every day!...Booked with club 18-30 but spent more time with the staff at the hotel, who were AMAZING, all extremely friendly and always cheerful!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone...BEST hotel, have stayed in two other hotels which 18-30's use and Elga is by far the best place we have stayed! TAKE ME BACK NOW!!!!! Lots of love from Harriet and Emily.....Petros we miss you!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarriettEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

me and 3 friends stayed at elga between 15-31st of July 2011, the hotel is basic and everything about it is basic, although male staff were very friendly can't say the same about the woman! No air conditioning and you need to pay for the fans 30 per fan per week.. We had to get 3 we were only ever in the room to sleep and get ready! It is great for young people looking to spend little, close to everything, night clubs round the corner bar street down the street, beach close by, all in all I would stay again, the pool does shut at 7pm though so no mid night skinny dipping!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthonlynolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at the Elga June 2011 with 3 of my best girlfriends. 2nd time to Kos (love the place) and by far a much better hotel than our first. We booked with Club 18-30 as it was cheap & cheerful but only took part in the boat party with them. We decided to do everything else ourselves which was by far much better and cheaper!

You get what you pay for, a basic room (ours were number 18 and 19 i think, but these where the best rooms by far in terms of location and socialising), with plenty of space and the balconies were great. The shower had no curtain but we knew this would probably happen and bought one with us. Tied it to the window and towel rack. What a difference that made! Maids came by regularly and gave us fresh towels and bedding.

You are literally 5minutes from 2 of the main clubs (Status & Starlight), along with a quick convenience shop opposite. The rest of the nightlife is again 5minutes down the street with the main supermarket and gift shops. Location was fab!

The staff were all friendly and fido the dog was amazing, the 24hr bar was great, the pool was lovely (public but most out there are). We met some amazing people who were working out there (have kept in touch) and who were living at the Elga...all agreed it was the best.

You wont be disappointed as long as your not expected 5*. You get what you pay for but the memories are def worthwhile!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MmmBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Went in Sep 2011, you get what you pay for! room is basic but you want somewhere to sleep! not live in! this a party town and holiday! Club reps are awsome and get you motivated, ELGA is by far the best and allround fun HOTEL in the area! best 2 week holiday of my life!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty528785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kardamena
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stergia Apartments
Stergia Apartments
#36 of 39 in Kardamena
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andavis Hotel
Andavis Hotel
#32 of 39 in Kardamena
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#28 of 39 in Kardamena
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elga Apartments

Property: Elga Apartments
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elga Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elga Hotel is a family run busines which is only few meters away from the beautiful town of kardamena were you will find tourist shops,tasty traditional taverns,bars,and many other things to do on your stay.The sea of Kardamena is only 400 meters away from the resort. The hotel offers a pool with a snak bar with varius food and deferent coctails and many other things. All Elga rooms are spacy with a huge balcony with montain and pool view,or city view to relax on your stay.All Elga rooms have private bathroom. The reception is 24 houers and the hotel bar is open also 24 houers.Do not forget asking for a MOJITO at the bar! Kos Airport is only 5 kilometers away from the resort and kos harbour is 25 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Elga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elga Apartments Kardamena
Elga Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Elga Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing