We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we stayed at the superior in September this year,it was 3 year since we had last stayed and the hotel is still as good as it was then,the bar staff are always great,the food at the hotel is good quality,we got married in kos,on the day of the wedding after the service we asked if we could use an area for cutting the cake and some photos,and after only a 5 minute meeting with the manager everything was sorted,we would like to say thank you to manos for his help on the day,we will definitely visit this hotel again,we will also visit kardamena again,yes there is some areas which could do with being tidied up a bit,but it is easy to see bussineses are struggling to make money,like many people have said,the all inclusive hotels do not help,but we feel the locals and the resort workers really are what make kardamena so great,everybody is so friendly and always happy to help with anything,we have been to resorts all over the greek islands but some of the restaurants in kardamena are as good as any we have been to,and very reasonably priced,we will definitely return to kardamena and the Cleopatra superior,thanks again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank langlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel in 2009 for 2 weeks (i know i am a late comer to trip adviser) and cannot fault it one little bit staff were excellent when we stayed there Stam & Millie and George i believe they where called nothing was too much for them, Breakfast was buffet style but there was always enough for everyone rooms where spotless while we where there we where invited to a Greek night in the sister hotel opposite and had a fantastic evening, We will return to this hotel and Kos one day

Room Tip: If Stam is still there ask to see the Kardamena dive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Cleopatra Superior is an excellent hotel.
So are The Cleopatra Classic and Kris Mari). Nothing is too much trouble it is extremely clean, with very helpful staff offering wonderful hospitality. I feel very upset and disappointed about the negative remarks about Kardamena village. If all you see are empty buildings and you translate that into a 'run down' resort then maybe I can enlighten you. Kardamena is about warm Greek hospitality, excellent restaurants , bars and tavernas offering excellent value for money. Yes, it was busier in the past, and some businesses have been forced to close mainly due to the monopoly of the All Inclusives taking trade from locals. It is still one of my favourite places in the world to visit, mainly due to the people who live and work there, every time I visit I feel totally at home and the welcome is second to none. Open your eyes and look at the wider picture before you comment on the supposed 'downfall of Kardamena', If more people decided against the big all inclusive resorts and supported the smaller hotels, bars and restaurants then Kardamena would be as vibrant as it once was.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manovrb9, General Manager at Cleopatra Superior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Madam,
thank you ! your comments are a breeze of fresh air compared to what we have to encounter in here !
all the best to you, hope to see you soon again
Manos Hatzikonstantinos
Cleopatra Hotels General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Kardamena is a very down at heel and scruffy town. The beach is nothing to write home about, as it is not fine sand but very small shingley stuff. There are empty and derelict hotels crumbling away and old cars and discarded equipment dumped all over.
The Cleopatra Superior is one of three hotels owned by the same family. Two of them, the Kris Mari and the Superior are on a scruffy dirt square where the coaches park at night and are noisy leaving early in the morning. The Hotel is just an ordinary old fashioned three star with old fashioned decor. The rooms are very basic, no kettle or tea and coffee making facilities, mine was a triple (311 ) and consisted of a main bedroom with double bed and another with a single bed and wardrobe etc. The bathroom was OK with hair dryer and plenty of hot water. The see through towels and bed sheets which were too small for the bed, were changed every other day. The breakfast was inadequate as it consisted of just bread and jam, a few slices of cheese, cereal and fruit. This was the worse breakfast choice I have come across in my 14 weeks of island hopping this year. The prices at the bar were also very high, a small can of Coke or Fanta etc, being E2.80. I would not stay at The Cleopatra Superior or Kardamena again as it was a very gloomy experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manovrb9, General Manager at Cleopatra Superior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Sir,
your approach of a very serious matter is very very shallow. Kardamena is a place with hard working people who have true hospitality in their blood. you also comment that there was no atmosphere, if you want a lively atmosphere you don't travel to Greek island in October. now we offer tranquility. If a guest wishes a more lively atmosphere then he should travel to Kardamena (and our hotels) in June, July & August, but rates then are double.................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

just back from this hotel the hotel is very clean all rooms cleaned daily except from a friday we were bed and breakfast but never ate it as there was not much choice but there are plenty of places to get brekkie for between 4 and 5 euros staff were really friendly george at the bar was lovely my only gripe with this hotel was we booked a studio for 3 people and was far too small for 3 adults! but were not in it very much was only used for sleeping we ate at manos resturant everynight and food was great and reasonably priced too i loved the frozen cocktails at the calypso bar on the sea front the staff were really nice and friendly all in all was a great holiday the last couple of days weather wasnt that great thunder storms and really windy but has to be expected as it was end of september beginning of october

Room Tip: if there is more than 2 adults dont book a studio as they are really small !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Recently been to this hotel on the recommendation of the travel agent who has stayed here several times. Hotel itself is nice and clean with very friendly staff but what happened to the atmosphere. Myself and my wife were looking for a nice quiet week break but not as dead as this. The bar food is ok, catering for the typical Brit with burgers, baguettees and fries. No variety but cheap and good value. Trouble is they stop serving at 530 and since Kardamena is like a ghost town..... those buildings which arent in the middle of falling down that is, its a bit disappointing..... seems to cater for older people and during our weeks stay it was full of noisy Italians who had no consideration for anyone else.

The breakfast buffet was limited. no fruit, no continental breakfast like you would expect just some cheese, bread rolls and no much else.

Kardamena is a bit of a joke. apart from the two streets of shops selling the usual tourist tat and knockoffs good theres several UK-friendly bars in the centre, but they were empty most of the time

Having visited Bodtum in May and its only 20 minutes trip away by boat there is certainly more going on there....

The ONLY highpoint of Kardamena is Manos (200yds from the hotel), which we ended up in every night as the other places on our recomendation list were closed or closing....

Average at best but only for Manos and not the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: one which isnt in the open, as the tail end of a storm caused many people to be kept awake all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navaronuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my birthday for a week, and we loved every second of it. The hotel is lovely and clean, staff are so helpful and nothing is too much for them.

George is fab he's so lovely and makes the best milkshakes :)
George also works in the 1960's bar on the evening which do some of the best cocktails and you get discount as you are staying in this hotel so all round bonus!!! Lol

We will be returning next year :D xx

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Suzzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
#24 of 39 in Kardamena
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
#21 of 39 in Kardamena
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#29 of 39 in Kardamena
371 reviews
8.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Superior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Superior Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £20 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleopatra Superior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleopatra Superior is part of Cleopatra Hotels. All 3 hotels are located in Kardamena, Kos, Greece. Cleopatra Hotels offer accommodation on Bed & Breakfast basis (continental buffet style), employ local staff & offer proper Greek hospitality ! Our Hotels are ideal for couples of any age and families. For people that want to be near the center, where everything is happening, but also want to relax and get a good night's sleep. Large groups of youngsters should reconsider before booking in our hotels. Manos Hatzikonstantinos, Cleopatra Hotels General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Cleopatra Superior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Superior Kardamena
Hotel Cleopatra Superior
Cleopatra Superior Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing