We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

arrived at family village late on a sunday evening check in was very quick, we was taken to our room 633 . it very big, had a kitchen, fridge with freezer ( which was ideal to put water in & take to the pool ) plenty of wardrobe space. the receptionist told us that the restaurant would open at 11pm , we only had soup, bread & salad but was lovely. had a few drinks then had a nose around the swim up pools looked amazing ( but it was a bit of a trek if you wanted a drink in the day ) plenty of sunbeds you dont have to get up the crack of dawn to get a bed the best spot was by the wall lots of space & shade if you wanted it the drinks was good ( they even put lime in my beer ) you only get small plastic cups & people would let them blow away !! the times i walked to the bar & picked up the cups it could be dangerous because people left them on the steps leading to the bar & restaurant the restaurant you queue to be seated but you only wait a few minutes . the food excellent, lots to choose from, salad, the soups was amazing, the grill station cooking in front of you, pasta,PIZZA made in front of you ( dont know who was the worse the kids or adults nudging you to get the pizza LOL) chips,a lovely young girl who cooks something different every meal time from ouzo & fish things on spoons to , cheese & ham battered balls to smoothies. then there was vegtables, meat in sauces, fish, then dessert, & ice creams mmm not much to do at night, only sitting outside having a drink . which is not very big !!! i did walk to the beach 1 day ( walked through summer palace ) down a lot of steps the beach was shingle & packed .All in all had a lovely holiday the staff work so hard julinio ( the night bar man & is helper smiler ) & the day bar man . we could,nt keep our room on ( which would have cost 20 euros for 5 hours) but had a room for half hour slot which was very clean & the maid came in after every body & cleaned it . our maid was fab she used to make swans etc out of towels our room was spotless . we had a very large balcony, the end room so the view was amazing over the the beach thank you family village for a relaxing, chilled holiday

Room Tip: high floor for views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank cazCannockStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Well we have just got back from a fantastic 2 weeks at this hotel, very relaxing laid back atmosphere. I traveled with my partner and 14 year old son, we were lucky enough to be allocated a sharing pool so we didn't use the main pool many times, the main pool has all the day time activities like yoga,pool exercises and games.
The rooms are basic but just what you need,clean and staff are there everyday.
There isn't much to do for a 14 year old to do,there is free water sports at the beach which is a short walk down the hill, the only down side to this beach is that it's stones rather than sand, so if you like the beach i would recommend purchasing sea socks (we picked up locally,very reasonable)
The quality of the food in the hotel is very good, although a little repetitive when being there for 2 weeks, the staff are excellent and work very hard. The only downside for me is the main bar is very very small and was usually only staffed by 1 guy,juliano (who is amazing by the way) bu he does allow you to get 2-3 drinks at a time so sometimes good to stock up to avoid the ques.
Kardamena is a 45-60 minute walk away along the sea front (beautiful views) taxi is 10 euros or the is a bus running every hour from outside the hotel for 1.80 each.
You can get towels from the hotel for a 20 euro deposit each and they will change them every two days,this is a god send as the pools are saltwater so the towels can get a little stiff!
Al the reception and restaurant staff are excellent and so helpful.

Now onto what spoilt my holiday...unfortunately that was Thomas cook reps and rip off excursions!!!
Firstly we had Charlotte as our rep, who i found to be a little snotty and very rude with the way she comes across sometimes, but she may of just had a bad day!
She told us if we bought 2 of the higher priced excursions we would get a 3rd for free (we chose the Turkey day trip,3 island cruise and paradise beach for free)
The Turkey trip picks you up from hotel at 7.45,then carry's on to pick up a number of other people from other hotels,you are then driven to Kos town to board the ferry,while there you are taken on a city tour and a very overpriced Gold factory,then left for 2 hours to get food and shopping in the market (Tuesday is main market day) You can pick up some great fake good as with everywhere in Turkey, so i would of much rather not done the city tour (which you don't have to go on) In short if you book in the town at an organised excursion place,it is much cheaper and you will miss the daft city tour!
The boat trip was a good day to see different islands and have a bbq onboard but it was so busy we could hardly move,again we went down to the local marina where there is private hires for max 10 or 20 people depending on the boat, which are much better value for money!
Paradise beach was a good day,beautiful clear water (shallow for a good few meters so great if you have kids) real sand and an amazing restaurant at the top of the hill.

We loved this holiday and i would defiantly recommend for family's with smaller children. I thought this was great value for money (we booked 6 weeks before departure and paid £625 each)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view rooms if the sharing pools are unavailable at booking,still a good chance you wil...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked this as a last minute deal with Thomas Cook (booked online on the Monday and flew on the Thursday) as the price was very appealing for all inclusive at the height of the summer. We booked a standard room but as we have two young children we emailed the hotel before we left and asked for a family room. Although they said they had no family rooms available we were given an upgrade to an apartment, at no extra cost, with a separate room for the kids which made a huge difference to the holiday. Breakfast was probably the poorest meal out of the three as lunch and dinner had good variety and the quality was also good. We tended to go to dinner as it opened and it was quite quiet but we did go around 8pm one night and there were long queues, no food and no plates at points! Bar staff were friendly and efficient and the queues were not really a problem - a few minutes wait at the most. All the staff were very hard working and some seemed to never go home.

Most of the other guests were either Eastern European or German which was no problem to us. Might have just been our week but contrary to other reviews not many people pushed in front of us and we could have got sunbeds at either the pool or the beach at any time of the day. The bus to Kardamena was about 15 minutes and well worth a look. There are also many trips on offer there.

Our eldest child also went to the Mini Club which was great as they offered up to four hours childcare and entertainment per day inclusive for 4 to 12 year olds. The girls who ran it were friendly and both our kids loved the mini disco which was on every night from 9pm.

The negatives are really the location as it is at the top of several steep hills and is not really suitable for going for a walk nevermind anyone with mobility issues. There was a little golf buggy which gave guests a lift to and from the beach but that broke when we were there and although they offered a minibus it wasn't the same as it had no aircon and sticky plastic seats. The Family Village is also definitely the poor relation of the four Mitsis hotels at Kardamena (the Blue Domes looks the best) as it has no grass area, pictures, plants, etc. It seems to just need finishing off. The reception area is small and unimpressive and as it is the only area with free Wi-Fi, it is constantly full of people. Wi-Fi is available in the rooms at a cost. The beach towels are available to hire for 20 Euros deposit each which we thought was a bit steep.

Positives are the friendly staff and the stunning views. Buying a snorkel is a good idea as there are lost of fish to see at the beach. Lunch and dinner were also very good.

Room Tip: Worth emailing the hotel before hand to request the type of room you would like.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1980x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here 26th June 2014 for 1 week. Hotel is beautiful, rooms are cleaned every day, fresh towels every day. We had a room with privet sharing pool, this was great if you wanted to relax without any noise, views were stunning. Food was lovely, cooked fresh every day, some theme nights could not have done 2 weeks all inclusive though. Drinks were plentiful, form beers to wine to spirits and soft drinks, Juliano the bar man was lovely always smiling and helpful. Pools were lovely although I do not like salt-water pools (which they all were apart from water park) the area was spotless and plenty of beds, you can get beech towels form reception for a fee of £20 which is returned on return of towel. Only bad thing about hotel was there was no entertainment, you had to go to the bar/night club on the complex and the drinks here had to be paid for separately. Bud to Kardamena & Kos Town stopped at reception and droped off again there. Kardamena is only 15 minutes, away and worth visiting it's on;y 1.80Euro on the bus. I would return to this hotel again as I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Sea view with privet sharing pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Mitsis Family Village
Just returned from a weeks break with my partner staying in Kos in this hotel.
One of four hotels within a complex, I think it is fair to say that this is perhaps the ‘poor relation’ of the four. Having said that, we both had a great time, met some lovely people and just relaxed. We paid extra for a sea room and where delighted to find that we had been put in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel with shared access to the infinity pool (this made the holiday for me) as although sunbeds were available there was a distinct shortage of parasols, which in July in Greece were needed.

Food – the food was of good quality and plentiful – there were the usual moaners of course, complaining that fresh chips or pizza for example were not always ready, but this food was cooked on demand and was as fresh as it could b, the team worked so very hard. Staying in this hotel you was restricted to the buffet, however paying 15 euros per day entitled you to a black wristband which gave you access to the other hotels facilities (including the al a carte restaurants). Note though – Blue Dome Hotel – the most salubrious of the four, was not included in this offer.
Rooms – As mentioned we had one of the shared pool rooms – the room were spacious and clean. We had to play around with the air conditioning to get this sorted – just a word of warning though my partner now has been diagnosed with a virus, thought to be down to either the air conditioning or the flight – could be either, but if you could minimise the usage then I would recommend that you do.
Service – exceptional – from the minute we arrived we were well catered for, with the exception of one of the waiters in the restaurant that refused to bring me a water plus a beer – telling me quite rudely that we could only order one drink each – but this only happened the once and we actually only saw him working the once.
Facilities – as part of the all-inclusive option you could use the two bars on the beach that were part of the Norida Hotel – that served fresh pizza and the Summer Palace bar which was modern and clean and lovely – the cocktails were of good quality (significantly more so than the Family Village ones). There is a ‘hopper’ bus from reception that takes you down – driven by a cheerful chap. The family Village bar though did raise some complaints as this was manned during the day by only one chap serving drinks, the same in the evening – they worked so very hard and were always polite and cheerful, however I do feel that they were needlessly put under a lot of pressure and require extra support, queues were building and the bar itself was not air conditioned so there were a lot of disgruntled customers and I do expect that there will be some complaints logged on here because of it. Also as mentioned the quality of the drinks was not brilliant, distinctly better in the other hotels.
Entertainment – low key – perhaps some people may be disappointed with this – we though just enjoyed sitting around the bar at night chatting with other guests. There was apparently scheduled events in the bar further down the complex, but as my partner has mobility issues so he struggled to get back up the steep hill that the hotel is situated on.
I had read all the reviews thoroughly before I booked this hotel, so all my expectations were met, we booked last minute and got a good price however if you are expecting the following, perhaps you should either consider one of the other hotels on the complex or look elsewhere:
Full entertainment programme
Room service
Waiter Service
Mini Bar
Sandy beaches – Kos is not one of the prettiest of the Greek Islands (in my opinion) quite sparse with only a few towns and villages and the majority of the beaches are gravel rather than sand.

Trips – we booked 2 through our Thomas Cook rep -
Bodrum –Good day out – as you would expect though very hot – always about 5 degrees hotter than Kos. On the trip you are taken to a Gold Factory – and they really wanted you to purchase – we were followed around the whole time – which completely put us off looking, so we just went to the café (This trip is not mandatory, so if you are not interested just amble around the town yourself) . One other word of warning – the rep – Susanne (in my opinion) coaxed us in to a restaurant called Diamond – suggesting that the food was of good quality and reasonable priced – after having just a main course – a beer and some chips each we were presented with a bill for 75 euros, yes I felt ripped off !!! T take some responsibility myself however, because of her strong recommendation we did not scrutinise the menu (and prices ) like we should have, we were distracted by her chatting.
There are many other restaurants around the harbour – I suggest you try one of those.
Island hopping boat trip – Amazing – well worth the money, complete with Dolphin spotting.
We were taken back to Kos you get on a boat and sail around the surrounding islands.
Island one – a scarcely inhabited beach resort with a couple of bars – lovely.
Island 2 – an amazing island with lovely bars and restaurants and a great harbour,
Island 3 – uninhabited, with a small church – the boat was moored here and we were able to swim. The highlight of the day however was to see the dolphins in their natural habitat.

Airport – tiny – you will be told at the airport by the reps that you will be charged 18 euros for every kilo over and they offer you a bolt on. We watched many people go through the weigh in (over weight) without any issues, although a couple of people were charged, seems to depend which line you are in – just be mindful and take some case scales if you can.
Summary – Despite a few little issues, we had a fab time, and my thanks goes out to the staff at the Family Village.

Room Tip: Pool room - quiet and relaxing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sanddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First trip to an all exclusive anywhere so we were a bit unsure what to expect. We arrived at the Hotel after a 10 min ($23 euro) taxi ride (dont prebook a bus its not worth it!). First impressions were hmmm and the Taxi drivers face didn't help much - clearly he was still a bit surprised that last year we stayed in the Aegan Village and this hotel this year - save a bit more for next year was his suggestion!

The reception area is tiny and was crammed with people waiting to go home, people lying around on couches doesn't give a very good first impression, however the receptionist soon made up for that, she was cheery and welcoming. Explaining everything we needed to know and organised for us to be taken to our room. Our room was big, our bathroom spotless and we had incredible views in the morning.
The waiters work there socks off, the restaurant manager never seemed to get anytime off and despite this always had a smile and the Head Chef knows what he is doing thats for sure. He has a well trained team who never disappoint when you ask them for something that may not be obviously available (bacon for instance) or if you want something made without one or two of the ingredients. He must have one of the hardest jobs in the business in trying to come up with a varied menu whilst at the same time adding a few classy items to the menu that unfortunately most residents seemed to miss.

Back to the all inclusive bit, the hotel appeared to be mainly populated by Eastern Europeans when we arrived, who had absolutely no concept of how to behave or how to control their children. Feeding time was just that, a feeding frenzy of ill manners and a competition to see how much food you could get on one plate - everything from pork to jelly was the best one i saw! The trouser requirement after 6.30 in the dining room had been dropped when we were there with no clear reason why?

Tip for food is simple, the chefs keep cooking, either go early or later but dont do the bit in the middle if you have no or older kids as its manic, dont panic the food keeps coming and if you wait a bit you will get what you want - freshly cooked.

As for the Barmen they keep the line coming and again be nice and they will be nice back, simple really!

Towels are available for 20 euros deposit and you can change them every day which is perfect if travelling light.

Overall I think there is a real tension between what this hotel wants to be and what it has become (possibly 3 stars) it just needs to give itself a shake and get back on track as there is no doubt that the staff have the right attitude and commitment to make it happen........

Room Tip: We had a fantastic corner balcony in room 834 and easy access to the shared swim up pool pool (altho...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stillholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We picked this hotel based upon the reviews, for us, it did not meet the expectation..

The Good.........
Beautiful views from rooms, ours was sea view and it was stunning.
Room was large, double room with extra bed, large bathroom and a good size balcony.
20 minutes on the bus right outside the hotel to Kardamena
Beach either a few minute stroll downhill or a bus outside of the reception every 30 minutes
Staff......without a doubt the staff employed here are exceptional, from Katerina who works on reception to Soffia, our housekeeper for the week, the waiting staff in the restaurant and the bar man work morning to night and always with a smile, the Mitsis are fortunate to have such good employees.

The bad.........
Entertainment.....there is nothing to do of an evening once you have had your evening meal at the hotel itself, we sat and played cards on the balcony or the poolside. There is a disco, a pub and an entertainment area which are a few minutes walk away, the disco and the pub are not part of the all inclusive even though they are on the site, don't know how that works.
Food.........after 3 days we gave up on the restaurant queues and headed to Kardamena for 2 nights to eat out.....there is a Grill section but with only one person working this and hundreds of people passing you either give up waiting and find something else or wait and then whatever else you wanted to have with your meal is either empty or cold. We seen hamburgers one night but weren't lucky enough to have one and bacon although available for breakfast was far and few between available. On the plus side there is plenty of bread selection, salad and potatoes. I didn't eat the desserts so I can't comment.
The beach.......easy access but again limited staff for the beach bar down there and the only thing available was pizza (again be prepared for long queues)
The pool........the main pool is salt water and I mean salty! It was so bouyant that you didn't need to swim, the sea was less salty.
The 2nd pool with waterslides.......bar here was more speedy but the only thing available for lunch (unless you headed back to the main restaurant) was half baguettes with cheese and either a ham or a turkey.
The main bar.........if you fancy a drink after your meal then be prepared again to queue, there is only one guy working this (who does amazingly well with the queues!), sometimes 2 people to serve.

The ugly...........
Rude people..........Germand and Russian are the mainstay of people at this hotel, they were rude and arrogant. Sunbeds were taken by 8am, yes 8am, with towels over the sunloungers at the pool to stacking beds on top of each other and securing with towels. On the beach it was ridiculous, some even were placing stones on the tops of the beds to say they were taken. At meal times they will just by pass the queue and stand in front of you, I even saw a german woman snapping her fingers at the waiter, rude rude rude. We went to Kardamena a couple of times and caught the 10.30 bus back, get there at least 20 minutes early to wait because of the....yep.....queues!! The germans and russians will literally just by pass you and walk to the front of the queue, we couldn't believe it, some of the english people eventually lost their rag and told them to get to the back of the queue.
The towels on the beds around the pool are left there all day even though the beds are used a couple of hours (if that), not once did anyone from the hotel remove towels from any sunloungers.

Unfortunately we won't be back to this resort, as I say the staff are the selling point of this hotel, lovely people despite what they put up with while we were their, they deserve medals!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £55 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Village is a peaceful ALL-INCLUSIVE Family Hotel, only a 5 minute walk from a crystal-clear pebble beach. It is located south-east of the island of Kos, 6 km from the lively resort of Kardamena, which can be reached within 10 min by the local bus, taxi or if someone’s feeling fit within 30min on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing