We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat if you are a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just back from first visit with Mark Warner to Lakitira. We are a family of six with four children ranging in age from 14 to 7.
Firstly, as has been said here already, flight times out and back are simply dreadful for families. We arrived in Kos at 1.30am after an hour long delayed outbound flight. Returning, the flight was changed at the last minute and we left Kos at 1am. I don't understand why this isn't being addressed by MW as it is the worse possible start and end to a holiday.
The hotel is just great and is beside a glorious blue flag beach. We loved the food and ate in the main restaurant every day. The choice superb and the standard high. We ate Greek pastries and local specialities every day and there was so much fresh fruit that we really were spoilt for choice. We liked the fact that fellow residents at the hotel were from all over Europe (Italy, Poland, Germany, Serbia) and that the hotel had a really European feel.
The MW team were 100% brilliant. Whatever your interest whether it be sailing, windsurfing, scuba diving, tennis, cycling or pliates it is all easily available and so much of it included in the cost of the holiday. I did the free sailing course and took boats out taking comfort in the knowledge that the safety team were at hand in a rescue boat nearby. By week 2 our 7 year old was sailing his own boat. Very special memories for all.
Whatever the age of your children, there is a group for them that has a daily schedule of events. Our children all tried windsurfing, sailing, kayaking etc, with their friends and it was all safe and great fun for them. For those wanting a more relaxed holiday, the beaches and pools were divine with plenty of sunloungers. I swam right out to sea twice a day because the sea was so clean, blue and not at all rough.
As well as the MW team, the hotel has their own entertainment laid on too. Water polo, poolside games every day (try these as they are very funny) and evening entertainment from 10pm to 11 (shows, bingo, beach party). The small, energetic team have to be mentioned as they provided us with a load of laughs. I took on a Russian Elvis look a like in one competition and lost (I was totally distracted by his brave choice of swimming trunks - they looked like 70's polyester pants).

Insiders tips:
1. Have an early breakfast (main restaurant service ends at 10). Take in a morning sail or game of tennis before heading to the quiet Greek Taverna on site for mid morning coffee and pastry (served til 11). We only thought of this on last day.
2. Half board is fine if you have older children like we do. Breakfast was absolutely huge. We brought crackers with us from home for a lunchtime nibble and took fruit from breakfast which was enough to keep us going (huge ice creams are sold at poolside too which became a daily treat). Kids Tea starts at 5.15 so we fed ours a small dinner then they came with us for main meal at 8.
3. Bring Mosquito spray. Not one of us got a bite.
4. Don't bother bringing shampoo or conditioner. Hotel supplied both and it was good enough. Also, shop on site sells reasonably priced suncream.
5. DO cycle into local town, Kardamena. Bike hire is free and it really is only 15 minutes away and an easy ride. One regret is that we didn't get round to doing one of the daily cycle tours that MW offer.
6. Though it is extra (€400), the scuba course that our daughter did really was worth it. The instructors Tom and Candy were superb and she now holds a scuba licence to dive anywhere in the world aged 15.
7. If your flight is delayed homeward, ask at reception for a shower room. They open a guest room (if available) for you to use for 30 minutes. We were able to shower and change at 7pm and felt fresh for long journey home. This is not advertised at all and it made such a difference.
8. Ask for James if you are going on a sailing course. The man has the patience of a saint.

There we have it. In a nutshell, poor flight times but holiday well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AnitaBreak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lakitira Resort and Village with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our sixth trip to Lakirita - I know we must go somewhere else. The kids love it sooo much. Probably more for them than the adults. Hotel suite is great for a family with a bit more luxury than the junior suite. Nannies and staff were lovely as always. Food this year was not as good. Not enough variation and just too much the same every night. Mosquitoes and the biting flies were out in force. My poor husband got bitten twelve times on his hand alone one night and too many to count on his legs. Good old piriton came in handy. They have a new entertainments team this year which tried to get people involved in day and evening activities. My husband loves the sailing and I love the quite time when the kids are in kids club. Fantastic weather and very relaxing. Only managed one water aerobics all week. Mark Warner need to do something about the airlines they choose to use. They are not great and really awful times to travel, especially with children.

Room Tip: For a family of four with children aged 4 and over, choose the suite - its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and, above all, thank you for your loyalty. It is so heart warming and rewarding to welcome guests again and again, over the years.

We are very pleased to read that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience and we look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just returned from a week with Mark Warner to Lakitira. This was our second visit and one of the best hoildays we have ever been on. So i had to write a review.
Holidays are what you make of them, and if you are reading this review and you like to find fault in things and have a moan about the smallest thing then i am sure i could give you enough to moan about - the bed wasn't that comfortable, there were a few bugs in the bath when we got there, the flights times were really terrible and there was no hot food on the flight. But if you are the sort of person who appreciates being on holiday with family or friends and relaxes and chills out you will see the resort for all its best qualities and have a fantastic holiday.
the resort itself is just simply beautiful, everything is right on the beach and there are several different places to go and view the scenery or have a drink over looking the beach and the beautiful view. you can go to the pool bar in the evening, or the breeze bar is my particular favourite, with some really comfortable rattan sofas and chairs and a good cocktail list (drinks are inexpensive, large beer 4euros, small 2 euros. cocktails 6 euros, bottle water 60c). there are also benches on another part of the beach set up for evening bbqs, but can also be used for a romantic or quiet drink or chill out with the kids before bedtime.
the food is fantastic. it really is. breakfast the best - large variety of cereals, croissants, omelttes cooked to your tasted, cooke breakfast, pancakes with a variety of toppings, dried fruit, fresh fruit, porridge, toast, preserves, smoothies. everythihng you can think of. we did the full board option last year, but with kids who barely eat anything we went half board and it was the right decision as the breeze bars serves inexpensive things for lunch.
the childcare at mark warner is and will always be there main selling point. my oldest is 4 and he did sialing, windsurfing, tennis, pirate games, pool games and loved every minute. and they operate an evening creche as always with different films and their own dedicated bed for the week.Lakitira is a big tennis center so if you love tennis then i suggest either this resort or san agostino, as you are more likely to play other keen players. and the tennis courts are in good condition and there's plenty to do.
our room was fantastic - we were a bit concerned as they had sold out of inter connecting rooms and had to get a triple room but infact it was much better than the inter connecting room we had last year as it was much bigger and had a sea view and was closer to the facilities.
one of the best things about Lakitira is the pool. the pool has a areally large area, grassy and concrete next to the pool so it can accomodate a large amount of people, and the pool bar with tables and chairs is incorporated into this and just makes for a really great social and relaxing area so you can sit next to the baby pool or the big pool and watch the kids.

anyway, we had the best time. holidays are what you make of them. the resort is beautiful and really well looked after and a mark warner holiday is what you expect. as much or as little to do as you wish.

Room Tip: village is better than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort and Village.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We travelled here on a Mark Warner deal. Excellent value for money and really fantastic service from MW team - they were at all times enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. The watersports team deserve a special mention for being very attentive and always happy to help. The mosquitoes are a nuisance yes but the hotel is not to blame for that. The flight times are not great, especially for anyone travelling with kids. However, overall the rooms are excellent, the hotel facilities very good, the MW staff and Lakitira staff both very helpful and the selection of food is good. The management may wish to consider offering free wifi and extending it to the rooms and also keeping Breezes bar open later in the evening as it's a great spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lakitira Resort and Village in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Basement floor is excellent if you have kids - open the doors and they can run around on grass. Lovely staff both hotel and mark Warner. V enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Outward flight rubbish time and chaotic seating - they gave us separate seats including our 4 yr old but fortunately not full flight so could rectify,

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jones4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lakitira Resort and Village in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Another lovely holiday at Lakitira, but definitely make sure you take plenty of insect repellent plus spray/plug in etc for your room - the mossies are vicious this year!! You can get it from the shop on site but it's expensive. It's great that the Mountain Bikes are free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eld2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Hotel in a wonderful setting with excellent Mark Warner watersports/tennis/childcare facilities attached though people staying at the hotel not through Mark Warner will have to pay extra to use these services. The hotel staff are extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. The rooms are kept very clean as are all public areas. Food is plentiful and good with a varied choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lakitira Resort and Village in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#13 of 39 in Kardamena
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
14.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £67 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing