We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable October Half Term holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable October Half Term holiday”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great weather always helps along with a well kept hotel and super Mark Warner facilities. Complaints about food on this site not true as overall reasonable food.
Mark Warner team were great and inparticular the watersports kit and team.
We will be returning again.
Andy

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel on 2nd floor overlooking watersposrts beach were great with sun n the balcony fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahchaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    196
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
290
135
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from an idyllic week at Lakitira with Mark Warner. The resort was clean, modern and very pleasant, with well-kept gardens and a lovely beach. The room was far nicer than described over the phone and more than exceeded expectations.

Activities were superb. Sailing and tennis kit all excellent, also the mountain bikes. All staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Teen club very welcome and good fun.

I have seen some reviews that were slightly critical of the food. Perhaps these reviewers are live like princes at home, but our feeling was that the food was pretty close to excellent all week. Lots of choice; nicely prepared and no disappointments.

We came away feeling that the holiday could not have been better, nor could it realistically have been cheaper. We will definitely be going back.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited over half term, end of October 2013, we had adjoining rooms for us and our children in the hotel overlooking the watersports beach. The room was recently refurbished, clean and tidy.

Compared to our other Mark Warner holiday at Sea Garden in Turkey in May half term, there were some plus points, but also some negative points. Firstly, the swimming pool is unheated, whilst this may not be an issue in the heat of the summer, it was baltic at this time of year and meant that almost no-one used the pool or sat around the pool and lost the benefit of the pool area being a focal point. Also the resort is quite spread out and this means that the guests disperse more widely, this loses some of the club atmosphere and chance to meet the other guests or for the children to play together.

The food was pretty good and probably on the whole better than the Sea Garden. Breakfasts were good with fresh omelettes, eggs and pancakes. Lunch (at the trattoria) was mainly salads and dinner was usually a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes. Puddings were excellent. The main restaurant is nicer than Sea Garden as it overlooks the pool and beach and I imagine in the summer they open up the windows to keep it nice and cool, however the pool restaurant at Sea Garden has the nicest overall outlook. The restaurant was never too busy, but the hotel was probably less than half full and I could imagine at peak times it could become a bit of a scrum.

The watersports were excellent, apparently this is the best Mark Warner resort for this as the winds are strong and consistent, there seemed to be plenty of kit and I never had to wait for any windsurfing equipment - although some of the more popular kit seemed very tired by the end of the season - hopefully they will get new stuff next year. Biking was good, the instructor had some excellent routes which I would never have found by myself, most of which were pretty strenuous. Aerobics/yoga, etc seemed popular. There also was regular football - which I only found out about too late as it was only posted outside the football pitch, again a lack of a focal area meant that it wasn't easy to discover things.

The Mark Warner childcare was excellent, our 3 children loved it and our two oldest (11 and 13) were hardly seen from 9am till 10pm. Our youngest (aged 4) has had mixed experiences of holiday childcare in the past, but absolutely loved this. He did sailing, kayaking and other watersports and couldn't wait to go to kids club every morning. He also loved the evening childcare - watching a dvd then having a little nap on a campbed whilst we had dinner.

So overall a very relaxing holiday, although with a few little somethings missing, as before the Mark Warner childcare and activities were excellent but overall we preferred the Sea Garden resort.

Room Tip: The village suites are nearer the pool, family beach and kids clubs. The hotel rooms are nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyNameWasTakenAlread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just come back from a great holiday at Lakitira. Having seen some of the reviews of the food we were a bit worried, but we needn't have been. The starters & main courses were good, some really good, and some of the deserts, particularly those with chocolate and also the Greek deserts were outstandingly good.
Tennis & Watersports coaching & facilities were great, undoubtedly aided by the great weather & it not being too busy. The staff were great, and had our kids really enthused with windsurfing & us learning some new tricks (or at least what we were doing wrong) with tennis, not forgetting the sailing races which were great fun. Last a mention for our apartment's heroic cleaner who tracked down our son's teddy which had gone to the laundry with the bed clothes.
Any complaints? Not sure what it is that comes out of the juice dispensers in the morning but it doesn't taste like orange juice. If the sheets were a foot wider they would surely stay on the bed better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyCanterbury2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was my 9th stay at lakitira, but my first for 3 years. I have previously been as a single, with a mate and with a girlfriend. It has become less attractive year on year to an adult without kids like me. The buffet dinner has always been somewhat of a melle. Couples seeking a romantic, relaxing dinner have to run the gauntlet of kids of various ages and some parents who seem to be happy to let them run riot even as late as 8pm. I have previously suggested the restaraunt has a child-free area, possibly the outside area, but to no avail. The big disappointment this time was that the small adults-only sunbed area (9 pairs) on the beach has been moved from its previous secluded and quiet location 50m down the beach to the busiest part of the beach! It is now squeezed between the boats, the tower and the dinghy ground school. It is now just an extension of the normal sunbed area, the adults-only distinction has been lost. Moreover, the staff do not enforce it. It should not be up to the customer to enforce it as was the case. So, take the labels "adult beach" and "adult pool" with a pinch of salt.
Another disappointment was the closure of the beach facilities on the changeover day. Previously I was able to sail immediately on arrival in the afternoon and in the morning before daparture, but not this time. Oh, and where has the table tennis table gone? Previously it was close to the beach bar and quite popular.
On the plus side, the free mountain biking and guiding was a welcome improvement.
Finally, perhaps the management might actually respond with some specific answer rather than his normal standard response.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank beachandsunmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort and VIllage. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

Please rest assured that we will address all the points of your dissatisfaction with our hotel team. Just for the sake of good order, I would like to mention that we need always to take into consideration the period of the season that we refer to and in case there are school holidays. On top there is a wide range of sports and activities that are organized in the hotel premises and there is a need to allocate space for every activity. The hotel's aim is to organize the area to the best interest and satisfaction of all our Guests.

We hope we will have the change to welcome you back at Lakitira Resort and Village.

With kind regards

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a very relaxing holiday at this efficient hotel. The maintenance and reception staff were the epitome of efficiency and I have no complaints there. The food however became lackluster and samey after a few days, and we were concerned by the amount of cats and birds in the restaurant areas. Service was in general good though, and the scenery is amazing. Rooms average and the rest of the hotel pretty tired.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, it is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolateyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort and Village. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

On the whole the holiday was pretty good. Tennis courts in good condition and never a problem getting a court. Boats and mountain bikes also pretty good. MW staff very friendly. Food was average at best. At least there are a few different places to eat there so a bit of variety. Kardemena is a 40 minute pleasant walk away or a €10 cab and a few decent bars there. Pool was nice. The only problem really was the fact that I had some money stolen from my room (out of my wallet inside my bag). There was a safe in the room which I didn't use for my wallet (didn't really think I would need to), so just make sure you are careful and lock all valuables away not just passport etc. I did report this, but understand that once this has happened there is not an awful lot anyone can do. Obviously this experience somewhat soured an otherwise very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mr. Collin,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the Lakitira Resort and Village. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

Although we understand your furstration regarding the incident, our research came to no evidence that could indicate any kind of breaking in to your room.

We also wish to express our appreciation for the positive comments you have made and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our Lakitira Resort and Village.

Kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#8 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Property: Lakitira Resort & Village
Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing