We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well another great holiday spoiled by......well nothing at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ok so this is year 3 of our trips to Lakitira with mark warner. So how was it. Well it was hot hot hot. It was unseasonably hot so the cycling was changed to early morning to avoid some of the heat. However as parents of 3 small children this didnt allow us to cycle together but a quick word to Jono and he arranged for some of the easier cycles to happen at 9.30 to allow my wife and I to cycle together. Every year I bring my running shoes and every year they go back without having done more than take me to a circuit class or a quick cycle to malibu bar to listen to the 80s music and look at the sea. It's very hard to fault the resort or the staff or the food. It's well staffed and being spread out it doesn't really feel too busy. However as we are coming from Scotland we do come at the end of June so we miss the Peak season by about a week. It definitely felt much busier when we flew home yesterday. My boys are 10, 7 and 3 and there's loads for them to do and the childcare is excellent. My oldest son can now sign himself out of club if he doesn't fancy an activity which was mainly show prep he skipped. The waterfront staff and childcare staff were excellent and Katy and Jade did a grand job with my older boys.
The equipment was all good and the food was great although I must stop eating so many puddings. We go the same time each year and the kids have built up friendships with other kids who have been going the same time each year so it's a very easy holiday for us.
Have I got a complaint ...quite simply no. We were in the village part of the resort again and the rooms had been done up since last year so they were excellent and quiet.
Could Mark Warner do anything to improve things no but how about a scottish flight.? I'm sure it would be very popular judging by the amount of Scots there flying from Heathrow and Manchester
I windsurfed with Simon and because it's quiet when we go I had 1 2 1 lessons for 3 days!!!
My only tip would be don't try to eat at 7.30 on a Saturday night when it's changeover day as that's when the welcome drinks have just finished and the restaurant gets really busy. Go down to breeze bar till 8.30 have a drink and watch the sunset the have dinner at an outside table when it's quiet.
We did chat to a lot of guests about their experiences of other Mark Warner resorts as we've done them before but not with children. We were thinking next year we might try somewhere else . However the thing that became clear was that lots of people have tried other resorts then came back to Lakitira. It's not that the others aren't good it's just Laktira seems to be the best if you've kids and hits all the right spots. So next year we will be going back for our fourth trip...says it all doesn't it. Big thanks to Jono and the troops. See you next year!!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr. Douglas,

Thank you for your positive feedback and, above all, thank you for your loyalty.

We are very pleased to read that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience and that your family enoyed all the activities. We are glad as well to read that you are satisfied with the renovation of allthe Village rooms

We were delighted to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Mark Warner is the favorite holiday for my children and will be returning again this year. Once they meet up in the activity groups they make many friends and spend most of the holiday together in various activities which included eating together. So be prepared to see less of your children on one of there activity holidays.

The focus is activities and child care so if this is not a priority then I would expect the holiday to be less of a good match and value.

The holiday includes breakfast and dinner and wine with the meal. The food is average and good enough but in my view not the attraction to select this type of holiday. The accommodation again is good enough but not outstanding.

The activities are outstanding, sailing , tennis, bike rides, and fitness classes are all freely available including competitions. Therefore you are able to participate in many of these activities a day.
As I cannot stand sun bathing being able to be involved with these activities makes this a very enjoyable holiday.

I find a week for me is ideal and would not be tempted to stay two week.

Room Tip: As I spent little time in the room the selection was not a high priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr. Ian,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort. We really appreciate your positive feelings and great comments.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our first Mark Warner holiday and it won't be our last. We travelled with my parents and our teenage children (13 & 16), from Manchester. Only negative point was the flights with Jet2, noisy airplanes both ways and no organisation at Kos Airport. However from arrival in Kos to our departure this was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Something for everyone.

Transfer from airport and check in was quick and efficient, staff friendly and welcoming. Accommodation was spacious and clean - we had a mini apartment in the village area (double and twin room), parents had room in hotel. All close to amenities with sea views (worth paying the extra for). We booked half board - breakfast was the same every morning, good quality and lots of choice, dinner however was varied with plenty of fresh salad, vegetables and vegetarian options. Food replenished regularly so it didn't matter if you chose to dine late. However it is the activities which made this holiday for us. My husband rediscovered his youth and spent most of his time with the sailing team and his new sailing pals on the water. Kids learnt to sail and windsurf. Equipment is good quality and staff were enthusiastic, attentive and well qualified. Special mention to Big Sam who went out with hubby on the double windsurf and generally indulged hubby's exuberance for all things water based . Whole family played tennis daily and facilities were great, kids and nanna scuba dived for the first time after a taster session in the pool, followed by full instruction, scuba team were brilliant, especially with nanna who has only just learnt to swim and has a bad back. We mountain biked with Matty who, even on his 21st birthday, was enthusiastic and patient with those of us who had to walk up the hills and take regular breaks. I rediscovered my love of exercising to music and spent a lot of time in the aerobics area (outdoors, shaded, sea view - fabulous!) Claire, the aerobics instructor was/is brilliant, her classes are fun, easy to follow and varied, however it is her welcoming manner, infectious enthusiasm and teaching ability (as someone who has no coordination) which made me want to keep on returning for her classes - also meant I could keep on eating the delicious desserts!

Although we were told the resort was fully booked, it never seemed overly busy, children's pool was always full but not overcrowded and the adults pool was very relaxing. We went just before the school holidays so kids were mostly pre school age, therefore evenings were quiet and relaxing. Hotel shows not so great, we watched 'We will rock you' for 10 minutes, its all we could take.

All staff, both Mark Warner and hotel staff were courteous and friendly and always ready to help. My only criticism would be the slowness of the drinks service in the restaurant - our advice would be to order your drinks at the bar and take them into the restaurant, that way you will be able to have your drink with your meal. That said, this was a brilliant holiday from start to finish, even the chaos of Kos Airport was smoothly dealt with by Justine from Mark Warner. It was our first inclusive holiday as well as our first Mark Warner holiday, we had high expectations as this was not a cheap holiday - those expectations were met and exceeded. We will be back.

Room Tip: Don't have room 501 (village room) if you want any privacy - balcony is right next to restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lakitira Resort and Village in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked our holiday at the Lakitira Resort with Mark Warner Holidays. All very well organised. BA charter flights, good travelling times, speedy transfer to the hotel...only 15 minutes from the airport. Check in was quick considering there were probably around 100 people arriving, and our cases were delivered to our rooms within 15 minutes. Excellent service.
Our room was very modern, spacious and clean. Plenty of wardrobe space and the bathroom was fine. Room was on ground floor, terrace outside looking onto tennis courts ( not in use) and the sea.
The resort was well laid out, lovely gardens. Enjoyed the adults only pool, good size and never more than 10 people around it when we were there. Was disappointed that it didn't open until 9am as would have liked an early morning swim. But enjoyed the daily aquarobics. Also took part in some of the other fitness activities provided, yoga, stretching classes and spine clinic. It was too hot for the aerobics!
There were 3 restaurants to chose from. Buffet, Italian buffet and Greek Taverna. The last 2 needed advance booking but weren't busy at all. Food in all was great. The main buffet was varied each evening with different themes.
The hotel is situated 4 km from Kardamena, you can cycle from the hotel or there is a bus.
The beach is fairly sandy but you have yo be careful going into the sea, there are large rocks in some places making it very painful on the feet! Go further along the beach and it's easier. Sun beds and umbrellas on the beach are free.
Had a lovely relaxing holiday, resort didn't seem full so may be a little less relaxing in the height of the season.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

Regarding the swimming pools, although these are closed and not supervised prior to 9 a.m., we would have been happy to provide a solution should we knew you wished to have an early swim.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have previously explored countries, on land, by sea - sailing bareboat and canoeing ensuring I avoid holiday complexes at all costs! However, the children were on a school trip in the south of France so decided to try this Mark Warner hotel with my partner. It was just amazing. Beautiful weather, the ability to do as much or as little as one would like and a chance to try tennis after many many years. I have to say, I felt Freddie was the best tennis coach ever. His patience, tolerance and ability to teach so much to such a novice was remarkable in such a young guy. More importantly, it was the best fun ever with much laughter alongside the learning!! The food was great, the room was clean and a decent size, with a balcony overlooking the sea. The Greek Taverna is a lovely touch, preferring to eat breakfast there each morning after tennis as opposed to the main dining room. An adult pool alongside a free for all pool is a great idea, catering to the fact that not everyone has or brings their children, yet could still enjoy what the hotel has to offer. We met many delightful people both those on holiday and members of staff, such as the girls who welcome you to the restaurant and the animation team. We will definitely come back again with the children - although recognise there might be a different feel in school holidays!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Lakitira Resort and VIlage. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and rewarding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a great time here with other friends and family. The resort is well placed in a quieter area of this island (away from the younger drunken crowd) and has great faciltiies, including two seprate beaches so you can have fun with the kids before they hit kids club in the morning or afternoon, then onto the adutbeach for a little peace and quiet.

The sports facilities are really good here with free use of lazers and other sail boats, plus the canoes etc The beach s great if you want an early morning or evening run as it streches for miles and is accessible for all to use. The water is typically Med and is pretty shallow a long way out making it perfect for watersports.

The nanies are all Brtish and max numbers are observed which is comforting - the boys had a great time whilst with the kids club which also takes the out to do stuff.

Had a ground floor room which was a little pokey, bubt he kids half of the room was a nice feature, again a little pokey thyough.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open up nicely onto the grassy areas but bring a bike D lock for the doors as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityGuy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lakitira Resort and Village with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The resort is less than 15 minutes away from the airport. It is great you don't need a long transfer, but it also means that at least once an hour a plane comes over quite low from morning until evening (latest I heard was 23:15).

Arrival at the resort was managed well with a smooth check in and all our luggage delivered to the room. We had some queries about the room and were offered an alternative at no charge and no quibles.

The room was nice, especially the 'new' one on the ground floor with garden access. Everything was comfortable and clean with one exception. In addition to our double bed we had two sleeping sofas. These were actual sofas, not sofabeds, which were very firm and uncomfortable. also these sofas were short, so anyone taller than 5'4" would probably struggle.

The included breakfast and dinner buffet was great with a nice choice of foods. The breakfast buffet was vast and unchanged, whilst the dinner included quite a bit of variation in the dishes. We tried the restaurant one night, but that was not worth the extra money. One comment about the food, the children's options were much more limited especially the healthy options. Apart from the pizza, nuggets, pasta etc there was usually 1 veg option like broccoli, peas or carrots. It was difficult to maintain a diet similar to what they get at home.

The staff was great both from Mark Warner as well as the hotel. They all worked very hard to help and ensure our stay was great.

We also loved all the activities, most of them free. The sailing, surfing, and I even went diving one day. Some also went mountainbiking and that was fun, although it was getting bit too warm for the 30+km rides. The hotel animation team also organised some other acitvities like beach volleyball and waterpolo during the day and on one of the evenings we had karaoke. That was good fun.

For us the most important thing was probably the child care. There are some great positives in that, and we would love to do that again. Both our kids (4 & 2) loved the care and gladly went there. They did some wonderful things like crafts, sailing, kayaking etc. In the evening the toddlers watched a movie and therein lies some of the improvement. I would suggest getting a bigger tv, that old tv should be replaced really. On the other hand I think it is worth considering a different evening activity. The children did go to bed very late.

If we would do something different is charge everything to our room. We had a massive room charge, more than double any of the others in our group had and unfortuantely the information on the bill does not really allow you to check it. The system could be better, but ultimately it is our own responsibility I would bring enough euros and pay cash.

I have tried to share the positives and the negatives to provide a balanced view, hopefully it shines through that there are many positives. We would love to go again

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the sea are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

Thank you as well for providing us with some usefull feedback regarding children's menu. We will address the point to our chefs to improve the vegetavle choices.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#10 of 39 in Kardamena
287 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
14.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £65 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Splitty, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing