We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converted to Mark Warner family holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Converted to Mark Warner family holidays!”
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My Husband and I travelled to Lakitira with Mark Warner on the 23rd September for 2 weeks on an all inclusive basis with our 2 1/2 year old daughter. From the moment we were greeted at the airport we were met with genuinely friendly, polite and energetic staff.

The resort was overall very clean and spacious. We stayed in the Hotel part of the resort which was newly refurbished to a good comfortable standard. The hotel staff dealt quickly with questions and queries.

The main Restaurant food was abundant with a good selection. Because we went during term time we never had to worry about cues for food, tables, or sun loungers.

My husband enjoyed the kayaking, wind surfing and scuba diving! My daughter had great fun with her new buddies and the nursery staff, I enjoyed and relaxed for three hours a day! We all got the holiday we needed and like many commented you could do lots or nothing all to a great standard!

The evening drop off for the children to enjoy the video club or just to sleep worked well and enabled us to enjoy an adult meal out every night!

My only concern was with the children’s food at 5:15. It was very repetitive, not very tasty and not enough selection. If you have young (weaning) or fussy eaters I suggest taking some plum baby or ella's kitchen! Because we were on full board, our little one ate big lunches of fish/ salad/ fruit and veg!

A fact file in the hotel room with all the information required for the stay, would have been very beneficial. It was very noticiable when new people arrived, they asked lost of questions that could have been answered more accurately by some information in the room.

We will be going with Mark Warner again and would not hesitate in recommending this resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    211
    63
    22
    10
See reviews for
306
147
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We just returned from our first Mark Warner holiday from Lakitira Kos travelling with our 17 months toddler and we had a fantastic time.

We stayed in the Premium suite in the hotel and it was clean and comfortable. My boy had no problems sleeping in his travel cot that was provided though when the door was closed the air conditioning did not reach his room so he got warm at times. Luckily we were there when the weather had cooled down considerably.

We chose Mark Warner because we wanted a holiday with child care and they didn’t disappoint us. We put our boy in crèche in the morning (9am to 12:30) and the activities he did varied from day to day. I think the crèche at Mark Warner was better than the nursery he goes to at home! The girls were caring and friendly and I never had any concerns leaving him there.

The shop in the resort was handy and a small bag of nappies cost around 14 euros. They were well stocked with most toiletries you might have forgotten.

Bring mosquito repellent for you and your little ones !

The family beach was sandy and cosy and the water was clear and shallow so it was perfect for the little one to run around. Since a lot of people buy buckets and spades when they get to the resort, a lot of them were left behind so we used them together with body boards that were also left.

I booked group tennis lessons which was great and my husband went wind surfing everyday. There were many more activities to keep you occupied.

Children’s high tea started at 5.15pm and they had a good selection of food. I was very impressed with the puree food on offer together with a range of fresh fruits. Personally for babies weaning bring your own food.

The 24hrs kitchen was very handy and equipped with sterilizers, fridge and microwave with free UHT milk on offer.

Since we were very close to the airport we did notice the aeroplanes but not enough to bother us. To be honest my boy enjoyed spotting them as they went past.

The evening crèche was fantastic and was back at the toddler’s crèche and we used it every night. It opens at 7.30pm and closes at 11.30pm but you can arrive a little early to settle them in.

We did have an expensive bar bill but we expected it. Full board worked out well for us. We ate in the main restaurant in the evenings as we didn’t feel the other restaurants had anything different to offer. We had drinks at the Barefoot Bar and it was lovely in the evening overlooking the sea. The main bar lacked excitement but fine for a few drinks with people you met on the holiday.

We had to pay 50euros for a late check out but convenient when you have a toddler.

Overall the hotel and village is a bit tired and needs renovating but it was fine for us. The holiday exceeded our expectation and we came back fully refreshed, though expensive we would definitely do Mark Warner again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkshireBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Hotel is of a good standard and very clean, however, our shower was in the toilet on a slope so flooded most nights. We ended up using the shower over the bath which was fine.

The facilities for families were great, the kids pool was brilliant for our 18month old and the child care was fantastic. The night creche was good but babies need to be 'settled' before they are left otherwise it's chaos.

The high tea was brilliant with a great variety of food and the staff were excellent.

The evening buffet was good but the hotel could do with a non buffet restaurant for a bit of choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HurstLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

On paper Mark Warner is not for us - we are a family with two young children (5 and 3) and think of a holiday as a chance to spend some quality time together, relax, eat good food, enjoy soe peace and quiet, in the warm, near a beach, etc., etc. In the past villa holidays with pool close to undeveloped beaches have suited us well. But we thought we should try a resort and MW seemed to have a reasonable reputation.

Although there is lots going for the Lakitira - the chilodcare is quite good, the quality of food is excellent for a buffet, the tennis facilties are excellent and the sailing looked pretty good too, the staff are consistently good - it turned out really not to be for us. First and foremost it is a resort and no upmarket positioning will change that. There are too many people in too small a space. The room on the "family beach" compared to the space on the "adult beach" and the space given over for the watersports was poor - we often struggled to get a lounger although there did seem to be a lot of unoccupied loungers with towels on them! The space in the restaurant was quite limited for the amount of people passing through - a bit like sardines in the tin. The drinks bills tots up quite quickly. To find a decent bottle of wine - decent not good - required a 25 euro spend and 14 x 25 is quite a lot even before the 3 euro soft drinks, 3 euro ice creams and 1 euro water. Our bar bill was just under 1000 euro for 2 weeks but I got the feeling we were not the biggest! The rooms were clean but a bit sparse - a tv and dvd should be standard in a family hotel.

So, next year it is back to villa with pool. But, if you like resorts and the MW formula, I guess this is your thing. Its just not ours.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietmurmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We got back recently from Lakitira - a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, with few gripes.
The food is great - I had been a little concerned by other reviews claiming that the buffet style main restaurant was a scrum, but it wasn't like that at all - there were never queues, and there was plenty to eat even for vegetarians and picky kids.
We'd been prepared for the heat, but it really is hot there - you're fine in the shade or the water, but it's too hot to walk on the beach or do much else. How anyone summoned up the energy for aerobics or tennis is beyond me!
Kids' clubs were good - my 6 yr old loved it, but my 9 yr old became increasingly frustrated because Health and Safety always seemed to get in the way of Fun. I don't blame Mark Warner for being careful, but...
There wasn't any evening entertainment (other than a fortnightly staff show), and some grown-up ice-breaker activities would have been good. We didn't get to know anyone else as there just wasn't much opportunity to do so.
My two major gripes were (1) the lack of beginner boats (Picos) on the adult beach - most of them were frequently reserved for the RYA courses. It's not enough for the Mark Warner staff to say "they've paid for the course, so they take priority" - the rest of us have paid a lot for our holiday, so why is it right that we are left short of equipment? (2) this will sound petty, but the beach bar played music all the time, which ruined the peace of the beach and the pool. You know how irritating it is when you can't really hear the music, just a constant drum beat going TTSSS TTSSS ta ta TSSS TSSS ta ta TSSS TTSSSS ta ta TSSSS TSSSS? Well, that's the Lakitira soundtrack. I did complain to the Mark Warner Customer Relations girl but she said it was up to the hotel management, which is separate from Mark Warner...
Having said all that, we did have a very nice holiday; the staff were nice, weather good, food great, rooms basic but perfectly pleasant, and we'll probably try Mark Warner again one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We have just enjoyed a wonderful holiday in Lakitira, Kos and felt we should write as it was, in many ways, a perfect holiday and so much of this was down to the Mark Warner staff and those working at the hotel.

The setting was beautiful; peacefully situated away from the local town of Kardamena but easily reached by bicycle, bus or taxi. Our hotel room was comfortable, well-appointed and cleaned immaculately by our room-maid Gergua. The Reception Staff were welcoming and efficient, organised hire cars,buggies and bicycles for us and were helpful in addressing our questions about the hotel or local facilities.

We enjoyed having the choice of three restaurants. The main Hotel Restaurant - serving a wide choice of hot and cold food buffet style. The Trattoria - a bright, airy, open-sided restaurant serving freshly-prepared Pizza and Pasta and the Taverna, a smaller restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, nestled amongst the residential accommodation and serving local meat and seafood in a more traditional Greek atmosphere. We stayed for two weeks and the choice enabled us to vary both food-style and ambience from day to day . The waiters and waitresses were attentive and friendly (particularly Janka who served in the main restaurant and smiled all the time!). Whilst the numbers of guests make the buffet style necessary in the main restaurant and the Trattoria cooked pizzas and pasta to order, it was I think a shame that the Taverna (catering for smaller numbers each night on a book-in-advance basis) did not cook “live” rather than finishing partially prepared meats/kebabs etc before serving. However, we enjoyed all the food we had and plenty of it!

Drinking activities were well-addressed by bars in the hotel, at the poolside and two beside the beach with plenty of variety and reasonably-priced wines (at around 15 euros/bottle). The bar staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Bottled water at around 1.5 Euros a bottle was not too unreasonable (shouldn’t it be free in these temperatures, particularly for the children) but soft drinks at 2.50 Euros a can is a bit disgraceful?

The choice of activities was (as usual) excellent and it was brilliant to be able to sail, windsurf, swim, canoe, snorkel or play tennis whenever you wished. The sailing and windsurfing kit was plentiful and in good condition and we rarely had to wait any time for a sail. The beachfront staff were always cheerful, helpful and friendly and we had some excellent tuition in both free Group Classes (provided daily in different disciplines) and in private lessons. We were particularly well-cared for by “Jonesy” and Will but all the Beachfront Crew were excellent, watched over by Suzie with nothing “too much trouble” and advice freely given. Rescue boats were on the spot with help and advice whenever we needed them (fairly frequently on the windier days) and safety was clearly taken very seriously - we were confident that someone was keeping an eye out for any problems all the time.

We took bikes round the island and the Bike Leader Nick took the trouble to print out a map of a round trip, talk to us about interesting stop-off points and supply us with a phone number in case we had any problems (as well as maintaining the well-equipped mountain bikes available for hire).

We did a week’s course of Pilates with Mark who was an excellent and entertaining instructor and managed to get two slightly rotund and inflexible middle-aged bodies into reasonable approximations to the intended positions without causing us any damage. He also proved to be a very capable Sports Masseur and sorted out a painful neck and shoulder from repeated capsizes very successfully.

Thanks too to the girls in the Viva Salon who worked so hard and so well that we kept returning for different types of relaxing massage. The exchange rate makes the treatments £45+ each but the therapists were excellent – well done Rachel, Cassie, Leigh and Justine.

Overall, we had a fabulous time and returned home feeling thoroughly refreshed and rejuvenated (but for the bruises and aching muscles that accompany activity holidays in the mid to late 50s age group). We have now had four summer holidays and ten wintersports holidays with Mark Warner and will continue to travel with them for the quality of the staff which has always guaranteed us a wonderful holiday whether on the water or on skis.

Thank you Lakitira and (once again) Mark Warner!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlyndebourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Recently stayed at the Lakitira Beach Resort for 2 weeks in August 2009. Having stayed at a Mark Warner resort 3 years ago we expected high standards of activity, food and evening entertainment. To be honest we were very disappointed with the food, but mortified by the lack of any evening entertainment. When you consider MW have a captive audience on evenings (there are no local bars unless you do a 45 min hike), it's inexcusable to lay on nothing at all. The main bar was renamed the 'Airport Departure Lounge' by most guests due to it's awful atmosphere - most families resorted to playing cards in isolated groups to while the hours away. If you stay here. expect to be in bed by 10pm most nights! Sailing was great to be fair but the beach staff were very disorganised resulting in long waiting times for boats and a non-existent queueing system made tempers rise. The biking equipment should be condemned as it is unsafe (the bike rep does a great job however despite this equipment).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stroiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#13 of 39 in Kardamena
269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
318 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
11.3 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Property: Lakitira Resort & Village
Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing