We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Mikri Poli hotel in Kos from 20th May - 31st May, we also stayed there last year May. We even brought the in-laws with us this time. And just as last year, we had a great time! The hotel is only a 10 min drive from the airport, which is great as we have a 23 month old toddler, as we could not bare a long journey to the hotel after a flight. The hotel and rooms are clean, and would definitely recommend a sea-view room(room 1305 & 1303) Some rooms are up a steep incline, so for elderly ones or families with kids, i suggest you get a room to the front of the resort to avoid the steps The food in the restaurant is of very good quality, with a variety to choose from everyday. There are 2 good sized kiddie pools to keep the kids entertained(make sure they wear crocs or jelly shoes around the pool to avoid slipping), and a very large one for the adults. Every evening there is a mini disco which is highly popular with the children, followed by entertainment by the animation team in the amphitheater. I must admit the steps down to the amphitheater are steep, so please take care when descending. For the beach loves, it is literally across the road from the hotel. The hotel own the piece in front so they provide loungers. There is also a gym in the sister hotel next door which is free to use. What also makes staying at Mikri Poli very appealing, is the fact that Kardemena town is only a 10 min walk along the beach, if you want to break the day up a bit. Lovely little town with lots of bars and restaurants along a picturesque marina. Great cocktails at Bar 1960!!!! I would highly recommend the 45 min bus ride from Kardemena into Kos Town. Beautiful town!! Once there, take the little street train(the green one by the marina is free) for a 20 min tour of the town. However, one of the major contributing factors for our enjoyable stay was the friendly staff at Mikri Poli. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, the staff could not do enough to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Lina and Anisa always had a smile, Maria in the hotel shop was so friendly and always took time to talk to my daughter. The shop sells pool toys and floats and other toys, so no need to pack any in your suitcases. George the restaurant manager was so helpful and nice along with all his staff, Katerina, Georgia, Dianne, George and Alex just to name a few. All of them were fantastic with my daughter. The 2 bar guys, both named Yiannis, worked hard every evening to quench everyone's thirst. Make an effort to get to know the lovely staff.
Also have to mention the animation team, especially Micky. They were all great fun, and had some funny games up there sleeves. I would high recommend that you get involved with the games, you will not be disappointed!!
We met a few families that want to return next year, we even met one family again that stayed there the same time as we did last year!!
If you are looking for sun, sea and a great family hotel, look no further than Mikri Poli.
We will be going back for a 3rd time in 2015!!!!!!
Philip, Rachael & Amara(room 1305)

Room Tip: Go for sea-view rooms.(1303 &1305) if you are elderly or have kids, avoid rooms to the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Philip K

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality was so much appreciated by yourself.

------- Just for you information our own Water Park is now open for all guests to enjoy a cheerful playful day !!! ---------

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

Your words of praise for "Lina and Anisa always had a smile", Maria in the hotel shop - George the restaurant manager was so helpful and nice along with all his staff, Katerina, Georgia, Dianne, George and Alex - The 2 bar guys, both named Yiannis, - Micky at the animation have been passed on to them individually.

Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Your good words regarding the food -have been passed on to our Chef and all the Culinary Team's members.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely friendly staff from George the manager to maids who cleaned our spotless rooms. Well presented and delicious food, catering for all nationalities .Well maintained pools and area .water park now open which they worked hard to achieve and looks great .We really enjoyed are stay there and would recommend this lovely hotel .special thanks go to yannis and his bar staff ,the lovely girls in the restaurant and animation team (ta ta you know who we are !)
We would have no hesitations about returning for another stay thank you so much Mikri Policy our lovely Little Village .;-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Karen P

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality was so much appreciated by yourself.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

Your "Special thanks go to yannis and his bar staff ,the lovely girls in the restaurant and animation team" have been passed on to them individually.

Your good words regarding the food -have been passed on to our Chef and all the Culinary Team's members.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just returned from the Mikri Poli after a two week stay. Firstly, I would like to say how friendly and hardworking all the staff are - particularly Lina on reception and the animation team. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning is a real plus. On the downside, the waterpark was not finished! This was the one and only reason why we booked to stay at the Mikri Poli and my daughter was so disappointed. We booked through Cosmos and at no point in the 6 month period between booking the holiday and going did they contact me to let me know that this facility was unavailable. This is very poor customer service.

The food was fine - it got a bit boring after a week so we ate out occasionally. I would recommend a meal in the BBQ restaurant. As per many other reviews, the soft drinks were revolting, particularly the diet versions. Beer and wine were OK. The waiters and waitresses were all very friendly and helpful.

Kardamena Town is now looking run down - the resort really needs some investment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Jo G

Thank you for your recent stay and overall positive feedback.

As you have mentioned, our staff is an asset to our Hotel " I would like to say how friendly and hardworking all the staff are - particularly Lina on reception and the animation team"

Unfortunate situations resulted to a delay of the construction of the Water Park.

Just for you information our own Water Park is now open for all guests to enjoy a cheerful playful day !!!

Issues such as the drinks are our first priority for improvement.

We hope they will give us nother chance to be your choice in the future and we will try to meet your expectations as we get better and better by time.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr
gm.cardabeach@sentidohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from a seven day break at the mikri poli. We had a great holiday. All staff were very professional and made us feel very welcome. Waiting staff first class, animation team first class and great great fun, reception staff also brilliant.....so basically couldn't fault anyone who works there. Manager George was just lovely, always about for a chat to make sure everything was running well. Food was lovely, a huge variety and even our girls came away with new ideas for menus at home. Swimming pool very clean and ample sun beds for everyone. Beach a little bit rustic but this is out of control of hotel as you cannot control a natural environment. Overall a great time was had by our family and we would most definately return. Thank you all at mikri poli.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top offer a wonderful view across the sea but you do have a good few steps to scale but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Fisher-Family-97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear The-Fisher-Family-97

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services. They are indeed an asset to the hotel.

------------ Just for you information our own Water Park is now open for all guests to enjoy a cheerful playful day !!! -------------

As you mentioned "All staff were very professional and made us feel very welcome. Waiting staff first class, animation team first class and great great fun, reception staff also brilliant.....so basically couldn't fault anyone who works there."

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just got back from a week at mikripoli. We took our three children and booked this hotel because of it being family friendly and having a water park and other facilities that we thought they would enjoy.

The hotel looked lovely when we arrived at night and we were pleased, hotel was clean and room very clean. The rooms had air conditioning which worked fine. The beds were not comfortable and I think this is one thing the hotel needs to improve. The views were great. The cleaners were great and cleaned the room to a high standard every day.

The food was good with choice every day, we were able to find something every day that we all liked. The views were great from the dining room. We ate at the bbq one night and if you want to eat at this then book early for each night otherwise you will be disappointed. one thing that they need to change is having plastic cups for the children instead of glass as our little one smashed it and wasn't the only child to do it during the week. The soft drinks available during the day and evening were not nice and again they would be better to have premium soft drinks for a five star.

The entertainment team were friendly and worked hard and we're enthusiastic. This is one area that we were mostly disappointed by as being a family friendly hotel we felt the entertainment and activities for children were poor. They had a children's club from 10-12.30 and 3-5.30pm but they didn't have many activities and our daughter was bored. They have a children's disco from 8.45-9pm which is all the activities for children. We feel they have so much potential to be doing more activities during the day and evening and doing competition etc for the children. We wouldn't return again due to the lack of children entertainment. The evening entertainment is held in the amphitheatre which I felt was quite dangerous with the children. On one night an older lady tripped and fell with her glass of drink. We do think that it needs to be just plastic glasses only especially seeing this lady cut her head open!!

Also the water park isn't open and after complaining they provided us with tickets to another hotel which had a water park for the morning and this was a brilliant water park.

I would also agree with other comments about it not being an all inclusive as we had to pay for air hockey, pool, wifi, towels for the pool and any premium drinks. I feel they could have offered a lot of these free and even with a deposit to make sure they get things back but not charging for them.

We feel the hotel has the potential to be very good but needs to improve in order for it to be five star.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maigaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear maigaret

Thank you for your recent stay and overall positive feedback.

As you have mentioned, our staff is an asset to our Hotel. They are very friendly indeed and they try very hard every day for all our guests.

Unfortunate situations resulted to a delay of the construction of the Water Park.

Just for you information our own Water Park is now open for all guests to enjoy a cheerful playful day !!!

We have plastic glasses for the children - as a family friendly hotel we take under serious consideration the heakth and safety of all children in the premises.

* We have placed a soft top on all beds in order to make them softer as many guests like yourshelf do not like anatomic beds.
* Issues such as the drinks are our first priority for improvement.
* We have installed railling around the Amphitheatre so as to be safer fo all guests.

We are an AI hotel and the AI is described in all brochures - it is mainly focused and food and drinks in the premises. We are not an Ultra All inclusive so things like air hockey, pool, wifi, towels for the pool and any premium drinks are on extra charge as they are not included.

We hope they will give us nother chance to be your choice in the future and we will try to meet your expectations as we get better and better by time and within minimal time we have altered a lot of things according to all guests comments.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr
gm.cardabeach@sentidohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was pretty good, I wouldn't say it was classy or terrible. The facilities were adequate for what you needed them to be, a nice sized pool, comfortable loungers, fine selection at the bar and restaurant, however the food was pretty much repeated every 3 nights, so expect to the eat the same thing a little later into the week, but the food tasted good so it was ok. There was a fine beach outside the hotel, yet there was no chance for good swimming as there were huge rocks before you go into the sea and underneath you when out a little further. Someone I went with even cut their back on them. However, I do not expect the hotel to go and change this as it is obviously out of their control. Generally the hotel surroundings were good, the layout was fine except for a fair few steps, however this can be avoided if someone is disabled as there are ramps to access rooms and facilities. They play quite loud music around the pool during the day so don't get a room near this area. The animation people were cool, they got people involved with activities. Lina on reception was always really polite and nice despite working long shifts.

The rooms were one thing that let this hotel down. The single beds in a family room were wildly uncomfortable, they were so bad I didn't think I relaxed due to the need for rest during the day because of sleeping so lightly at night. The other negatives were that the air conditioning did not work, however the room was an ok temperature so was fine at this time of year to sleep. The TV was terrible, all fuzzy and the remote for that not working either. And the toilet did not flush correctly a number of times. However, none were so major that we needed to talk to anyone.

Generally a good stay.

Room Tip: One not behind the restaurant because of kitchen fans or pool area as they play music all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Josh C

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback

------------ Just for you information our own Water Park is now open for all guests to enjoy a cheerful playful day !!! ---------------

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

Although you had a very good holiday overall you faced with some issues in the room - please email me personally so as to spot the room you were in - in order to fix all issues for the next guests.

Your words of praise regarding " Lina at Reception " were passed on to her individually this morning :-)

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr
gm.cardabeach@sentidohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We went there for May half term and had a fantastic holiday. The food was lovely and the animation staff were amazing. They worked very hard to keep us entertained whether we were grown up or children. Mini club was great. They made the holiday really nice and fun. The staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful.

My only critic would be the snacks were very limited at the bar during the day and would have liked a bit more choice.

Other than that we just wanted to say thank you for making our holiday enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mirna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Manager at Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mirna M

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was appreciated by yourself.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

Your words of praise for the Animation team have been passed on to them.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager
mail to: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
484 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#10 of 39 in Kardamena
1,476 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
3.7 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece (Formerly Mikri Poli Kos)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#20 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £102 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mikri Poli Kos is located on Kos island…amphitheatrically built on a rocky slope running down to the beach.This family friendly resort presents 175 guestrooms in two-level buildings, elegant, fresh and comfortable.Enjoy magnificent views from your balcony or simply open your door and dive into the pool! Warm blue waters, intoxicating sea views, relaxed and stylish interiors, delightful dining, exciting family activities… a special place with a special kind of hospitality that welcomes each guest and creates everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Kos Hotel Kardamena
Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena
Atlantica Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing