We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in june 2014 and overall had a great family holiday.
The hotel is set in pretty gardens situated right on a lovely beach with clean sand and shallow waters which was great for the kids. Beach bar was an added bonus and served drinks, snacks and ice cream also a nice location in the evening for a quiet drink.
The swimming pool was large and we found there to be plenty of sunbeds and never had a problem getting one, the water is salt water and VERY salty kids weren't keen to begin with but kind of got used to it as the week went on, pool bar served dinks and a few snacks by very friendly hardworking staff. Waterpark was great and fresh water which was a welomed change.
We found the food to be of a good standard with plenty of choice and never stuggled to find something that we didnt like plus the added bonus of 3 alternative resturants to visit.
The rooms are pretty basic we had a family one which was of a good size with a double balcony and a sea view so no complaints although not upto the standard of other 4 star hotels we have stayed in.
Kids loved the mini disco which we went to each night they didnt go to the kids clubs so can't comment on these.
My only negatives were the salt water pool, childs play area could do with some sort of shelter as got so hot on the slides that they couldnt be used and the lack of evening entertainment.
That aside this is overall a really nice hotel in a lovely location, great facilities, good food and friendly helpful staff and i dont really think you would have a bad time here.
Will definatley think about coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Worth getting a family room as a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly_allmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Atlantica Porto Bello Beach and for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you passed an enjoyed family holiday noting that you were pleased with the most of our facilities, friendly customer service and our new Aquatica Waterpark.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon when your future plans will bring you back to Greece.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    435
    129
    23
    15
See reviews for
624
234
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We returned from Porto bello beach a week ago now and we were very sad to leave. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed everyday that we were there.
The rooms were clean and ours was right in front of the pool which was lovely.
The food was good. I loved the Mediterranean restaurant for lunch not as much choice but lovely barbequed fish.
The Greek was also great, we visited twice.
The main restaurant was very varied and catered for most tastes.
The staff were all very friendly.
The only negatives are the beach bar toilets need cleaning more frequently.
The other negatives were lack of seating in the evening and the small bar that is the main bar in the evenings.
Spalsh world was great as were the availability of pedaloes and Kayaks.
You can rent beach towels with a 10 euro deposit which is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions.

I am really glad to know how much you have enjoyed our hotel's facilities and services and our new Aquatica Waterpark.

It would be our pleasure to have an opportunity to host your second "Lovely Family Holiday" at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from the Atlantica Porto Bello Beach with very mixed feelings. Firstly I honestly do not understand all the gushing positive reviews here, they are not accurate or realistic.

The good points - short transfer, nice location, sandy clean beach, very friendly staff.

The bad points - the restaurant just feels like a canteen with pig rude people barging about like it's their last meal. The food is dire, I accept it's buffet fare but the quality is school dinner bad. There was not a single day where our party didn't struggle to find anything of interest to eat (and we are not hugely fussy eaters). There's lots of food on offer it's just a shame theres so little that's actually nice. Even the deserts were a huge disappointment - again lots of choice but all variations on the same theme - artificial cream cakes, lots of them, trifles in glasses overloaded with more artificial cream and sickly syrup. The best thing about the restaurant was the fresh fruit! The beer is ok, the wine though was undrinkable drain cleaner. Really bizarre is you cannot get bottled water as part of the all inclusive - I have never encountered this before at any all inclusive resort - your choice is drink the tap water from the dispensers which tastes like flat soda water and is foul or buy bottled water from the hotel shop for 1 euro a time (which is at least drinkable).

Nb be aware that in the evening a bizarre "dress code" applies where men cannot wear smart flip flops even with smart shorts and a collared short - this despite you will see a multitude of vests, football shirts and running shoes that are deemed acceptable.....mmm.

The rooms - they were disappointing, they are simply not 4 star - our felt cramped, a double and a single crammed into what should have been a regular double room. The beds as noted in other reviews are prison hard. You really want a 4 star hotel room to feel a little bit special and these don't. Why not drawers for clothes storage? It drives me mad - plenty of hangers but no other storage space and you will end up with the bulk of your clothes living in your case. Showers are good and powerful but again fixtures in the bathroom were very tired. Room was also pretty quiet as the entertainment area is outside the front of the hotel.

There's a fair amount of "territory" wars that go on here, towels are quickly filling the pool sunbeds from 6am - by 8am forget getting a space by the pool. Also we found that if we wanted to sit at the main terrace after dinner you had to be in the restaurant early to get back out in time to bag a table as by 8-8.30pm all the table were filled. Oddly no music is played in the main hotel in the evenings not even background music on the terrace.

As said previously the transfer from the airport at 20mins as nice and short......but.... The hotel is directly on the flight path so large holiday jets are frequently passing/roaring overhead early till very late.

The room safe - yes you need one but it's quite ridiculous that this costs a 30 euros "fee". Then wait until you see the size of the safe - it's a smaller than A4 sized box, fine for passports etc but wait till you have to try and get an ipad, camera etc in there and it's like an infuriating Chinese puzzle trying to get things in.

On a positive the waterpark on site is good fun for all the family and is well managed and safe. Ps you cannot bring any bottled water into here (even if bought from the hotel shop) but they will of course sell you a bottle and other drinks/snacks.

I'm trying to be positive and balanced with this review but struggling a little to be honest! Summary - staff nice, rooms very basic, food poor. Weather hot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoethehusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and of course for choosing to stay with us.

We wish to sincerely apologize that you were not fully satisfied as our Guest. We understand that each Guest has specific preferences and sensitivities and we are trying our best to fulfil all our Guests needs and requests. It seems like we didn't managed it in your case which makes me feel very disappointed.

Please do accept our sincere apologies and know that we do appreciate your point of view and wish you all the best regardless!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location if a little outside the town but the hotel has a coach that makes 7 trips a day into Kardamena. Also not too bad a walk. Good restaurants only gripe was dress code for men in that they were not allowed backless shoes at dinner, not even nice leather ones. On our first night my son in law had to go and change his shoes yet other men(not British) were allowed in, draw your own conclusions.

Also sunbeds need to be reserved with a towel at sun up or you will struggle to get one, most beds had only towels no, no people. This should be addressed as it can spoil a very good hotel.

Vaso at reception was very helpful with any queries we had, could not fault her service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Begg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a valuable feedback from your recent stay at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach.

We feel rewarded to hear that you had such a nice stay with us and that you could not fault any of our facilties, services and hospitality.

Should your plans bring you back to Greece, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can take care of your arrangements.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I came to this resort in 2011 with my parents and my partner. I returned with them this summer and when I thought it couldn't get any better, it was!
There is food constantly throughout the day right up until midnight snacks. There was a variety of foods in the main restaurant, including Mexico and Asian themed night. The Italian, Greek and Mediterranean restaurant also had fantastic food.
Loads of drinks available to choose from, bars could get a little crowded in the evening but the bar maids worked as fast as they could. I was pleased to hear that the bars closed at 1am, this has been extended from our previous visit. They have also added snacks such as cakes and biscuits at the bar, an extra add on from the previous year.
Must try out the slides in the water park. Me and my family only went once but had a fun time whilst we were there. The slides are scary but fun. Be careful to not burn your feet when walking on the floor, it
can get very hot and burn.
The animation team were ok. Previous entertainment team were brilliant 5* but this year the night time shows were lacking. we were sat in the dark listening to music for 15mins which was part of the show. The best part of the day was water polo. All of the other holiday customers all joined together and created a competitive but fun time during the game.
The cleaner came every morning and cleaned the room to a good standard. Rooms were very clean and enough room for 2 people staying. The only problem was that our shower leaked and soaked the floor, but this was not a problem. We just placed a towel on the floor to stop any leakage and then dried the towl on the balcony.

We will defiantly be returning for a third time, it is a friendly and relaxing place. Could not fault anything. Thank you for another fantastic holiday!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank missrachael89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you, once again, enjoyed our service and that the great team I am proud to have here have also once again exceeded your expectations. Rest assure that we will pass your comments on to them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantica Porto Bello Beach for the third time!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We travelled as a party of 2 mums, 2 teenagers and a 10 year old. My first experience of this type of holiday in over 10 years (usually travel independently). It was much as I had expected and I am home feeling well rested.

On arrival there was only one member of staff so check in was chaotic. We then went to our rooms to find that although we were all on the same booking, we were at opposite ends of the hotel. As previous reviews have stated, we were enable to change as the hotel was fully booked. It wasn't a major issue, more of an annoyance.

The hotel and rooms were clean and there was obvious ongoing upkeep (with the exception of the courtesy shower room where the shower heads fell off the wall as we showered and it flooded). There was a lot of wasted space in our bathroom but then we were not there as interior designers.

The restaurant offered a wide variety of food which suited our parties' individual tastes although by the end of the week it was a little repetitive (to be expected in this setting). On the whole the food was hot but sometimes it was warm. The theme nights were disappointing as there only seemed to be the one buffet area dedicated to that evenings' theme and the cook to order hotplate.We did, however, make use of the 3 other restaurants on site to break the monotony of the same food. The other restaurants were much quieter but there was not a huge difference in the food on offer. We felt that it would have been fun to have had a Greek evening in the Greek Taverna with traditional costume and dancing etc. which might have helped with the overall lack of evening entertainment. Having said that, Kardemena town is very accessible and seemed lively.

The hotel offers a courtesy bus into the town but the timetable does not enable guests to fit trips in around meal times if going in the evening (we opted to do the 30 min walk one way to give us more time to look around). There is however, a local bus (1.80 euros) service that starts earlier and comes back later. Taxis are approximately 9 euros one way.

The pool area was very nice with a swim up bar (friendly staff, especially Katerina) but the water in the pool is saltier than the sea!! Playing water polo or doing aqua aerobics (run by an enthusiastic daytime entertainment team) meant very stinging eyes as wearing goggles is not very conducive to these activities. Sunbeds were generally saved around the pool and some guests thought nothing of moving your belongings and taking your sun bed if left for more than a few minutes.

The beach is well looked after and there are plenty of sunbeds. Our teenagers enjoyed the beach volley ball in the morning (there is also an afternoon session) and the free pedalo and/or kayak use for 30 minutes a day was welcomed. The sea is a lovely temperature and it is fairly shallow for a good way out. Snorkelling was good (the rocks around the boat launch pier had a few different varieties of fish to see). There is a shower next to the volley ball court and beach bar. The beach bar staff were very friendly. The bar had a self service soft drinks machine, ice cream, filled rolls and toastie/panini machine which was available all day from 10 am.

The evening entertainment? Hmmm ....... there is a purpose built amphitheatre that services both hotels (Beach and Royal) with a stage and sound/lighting box. In my opinion it is a wasted resource. It is set away from the hotels (probably a good thing) and holds a mini disco for younger children until 9.15 pm (ish) - our 10 year old did not want to go. At 9.30 p.m there is a 'show' of some sort, great we all thought - how disappointed we were (we went on 3 occasions and each time lasted less time) To be fair the animation team were putting a lot of energy into the shows but they were, at best, mediocre which could be because these guys all seem to work constantly with minimum time off and many of the staff do 2 jobs. 2 or 3 quality shows a week and using the area differently for the other nights might be better. A small bar area would be a good addition here and then maybe an evening disco/dancing etc

The water park was very handy, especially as there was fresh water in the pool. The flumes were all good fun but the lazy river was too lazy (you had to self propel around one side of it and then sped past the finish). The staff were all good and if strict at times it is their job! Downside - the ground gets very hot and you have to buy drinks/food in there.

There are 3 bars open in evening, generally we managed to find seats. There was little to no atmosphere and it could be smoky at times.

The internet is very patchy but I was on holiday so had no interest or need to use it so this was not an issue for me.

A teenage hang out area - pool table, air hockey etc was requested by our teenagers.

The daily/evening activities were only displayed on a small notice board which we didn't see for the first 2/3 days (it is at the bottom of the steps opposite the shop)

The international kids club was unsuitable - the staff were lovely, great with the kids but it seemed very unorganised and not much was going on (or it was so badly advertised that no one was aware of what was going on)

The Arian dive centre go to the hotel twice a week and offer try dives. You can then book a dive trip with them. They also have an office at the next door hotel - Atlantica Porto Bello Royal although I am not sure what time they are there.


On the whole my above comments are more observations than complaints. As a group we all enjoyed ourselves and have arrived home relaxed and rested.

Be aware:
The fruit juice drinks are all very sugary and sweet (better watered down)
The hired towels can only be changed 3 times a week so they get very salty/sticky/oily
Wear goggles in pool
There is a constant breeze so you forget how strong the sun is - slip, slap, slop

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sk8ek8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.

It was a real pleasure having you as our guests and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our aim always been to provide the best possible service and facilities to all our guests, at all times, therefore comments like yours, give us the knowledge to improve even further.

Once again thank you for having taken the time and trouble to write to us and, in closing, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantica Porto Bello Beach in the not distant future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed our Family Holiday at this Hotel mainly because of the Splashworld and the great location next to the Beach. Rooms are very basic and food can be a nightmare with long queues and a very noisy restaurant. We did enjoy the Entertainers who made activities around the Pool, especially Lewis and Michelle who were very nice to our Kids. One recent review mentioned Animation but we did not see any Cartoons or Movies being played here. However, did not like the Theater where the evening entertainment was located as it was far from the hotel and no drinks were on offer. Location was great with a lovely Beach only a short walk from the Hotel but the main attraction was certainly the all inclusive option which was great value for money for the Family.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cornelia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your letter and for your kind words regarding your previous stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and especially our new water park!

I would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our entertainment team members who provided you with pool activities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel for yet another relaxing holiday!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakitira Resort & Village
Lakitira Resort & Village
#15 of 39 in Kardamena
507 reviews
14.9 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Property: Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Hotel Porto Bello Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing