We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Andavis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andavis Hotel
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The location- quite far from the main beach and a nice dark long walk from the main party streets on the way back. The price- you got what you paid for, nothing more. The "breakfast"- two very small slices of bread, a packet of jelly/jam and a small glass of orange squash. The owners- allows no guests anywhere near his hotel, chases people away with a hose, a stick and screams and curses at you in Greek. Threatened to call the police on us as well as threatening to throw our luggage in the bin for being sat OPPOSITE the hotel around the corner at 6 'o' clock in the morning. Very well known in Kardamena to be associated with this sort of behaviour. We got the impression that the owner is more strict with younger people rather than older people as we're sure he wouldn't have behaved in the same way with older people, so if you're young, I would recommend that you stay in an area that is more central as all hotel owners on the outskirts of town do not allow any noise at any time. We even got told that we should have gone with the 18-30 companies. Hated this hotel. Couldn't wait to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0leSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

That header may seem a little alarming, but I really would not wish the Andavis experience on anyone else. The hotel was recommended by the Freedom Travel Group and was rated 2* by them. The hotel room we stayed in seemed to have not been decorated since the 1970s, it was extremely cramped and we were charged 5 Euros per day for air conditioning. It was more like a cheap hostel than a hotel and you would not want to spend any time there.



The bathroom was tiny with an open wet room type shower which rarely produced any hot water. The balcony/terrace was so small that you would not be able to move. The portable size TV only had Greek channels.



The breakfast included in the booking was literally 2 slices of bread from a French stick, a sachet of jam/marmalade, one cup of tea or coffee and a glass of orangeade, not even orange juice! Breakfast finished quite early at 9:30, so it certainly wasn't worth getting out of bed for!



The hotel owner Nikos (who does not have any staff and does all the cleaning, gardening, reception duties, maintenance and breakfasts on his own) we discovered is well known by the locals in Kardemena for all the wrong reasons. We had first hand experience of his complete and utter rudeness and disregard for customer care on three separate occasions when we dared to approach him for A. hot water B. clean towels and C. a working air conditioning unit. On each occasion he literally exploded into a temper and screamed at us that we were causing him problems.



When I approached him to ask if we could have clean towels he launched straight into a tirade. He completely ignored me and told me to wait upstairs as he was going to come and speak to me boyfriend! Unbelievable!



On third occasion he actually slammed the desk in a rage and threatened to call the Police. We actually encouraged him to call the Police because we wanted someone else to witness how totally unreasonable he was being. The Police came and they sympathized with us.



Nikos is certainly not representative of the people of Kos in general who are absolutely lovely, warm and helpful and the Island of Kos is a great holiday destination.



ONCE AGAIN DO NOT STAY AT THE HOTEL ANDAVIS!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Nice clean and friendly place. What else can we ask for? I was really impressed with the owner that he was doing everything he could to add to the enjoyable stay in this friendly place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nlordship415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giramondo968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro_0_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.1 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
#23 of 39 in Kardamena
330 reviews
0 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#15 of 39 in Kardamena
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elga Apartments
Elga Apartments
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andavis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andavis Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Andavis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Andavis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andavis Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing