We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday at the kris mari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“great holiday at the kris mari”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Just got back from a super holiday in kardamena, kos at the kris mari, although we were not impressed at first it gradually grew on us. We were a party of 5, 2 children, my partner and i and my partners mother who is disabled. We were allocated 2 small double rooms, which include a tv and fridge, and a fair sized balcony, but the air conditioning was optional at 5 euros per day, we opted not to pay this. The rooms were serviced every day with the exception of sunday with clean towels and sheets. The breakfast was a continental type and consisted of tea, coffee, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereals and slices of processed cheese, not brilliant but ok. The staff were friendly and very helpful particularly when helping arrange hire of a wheelchair. The pool area is very nice and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols, there is also a good pool bar thats serves drinks and food till 7pm, the hotel is a short walk too a small beach and close too bars and restaurants but at the quieter end of kardamena, so suited us with 2 small children.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conan310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    104
    50
    13
    3
See reviews for
77
111
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

just got back from a week staying in the kris mari.the staff were very friendly and help full.drinks and food in the hotel were not over priced which makes achange.only a stones throw from the beach and restaraunts.plenty of choice and not too dear.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We were supposed to be staying at the Cleopatra Superior Hotel along with it seems most guests at the Kris Mari, but because of an "accidental" double booking we ended up staying in the Kris Mari which is a sister hotel.

The positives-

-The location is great, literally across the road from a nice beach and shops and restaurants and a short 5-10 minute walk along the front past more restaurants and bars into bar street

-The hotel is very clean, we never saw any rubbish, our rooms were cleaned every day and we got new towels almost every day as well

-There are plenty of loungers around the pool, even though it was the busiest time of the year we could get loungers around the pool at any time

-The hotel was very quiet, with the odd exception of people coming back early in the morning after clubbing there was no noise at the night

The negatives-

-The rooms were extremely basic, I've been to Greece many times but these were the most basic rooms I've ever stayed in. They are extremely small, there is no bath, the shower is so tiny in the corner with just a curtain around it, so water went every where every time we used it. On the plus side they are very clean and the furniture is quite nice, there is a small fridge which is good for keeping water and things cool and the tv has some good English channels including one which just shows 3 new movies on a loop that change every week which we loved to watch while we were getting ready.

-The breakfast isn't really worth getting up for, it finishes at 9.30 and most days we weren't up in time for it, it's just toast, some fruit and yoghurt, cereal, tea, coffee and juice. It's okay and if you're usually up early anyway, but I wouldn't bother getting up early just to eat it. You can get full english breakfasts and toasties and things from nearby restaurants on the beach for a couple of euros, so we just used to go there every day.

-The pool gets like a warm bath (not much they can do about that though I suppose) and is kind of cloudy and has insects in it. I only went in the pool once, because I noticed quite a few fairly large insects floating around in it and the water was cloudy from suntan lotion and sweat I presume, which put me off. It's not overly dirty, but I'm a bit germaphobic, so I didn't like swimming in it.

-You can't drink water or eat any crisps and things you haven't purchased from the hotel around the pool, we saw people being told off for doing this and at 1 euro 50 for a can of pop and 2 euros for a small bag of crisps it can make it fairly expensive to keep buying drinks and snacks from the pool bar every day

-The man who works on the reception at night is quite rude, we didn't really have any serious problems with him as we tended to keep quiet after coming back from nights out and avoid him, but a couple of timeswhen we did speak to him he was just rude to us for no real reason and lots of people who we spoke to complained about him as well.

The resort-

I love this resort, so much so me and my friends are already thinking about booking another holiday for next year. It's perfect if you don't like to go clubbing every single night (there are only two clubs), but do want to have a couple of crazy nights out. There are just tons of bars, every one offering very cheap drink deals like any two drinks plus 5 shots for 5 euros, and they definitely do not scrimp on the alcohol. The bar reps can get annoying at times though, but most accept it if say you aren't going to go in their bar and they wish you a good night anyway.

There are only two nightclubs, Starlight and Status, we only went in Starlight, but heard Status was really good as well. We bought wristbands from the Starlight reps which saved money and got chatting to them (one called Roberto is gorgeous!) and they told us the best nights to go. The foam party every Saturday is amazing, floor to celing foam! The music is really good as well. If you go to any club night it has to be that one!

The restaurants are nice as well and fairly cheap, we went to one called Paradise a lot which was right by the hotel on the beach, the man and woman who work there are so so friendly and always say hello and have a chat when they see you. Manos is very nice as well. There are loads of souvenir shops and mini markets and things in the resort as well, so you can find everything you need.

Overall, I am definitely going back to Kardamena again everyone is so friendly there and up for a good time, but I would probably want to try a different hotel, as the Kris Mari was okay, but I've stayed in a lot better .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelf_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

First time on holiday to Kos. This hotel was very homely. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms were well equipped with a fridge and good air conditioning. George the barman at the Poolside worked really hard to make the guests happy with his cheerful personality. Nice and quiet part of Kardemena. Wish we were still there!
Found some great restaurants for our evening meal on the beach front. Couldn't wish for a better holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

a really friendly, clean & reasonably priced hotel. food was good around the pool & the boys behind the bar (George daytime & Gareth in the evening) are friendly & funny ! definately going back

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Have stopped at the kris Mari 3 times now and the Cleopatra Superior sister hotel which is equally as nice. Cannot fault hotel, staff are friendly and make you feel more than welcome. The hotel has a lovely feel to it and the number of people that go back time and time again show this!!!! The rooms are very clean and if you get a pool view you can also see the sea. Going back later in the year to the sister hotel end of season. The pool is lovely to relax around new sunbeds this year. The pool food is very nice too!!! So anyonw who does not like this hotel all I can say is how fussy are you !!!! As for Kardamena ok so its not as busy as it once was but wish people would not slate it!!! the little beach by the hotel is quite pretty too!!!!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GlamOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed there twice previously with my boyfriend, staff are very friendly even the maids, rooms are basic but all you need. Plus Air Con is Free and works brill !
Location is great, 2 mins from the beach but if you dont fancy the beach you've got an excellent pool and fab pool bar (food at the pool is fab - would recommend it).
Would recommend to families and couples of any age. There are some lovely restaurants in the area too, Nemo's is a must !! Also recommend you visit the dolphin Bar, most relaxing place there !!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fayamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
Cleopatra Classic Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kardamena
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#30 of 39 in Kardamena
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari

Property: Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star Hotel in the quiet part of the village but still within walking distance from the centre of Kardamena, with great tradition in customer satisfaction. Friendly local staff ensure that your holidays will be unforgettable. Guests of Cleopatra Hotels have free access to the facilities of all hotels of the group. Pool bar serves food, lounge bar with satellite tv, games room, swimming pool, 24 hrs reception, all rooms with sat TV, air conditioning (operates 15/6 -15/9 centrally controlled), safety deposit boxes (payable locally), hairdryers. Free wifi available in lounge area, internet access point available (payable for those who will not use their own computer). Our Hotels are ideal for couples of any age and families. For people that want to be near the center, where everything is happening, but also want to relax and get a good night's sleep. Large groups of youngsters should reconsider before booking in our hotels. Manos Hatzikonstantinos, Cleopatra Hotels General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari Hotel Kardamena
Cleopatra Hotel Kardamena
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing