We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still very good, but not quite what it was and some improvements required.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of XQ El Palacete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
XQ El Palacete
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still very good, but not quite what it was and some improvements required.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to a hotel and location we first discovered in 2005, when the hotel was operated by Riu. The hotel's small size means that it is great for a peaceful, relaxing holiday. The facilities, staff, food and room cleanliness remain generally very good and we have always enjoyed the sea view from the rooms.

A disappointment this time was that our room was located on the first level of rooms, above the kitchen and restaurant, and so we were disturbed by ongoing noise below our room from around 645am. I recommend that the hotel installs soundproofing to prevent other guests experiencing such disturbance. After our first night, we requested a change of room at reception, explaining why. We did not feel that the gentleman on duty showed sufficient concern about our dissatisfaction. He was unable to offer an immediate solution and it was left as a "we'll see what we can do" situation. Reception did not contact us again about this and next morning I spoke to the lady on duty, who said that as we had not contacted them again, they had assumed that we were happy. I was not impressed by this. I said that we would still like to move, but I was informed that there were no rooms available on the second floor and that the only available other rooms on our level were one next door to ours (which would have had the same noise problem) and one at the far end of the hotel, which had a much less attractive view than the room we had been given. The receptionist was very honest about that and when I was given the opportunity to see the room I found that she was right. So we decided to stay where we were. What made this more annoying was that when I had booked the holiday, I had specifically requested a room on the upper floor. I told the receptionist this and she informed me that my tour operator, Sovereign, had not passed on my request. She showed me their paperwork, which confirmed it. I will be taking this up with Sovereign.

I have two other recommendations:

1. The hotel should upgrade its internet services. The wifi is free (just for one week, but that probably suits most guests) but you have to go through the login process every time you wish to access the service: annoying. For those without mobile devices, the hotel has just one, rather old-looking PC (quaintly entitled 'Internet Corner') in the lounge of the bar and access is pay-as-you-go via the insertion of coins. This is very antiquated, not to mention mean-spirited and unattractive. In a hotel which aspires to 4-star standard, wifi and internet access should be like hot running water: always free and always available!

2. The hotel should enforce its rule, stated on the sign by the pool, which forbids the reserving of sunbeds. Towels, bags and other items were regularly placed on the beds from as early as 7am every morning to indicate that they 'belonged' to somebody already. There was no evidence (e.g. the removal of such items) that hotel staff had any intention of doing anything about this childish and irritating practice.

Overall, the standard of the hotel remains very good, although my partner and I cannot escape the feeling that it has lost just a little of the personal touch that was so apparent to us when we first visited the hotel eight years ago. All hotels are of course businesses, but if the guests in a 4-star establishment are made to feel this, then the hotel is not performing as it should.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. We will take in consideration your feedback to improve our services. Our goal is to offer a great experience to every guest and we feel sorry, we did not achieve our objective during your stay. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future so you can see improvements: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    33
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
115
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is one of the few hotels we would recommend. It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful location, minutes from the beach and from the fishing village of Morro Jable. The food is excellent and the hotel spotlessly clean.
What made this holiday special for us was the staff. The first impression of any hotel is so important and we were fortunate enough to be greeted by Vera. She was friendly, efficient and took time to explain the usual routines at a hotel. The hotel was full during our stay and all the staff worked hard, particularly in the restaurant. Despite being busy they remained calm and were always friendly. We would definitely return to charge our batteries!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for your wonderfull words, it means a lot for us to be part of your recomendations to saty in Fuerteventura. We always try to offer to all our guest the highest standards, and that is what our staff tries to achieve every day. It is wonderfull to see that our team made of your stay a incredible time. It will be a great honor to have you back as guest, enjoying of a relaxing and energy charging stay.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We go away around 3 times a year to mainly 5* hotels (one of the few benefits of age) but booked Palacete because I liked the look of it and the reviews. To say we were not disappointed is an understatement. Perfect location, a lovely little hotel with friendly, efficient staff. This is the first review I have ever written but felt compelled to do so. We also don't really return to the same hotel, but I think this will be another exception for the Palacete.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperNann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing your stay in our hotel to make your first review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed of a wondeful time during your vacations and that we have been able to surpass the expectations you put on us. Thank you for pointing out the great work of our staff, your words will be a great reward to them. It would be a pleasure to have you back again as guest, and we will try to offer you an even better experience in your next visit.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The website of this hotel promises an exclusive and very beautiful place. Once we arrived here we were quite disappointed as it seems much more than it is in reality.
We arrived at 17 hrs and were told that it is not possible to eat something until dinner time. We found it lousy that the bar did not offer salads, toasts and little snacks.
Dinner is buffet only, you can not even choose à la carte, and room service is not available! Is this a good hotel? No, for sure not!
Our room was nice, the bathroom as well. No bath tub, just a shower there...
However, downstairs was the restaurant and we had all the noise from the people having their dinner there.
The pool area is quite nice, but never as beautiful as on their website. The beach and colour of the ocean is also much nicer on the pictures than in reality.
Breakfast is nice, 4* standard.
A big disappointment was the rude and not very polite german lady at the front desk. We originally booked in for 1 night only, but evaluated to stay one night more to discover nearby beaches and sights. I checked on booking.com if there were rooms available, and there were. At 10.30hrs I asked the receptionist if we could keep our room for one more night. She looked at me in quite an unfriendly way (well, sorry for offending you asking if we could stay for one more night...prrrr) and told me "no, you have to leave your room by 11 and move to another room because this morning at 8 I have already promised your room to another couple". Mmmmh, I really felt to be treated like an idiot. The receptionist seemed to kick us out of our rooms by 11, but at the same time promised our room to someone else at 8 in the morning...
We did not feel any desire to stay here longer, the hotel and its service disappointed us, as well as the very built up and not beautiful area around. We would not come back here, as we felt disappointed in every way. It is not really bad here, but looking at their website one really expects much more in every way...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to say sorry about the troubles you had during your stay at XQ El Palacete, we are working hard to solve the main problem you had concerning the personal at the front desk. We always try to offer to all our guest the highest standards, and that is what we show through our website .The last thing we want to say you is that we hope that you give us another chance to change your opinion, and see that we learn from our guest feedback.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

In some ways, this hotel has everything going for it. It's not too big (about 50 rooms). It's in a great location, just 5 minutes' amble from the restaurants of Morro Jable and 1 minute from the white sands of Jandia beach which stretches 20 km. All rooms have a spectacular sea view (as does the pool area), are a decent size, have their own balconies, and are comfortably furnished. Beds are comfortable and ceiling fans provide a welcome alternative to the aircon. It has a pleasant and clean, if rather small, pool, together with a separate children's pool (though, surprisingly in August, at the time of our visit the latter was out of use).

But after a week there with my family, it would be misleading to describe it as more than average (particularly given that it boasts not only 4 stars, but also a special "quality" rating). How can that be? The answer I am afraid lies in large part with the way in which the hotel is managed and run. The impression given - presumably inadvertently - is that it is run primarily for the benefit of the management, and that guests are something of an inconvenience who should simply do what they are told.

A couple of examples: the first fairly trivial, the second less so.

We are a family of five. At our first breakfast none of the tables outside, where we wanted to eat, was laid for five, most being for two and a few for four. On asking for a table for five, we were told that we would have to be inside. In fact, it proved perfectly simple for two tables to be put together and laid for five, but we had to insist on it. Nor, on any of the following mornings, had a table for five been laid outside. We could again have insisted, but it was easier just to huddle round a smaller table.

Secondly, when booking the rooms (four months in advance) I had requested a quiet room for my wife and me and been told that "we will do our best to fulfil your wish". Sadly, our wish remained unfulfilled. We were allocated a room over the restaurant which meant we were woken every morning at 7 a.m. by breakfast operations beneath our room.

I was told that the hotel was too full to move us to a quieter room. By early August, that was probably true, which was why I had made the request in April. As it turned out, the reason that the hotel had been unable to fulfil my wish was that all the quietest and best rooms (on the top floor - room tip) had been allocated to friends and family of the owners with whose stay our visit coincided. The fact that we were paying customers rather than mates of the owners cut no ice.

So the risk is that this hotel will drift downhill and downmarket, as it focuses on parting the tourist from his cash rather than delivering service levels likely to ensure repeat business. Whether that would be a matter of concern to the management, it is hard to say.

Room Tip: Top floor - preferably at east or west end, and definitely not over restaurant or bar or next to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. First of all, we have to say sorry for not been able to achieve the high standards that we always try to offer to all our guest. We will analyze your comments about the noise problem and the outside tables at our restaurant, with our staff, so this complications do not happen again. We feel sorry you believe that our staff did not try to be helpfull and attentive with you, and the only thing we can say is that we hope that you will give us another chance to change your opinion.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey in the U.K.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We loved this friendly little hotel! Ok, the rooms are a tad dated, but they are clean and spacious. The hotel is on a great position near the beautiful Jandia Beach. We had amazing sea views from our balcony. The resort is a little hilly, so you need to be quite mobile on your feet. We stayed half board and enjoyed the buffet dinner, although I'm not a big fan of buffet. Also, it was great drinking complimentary Cava with breakfast every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. We are glad you enjoy our services but we will take deeply in consideration your opinions to improve the hotel quality. Thank you for pointing out our buffet dinner, specially because your are not a big fan of them. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The XQ El Palacete is a fairly small hotel but it has a very warm and caring atmosphere. Upon arriving we were met by a very friendly polite and professional reception team who allowed us into our rooms early. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. We asked for a quiet room in the booking and we got this. The hotel was mostly adult which gave it a classy air, no screaming kids to ruin the sun drenched relaxation. All rooms also have sea views and balconies.

The food was excellent. It has a German bias but since the majority of customers are German it makes sence. It was still very delicious. Served in a buffet format with a grill for fresh steaks and amazingly flavored fish. I always looked forward to meal time and with the heat half board was enough. There was a nice snack menu if you got hungry. If you get bored of the bar there is an excellent cocktail bar just around the corner.

The location is the best. The side gate is on the ramp to the main beach. But with the excellent pool that always has a spare sun bed and the view there isn't really any need to venture down there but if you do you will see crystal clear see, clean golden sand and a short walk from the lighthouse with the main shops. The east side of the island is too windy and from the other complaining Brits on the aircraft the north is too British with lots of rubbish on the beach and cigarette ends. Stick with the civilised Germans you cant go wrong.

The only negative was slightly average water pressure in the shower and if that's all I have to moan about then it shows what a great place this is.

I will definitely be back to this gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barroi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the wondeful place where we are located and we feel very honoured to have been your option for these vacations. Thank you for pointing out our delightful breakfast and generally the high quality of our gastronomy. We will take in consideration your opinion to improve our services, and offer you a better experience in your next visit.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
55.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
56.0 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XQ El Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XQ El Palacete

Property: XQ El Palacete
Address: C/ Acantilado, s/n, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Riu Palace El Palacete)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — XQ El Palacete 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 2-storey building. Located on the beachfront in Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 m from Morro Jable. 1 km from a shopping centre. 90 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your XQ El Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xq El Palacete Hotel Playa De Jandia
XQ El Palacete Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing