We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel is situated right on the beach near Jandia/Morro Jable - wonderful location. We booked a sea view room, absolutely massive, great walk in shower, the balcony was big enough for 20 people! Staff were very good, friendly and attentive. The food is OK, some of the meat tends to be over cooked in the evening, but a reasonable choice, so you should find something there that takes your fancy. Very relaxed atmosphere. Very few Brits, but that is not always a negative as the Germans do seem to demand higher standards! Bar and general drink prices are high, but only about 15% more than the local bars and with good measures on the spirits. We will go back there!

Room Tip: The high rooms may have a good view but the lift service in the hotel is very slow, so you will spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Dear Guests:

Thank you so much for your possitive feedback. On your comments you highlighted our facilities, rooms and Staff, which are maybe our highests points. As you could see all food, meats and fish are prepared on the spot, we have got a big show cooking area where guests can decide about seasoning, sides, and how done they want meat and fish.

You mentioned you were comming back! That's great! Please, contact me in advance to deal with your personally and ensure another "Lovely Stay".

Sincerely yours.



Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night having driven down from Corralejo for a couple of days. Location superb, views fantastic, gardens and pool area very nice. We booked a room with a sea view, so payed a little extra, but well worth it. Huge room, big balcony and stunning views. Whole place very clean and modern. We were the only British people in the hotel - made a nice change! Food was good, plenty of variety.
We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - we were given one on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5Gill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Dear Guests:

Thank you so much for your comments.

It's is so satisfactory to receive such possitive feedback.

You mentioned you were comming back! That's great! Please, contact me in advance to deal with your personally and ensure a wonderful holiday period.


Sincerely yours.



Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I had a week in the Calypso, which is in between Morro Jables and Jandia, for a week in May 2012, based on the good reviews within Trip Advisor. We went via Thompson (having made the mistake of using their Travel Agents rather than booking online - they were worse than useless!).

I had stayed in Fuerteventura many years ago and remembered that Jandia had the best beaches on the island during my travels and to my delight the Calypso is within a few yards of a glorious large, sandy beach which isn't too crowded. The hotel also has a lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers around as long as you get up around 9ish to 'reserve' yours with a towel, so you always have a choice of pool or sea.

The main thing to say is that although the island isn't the most exciting place to stay in the world, this hotel is unbelievable value for money. It is of a very high standard, being large, modern, clean with great rooms and facilities. It ticks all the boxes, with wi-fi available in the rooms for €20 per week, tea/coffee making facilities, a mini bar which doubles as a fridge for your milk/beer etc, large flat screen cable TV (although most of the channels are German), a lovely gym, massage rooms, jacuzzi.....the list goes on and on!!

We were one of the only UK couples staying but the Germans were all very polite and eager to try out their English. Any accusations that the food (high-end buffets all freshly cooked) is biased towards the Germans is false. You can pretty much have your pick from a huge variety of dishes, with a Roast joint as one of them. Breakfast always includes a Full English option so you could pretend you were in London if you like! There are also a wide range of European dishes, salads, fish, fruit, lovely desserts etc....and you eat as much as you like!

The staff were mainly Spanish and not all are fluent in English, but communicating is fine and they are all very friendly and helpful. You are treated as if you are important and that your opinion is valued. A small issue regarding some of our missing travel documents ( thanks to the Travel Agents' incompetence!) was sorted out promptly, with courtesy and we received a bottle of bubbly as an apology! Never had that happen to me before!!

Morro Jables is just along the beach a few hundred yards and Jandia is only 15-20 mins walk too. There is a really good cheap car hire firm on the road to Jandia, so avoid booking through Thompson whose rep was pretty rubbish I must say. Finally, if you're into footie then go to the Boot & Ball pub on main coast road for big screen action and a good safe atmosphere!

Room Tip: It is a big hotel so get a room close to reception to avoid a long walk. Room 219 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear guest.

Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay at the hotel.

As you said, Jandía has got one of the best beaches you can find in Europe. In fact Fuerteventura has been awarded as Best Island in Spain by TRIPADVISOR 2015.

It would be great if you could visit us back again, for another holiday period and I would really appreciate if you could contact me personally to thank personally your comments and ensure you would enjoy another wonderful holiday period.


Sincerely yours.


Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just we've been to the Riu Calypso, Jandia and really enjoyed our stay. Some review comments:

1. Thompson Flight outbound - old, smelly and cramped! Come on Thompson get your finger out!
2. Taxi - private transfer to and from Jandia worth the extra money to get there fast and in some comfort.
3. Hotel Reception - clean, contemporary, efficient and quite funky. Nice welcome.
4. Lifts - due to the specific design of the hotel, you can spend lots of time waiting for lifts. Stairs keep you fit!
5. Rooms - again clean, contemporary and bright. Ask for a room with a pool view. Good quality well equipped bathroom facilities with bathrobes provided. Fresh towels as required.
6. Restaurant and Bars - once again very clean, efficient and contemporary, with a good selection of simple but well prepared food. 
7. Gym and Spa - good, basic and well maintained equipment. 
8. Evening entertainment - not good, but this is consistent with all the other hotels. Head into nearby Morro Jable for some good bars and restaurants. Try 'El Callao' tapas bar for a younger crowd, great food and free live music.
9. Hotel overall - clean, contemporary, well maintained, with very good friendly staff. German holiday makers are prominent, but don't let that put you off, a smile and a nod goes a long way! 
10. Thompson flight inbound - much newer and better plane, though was 30 mins late with no explanation as to why?

In our experience the best hotel in Southern Fuerteventura and were already looking forward to going back to the hotel in September 12 and January 13. 

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ClitheroeLANCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We travelled to Jandia with Thomson.... it was the usual cramped flight now with no television or videos to pass the time. One of the four toilets was out of order and either I'm getting bigger or the seat are more cramped then ever! The private taxi transfer we booked with them was well worth the extra and we were whisked down to the hotel in an air conditioned Merc in about half the time it takes on the transfer bus.

Check in was quick and easy although the receptionist's English was a bit limited we got all the info we needed after a much needed glass of champagne we shown to our room. it had been refurbished and was very modern tastefully decorated with lovely comfy huge bed +padded loungers on the big balcony. Very clean and everything you could need, a stocked mini fridge, safe .... you have to pay for this, tea and coffee making facilities a large shower - no bath - with toiletries and a good hairdryer.
Air conditioning and a ceiling fan kept the room cool and also towelling robes and beach/pool towels were provided.
meals were in the refurbished buffet restaurant were very good with friendly efficient service from the staff who actually seem to enjoy their work! Breakfast was from 8 - 10.30 and dinner from 6.30- 9.30pm on a sit where you want basis so was hassel free.There was an a la Carte but we did not feel the need to visit this so I can't comment.

The outside area was clean with new comfy sun beds , waiter service around the pool, asit is an adult only hotel a lovely quiet relaxed atmosphere in all areas of the hotel really. The pool was good but a bit cold for me . We had a few lunch time snacks in the pool bar ... the pizzas are to die for!

There is entertainment on every night mainly duos with room for dancing .... the Germans like to dance... most of them good and nice to listen to after a nice meal to round off the night.

We were the only British people there this week but the hotel Manager said that some more Brits were expected in the next few weeks... this caused us no problems at all I cannot understand why this hotel is not advertised more by Thomson in the uk as it is in such a pretty area with a beautiful beach with palm trees along the promenade leading one way to themodern centre in Jandia with shops and bars and to the old fishing town of Morro Jable the other.

It is perfect for couples wanting high standards of accomodation and service with peace and quiet on a beautiful beach with turquoise sea and yet close to some "life" in the evenings if you so wish... go you most certainly will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: the majority of rooms have a sea view ... rooms on floors 4 up to floor 8 are good... we paid the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margwalesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Calypso is perhaps one of the best places to stay in the south of Fuerteventura. It is right on the beach, south facing, a short walk from the shops and bars of Morro Jable and within walking distance of the resort of Playa Jandia.
Our room, 325, had a wonderful view out to sea and was very quiet. I loved the walk in shower and the huge terrace (with recliners), the bed was comfy, but it was a pity that you couldn't watch the TV from there. The flat screen TV could only be seen from the sofa. The room was clean and well maintained.
We booked the hotel on the internet and were only offered half board, with buffet dinner included. As this is a large hotel we found that the restaurant had all the ambience of a staff canteen. The food was very german themed, with a total lack of Canary Island specialities (except for the bananas). However the staff were very pleasant, especially Jacobo and Manuel. On the second evening we ate in the Kulinarium Restaurant, a la carte. It was well worth the extra money and they did discount the price of the buffet. The meal was exquisite and the ambience much more intimate.
The evening entertainment was very good, especially the couple imitating Robbie Williams, George Michael, Cher and Celine Dion - they were a wonderful act. The bar staff and cocktail menu were excellent.
Breakfast was OK, not a lot of freash fruit, no soya milk and no smoked salmon. At least the coffee was plentiful, and again the staff very good.
The Spa is on the second floor and leads out onto a huge terrace with sun beds and a jacuzzi. As we were relaxing on the recliners in the Spa we wondered why the windows had been covered with an opaque plastic film, blocking out the view of the sea. However a few minutes later we found out why. This seems to be a Nudist Spa!. It wasn't to block out the view, but to stop people looking in!. We were later joined by several naked germans, who didn't even bother to cover up with towels when walking between the steam room and sauna. They didn't bother to sit on a towel in the sauna either. At one stage, in the steam room I was almost squashed between two very well built, naked germans, and to be honest felt slightly uncomfortable. This is not a place I will visit with my elderly parents and I now understand why the hotel is for Adults Only.
Generally I found that all the staff were very professional, and the hotel is in a nice spot. However if you have a rented car, parking was a problem. There is only space for about 15 cars outside the hotel and as the area was very built up it was a nightmare to park.
I would return to the hotel (without my bikini) and I think it is very suited to a romantic getaway, with lovely bedrooms and private terraces. A great place for a Winter break.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your very possitive comments regarding our hotel.

It was partly funny to read your comments regarding the view in the Spa. It's not a nudist Spa, of course, but it possible that in certain cabins as saunas, somebody could be naturally naked.

I am happy to say that, currently, you could not get any German themed restaurant impression, as we are proundly and mainly Canarian and Internationaly oriented. Maybe it is not that fair to talk about a canteen ambience.

Regarding parking spaces, the hotel provides a free of cost limited parking space that could fit easily 20 cars, although it should not be that difficult to get parking space outside the hotel, on the street.

We work on a daily basis to improve service and quality for our guest. Every single opinion an comment of our guests counts and makes us improving. I am more than sure that your next visit can be spotless. Please, contact me personally for your next visit to Jandía.

Thank you so much, once again, for your very kind words.


Sincerely yours.



Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We had been to this hotel a few years back, it was very good then. We are regular visitors to the resort of Jandia & noted the hotel was being refurbished, we thought we would like to go when completed.
We could find no big UK travel agents who dealt with the hotel but found Corona Holidays. They were very helpful and got us a good deal, I recommend them.
So we returned back to the newly refurbished Calypso, it was excellent, room superb, really big, flat screen TV, not much English though, lovely balcony, AC, everything you need. WiFi in room for 20 euros a week or free in reception area.
Hotel very nice, lovely poolside, very comfy sunbeds, not crowded.
All the food was to a high standard, lovely restaurant facilities.
Because there was no big UK agents we were the only Brits for most of the fortnight, the manager remarked on this every time we saw him. Most of the guests here are German with a splattering of other Euro nationals. This does not bother us. I must highlight the entertainment wasn't up to much, this does not bother us anyway.
I've stayed at many hotels in the resort and would rate this as the very best, we will return.
A splendid fortnight.

Room Tip: Almost any sea facing rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank landreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.1 mi away
XQ El Palacete
XQ El Palacete
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Jandia Playa
Robinson Club Jandia Playa
#9 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Jandia s/n., 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: £121 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 12-Storey building. Terrace-style building perched on a hillside. Situated on Playa de Jandia Beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 M from Morro Jable. 1 Km from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Calypso Hotel Playa De Jandia
Riu Calypso Playa De Jandia
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing