We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you're looking for peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Mellbystrand, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“if you're looking for peace and quiet”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Very nice and huge hotel right by the beach in Jandia. Big rooms with varied views but all of them are towards the sea so don't be afriad to book "without" oceanview, chances are big that you'll get a great room anyway! We ended up on the groundfloor and we had the best access to the breakfast buffet, the pool, the reception, the spa and to the beachpromenade.
Amazing breakfasts every morning, 8-10.30, and all guests have full access to the spa area with nice double sunbeds and a whirpool but the general pool area is also supernice with lots of sunbeds to choose from and a big pool where you can just chill out all day long, or just walk down the steps/hill to the beach and swim in the turqouise ocean.
There are LOTS of older German people at the hotel and the staff is generally better at German than English but everyone was very friendly and if there was any problem they fixed it asap! The evening entertainment was directed at the elderly generation and the TV channels were also mainly directed for the German guests but don't let that put you off from staying at this hotel! If you're looking for peace and quiet with great access to the beach and to restaurants (lots to choose from just a few metres to the right down the beachpromenade) this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guests


Thank you very much for such nice comments and feedback from your stay.

We really try our best to achieve the best guest satisfaction possible, every day.

As you said right, depending on the season, German guest are some times the mayority, but as you could comprove all our services, displays, activities, shows are addressed for German, English, French, Italian, Spanish and International guests, and the encounter of so many nationalities is even interesting and nice at every moment.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me in advance in your next visit to thank you personally your very nice comments and to ensure you spend another great holiday in the Canaries.

Looking forward your next visit


Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    74
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
181
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel is well run with a friendly efficient staff operating in all areas, but to single out one area then I would say that the primary focus is definitely in the Dining Room where there seems to be an ‘army’ of chefs/cooks/assistants all ensuring that there is an abundance of good quality food available at meal times and plenty of waiters providing an attentive service to guests. Another positive feature regarding the evening meal in this hotel is that you can turn up when you please between 18.00 and 20.45, and it was pleasing to find that the full choice of items was still available even if you arrived towards the end of the period.
Accommodation was a large bedroom and en suite with walk-in shower (no bath). A high standard of cleanliness is maintained in the bedroom and throughout the hotel, and there is a very clean and well maintained pool area. No need to reserve a sun lounger as there are plenty available.
The room had a large balcony with 2 sun loungers and padded mats available for use.
Easy access to a lovely sandy beach, that stretches for miles along the coastline.
A taxi was included in my holiday package with Thomson which makes a great difference in time and comfort, compared to coach transfer, as the journey from the airport by taxi took 1 hour 5 minutes, and metered at 85 euros.
There is a small gym with 2 bikes, 2 cross trainers, 1 treadmill and 4 adjustable and variable weight machines which enable a basic workout.
No Sky Sports Football channels available in hotel, to my knowledge.

Room Tip: Overlooking Pool will give good sea view. The lifts trundle up and down the outside of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macjellicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your comments and recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor Community.

I have transferred all your considerations to the Food and Beberage team, who can be proud to create such impression in most of the guests, but I can say that in the same messure all the Staff teams contribute to an outstanding service, where the Guests are the "Stars".

Every month we are improving services and facilities to keep our standards and Guest Satisfaction as high as possible. For instance, we recently improved our TV Channels offer and our WiFi speed and coverage.

It would be great if, considering a next visit, you could contact me in advance to thank you personally for your comments and ensure another great stay in this Canary Island Paradise which is Jandía and Morro del Jable.

Looking forward your next visit, soon...


Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel is situated right on the beach near Jandia/Morro Jable - wonderful location. We booked a sea view room, absolutely massive, great walk in shower, the balcony was big enough for 20 people! Staff were very good, friendly and attentive. The food is OK, some of the meat tends to be over cooked in the evening, but a reasonable choice, so you should find something there that takes your fancy. Very relaxed atmosphere. Very few Brits, but that is not always a negative as the Germans do seem to demand higher standards! Bar and general drink prices are high, but only about 15% more than the local bars and with good measures on the spirits. We will go back there!

Room Tip: The high rooms may have a good view but the lift service in the hotel is very slow, so you will spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guests:

Thank you so much for your possitive feedback. On your comments you highlighted our facilities, rooms and Staff, which are maybe our highests points. As you could see all food, meats and fish are prepared on the spot, we have got a big show cooking area where guests can decide about seasoning, sides, and how done they want meat and fish.

You mentioned you were comming back! That's great! Please, contact me in advance to deal with your personally and ensure another "Lovely Stay".

Sincerely yours.



Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night having driven down from Corralejo for a couple of days. Location superb, views fantastic, gardens and pool area very nice. We booked a room with a sea view, so payed a little extra, but well worth it. Huge room, big balcony and stunning views. Whole place very clean and modern. We were the only British people in the hotel - made a nice change! Food was good, plenty of variety.
We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - we were given one on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5Gill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guests:

Thank you so much for your comments.

It's is so satisfactory to receive such possitive feedback.

You mentioned you were comming back! That's great! Please, contact me in advance to deal with your personally and ensure a wonderful holiday period.


Sincerely yours.



Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I had a week in the Calypso, which is in between Morro Jables and Jandia, for a week in May 2012, based on the good reviews within Trip Advisor. We went via Thompson (having made the mistake of using their Travel Agents rather than booking online - they were worse than useless!).

I had stayed in Fuerteventura many years ago and remembered that Jandia had the best beaches on the island during my travels and to my delight the Calypso is within a few yards of a glorious large, sandy beach which isn't too crowded. The hotel also has a lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers around as long as you get up around 9ish to 'reserve' yours with a towel, so you always have a choice of pool or sea.

The main thing to say is that although the island isn't the most exciting place to stay in the world, this hotel is unbelievable value for money. It is of a very high standard, being large, modern, clean with great rooms and facilities. It ticks all the boxes, with wi-fi available in the rooms for €20 per week, tea/coffee making facilities, a mini bar which doubles as a fridge for your milk/beer etc, large flat screen cable TV (although most of the channels are German), a lovely gym, massage rooms, jacuzzi.....the list goes on and on!!

We were one of the only UK couples staying but the Germans were all very polite and eager to try out their English. Any accusations that the food (high-end buffets all freshly cooked) is biased towards the Germans is false. You can pretty much have your pick from a huge variety of dishes, with a Roast joint as one of them. Breakfast always includes a Full English option so you could pretend you were in London if you like! There are also a wide range of European dishes, salads, fish, fruit, lovely desserts etc....and you eat as much as you like!

The staff were mainly Spanish and not all are fluent in English, but communicating is fine and they are all very friendly and helpful. You are treated as if you are important and that your opinion is valued. A small issue regarding some of our missing travel documents ( thanks to the Travel Agents' incompetence!) was sorted out promptly, with courtesy and we received a bottle of bubbly as an apology! Never had that happen to me before!!

Morro Jables is just along the beach a few hundred yards and Jandia is only 15-20 mins walk too. There is a really good cheap car hire firm on the road to Jandia, so avoid booking through Thompson whose rep was pretty rubbish I must say. Finally, if you're into footie then go to the Boot & Ball pub on main coast road for big screen action and a good safe atmosphere!

Room Tip: It is a big hotel so get a room close to reception to avoid a long walk. Room 219 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2015
Dear guest.

Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay at the hotel.

As you said, Jandía has got one of the best beaches you can find in Europe. In fact Fuerteventura has been awarded as Best Island in Spain by TRIPADVISOR 2015.

It would be great if you could visit us back again, for another holiday period and I would really appreciate if you could contact me personally to thank personally your comments and ensure you would enjoy another wonderful holiday period.


Sincerely yours.


Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Just we've been to the Riu Calypso, Jandia and really enjoyed our stay. Some review comments:

1. Thompson Flight outbound - old, smelly and cramped! Come on Thompson get your finger out!
2. Taxi - private transfer to and from Jandia worth the extra money to get there fast and in some comfort.
3. Hotel Reception - clean, contemporary, efficient and quite funky. Nice welcome.
4. Lifts - due to the specific design of the hotel, you can spend lots of time waiting for lifts. Stairs keep you fit!
5. Rooms - again clean, contemporary and bright. Ask for a room with a pool view. Good quality well equipped bathroom facilities with bathrobes provided. Fresh towels as required.
6. Restaurant and Bars - once again very clean, efficient and contemporary, with a good selection of simple but well prepared food. 
7. Gym and Spa - good, basic and well maintained equipment. 
8. Evening entertainment - not good, but this is consistent with all the other hotels. Head into nearby Morro Jable for some good bars and restaurants. Try 'El Callao' tapas bar for a younger crowd, great food and free live music.
9. Hotel overall - clean, contemporary, well maintained, with very good friendly staff. German holiday makers are prominent, but don't let that put you off, a smile and a nod goes a long way! 
10. Thompson flight inbound - much newer and better plane, though was 30 mins late with no explanation as to why?

In our experience the best hotel in Southern Fuerteventura and were already looking forward to going back to the hotel in September 12 and January 13. 

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ClitheroeLANCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We travelled to Jandia with Thomson.... it was the usual cramped flight now with no television or videos to pass the time. One of the four toilets was out of order and either I'm getting bigger or the seat are more cramped then ever! The private taxi transfer we booked with them was well worth the extra and we were whisked down to the hotel in an air conditioned Merc in about half the time it takes on the transfer bus.

Check in was quick and easy although the receptionist's English was a bit limited we got all the info we needed after a much needed glass of champagne we shown to our room. it had been refurbished and was very modern tastefully decorated with lovely comfy huge bed +padded loungers on the big balcony. Very clean and everything you could need, a stocked mini fridge, safe .... you have to pay for this, tea and coffee making facilities a large shower - no bath - with toiletries and a good hairdryer.
Air conditioning and a ceiling fan kept the room cool and also towelling robes and beach/pool towels were provided.
meals were in the refurbished buffet restaurant were very good with friendly efficient service from the staff who actually seem to enjoy their work! Breakfast was from 8 - 10.30 and dinner from 6.30- 9.30pm on a sit where you want basis so was hassel free.There was an a la Carte but we did not feel the need to visit this so I can't comment.

The outside area was clean with new comfy sun beds , waiter service around the pool, asit is an adult only hotel a lovely quiet relaxed atmosphere in all areas of the hotel really. The pool was good but a bit cold for me . We had a few lunch time snacks in the pool bar ... the pizzas are to die for!

There is entertainment on every night mainly duos with room for dancing .... the Germans like to dance... most of them good and nice to listen to after a nice meal to round off the night.

We were the only British people there this week but the hotel Manager said that some more Brits were expected in the next few weeks... this caused us no problems at all I cannot understand why this hotel is not advertised more by Thomson in the uk as it is in such a pretty area with a beautiful beach with palm trees along the promenade leading one way to themodern centre in Jandia with shops and bars and to the old fishing town of Morro Jable the other.

It is perfect for couples wanting high standards of accomodation and service with peace and quiet on a beautiful beach with turquoise sea and yet close to some "life" in the evenings if you so wish... go you most certainly will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: the majority of rooms have a sea view ... rooms on floors 4 up to floor 8 are good... we paid the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margwalesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
XQ El Palacete
XQ El Palacete
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Tarajalejo
880 reviews
55.6 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,679 reviews
37.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
#1 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa

Property: Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Jandia s/n., 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 12-Storey building. Terrace-style building perched on a hillside. Situated on Playa de Jandia Beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 M from Morro Jable. 1 Km from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Calypso Hotel Playa De Jandia
Riu Calypso Playa De Jandia
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing