We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have just returned after spending 11 days at this hotel (now Sensimar). Could not fault anything. Food, service, room, staff, etc excellent. Very clean and within 5 minutes walk to the lovely beach and 10 minutes restaurants/bars and village shops. There are lots more shops and bars 15/20 minutes away. The evening entertainment was also good and we were even able to dance! We shall definitely return. However, it is a German hotel and whilst we were very happy about this, some people may not be.

Room Tip: Room Numbers 411/410/423/424/425 good. Last 3 centre pool/sea view. Could go higher but lifts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear guest.

Thank you for your "Wonderful Holiday" comments.

You made us such happy with your full satisfaction feedback. And... you said you shall return...

Please, I would really appreciate you contact me personally in advance.


Looking forward your next visit!


Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    74
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
181
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived at the Sensimar Calypso after a taxi transfer from the airport. Wonderful location overlooking the pool and the beach. Lovely attentive staff. Entertainment not so good. Went to the entertainment lounge only once due to smoking area being right next door and the theatre bar and the whole place is impregnated with cigarette smoke. The management need to sort that out. Breakfast very good however running out of steam with the buffet dinner after 10 days of the fortnight. It seems to me that there is never a proper “dish” of food, always mix and match the same things. Perhaps I am being unfair, it must be difficult to cater for everybody but for the money it should be better. Overall, the hotel was very good and is recommended.

A note for thomson's: on our return at Furteventura airport due to Thomson having nine flights returning to the UK within a very short time of each other resulted in standing in line at the check for over one hour twenty minutes which spoilt our holiday totally and we will think twice about Thomson. Surely they can organise the schedule better.

Room Tip: High level room fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your holidays experience.

It's been long since you wrote your comment but, I can happily tell you that our entertainment team and leisure programme, as well as food and beberages department are extraordinarely highly rated in our intern guest satisfaction and quality programme. In fact we are thoroughfully centered in improving, improving, improving and increasing (not to be that repetitive) our guests satisfaction.

We would really like you to keep us in consideration for your next visit to the Island, asking you to contact me personally in advance to ensure to get the best of your holidays period.

Thank you, once again, for your nice comments regarding our hotel and staff.



Looking forward your next visit!


Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

we have had a wonderful time it is such a well organised hotel and it is a credit to the Director of the hotel, the staff are extremely well managed and are a happy workforce because of it. The food and facilities are superb I cannot wait to go back . The location of the hotel is perfect, by the beach and near the town of Morro Jable. Although the hotel was quite full there was plenty of room around the pool and it never seemed crowded. Here's to the next timeXX

Room Tip: Do not have room 401 it is facing the road and there were problems with smells from the bathroom we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear Lynne Sullivan.

Thank you so much for your nice comments and charming words. I transferred your comments to our Staff and appreciate your valuable considerations regarding our performance and facilities.

Please contact me personally in advance for your next visit to ensure you this is, at least nice as this october 2013 visit.

Thank you, once again, for your nice comments regarding our hotel and staff.


Looking forward your next visit!


Alberto Abreu
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went to the Riu Calypso in its last year, of being a Riu! this being our sixth visit, we were devastated that one of our favourite hotels was changing, now gladly hear that it is still going strong, my review is of the Riu years but I want to outline its position and surrounding town, there is a major difference between the North of the island and south , the southern end is for more German, Dutch, Swedish etc, not many Brits so if you want British go North, the town is varied shops (the usual) but you will find bars , cafe's, of mid range , enough to provide a lunch time meal!
To point out we are a couple from the UK who enjoy the company of europeans, so being in a Hotel like the Calypso met our needs, the rooms are spacious and very clean with a fantastic view, overlooking the sea, one step out of the hotel grounds and you are on a glorious beach that stretches for ever, and very very clean!! ,
nb, Although there are some rooms that are near the entrance that have incomplete view, ask for full view "its worth it", there are all the amenities at this Hotel for you to relax, if you are a "worldly traveler" you will know what to do, it is not five star, it is just a good Hotel, to finish "if you like sun, beach, good food, good service, then this place is for you, Enjoy,
Please nb.I have had to put in Sept 2012 because my date was not on it we went on Jan 2010, since the Hotel has been refurbished Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for FULL SEA VEIW, absolutely beautiful , the lower you go, it get noisier, facing the hotel fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guests.


Thank you so much for such charming words regarding our Hotel, Staff and Services.

As you correctly state, our hotel turn into a SENSIMAR hotel and full refurbishment by the end of 2011, and it's now one of the best 4 star hotels that you can find on Canary Islands, mainly due to the outstanding facilities, large rooms, impressive beach at the hotel promenade entrance and the wonderful customer service focussed staff we have.

I would like to thank you personally for your nice prescription of our hotel, so I would really thank you could contact me in advance for your next visit.


Looking forward to seeing you soon.



Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel, now called Sensimar Calypso, is in the perfect position, only a few metres from the beautifull beach, and a few minutes from the fishing village of Morro Jable. The hotel was quite full, but you would never know, as we never had to queue for a table, no saving sunbeds, etc!! If you want good quality food, peace and pleasant staff, visit this hotel

Room Tip: We had room 718, perfect for the last of the evening sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AuntyB1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guests.


Thank you so much for such charming words regarding our Hotel, Staff and Services.

We try to improve our guests satisfaction everyday! And it is good to get such feedback from you to encourage us to go on in the same direction.

It would be great to have you in our hotel, back again. Please, contact me in advance to ensure such holiday satisfaction once again.

Looking forward your next visit.



Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Is what Sensimar apparently stands for, it's the German equivalent of Sensatori.
Just coming to the end of an 11 night break, our first in Fuerteventura, but we woudn't hesitate to return to the island and this hotel. All aspects of our break have been delightful.
The location of the hotel is excellent. All rooms appear to have a sea view although those at the western end would be over a road, the hotel car park etc. and personally we would avoid. We asked Thomson for a quiet room, high floor and double bed and got all these, our room was on the 10th floor out of 11. Yes, the lifts can be slow at peak times, but hey, you're on holiday.
The taxi transfer took 70 minutes and we arrived at 20.40, 5 minutes before the restaurant closed. Not a problem, we were booked in, enjoyed a glass of Shampers and had time to unpack and freshen up before enjoying a cold buffet meal and fruit at 22.00.
Fellow guests are predominantly German. No problems, everyone was very polite, and you greet one another in the lift and at the adjoining tables in the restaurant. All very civilised.
A highlight for us was the food, simply delicious. Plenty of variety, more so for dinner. Well presented and cooked, constantly restocked. All the staff were very pleasant, I think they quite enjoyed a few words in English as a change from German. And of course they appreciate a few words in Spanish no matter how bad your pronounciation.
The rooms are bright and spacious, fully refurbished about 2 years ago. We noticed 2 rooms on our floor being partly repainted in between stays, I must say they do look very fresh. Huge balcony with very good privacy. Inevitably you get the furniture movers above you but no big deal. We slept well, the rooms are very quiet and noise insulation seemed good.
Position of hotel is very good, about 300m to Morro Jable, which is quite quaint, with a good array of bars, restaurants and shops, quite unspoilt. What I would call a traditional ex fishing village. Beyond is the marina, bit of a hike up and down but worth the effort for the views, just two restaurants there that we could see. The other way, about 1 mile is Jandia, more commercial, not quite our cup of tea. Lovely promenade walk for miles, though. And, you can walk for miles along the beach, you get used to the naturists along the way.
Wi-Fi in room Eur20 pw, Eur6 pd. Reception reasonable although don't draw the black-out curtain, it interferes with the signal. Safe "hire" Eur32 for 11 nights.
We didn't do any trips, primarily because these left at 08.00, ours was the first pick-up, too early for us.
Large Spar nearby, turn left out of front of hotel, go down hill, past petrol station, turn right up alleyway, right at top, then on right side. Open 9-9 6 days a week, closed Sunday.
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at western end overlooking road/car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guests.


Thank you so much for your recommendation.

It is great to receive such a nice feedback from our guests. We really work on a daily basis to improve our service and customer satisfaction.

As you said there are some few rooms not facing full sea view, but it all depends on kind of room reserved.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me in advance in your next visit to thank you personally your very nice words.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.



Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Now a Sensimar Resort operated by Riu Hotels. Very clean modern bedrooms all with acceptable views towards the sea and most with very large balconies with wicker chairs, mattresses and stools.
Lovely pool area overlooking the promenade and beach. No rush for sunbeds, as plenty available and an excellent pool towel service.
Very Varied choice of hot and cold items for breakfast with fresh squeezed fruit juices available.
Dinner is open seating - never had to wait for a table. The buffet selection was vast always fish, poultry, meat and vegetarian options available including on the spot cooking. Great sekection of cheese and desserts.
Entertainment was typical of that provided by hotels, shows, singers magicians ok not for everyone but something to watch if you choose to stay in, but with the traditional bars of Morro Jable a short walk away providing an other option. Top class service through out the hotel by friendly staff - they may start a conversation in Germsn but quickly switched to English when they realised. Yes, the English are in the minority but it made no difference to the positive experience.
Over all I felt I had value for money in an excellently located and well run hotel. Would definitely return and recommend .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SensimarCalypso, Gerente at Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guests.


Thank you so much for your very nice comments and feedback.

All our staff is so happy to read comments such as yours, so that way we really see that effort placed to satisfy our guests is recognised.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me in advance in your next visit to thank you personally your very nice words.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.



Alberto Abreu.
Subdirector at SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa 4****.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
1.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
XQ El Palacete
XQ El Palacete
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Tarajalejo
879 reviews
55.6 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,673 reviews
37.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
#1 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa

Property: Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Jandia s/n., 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 12-Storey building. Terrace-style building perched on a hillside. Situated on Playa de Jandia Beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 M from Morro Jable. 1 Km from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Calypso Hotel Playa De Jandia
Riu Calypso Playa De Jandia
Sensimar Calypso Resort & Spa Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing