We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review.. the good and the not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Toftlund, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A mixed review.. the good and the not so good!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was not sure what to expect when I booked a holiday at Iberostar Palace. My past three trips were spent at Faro Jandia, and after a disappointing stay my partner and I decided to try out something new.

Overall Iberostar Palace has gotten very good reviews. I agree with most of them. The food is excellent. A lot to choose from and the quality is very good. We went for the "all inclusive" so we got the wine which was included in the deal. It was fine, but nothing too fantastic. The cocktails were pre-made - so if you expect an out of this world piña colada you will be disappointed. It is a piña colada mixture mixed with slush ice! :-( When they do serve a freshly made cocktail like a Mojito, then you either have to pay 3€ (having the all inclusive deal) or double the price if you are not in the all inclusive deal. I find it odd that they serve fantastic food and loose out on their drinks department.

The hotel is located absolutely smack bang on the beach and has a very calm atmosphere even though there are a lot of guests. The pool area is crowded. I am happy that we opted for the V.I.P area which was much quieter. When we checked in, we asked for an upgrade to the Superior room and paid 17€ per night. The room with the sea view which claims to be newly renovated was light and bright.

The few things that surprised me were the lack of electrical outlets, we could only find 2 in our room, where one of them was already taken for the table lamp. There was one in the bathroom.. just not the best place to charge ones iPhone!

The bathroom: hmmm we were not impressed. Outdated and small. We were surprised that there were no bathrobes and no bath slippers. It often had a foul sewer odor. Not pleasant.

The individual air-condition: it did not cool the room down. Even though I repeatedly asked the receptionists to get someone to fix it - nothing was done. Which led me to sleep on the floor and finally on the 3rd night shift the entire bed towards the vents of the air-condition to get some air. When we would step out of our room "3026" in the mornings/afternoons and evenings, it was always cooler outside.. just a bummer when one paid for luxury and comfort.. The receptionists always looked very understanding and jotted down the complaint again and again but nothing happened. There I can say that they really got my blood boiling.. *grrrrsss - sleep wise we were deprived of a proper good night's sleep. A shame. It is a deal breaker.

The pillows: I describe them as long, hard, neck breakers. If you like "your" pillow, then take it with you! We wish we had!
The pool towels: you need to deposit 10€ per towel.
The safe: It costs 16.50€ to rent - and a further 5€ deposit for the safe key
The internet: Again costs €€. That was too ridiculous to drain money into - if you need to go online, walk over to the Ventura shopping mall which is 5 minutes away from the hotel and there is an internet cafe which is very cheap.
Stamps: You can buy them from the kiosk. We bought some stamps called "Easy Post" from one of the shops in town and they didn't accept them in the hotel's post box.

Chema, Marcos and many of the waiting staff, the chefs, the maids are speedy, efficient, polite and keep everything moving smoothly. Hats off to them!

The Piano bar is a dark room with a piano which is not used! what a shame!

The entertainment... The sound was often too loud and distorting in the entertainment hall. The outdoor evening entertainment were either a duo performing with backing tracks accompanied by an electric guitar or a young lady with bad karaoke playback tracks. Nothing to send fan mail over. Why not turn off the music and just enjoy the sea waves!?

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that are close to the elevators! Use the stairs - faster to go around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Soomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    485
    113
    23
    22
See reviews for
435
634
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is probably the best hotel we have visited the food and quality of wine was great lovely staff and the entertainment was outstanding location superb I also went diving with jandia divers from the hotel and was very impressed

Room Tip: Over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grayandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you love a sandy beach this is probably the best hotel in Fuerteventura. We did check so many hotels but this one has a perfect see view rooms and a very nice access to the beach which is relatively large. The town is just 10 min walk. It is not a party town at all. For people who don’t like noisy holidays this is a perfect place to be and you don’t feel isolated.
Hotel is very clean and relatively calm. The majority of guests were Germans, but that wasn’t a problem for us. Staff spoke English. We had some little issue on arrival. The key of an occupied room was issued, but that was sorted out quickly and apologising.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strasbourg ,france
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Went there for a week on the last week of March.Amazing speed check in ever seen.Staff of a great kindness.Reactivity to all problems within short time.An amazing top seaview from the pool area .Lovely hotel with a part built along the rocks that you can see in the corridors.Allaround animation, life ballroom music three days a week.Good an various buffets.Curiously quality of breakfast is not the same all week long.So we naturally saw that the rooms need a general paint refresh as the bathrooms do ,but we were not troubled by this at all.Cleaning was good but not of linear quality.We recommend this hotel.
You are one hour from airport ,bus to jandia at the hotel ,that is in fact a private area of Iberostar with three buildings.Sea at the bottom of the hotel.Walk to Jandia by beach 40 minutes,by pedestrian route 20 minutes.Quiet hotel to rest.

Room Tip: no room with numbers 1001 (ground level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rogerStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I,daughter and some friends have just returned from our personal fourth stay,the first for our friends,at the Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace.Once again we found it to be a fantastic hotel.The staff are still extremely friendly and go out of their way to be of excellent service and gave us our usual Cava and Fruit Juice on arrival.
The food seems to get better each time we go with so much choice of different offerings both for breakfast and dinner it is difficult not to overeat.
The restaurant staff are super from the chefs on the servery to the ladies and gentlemen clearing the tables and resetting them.
We again booked sea view rooms which were excellent value if only for the view of the beach and were kept clean and tidy by the superb cleaning staff.
This hotel is in an idyllic location by the beach with a 2min walk down the pathway to the traffic free promenade linking the Iberostar complexes to the town of Morro Jable without having to cross any roads.

Room Tip: Any sea view room will give an unrivalled view of the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mickrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My wife and i stayed here for 11 nights in march and it really is a great hotel.The food was excellent with a great choice of dishes for morning and evening meals the variety did surprise both of us,one small problem for me the plates were only mildly warm at all times. All the staff were fantastic always busy but with time for a smile and a quick word.Our room was very well looked after by Jenny the house lady always spotless.The pool area has loads of space with plenty of loungers and it is also very well kept.Yes there were towels on beds and loungers in the mornings but we never had a problem with that as there was room for everybody.The wonderful sandy beach was only about 200mts from the hotel a godsend for us beach lovers it too was very well kept and we have no problems with nude bathers.Yes this hotel has mostly germans,danes and dutch ,if that is a problem for people they should stay at home.lastly this hotel has star friends these are a lovely friendly golly bounch of young people who are a credit to themselves and the hotel which by, the way is very well managed .ps tea needs boiling water!. jim.

Room Tip: If you want a good sea view room order and pay the extra for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A very nice hotel. We were quite well received at the arrival with glasses of cava and fruit juice. The receptionists were very friendly. We booked a VIP room with the sea view which turned out to be a really good idea as I hardly could take my eyes off the sea and the beach. Food was great with plenty of vegetables, fruits, fish and meat. Several pasta dishes are available at dinner and supper time. Show-cooking is a big plus.
As for the beds, I’ve read many comments of people complaining them to be too hard but since we sleep usually on a Japanese tatami bed, we didn’t perceive the hotel mattresses as hard at all.
If you enjoy doing some sport, you’ll certainly appreciate the walking piste along the beach. Perfect for jogging, cycling and a simple stroll. After practically 20-30min of walking you’ll find some typical tourist shops, cafés, bars, pharmacy, etc..
It’s true there are many Germans, but it didn’t bother us. (However if you do speak German, which was my case, it can come at handy as nearly 75% of the info/magazines are in German.)
The only small downfall was the pool as the water was quite icy.
Would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Third floor with the sea view is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ekaterina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
54.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace

Property: Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Address: Las Gaviotas, s/n, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace is an excellent choice to spend a few days full of culinary offerings, rest, relaxation, and sports on the island of Fuerteventura. Its location next to the immense beach of Jandia – which is 25 kilometres long – is undoubtedly privileged and is an invitation to tour all of the points of interest and most famous beaches in Fuerteventura. The Fuerteventura Palace hotel offers comfortable, refurbished rooms and suites as well as a restaurant with show cooking, three bars, SPA Sensations with a thermal circuit and body treatments, a solarium with sea views, activities for children, entertainment for guests of all ages, free premium Wi-Fi, four pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub, Teenieclub, all inclusive, children’s playground, fitness room, meeting rooms, golf courses nearby and many more services and facilities. The guests that opt for the Star Prestige service have all kinds of exclusive services such as the Open Bar that serves drinks and fruit, chill out terrace with hammocks and Balinese beds, exclusive pool with solarium, VIP Prestige room with Wi-Fi and daily press... Those seeking a bit more exclusivity will find everything they need during their holiday in Playa Jandia, Fuerteventura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Palace Fuerteventura
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace Playa De Jandia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing