We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family and Babyfriendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family and Babyfriendly Hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Short 5 day stay at this hotel in a Ocienview family room.
Room size was good for 2 adults and one baby. Decoration a bit poor but the views from our terrace were stunning, being only 50m away from the beach with no building restricting the views.
Staff was very attentive and helpful. They took care of all our baby related needs and generally made our stay very pleasent.
Another thing nice to mention, we always found free chairs on all swimmingpools even though the hotel was fully booked.
Only negatives were the condition and design of the room:
On closing the door, the doorframe came down, nearly missing the head of our baby! They appologised and fixed it within minutes but nevertheless, it shouldn't happen in a 4 Star hotel. The general colours and furnitures used, remind of a the Spanish countryhouse decoration of the 70s. I'm not a designfreak but they honestly should try put some life into the rooms.
The Spa : Good sized thermal parcour, moslty empty. 12EUR the entry for the day or for free if you have book a massage. I had one amazing Bali massage and a terrible experience with a 4hand massage. The hotel staff again saved the day and reimbursed me a big part of the Spa bill.
So all in all a pleasent stay, mostly due to the excellent staff.
Many Thanks,
Christhi

Room Tip: Definitely get a Sea view upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    353
    82
    19
    11
See reviews for
375
533
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we were there last year and the year before and had a wonderful time! I really regret I didn't go back this year. The service in the hotel is wonderful! The rooms with sea view are wonderful, a bit small though if you have 2 kids with you.
The restaurant is great, lots of choice and everything is fresh!
The animation was sublime! I missed it so much this year. The animation team did wonderful shows and really engaged with people! My kids had so much fun at the mini disco!
They have the most wonderful beach. the kids had so much fun on the beach.
My parents have already gone 5 times to this hotel.
I'm definitely going back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have spent 1 week and I absolutely recommend!
The hotel has the best beach on Canary Islands (my personal point of view)!
The view from the room & pool were amazing!
The pool was nice, maybe a little small and crowded but always clean.
Excellent food, good wine selection, good animations and evening shows.
The room also very comfortable and clean.
Small negatives:
- mosquitos !!! There was a lot of them, especially in the evening so be careful when you open the balcony. Hint - get repellent spray.
- it was hard to find an empty place by the pool - so you have to get up early in the morning and reserve...
- it's all inclusive, but on the beach you have to pay extra for the sunbed & umbrella - simply beacause hotel doesn't have "private beach" ( the same in all hotels on Canaries)
- location is nice, but it's far away from the airport ca. 1,5 hour by bus - be prepared.

Room Tip: You can find a lot of squirrels outside the hotel. Lots of people feed them, nice animals ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcin_77_Wrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was our first stay in Iberostar hotel. Everything was excellent - the service was just perfect, superior: location (just on the beach), room (suite), cleanliness, all inclusive, everything..
We had the best vacation ever...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawiskiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in Playa Gaviotas end of june 2012. We are regular hosts in the hotel for several years. Although we are still very satified of the hotel we have some remarks:
1) A few days before arrival we got an email to choose our room. It was impossible to make our choise ( we could not open the application). Three emails and a ring to the callcenter brought no solution. The only answer we have got was “contact the hotel yourself by phone to choise your room”.
2) The day we left the hotel we constated that we forget a key in the safe deposit box of our room. We immediately rang to the hotel to ask to check the deposit box. They asked to confirm by mail, which we did. We did not got even an answer, although we got a reading confirmation !!
3) After our holiday we hav got an email of the callcenter asking us our judgement. We did the effort of an extensive review. Result, not even an automatic reading confirmation.

4) The hotel Playa Gaviotas has a superb position in front of the beach with beautiful views. That’s why the hotel is more expensive then his nabour Fuerteventura Park behind. Since a few years guests of Feurteventura Park can use certains facilities of Playa Gaviotas.We find it very unfair. We saw the guests everywehere (there is no control) in the hotel ( in the bar, at the sunterrace, in the swimming pool, in the three restaurants, etc). They take places of the guests of Playa Gaviotas who paid for the facilities of the hotel.
5) Twice a week you can diner at the theme restaurant ( once Italian, once romantic). The places are very limited ( there are a numer of place reserverd for guests from Feurteventura Park ) !! You have to chose between diner at 19u30 or 20u30. Although the food is great, the diner seams to be a race to get you out of the restaurant as quickly as possible. You can hardly speak of a romantic diner wehen you got a complete diner served in less then 35 minutes. It seemed to be that the staff is payed till 21u30 and by that time the restaurant has to be cleaned and set up for the next evening.

Room Tip: Excellent choise for those who love walking on a beautiful beach. The superior rooms are nicely reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After reading some of the reviews I wondered what we had let ourselves in for, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was spotless, staff were friendly & worked very long hours, our room was adequate after all we only went in there to sleep. There was food for all sorts of taste's even mine as I am very picky, but there was not a day I could not get something that I liked. It was close to the beach which you could access through the sister hotel or down the side road. The local shops were only a 10 minute walk away or for 4 euros you can get a taxi into the main resort. The entertainment was mostly geared up for the kids, but it was ok. I was surprised that the spirits was available for you to just help yourself, but there was no one abusing that and rolling around drunk. All in all I would go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mummysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was the second time we have stayed in this hotel. We booked about 5 months ahead for a senior suite which consists of a livingroom and 2 bedrooms. Upon arrival they gave us after some hesitation our room key. Upon entering the room we noticed the suite only had one bedroom in stead of two without telling us on forehand. This was an odd situation. So we went back to the reception and asked the lady who gave us the key why she did not inform us. She made some excuses and said she was only an interim. The reception manager, Mrs. Pepi Rodrigues, came to assist and told us this was a problem caused by the Iberostar computer in Palma. They only have two senior suites in this hotel, so we couldn't imagine how things can go wrong. Anyway we were only going to get this suite 7 days later as it was booked. They offered us free entrance to the spa for 1 day, champagne and fruit was brought to the regular suite and we were offered an extra seaview room in the same wing as well as free late check out on the day of arrival. After one night we decided to stay in the regular suite (suite 3217) for the remainder of our holiday as it has the very best location and a very large balcony with 2 sun loungers, etc.
This hotel can only be booked on all inclusive service but we only had breakfast here and a couple of lunches. This food was fresh and very good. The staff is very friendly and smiling! We disliked the small lounge which can not fit in too many guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Gaviotas Playa. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your accommodation expectations. How Mrs. Pepi Rodriguez say, we had a computer problem and we apologize for all the inconveniences you had. We are aware that any and all compensation given can only go so far in making the rest of your stay with us as comfortable and agreeable as possible.

Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.We also would like to thank you for sharing you experiences

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#19 of 73 in Pajara
4,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is located on the sea front at Jandia, which is 25 kilometres long and is one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Fuerteventura, It’s the ideal hotel for couples and families with children because of its complete offering of services and facilities. It features 355 rooms and suites with multiple capacities. The Star Prestige rooms are of special note, allowing guests aged 16 and over to access exclusive services, including a VIP zone with a pool and Jacuzzi, open bar, reading room and direct beach access. With the aim of helping guests make the most of their holiday, the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel offers a wide range of activities and services including a SPA Sensations with incredible treatments for body and mind, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, two pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub, children’s pool and park, fitness room, daytime and night-time entertainment, a bowling alley, babysitting services ($), tennis court, as well as two restaurants and five bars. A little bit of everything for everyone at the Playa Gaviotas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing