We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered.”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Read the other 'excellent' reviews for accurate descriptions of the service, food, rooms, and surroundings - I won't repeat that here, because it's all been accurately described in great detail. There may be the occasional hiccup in service, but I never experienced one, and there are some people who will never be satisfied no matter how stellar the service and accommodation. Ignore those reviews. This place rocks, and if all-inclusive is what you are looking for, Iberostar Playa Gaviotas could be the place for you.

This was my very first all-inclusive experience, and I really didn't know what to expect. All I knew was that I was exhausted and wanted the luxury of having my every needed catered to. And that is exactly what I received at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. It was, perhaps, the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. I wanted to go to a beautiful place, lie by the beach, and read a book for a week. And that is what I did. If you want a break, if you want to be pampered, if you want everything taken care of for you in an all-inclusive setting, then this is the place for you.

It was perfect for us as a couple, but it is also very child-friendly, with many activities for kids everyday. Although there were many children there, it was never annoying to us as a child-free couple.

Room Tip: We chose a room up high for the view, but I think it would have been great to have a room down low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ronni-michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Ronni, dear Michelle,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your first stay in Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share it with our teams. Your positive and encouraging words motivate us to continue working with joy and enthusiasms.

We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, and reading that your very first all-inclusive experience largely satisfied you, makes us feel proud and grateful. Considering that we believe that the key to the success of our services and facilities is to supply good standards, we are happy to see that you received exactly what you wanted!

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “It was, perhaps, the most relaxing holiday I have ever had” show us that on this occasion we have been successful.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your experience; to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    349
    81
    19
    11
See reviews for
368
525
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just got back from this lovely hotel last week. This was our 2nd visit, we went in 2010 and I must say it was just as good, in fact the food was even better and we thought it was superb last time! The weather was in the late 20's/30's the whole time. We booked the whole trip through Easyjet which I was a bit apprehensive about due to their TV coverage but everything was perfect and wouldn't hesitate to use them again. We had a side sea view room, the beds are on the firm side but comfortable and everything was clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The English are in a minority but that doesn't bother us in the slightest we enjoy our own company and some friends came out for our 2nd week. We love the location as you can have long walks along the beach in either direction, however the sandy beach directly in front of the hotel had been washed away in the winter and left huge rocks which you had to make your way over to get to what we think is the best beach area where the sea has no rocks at all and is fantastic for swimming. We were amazed by what had happened because last time it was all just a long sandy beach. After speaking to one of the sailing guys about it he said the sand would be brought back in by the sea in the next few months, and in fact by the time we were coming home it had already started.There is not one thing we could find fault with apart from having to shift the 2kg I put on after eating all that lovely food! Will definitely return in a heartbeat! Thanks to all the staff you are brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Psychobabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just returned from a week here and wish id booked two.

Our room was large comfortable and lovely view of the beach and the sea with a well equipped balcony. We had a slight issue with the bed but the staff rectified it and replaced it immediately.

The staff were extremely helpful the hotel was immaculately clean and well maintained, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived late at night with two very young children and the reception were very concerned that we go to eat before going to our room as they did not want us to miss out on food !

The pools were very good, it was a little difficult to get a bed near the pools but if you get up early you will manage it. The kids pool was cold but they did not seem to mind, one was climatised and the other was cold. The beach was beautiful and very clean, 2 beds and a brolly cost 12E.

The food was fresh varied and plentiful at each meal. The evening entertainment was poor although you could use the other two sister hotels but the animation team were great fun and really good with the kids there was plenty to do around the hotel.

Jandia centre was a good walk away from the hotel or 3euros by taxi.

On our departure we could have stayed in our room until 2.30 for 25Euros but they also offered us a complimentary room and clean towels so that we could shower and change before our departure at 5.30 and this was really appreciated.

The hotel and resort was worth the trip from the airport and I will return to this hotel it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Short 5 day stay at this hotel in a Ocienview family room.
Room size was good for 2 adults and one baby. Decoration a bit poor but the views from our terrace were stunning, being only 50m away from the beach with no building restricting the views.
Staff was very attentive and helpful. They took care of all our baby related needs and generally made our stay very pleasent.
Another thing nice to mention, we always found free chairs on all swimmingpools even though the hotel was fully booked.
Only negatives were the condition and design of the room:
On closing the door, the doorframe came down, nearly missing the head of our baby! They appologised and fixed it within minutes but nevertheless, it shouldn't happen in a 4 Star hotel. The general colours and furnitures used, remind of a the Spanish countryhouse decoration of the 70s. I'm not a designfreak but they honestly should try put some life into the rooms.
The Spa : Good sized thermal parcour, moslty empty. 12EUR the entry for the day or for free if you have book a massage. I had one amazing Bali massage and a terrible experience with a 4hand massage. The hotel staff again saved the day and reimbursed me a big part of the Spa bill.
So all in all a pleasent stay, mostly due to the excellent staff.
Many Thanks,
Christhi

Room Tip: Definitely get a Sea view upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we were there last year and the year before and had a wonderful time! I really regret I didn't go back this year. The service in the hotel is wonderful! The rooms with sea view are wonderful, a bit small though if you have 2 kids with you.
The restaurant is great, lots of choice and everything is fresh!
The animation was sublime! I missed it so much this year. The animation team did wonderful shows and really engaged with people! My kids had so much fun at the mini disco!
They have the most wonderful beach. the kids had so much fun on the beach.
My parents have already gone 5 times to this hotel.
I'm definitely going back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have spent 1 week and I absolutely recommend!
The hotel has the best beach on Canary Islands (my personal point of view)!
The view from the room & pool were amazing!
The pool was nice, maybe a little small and crowded but always clean.
Excellent food, good wine selection, good animations and evening shows.
The room also very comfortable and clean.
Small negatives:
- mosquitos !!! There was a lot of them, especially in the evening so be careful when you open the balcony. Hint - get repellent spray.
- it was hard to find an empty place by the pool - so you have to get up early in the morning and reserve...
- it's all inclusive, but on the beach you have to pay extra for the sunbed & umbrella - simply beacause hotel doesn't have "private beach" ( the same in all hotels on Canaries)
- location is nice, but it's far away from the airport ca. 1,5 hour by bus - be prepared.

Room Tip: You can find a lot of squirrels outside the hotel. Lots of people feed them, nice animals ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcin_77_Wrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was our first stay in Iberostar hotel. Everything was excellent - the service was just perfect, superior: location (just on the beach), room (suite), cleanliness, all inclusive, everything..
We had the best vacation ever...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawiskiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,000 reviews
36.1 mi away
Sheraton Fuerteventura Beach, Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas

Property: Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas is the perfect place to indulge yourself. A space where you can lose track of time altogether gazing out to sea, find unimagined depths of relaxation in the spa and lose yourself to the flavours on offer in the restaurants. Whether you're travelling with kids or looking for a relaxing break with your partner, this all inclusive hotel in Fuerteventura has only one rule: let yourself be pampered! Wrapped in cotton wool. This is how you'll feel when you go to sleep in your room. There are rooms with a balcony and sea views, for families or a romantic getaway, even rooms with Balinese beds. Feel like a VIP. Feel the sensation of the bubbles in the whirlpool bath, sunbathe on the chill out terrace or pack up at your leisure thanks to the late check-out. These are just a few of the advantages to enjoy when you choose a Star Prestige adults only room. Bathe yourself in sensations. In the sauna, lie back and unwind on the bubble beds or treat yourself to a relaxing massage. There’s not a nerve ending in your body that’ll resist the relaxing effects of SPA Sensations. Pleasure at your table. You can sample Canary Island, national and international cuisine, get a quick bite to eat, be transported to exotic destinations at the themed dinners or enjoy a show cooking session. Ah! You can also stretch out by the pool and sip on a piña colada. 25 km of sand. This hotel in Fuerteventura is located right beside Jandia beach. A paradise of transparent waters and an infinite shoreline on which to run in the mornings or make giant sandcastles with your children. Liven up your holiday. Fuerteventura with the kids, or without? Either way. There’s something here for everyone! From the children's pool and Miniclub full of activities for the little ones, to sports such as tennis, yoga or sailing for the grown-ups. There’s even a child-minding service available so that you can have some time with your partner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Iberostar, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing