We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

greaqt hotel wonderful views entertainment great and location on the beach however it is getting really expensive to stay here now we went 3 years ago and it is 3 times as expensive now the food is good nice irish coffees and drinks are nice too staff very friendly and rooms good size just wish the price would come down

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    343
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
357
505
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for a week, upgraded to a junior suite and would highly recommend. Pools a little cold, but tell reception, as they did change this. Staff were superb, looking forward to returning. Food and drink of a good standard, all self service. Not many English, but this wasn't a problem for us

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebeccalou1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I will certainly stay here again. Very clean hotel. Food was pretty good with plenty of choice. Coffee machines were out of order a couple of times at various locations but that is a minor issue. Pools are great size and plenty of sunbeds available. Mainly Germans staying here with a few English and French. Overall a lovely hotel with a fantastic cliff top view. As an aside the beach was fairly empty for most of the time. Don't know why but I was happier round the pool anyway.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 1 to 5 are built into the cliff face facing to the sea.. 1 being nearest beach but f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkG2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

First time staying in an iberostar hotel and was really impressed-stayed for a week over Easter with the wife and 3 kids 2 aged 6 and aged 11
the service and food was excellent with really good sea food at all meals and there was really something for everyone to eat
The animation team were excellent and our kids really enjoyed the nightly show
The location next to the most wonderful beach was a joy
A real perk was as most of the guest are mainland European the hotel is peaceful with no loud music blaring
The review would have been a five save there was an issue with bad smells coming back through the drains in one of our bathrooms which were very strong - the hotel did offer to move us and dealt with the matter in excellent fashion but there must be an underlying problem as other guests had this issue
The rooms were spotless as were all aspects of the hotel and the friendliest staff I have encountered at any hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view-it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank earwig1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

All previous comments about this hotel i would wholeheardedly agree with but....they need to seriously sort out the room problems. They seems to have something going on with the sister hotel next door (Playa Gaviotas Park) . We arrived fairly late and very tired to be told we were in the wrong hotel even though the booking documentation said to book in at the Playa Gaviotas, the receiption staff prceeded to tell us that we couldn't be in this hotel as they don't have any Junior suites that we had booked. As it was late, went to the Park hotel for the night. Returned to the Gavitas in the morning where we found 'Pepi' very helpful and offered us two rooms neither of which were what we booked. We decided to go for the Double room which overlooked the bar veranda as we were only there for one week and didn't want to waste the time. Unfortunately, we found out later in the week that they 'did' in fact do Junior Suites as per the information displayed on their reception. We also found out that they don't mind if the hotel is overbooked as they are happy to send people to the Park instead. This we were told by the staff themselves. Can't fault the rest of the hotel, all very good especially the staff in the restaurant and the animation team who are lovely people. The bar needs to be bigger and have more staff but overall a very good hotel. I agree with a previous comment that they could use another English channel on the TV as CNN and Sky news does get a bit boring. If you don't mind going to a hotel that caters mainly for Germans then you will probably enjoy your stay but please make sure you get the room you paid for.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PEN54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We visited in March 2013, which was our second visit. The Hotel does not disappoint in any category.
Food - the food is very good and served to a high standard, The fish dishes are excellent and varied, Steaks, Chicken lamb duck as well as goat were all available during our stay. Salads are always plentiful and varied, The deserts are predominately European but you would really need to be fussy not to enjoy the variety.
Rooms - The last time we booked we were given the fourth floor, which had an excellent view of the whole of Jandia beach, on arrival we were given the first floor which is a long walk from the main facilities of the hotel, our room had a good sea view, but when I asked about a higher floor we were told that anything above the first was considered a superior room and would cost about £150 more, we declined and were happy with our room with the exception of a rain storm which occurred and caused flooding on our tiled passageway which was very slippy.
Staff - The staff were all very good without exception, although they predominately cater for German clients their English was passable.
Entertainment - All the entertainment staff were very friendly and wanted to involve you at all times but without being obtrusive or annoying. the nightly entertainment varied between the Hotel own entertainment staff and other Acts brought in.
If I did have a complaint it would be for the hotel to get an English TV channel which could allow watching movies etc, as BBC and SKY news can be repetitive. there were other movie channels which catered for Italian, French Polish as well as Spanish and German. Although you don't go on holiday to watch TV it can be useful if poor weather keeps you inside.

Room Tip: You will need to pay extra for any room above first floor. Air con wasn't working at the time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Scot,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Regarding the tips you kindly offered to make improvements in the offered TV channels, we will study the possibility to put them in practice and our heads of the departments involved are informed. We will work intern to see how to organize this proposal.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Playa Gaviotas are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We also do our best to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy the rich and traditional recipes from the Canaries islands in our restaurant which is run by chefs of great recognition who only use products of prime quality. This is why we are grateful that you underlined your concerning satisfaction.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed this, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at this excellent hotel. We found that the accomodation was first class, as was the food. The staff should be congratulated on their courteous and helpful qualities. Most guests were German, but that seemed to encourage
the management of this hotel, to achieve the highest standards possible to please all the guests.Would definately say the extra supplement paid for top floor, sea facing balcony is
worth the money, the views are excellent. The weather in February was a little changeable,
but never cold enough to don long trousers or sleeves. The drinks were plentiful and did
include international brands, rather than just the local brands.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Clifford,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Playa Gaviotas and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On the other hand, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to achieve the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Last but not least, we are really proud to read that you highly recommend the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas. This is a beautiful award for our daily labors and a source of strength to continue striving to fulfill each and every demanding quality standard prescribed by our company. Once more, we thank you for posting this nice review and we look forward to may serve you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas

Property: Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Address: | Pasaje Playa Nº 2, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is an all-inclusive Spa Hotel in Fuerteventura, right on the beach of Playa de Jandia. This 4-star hotel with spa, gastronomy and sports is specially designed for families and couples. This modern hotel overlooking the ocean in Playa Jandia has all the ingredients for enjoying an unforgettable holiday in Fuerteventura: an environment of great beauty, relaxation and fun in equal parts, exquisite Canarian gastronomy and spacious, comfortable rooms. If you want to have a real luxury holiday in Fuerteventura, try the Star Prestige new area for guests over 16, offering wonderful rooms and exclusive services. Star Prestige: Discover our new area and get exclusive services and lots of benefits. Book your room at the Star Prestige new area and get personalised service, refurbished rooms facing the sea and the beach in Jandia, high-end beds, premium amenities in the room, pool, whirlpool tub and sunbathing area by the seafront promenade affording amazing views, chill-out terrace with loungers and Balinese beds for rooms with direct access to the Star Prestige sunbathing area. Exclusive fitness room, open bar serving beverages and fruit all day long, free Wi-Fi, VIP Prestige room to read newspapers, have a drink or watch TV (flat screen), late check-out for free (subject to availability). A paradise for families. The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is designed for the entire family with an entertainment program for children, adolescents and adults. Younger children will enjoy the various activities organized at the Mini-Club, Maxi-Club and Teenieclub, while the adults will have a great time in the Bowling Bar New spa sensations. This spa hotel in Playa Jandia offers guests an exclusive SPA Sensations: a spa with Jacuzzi, beauty and treatment centre is the perfect place to disconnect from the world in Fuerteventura. Developed from ancient Asian techniques and traditions, this relaxing place invites you to discover a new world of experiences and sensations. Excellent gastronomy. The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas is a culinary resort prized for its quality cuisine. In any of the bars and restaurants of this Playa de Jandia resort you can enjoy the pleasures of exquisite domestic and international cuisine. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Iberostar, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing