We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There are 3 iberostar offerings with the front doors within 500 m of each other, each has it's own strengths I guess. When dropping off we deposited about 5/6 couples with there kids at the 'park' door and were given our cases too and so walked through the grounds of that hotel to get to ours, wrong choice, service and annoying after long journey, you follow the road down in minutes or tell him to put cases back on if it's likely to be hard work for you.
The hotel is predominately German occupied and apart from 1/2 amusing bits it is probably best as the hotel splits it's self kindly into two areas one with heated pool that kids remain round and another more serene and chilled which is almost adults only, we found it fab with amazing views of the beaches below, you feel you are on a cruise ship at times.
Bar areas there are two restraunts on the pool levels one of which is a day time bar and burger type place the other is the main buffet beside it is the speciality themed Spanish and Italian ,there is also the evening entertainment place which is good though totally German orientated in my opinion, none the less it is good.The hotels real selling point is the veranda bar on the 6th floor overlooking the pools and beaches with ocean view it is spectacular and serene day or night and a great place to chill out and have cocktails Jonny walker red label or whatever brand you fancy, baileys etc are all the proper brand, moonlight spectaculars and old time dancing som middle of the road singers on while we were there just made it even more chilling lovely large couches or tables for 3 Along the edge of the balcony were always available- never had to wait on one.
Food was one of the reasons we chose iberostar as we had been previously and had used that as a yardstick for the quality of every other hotel to match, unfortunately either our expectation was to high or we have had too many all inclusives as it has a very high standard but didn't hit the spot exactly somehow even though I think there sweets were probably the best encountered. We have had hotels where steak was offered couple of times a week and very tasty, here we had it one all on view looked same and came out on the tough side, had really nice pork loin and lamb chops on a few evenings there was carving of lamb/ beef. Of the specialities we had two distinctly different experiences Italian great and due to a muddle with tickets we were a bit 2nd class as we were being squeezed in- felt like it with a large Spanish family coming in after us and served all water and wine before us- after that it caught up fine food really nice but you won't over fill yourself even though it is 5. Courses. Would have liked some better quality steak and as the whole world seems to enjoy a curry or Chinese I am not sure where that recipe book has hidden itself, chilli anything with a bit of spice to it would have been very welcome.
Staff are amongst the best ever experienced and very very friendly and helpfull. The drinks, we got through a lot of cava in our time always chilled to perfection, the white initially was always the same although on our last 2 days we struggled to get chilled as we were either late or there had been a rush on, two varieties to choose from would have liked a bit more of a range on hindsight but the rose was fine didn't try reds.
Overall would go back in a heartbeat one of most memorable hotels ever- iberostar appear to be looking for you to upgrade to everything the cost of upgrading to the premium was130 euro per day!! Sorry iberostar I want a holiday for that! It didn't appear to have two many takers either.i did email ahead and advised it was our 20 anniversary in the hope of some sort of bargain lol and I think we got it in a free upgrade to a side sea view which was lovely. We were taking bottles of wine to the room to enjoy that pity they just don't ask what you want in fridge but it's not a big deal they do leave water. Had a brilliant time and would go back at the right price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BedlingtonSandymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent a week here at the beginning of march. Weather was wonderful for 5 or 6 days - however this part of the island is very windy!!!

We hied a car to avoid the bus transfer and it was well worth it - the hotel is approximately 1 1/2 hours from the hotel. Parking not a problem.

The positives - lovely views of the beach, excellent bar facilities - beer, wine and soft drinks are self service all day in all of the restaurants and bars. Staff were excellent - tables were cleaned regularly and service a quick as could be expected - see below. The room was nice, had a side sea view room - quite quiet - was not a busy area of the hotel. The buffet food was exactly as you would expect from such an establishment - good choice and always hot enough. Plenty of sun beds and no problem with people reserving them to early.

Negatives - charging for wifi...this is 2014 FREE WIFI!!, a lot of guests wanted coffee and this means the bar staff take ages preparing all manner of exotic sounding coffee drinks - must be a better way of doing that. There are a lot of steps down to the beach, not a problem for us but for some it would be.

The biggest drawback is not really the hotels fault - meal times in an all inclusive are not a pleasant experience. It turns into an eating process rather than an evening activity. Often you find yourself sitting alone as your partner wanders around the enormous selection of items trying to pick something. For this reason I cannot see me returning.

The Germans at the hotel were fine, no problem at all. In fact is was nice not to hear drunk Brits swearing and shouting after having had a few too many!!

Fuerteventua is not the most attractive island either....barren and rocky.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel; at IBEROSTAR we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

The prices for Wi Fi are a matter decided on a global level by our central office, we will forward your comment for information and to study the possibility to have free connections included in the price of the stay in the near future.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear your satisfaction regarding the quality and wide variety of succulent both local and international delights thoroughly prepared by our talented Chefs at our buffet restaurant as well as with our hotel’s facilities.

Last but not least, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

We understand from your review that Fuerteventura may not be the best location for you to enjoy your holidays and encourage you for future holidays’ planning to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the destination hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes among a wide array of options worldwide.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we look forward to serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

5* Hotel, so you can expect the best here. NEARLY everything about this hotel is perfect, but I was a little surprised to find that we had to pay extra (16 euros ) for WIFI, 10 euros for use on indoor pool and sauna. (the weather was too windy to use outdoor pool and beach area). A further 10 euros for towels. There are a number of steps ( about 60 ) from reception down to the beach, so be sure to ask about the lifts BEFORE you go to the beach, its a long climb back up those steps LOL. The staff at hotel are excellent, and the meals here wont help your diet in anyway, they are wonderful. It is worth watching the Animation team, they are good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4127 Standard suite. Nice view of pool areas and not too far to walk to restaurant...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WalesManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We lament reading that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s services and extra charges however this information is reported both on our website and brochure; For future occasions we invite you to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on the quality of our buffets, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the great attitude of our staff as they strive to provide a truly personalized and caring service to our guests, and the best reward for them is to see their efforts recognized.

Last but not least, at IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

Once more, thank you for your feedback and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My partner and I are 3 nights into a five night holiday- this is as good a time as any to write a review whilst the details are still fresh.

I'll start with the not so good.

1. The accommodation is 3.5 stars at a stretch. We are staying in one of the so called VIP rooms, and the signs of wear and tear are evident. Paint coming off walls, dirty walls in some areas, the extractor fan in the bathroom spewing dust when turned on. And rather stupidly, only one accessible power socket in the room, the same one the TV is plugged into.

2. The pettiness you often get with some of the large hotel chains. As annoying as it was to have to pay for wi-fi(and only one device, non-transferable for a week), I thought requesting a fee to use the safe was bordering on ridiculous. You get charged 16 Euros for this service, for a safe that's already physically present in the room, not including a five euro deposit. I refused this service on principle.

3. The fact that the hotel is structured towards German clientele has already been severally mentioned. This was not a problem for us, on the contrary, we found the Germans themselves to be very friendly and extremely pleasant. Besides, unlike my countrymen, they are able to consume sizeable quantities of alcohol without becoming loud and unruly. However, the services are directed more towards speakers of their language. We saw Mamma Mia a couple of nights ago courtesy of the animation team, and it was bordering on surreal watching the animators flit between German, Spanish and English(English 10%). It was good fun though, nonetheless. It's important that people looking into booking this hotel realise that. This was not a problem for us, but I can see how it could be for others.

The good.

1. The staff. Universally friendly and extremely helpful. Special mention to the Restaurant staff and the cleaners, who made my wife's birthday celebration a memorable event. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The animation team were very good as well.

2. The location. It really does not get any better than this. The sea view rooms are true sea view affairs, not viewing the sea over buildings etc. I can never get tired of the sound of waves lulling me to sleep. Massive massive sandy beach that stretches for miles. Awesome stuff.

3. The food. Fabulous variety, and always very well cooked. Great variety of drinks as well.

4. The weather has been picture perfect thus far. I can't help a degree of smugness reading about rain battering my beloved Leeds.

All in all a good holiday. Pictures attached.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lordoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel; it is only through feedback such as your that we are able to maintain and indeed, if necessary improve, upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We read the comment on your Star Prestige accommodation with our utmost attention and deeply regret reading the imperfections you encountered as they have all been renovated just a few months ago, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our maintenance department for revision and lament not being informed about this during your stay as we would have been able to intervene immediately , we encourage you for future occasions to contact our reception to point out any disservice so we can adjust the situation for you to fully enjoy your stay among us.

Moreover, we took good note of your comment on the extra charges for the use of the safe and lament your dissatisfaction; however, we would like to point out that guests staying in the Star Prestige accommodations have free Wi Fi connection by our exclusive lounge.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our prime location right on the stunning beach of Jandia and your praising comments on our staff; their genuine kindness and helpfulness being our hotel’s main strength, we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us as well as for their special attentions for your wife’s birthday celebration, it is wonderful to read we were able to make it a memorable one.

Last but not least, we greatly appreciate your highlight on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Got back yesterday from Playa Gaviotas after two very enjoyable weeks to celebrate my husband's birthday. Hotel beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean, the staff are brilliant at their jobs and make every effort to be of great service. The Animation team were very good, especially the guys, my favourite activity was the dance and exercise classes. The entertainment was varied ranging from fair to good to very good.
The food was always plentiful, fresh and tasty, the wines not bad, the choice of International drinks was vast.
95% of guests were German who were obviously enjoying themselves and most seemed to know eachother. We didn't meet another English couple in the hotel in all of the 14 days we were there but that didn't bother me although my hubby was a bit peeved about it!
Our room was a double with side seaview on the 6th floor and was of ample size, clean, comfortable and quiet (6321)
The beach was fantastic, large, wide, long and spotless. Nudists everywhere!
We were also allowed to use the facilities in the Playa Gaviotas Park which was just behind us. I was happy with my holiday and would recommend it to anyone unless you have a problem being in the minority, seeing nudists on the beach or both. Otherwise enjoy!

Room Tip: I always request a room on a high floor for several reasons....(1) a better view .....(2) less noise...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesleyLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Lesley,

First and foremost we thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel for such a special occasion as your husband birthday celebration and for the time you took out of your day to share these wonderful comments on your personal experience in our hotel; we are delighted to read that you had “two very enjoyable weeks” among us.

We thank you for pointing out the beauty and cleanliness of our installations and the comfort of your accommodation as well as the quiet location of our hotel, in a very tranquil area of the island and fronting the magnificent Jandia Beach.

Moreover, in IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that you took part in the many activities on offer and that this was a pleasant part of your stay among us.

Last but not least we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our staff; their commitment to make all our guests feel well cared after and welcome at all times is undoubtedly one of our hotel’s main assets and we will not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their professionalism.

Once again, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just love this hotel location the staff the entertainment team the food the drink all great been here 3 times now and we will be back so relaxing for the week felt like we had been there for a month just the best all round

Room Tip: if you want it to be right book here it is worth the extra
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Jayne,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas once again as the destination for your vacations. We also thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience with us.

It is very nice to hear that your stay among us allowed you to “recharge the batteries”, it is exactly what a holiday should provide; reading that you love everything about our hotel is the best award we could expect.

We always strive to make every experience with us an unforgettable one. Thank you for choosing us again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Got back on the 16th november from gaviotas park jandia . Would like to say very clean in all areas. Food very nice service not too bad .bed was very unconfortable like lying on concrete not great !! Only other bad thing really its full off bloody germans .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We sincerely regret reading that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a solution. Clearly a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights’ sleep therefore we have softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed; for future occasions please to not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our housekeepers doing their utmost to keep our installations and accommodations clean at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR.

Last but not least, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Agadir; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: £147 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is located on the sea front at Jandia, which is 25 kilometres long and is one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Fuerteventura, It’s the ideal hotel for couples and families with children because of its complete offering of services and facilities. It features 355 rooms and suites with multiple capacities. The Star Prestige rooms are of special note, allowing guests aged 16 and over to access exclusive services, including a VIP zone with a pool and Jacuzzi, open bar, reading room and direct beach access. With the aim of helping guests make the most of their holiday, the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel offers a wide range of activities and services including a SPA Sensations with incredible treatments for body and mind, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, two pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub, children’s pool and park, fitness room, daytime and night-time entertainment, a bowling alley, babysitting services ($), tennis court, as well as two restaurants and five bars. A little bit of everything for everyone at the Playa Gaviotas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Iberostar, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing