We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A short but wonderful break”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A quality hotel with great facilities, food and entertainment. We had the opportunity to visit this great hotel early August, unfortunately for us we had to fly home after 2 days due to a family crisis.
During our short stay we had a fantastic room with a great view of the ocean, you can actually see the curvature of the earth on the horizon of the sea due to the wide angle completely clear view.
The food was top class, the weather was fantastic and the hotel was a perfect back drop for a fantastic holiday. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality break in Fuerteventura.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    353
    82
    19
    11
See reviews for
375
533
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed all-inclusive at the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas from 13th to 20th August with my partner and our 10-year-old daughter. Due to a problem with our room we had to spend the first night at the Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park. This was frustrating after our late arrival and the long flight / transfer, however when we eventually checked into the Playa Gaviotas we were upgraded to a room with a sea-view. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, and the view of the beach was amazing.
Back at the hotel there were 2 main pools (one heated, one not) and a childrens pool too. The pool area was busy and there was the usual reserving of sunbeds, but we always managed to find a space.
The entertainment team seem to be at work constantly around the pool, the hotel and down at the beach, but there was never any pressure to join in. The entire hotel staff seem to be genuinely friendly; everyone we dealt with was polite and helpful.
The food was fine. We ate at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and the the pool bar for lunch. We got a bit bored eating at the same place all the time so ate out a couple of times.
The hotel guests are mainly German and Spanish, but this wasn't a problem for us.
In terms of things to do we were on a budget so didn't book any excursions, but we walked the length of the beach a few times to Morro Jable; this is probably an hour's walk (past the lighthouse and a few nudists!). The black and gold sandy beach stretches for miles (there's a well-used path running parallel to the beach for pedestrians and cyclists), and with a nature reserve between it and the resort, it feels really unspoilt. Because the beach is so big, it also feels completely uncrowded. In the opposite direction the beach is rocky and less accessible.
Jandia itself is about 30 minutes walk away, but it didn't really appeal to us and we only went a couple of times. The resort can get very windy, which I liked because it took the edge off the heat. On the beach there are handy towel-holding rocks dotted around so you don't loose your stuff!
Overall we had a very relaxing holiday. The hotel location is peaceful and the views of the mountains and sea are stunning. I would have liked to have had a bit more to do, but for a week's holiday it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreePeaceSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

If your looking for an all round all inclusive hotel to stay in then this is the one for you.
As a 32 year old taking my 9 year old daughter away for a week I wanted to find somewhere that would cater for me and her.
Drinks on arrival at 9.30pm and restaurant was still open for a bite to eat which I thought was good.
We had a fantastic side sea view prestige room thanks to Guzaman at reception. The maids were in regular and did a fab job and not to early in the morning which was fab.
Food was plentiful and all to a high standard I felt, in the main restaurant they had a Spanish night which was delicious!!!!!!
Fresh fish was great too. The stag in there work so hard and are very friendly and sort tables quick and the chefs cook lovely food.
Outside bar was the same food daily with mini desserts and ice cream for the kids and slush machines. But restaurant was also good at lunch time I'd highly recommend mixing it up at lunch times between the bar and there.

Try and get a towel down by around 9am as they get taken quick by the pool areas but still room else where through the day.
Pools where cleaned and main pool is great as it steadily slopes for different depths.
It has it's very own life guard daily who looks like pitbull ( singer / raper ) and great for little ones in the main pool.

Kids clubs start from 0-3, 3-7, 8-13, 14-19, then adults club.
And daily activites are nicely spread from approx 11am-1pm and 3pm-5pm.
I was completely impressed with all the animation team as they really work hard to entertain and interact with everybody and not pushy either.
If I'm honest they made the holiday for myself and my little one.
A few high lights for me was the water Zumba in the pool with around 80 people and making Spanish sangria by the pool with 15 people.
Through the day kids and adults can compete in the likes of archery, pistol shooting, rifle shooting, water polo, bingo and fit fun exercise classes etc and medals and certificates were up for grabs for the top 3 on stage every evening !!! So if your competitive then this will be fun.
The kids clubs is safe and you sign your kids in with the animation team member, they do use the sister hotel for activities so bear that in mind if your looking for your little ones to pick up.
But a big Shout out to Alba, Carlos, Kevin and the rest of the animation team well done guys !!!!!

Entertainment of an evening was mixed to be fair with some fantastic displays on stage and some average performances but once again when the animation team pulled a performance together it was fantastic.
For those who want a quieter evening there is a terrace upstairs you can either sit outside overlooking the pool or sit inside with sports channels on.
There is a dance floor with live music on some nights too.
We met up with some other English people and being outgoing we got the animation team to put some music on and we all got up and had a good dance for a few hours to finish the night off.
Beach is a short walk to and with being to Jandia a few times for the sake of 3-4 euros each way is recommend you jump a taxi into Jandia and go to the beach just the light house as the beach is better there and you can fit in time at the shops.
Market day was on a Thursday so if you goals sure you haggle very hard for a good deal.

So overall rating as an average type of person looking for a decent clean hotel to meet my needs it was a 10 out of 10 !!

But one little negative is for internet users is that the hotel charge for wifi per item of technology, so could be costly if you want to connect up multiple devices unfortunately but that is literally the only negative I found.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Beggyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a late deal one week break.
We had a standard bronze all inclusive room which gave us a side sea view.
The room was large, airy and spotlessly clean with the usual range of complimentary toiletries and water topped up through the stay. Our double was in fact twin beds pushed together and our daughter had a permanently made up sofa bed and all were really comfortable.
We arrived just before the restaurant closed at 10pm so we were encouraged to eat before checking in. Check -in quick, easy, 10Euro deposit for towels
We find that the all inclusive holiday works well for us - our daughter can be fully independent choosing the drinks and snacks she likes during the day and as a family we can make the most of the entertainment, bars and views from the terraces in the evening.I have to say that this hotel was one of the most relaxing and non-crowded all-inclusive hotels I have experienced.
We opted to eat later (after 8.30pm) as this allowed us to do some exploring in the hire car during the afternoon and early evening. Yes - you are asked to choose to eat in the early or late sitting but no-one mans the door or checks this - it's purely to stop the restaurant being overcrowded. Food and drink is plentiful. Waiting-on staff do a fantastic job of making sure tables are quickly ready for use. Breakfasts - cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, cheese, salads and hot bacon, eggs, omelettes and doughnuts etc. Evening meals - soups, salads, cheese, hams. fruit, pasties, carvery meats, fish and meat from the griddle, paella, fish and a range of mousses, pastries and cake desserts. I really enjoyed the different tastes and flavours and over the week I ate well without repetition. I really recommend the shellfish, the carvery roast pork and the paella.
The pool sun beds are usually covered with towels by 10am but there are sunbed stacks dotted around which meant we could turn up at the pool after lunch and still find somewhere. The pool never felt busy, the music is not overpowering and the animation doesn't dominate the pool like we've found at other resorts. There were not many English travellers around during our week - mainly Spanish and German families.
The entertainment is typical hotel stuff - lots of in-house animations team shows and some visiting acts,
We had a fantastic week. We ate well, drank well, slept well and tanned beautifully in the hot, sunny wind. We love Fuerteventura and usually stay in the north but I've a feeling that this hotel will be our 'go to' hotel when we need a quick last minute get away for half terms. I can see us returning many times.

Independent travellers: Ryanair flights / Reisen car hire / hotel booked through Teletext holidays

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinKenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location, fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Lovely food. Would definitely go back. One tip I would recommend is to take a travel kettle with you as it's nice to have a cuppa first thing in the morning :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
6 Thank Salandrob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 2 week family holiday at this fabulous resort.
Before arrival I was impressed with the on line check in service that allowed you to pick your room checking out the view and position before arrival.
Our arrival was around 10pm, and the restaurant was open for late arrivals with cold plates and drinks. Reception staff were efficient, polite and helpful.
our accomodation was exactly as in the pictures, spacious, even for a family of three, spotlessly clean, and nice quality fixtures. The maid service was of a high standard daily cleaning.
The activities at the hotel both day and night were of a wide range and run by a highly professional, friendly team. A special mention to Lukas and Marco who gave us all a smile throughout the day, always encouraging, but never pushy. Activities ranged from rifle and pistol shooting, archery, pool water polo, zumba etc. They never stopped and made the holiday extra special for my family.
Meals were of a good quality and variety, always at least 2 choices of meat at the grilling stations fish/steak/chicken/turkey/lamb),always a further range of many different dishes and always paella, and themed nights with oriental/mexican dishes. Fruit was plentiful and delicious. Again, all the restaurant staff were very helpful.
This hotel gave me everything I would expect from a 4* hotel, however it was the staff who made it extra special. I hope to be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite on ground floor overlooking the pool, I chose this so that my kids could go in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MoniH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is very unusual for me to return to a hotel as like to try somewhere different however this is the fourth stay at Playa Gaviotas. Needed a rest at quite short notice and knew one could chill here immediately. All staff are friendly, cheery and very helpful. The animation team are brilliant too.

The rooms are clean and good standard although looking a bit date in some parts. It is worth having a sea view or, even better, a suite. Great views and next to the beach. Also, good choice and variety of food at all meal times. 99% of people seemed to be German, very few British (they seem to be in the sister hotel - Playa Gaviotas Park) but generally very pleasant. The hotel has a rule of no towels on sunbeds before 9am which worked quite well.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
54.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
IBEROSTAR Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#19 of 73 in Pajara
4,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas
Address: Pasaje Playa N 2 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel is located on the sea front at Jandia, which is 25 kilometres long and is one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Fuerteventura, It’s the ideal hotel for couples and families with children because of its complete offering of services and facilities. It features 355 rooms and suites with multiple capacities. The Star Prestige rooms are of special note, allowing guests aged 16 and over to access exclusive services, including a VIP zone with a pool and Jacuzzi, open bar, reading room and direct beach access. With the aim of helping guests make the most of their holiday, the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel offers a wide range of activities and services including a SPA Sensations with incredible treatments for body and mind, free Wi-Fi, all inclusive, two pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub, children’s pool and park, fitness room, daytime and night-time entertainment, a bowling alley, babysitting services ($), tennis court, as well as two restaurants and five bars. A little bit of everything for everyone at the Playa Gaviotas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Playa De Jandia
Iberostar Hotel Playa Gaviotas
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing