We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality German Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Quality German Style”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Hotel guests are mainly German and the cuisine reflects the client base.The food was high quality but not your standard English offer.The international dimension was refreshing, combining a relaxing holiday with a cultural experience.The Hotel staff were friendly and the quality of English was variable but it was not a problem.
The Hotel bars had a lovely ambience of an evening
We had a room in the gardens - very spacious, quiet with a mellow atmosphere.
A really positive experience in a quality Hotel

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are for 3 people but are good value for 2 - the additional space and comfort adds v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    83
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
90
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here in June and had a quite different experience to the previous reviewer. Yes, the hotel is 99% German, but the vast majority of guests were really friendly and courteous and the hotel reception staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful - and yes, along with all other new arrivals, we got a glass of cava on arrival.

We stayed in a standard room in the main building and this was fitted to a high standard and kept immaculately clean by the housekeeping staff, The only downside was that there was an adjoining door to the next bedroom - ideal if you have children, but not so ideal when the oise carries through the door and you[re woken at 6,30am by a singing neighbour...

However there are deluxe rooms and there are bungalows set in the grounds.

As for the food, I'm a fussy eater but always found the food to be of excellent quality, especially the fish and salads, Other dishes on offer included steak, pork, chicken,duck and lots of seafood.
Since the hotel caters for their German clientele, everything is labeled in German/Spanish. If we were ever unsure of any dishes, we just asked the chefs and they spoke enough English to tell us what they were. All meals were served in the main dining room, and in addition, they served great looking burgers and pizzas on the roof terrace at lunch.

If you're looking for a hotel with a full on animation team and top class entertainment every night, this hotel isn;t for you. It's very low key, with musicians of varying talent playing at the outside bar most evenings, the best of which were the 2 excellent flamenco guitarists.

The pool area wasn't huge but the gardens were well kept and pretty extensive.However, we spent most of the time on the beach. For the less mobile, this may not be an option as it is a 10 minute walk down a fairly steep bank.

Although there are no bars in the immediate vicinity, there are other hotels which you can visit and enjoy their entertainment - as long as you buy a drink, you'll be made welcome or you can jump on a bus to Jandia for 1.20 euros or about 8 euros in a taxi.

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday, with good food and a laid back atmosphere, this hote could fit the bill.

(Booked hotel through lowcostholidays.com, flight through Thomsons and transfers through resorthoppa)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Camille07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a terrible place this is, no entertainment, food terrible disgusting in fact, I had to stop trying due to becoming severly ill!! Nothing to entertain you no night life....a lot wee places around the hotel are closed!!! Would not recommend this place especially if you could only speak English as they don't appear to like this!! If you are German you are very welcome, I noticed this when they were arriving and getting a glass of champagne.......me nope nothing!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pollya701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have been at the hotel in May 2011 to celebrate my bithday and have spent a week together with my parents.
We have had two rooms and both of them have had a good size. The rooms were in the main building, close to the pool. As soon as I speak Spanish it is always a benefit, because it makes it much easier to get what you need, but service in general was very good.
I can highly speak about the food and beverage at the hotel! We have been on an all inclusive package and se we even took advantage to have a small salad or something for lunch. The buffet area was always full with a variety of different dishes and at night they have had themes, which was nice to have always something different.
Most of the time we have stayd by the pool, because it was very windy on the beach. To get to the beach you can walk or take a shuttle of the hotel. We have been walking there twice, which is also not too far.
There is another small pool on the roof, which is also very nice, but as soon as our rooms were closer to the main pool, we have stayed there.
One day we have spent de afternoon at the beach in Jandia and had a very nice swim and found a good water quality.
There is not so much to do in the area, beside a walk through Jandia. But as soon as they have entertainment each night at the hotel, you can just sit there, relax, maybe even dance, if you wish and it is nice too.
The grounds are just beautiful with a lot of flowers and green.
I have had a car the entire time and parking is without any charge right by the hotel.
It was a great and relaxing week I have spent at the hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathrin_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here twice in 2011. The food was good, the staff, in the main, were friendly, however the peak times in the restaurant can be a bit frantic and difficult to get the waiters' attention, particularly if you are staying all inclusive. We stayed in the bungalows which is the main reason we returned as they are very spacious, clean and comfortable. The a/c isn't great though.

It is easy to feel excluded if you are not German and speak the language. The mini club activities are all conducted through German but the staff did make an effort to inlcude our boys. The pool areas are very nice and because the hotel is adjacent to the beach it is easy to get a sunbed at any time of the day.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms in bungalows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Read Review from Leicester chap, but being a Loughborough lad, I had an education, so German was no problem. The hotel was well suited to my disabled wife - wheelchair access would not be a problem. Adapted room was excellent and clean. Restaurant was good, but given that the hotel manager was Dutch, I was suprised there were no chocolate spriklies by the ice cream. The Hotel has pretty well everything you could want including a shop, bars, 3 pools, Library etc. I had a medical emergency, which was handled superbly. After prompt treatment by the Hotel Doctor, I finished up in the Health Centre in Morro Jable, which was fine. On our last night Schalke 04 Gelsenkirchen beat Inter Milan 5-2. The atmosphere in the excellent TV lounge was electric. Other guests were kind and considerate, when I was moving around with my white stick. The bus to the wonderful beach only runs once a day in each direction, but it's not far to walk. Despite the signs there is no Pharmacy in the resort. Tthere appear to be no shops/bars in the vicinity of the hotel, apart from 2 bar/restaurants on the beach. The beach toilets are 1st rate. Taking a bus or Taxi to Jandia on Thursday (Market Day) is worthwhile.

Room Tip: Lovely hotel, disabled friendly, German speaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loughborough-Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaukkala
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

If you are looking for a little quiet hotel located close to restaurants, night clubs and stores, you will be disappointed. But if you are looking for an AI resort that can serve as a base for your Fuerteventura beach vacation, this hotel may be a good choice - at least if you do not mind that practically all the guests are German and the main language on the property is German.

We just got back from a week there and we pretty much knew where we were going to - we spent the same week last year at the Iberostar (about 2 km from this) - and we did read the reviews here. So we had our expectations set right. There were some surprises, though.

The first one was that we (parents + kids age 12, 16 and 18) had booked (and paid for) two bungalow rooms and actually got a whole bungalow (4 rooms) - four bedrooms + bathrooms and two living rooms. The rooms are good, beds really comfortable (120 cm wide) and kept very clean. As we had the whole bungalow, all the possible noise was home made. The main building did not look too great - long corridors etc. I do not know how the rooms are there.

The located is nicely built on a hill - I estimate that the top rooms may be 12 stories higher than the ones closest to the beach entrance. Our bungalow was located on the high end of the property and it took 10 minutes to walk (not slowly) to the beach, almost half of that in the garden of the hotel. We took that walk only as a plus to compensate for all the food we ate, but some may take this as a minus.

We were prepared that the hotel may be fully booked (the situation in Arabic countries diverting tourists to Canary Islands) and that we may have to queue to dinners etc. I do not know how full the hotel was but everything worked fine. On two nights we had to wait a minute for them to clean a table but had we been a party of max 4 persons there would have been tables ready. There also were always sun beds available by the pool.

When it comes to food, you have to compare it with AI hotels. During the last 10 years we have stayed in 8 different 4 star AI hotels in 6 countries. And our conclusion is that the buffet here may be the best of these - food is great, lot of variety, different themes each night etc. The only thing that was missing was a'la carte option. They have one restaurant but it is open only on Fri and Sat nights and our vacation was from Friday to Friday - when we thought about anything but buffet, it was too late. I am not even sure if that was included in the AI plan.

Some odd remarks:
-- Being an exercise maniac and an early riser, I liked the opening hours of the (not very good) gym. It opens at 7am so you can go there before breakfast, after jogging on the beach (with a head light as it was dark before 7).
-- Coming from the home land of the sauna and owning two saunas ourselves, we found the sauna a little odd (but relaxing). Particularly, the heater located under the seats with only a funnel attached to the wall for water was not a usual thing. I actuallly sat on the top of the heater and thought that I had gotten a serious sun burn on my back side.
-- The staff is really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JariAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.1 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
1.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Esquinzo Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 mi away
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
#7 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 13 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura

Property: Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura
Address: Urbanizacion Butihondo, Calle Gran Canaria, 8 | Urb. Butihondo, Pajara, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular hotel, extensively embellished in summer 2008, is located in the southern part of the island, in close vicinity to the kilometer-long sandy beaches of Jandia. Situated on a hill overlooking the sea, the hotel is nestled among a 53.000sqm subtropical garden. Besides 300 comfortable rooms and suites, there are 42 family friendly bungalows, with 2 bedrooms each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura Playa De Jandia
Esquinzo Beach Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing