We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomas Cook Average!”
Review of HD Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HD Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. Generally a nice hotel with good services but wouldn't rate it 4 star. The food was of a good standard but got a bit samey after a while. The entertainment crew were excellent for effort, there is however a very German/French feel to this hotel. The inclusive drinks are very limited in choice with only one option on the wine and beer, and the white wine is not a very good standard. We were the first customers Thomas Cook had placed in this hotel as it was new to them. The rep didn't know very much about it and hadn't done her research on checking out procedure (i.e,where we could get changed at the end of the day etc) spa costs, didn't even know what the weather was doing that day, not good considering you are there to assist people who are interested what the weather is doing as they are on holiday!!

It is an extra 5 euros a day to use the spa and we felt this should have been included in the package really, as it didn't seem to be that busy. Wifi is available but the reception is really weak, so you can only pick it up if lucky in the reception area.

Costa Tequise does have a nice feel about the place and the couple of times we ate out the food was excellent and reasonably priced. We almost wished we weren't all inclusive.

We would go back to Costa Tequise but would probably try to stay next door in the Sand Beach hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLowG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks AI.

Wonderful facilities, huge apartments, great sports pitches especially the tennis. the cleaning staff work so hard and keep the hotel so clean it is incredible.

The animation team wonderful and friendly and can speak a little English however evening entertainment does tend to be in German with little cross over. There is no separate bar area for adults and if you want any alcoholic beverages at the main pool you have to go down stairs and fetch them back up.

Labels itself as all inclusive but limited alcoholic drinks available and you also have to ay for some food at certain times of the day. Bar staff very poor mainly because there was never enough staff on. Waiting staff in the restaurant poor some of the younger ones felt nothing of reaching across the table and removing empty plates whilst my partner and I were in conversation there by cutting the discussion of. Very little interaction with the waiting staff even when we were conversing in Spanish. Ended up spending more money outside in bars than we had expected which was entirely down to the poor service.

There is no ability to have any decent leisurely snacks through the day all the dining takes place in the 'formal' restaurant and does get tedious after a while. The quality of the food was generally of an OK standard with some exceptions being excellent but other (Chinese) being very poor

Would we return to Costa Tegusie YES would we go back to HD resorts NO even at a lower price

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent 2 weeks here in October as a couple and had a wonderful time. We needed to get away to chill out and relax and that is what we did. The hotel is lovely and recently refurbished so everything was modern and clean cut and the room was a lovely big size with nice new decor and furniture and nice bathroom too-much nicer than some hotels that are a bit tired. The staff were all really friendly and helpful-special mention to the animation team who although we didn't really take part in the activities when we got chatting to them were really lovely people and the fact that they loved their jobs showed! A really great team and did a great job. If you have children they always seemed to be doing lots of fun things with them and the hotel certainly catered well for families!

The food was yummy and although sometimes the selection was a little random most nights it was great-BBQ, Mexican, Chinese, canarian, Italian...lots of seafood and meat and vegetables too. One of the best all inclusives we have experienced for the food. I'm not a fussy eater and love to try new things so I'm pretty easy going and try to avoid meat and potato style English meals when I'm on holiday so it ticked that box for me. On the other hand my fiancé is a little fussier then I am but there was nearly always something he liked and he particularly like the fajitas and pork tenderloin!

The location was good-on the beach, easy walking distance to the shops and town and other beaches. The pool area (the top pool) was great-always got sun loungers with a view out to sea and an umbrella and it was a nice relaxed vibe up there-we avoided uk half term! The only thing I would say is a bar up there for a mid morning coffee and afternoon drink would have been a nice idea but it's really not that far away really it would just be extra nice :) the spa was very nice and a really nice way to end the day before going to get showered for dinner when the sun had gone down! A must if you do choose this hotel!

Overall it is a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We were 257 and looked over the pool and had a sea view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LoveLuxury00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is an excellent all-inclusive hotel.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly, from check-in, through to waiters and bar staff, through to cleaning staff and Animation team.

The rooms are spot-less, being cleaned & made up every day. We stayed in a junior suite which included, fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster and coffee perculator and flat-screen TV. There is also plenty of wardrobe space. There is also a safe in each room but to use these costs 18euros.

The pool area is big with plenty of sunbeds and is regularly cleaned throughout the day. There is also a lifeguard on duty between 10:00 & 18:00

We found the food to be excellent, it is a buffet service and the choice is huge. Breakfasts consist of cereals, continental, omelettes and "English breakfast" (sausage, fried egg, scambled egg, bacon etc). Lunches & dinner was normally at least two fish dishes, two chicken dishes, and various pork, veal, beef dishes. Chips were also on the menu, along with at least two other potato dishes,, various vegetables and pasta dishes. There was also a huge salad selection. Sweets consist of various cakes and also fresh fruit. For the kids there are chicken nuggets, pizza and more. We did not get to the Italian restaurant in the hotel.

You will not go hungry in this hotel.

The drinks are the standard A/I drinks including local beer, wines cocktails & "local spirits" These were all surprisingly drinkable.

In addition, there are the usual soft drinks, cola, fruit juices, still/sparkling water and a coffee machine serving various types of hot drinks.

The entertainment team are mostly German, but all speak very good English, everything is said in German Spanish & English. They work hard to entertain everyone, although the evening shows might be considered a bit naff if you're staying with kids over the age of 12. (The "comedy show" was hilarious for perhaps the wrong reasons but entertaining none the less). There are a number of excellent bars & restaurants within walking distance if the evening cabaret gets too much.

There is also a Spa & fitness area which is also nice to relax in or if the wind does become a little too strong (we went end of Oct)

The hotel does have wifi but it only works in the reception area and is very intermittent.

All in all, we're glad we stayed in this hotel, 2 adults and 18 & 15 year old girls and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: A junior suite overlooking the pool, (1st floor rooms upto 174 have a patio area where its possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was stylish and we choose to go here due to it's great location(seafront) and it looked modern and funky. We were looking for a quite, relaxing short sunshine break. First things first both me and my partner run online business's and after checking with the travel agent and hotel were assured we would have access to wifi throughout the hotel. This was not the case. You cannot get a signal throughout the hotel and believe me we tried, which resulted in £50 just in internet charges so we had access. We went to reception on several occasions to ask them about this and were just fobbed off that it had been reactivated and to try again. Also the table on our patio was wobbly which resulted in our ipad been knocked over and smashed. Apart from that well, I think it's very unfair that people have commented on the hotel been full of germans. I don't think we were treated any differently and this didn't affect our holiday whatsever. The pool area and spa area are clean and relaxing, the staff apart from the internet problem were friendly and helpful and the food was great. My partner wasn't so thrilled with the food as he's hard to please but he loved the italian style restaurant we dined in at the hotel one night. Food was fresh and they mixed it up with different themed nights. If I had to choose I would give this hotel a 3 out of 5. Great hotel but the lack of wifi ruined it for us unfortunately. We were also told we would get a sea view which also turned out that our travel agent had only requested this and as we had not paid extra had to make do with the view of the tennis court!! One more thing to note, if you like to keep fit don't forget your trainers the hotel offers a great fitness timetable, volleyball court and I even tried abit of aqua fitness after a few cocktails which was fun!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

After arriving at the hotel at 9pm we were greeted by the gentleman on reception asking would we like the good news or the bad news! The bad news...our room had been overbooked but the good news was we were being upgraded to use all the water sports & spa for free! We were told to speak to them the following day for more info on the upgrade & the compensation we would be offered.
We had to stay at the beatriz for the 1st night which despite being told it was the same standard it was far from it. Fine if u like floral bed sheets & grotty carpets! We missed dinner there which ended at 9.30 so decided to make the most of the all inclusive drinks whilst we were there.
The next morning we took our bags to the HD & went for a walk whilst we waited for our room. A day of our holiday lost as we couldn't get into our room til 2 so had to wander around with most of our personal belongings as we weren't offered a room to look them away in!
Once we got to our room it was of a high standard with a lovely view of the sea. As previously mentioned the bedrooms are so dark u do struggle u tell what time it is in the mornings.
The food was good but not always hot.
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly although when we spoke to reception on our first morning to sort out the first night overbooking we were told very firmly there was no compensation & all we would be getting was an upgrade to use the water sports & spa! Great if u like those kind of things but neither are anything that we would use! Certainly left a bad taste in the mouth after that!
If our holiday had gone to plan I wouldn't hesitate to give the hotel 4-5 as apart from the shambles at the start it was a pleasant hotel.
I'm not sure i would return as the first couple of days of our holiday were spoilt & I wouldn't want to risk that again. If the other hotels in the chain are of a similar standard I may look into those next time.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lovjm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend from 17th - 26th September. The hotel was quiet due to the time of year but there was still enough people to create a good atmosphere. We were looking for a relaxing break in nice surroundings and this is exactly what we found.

Everything about the hotel (room, food and facilities) were of a very high standard with all the hotel grounds maintained to an excellent condition. We went on an all inclusive basis and found ourselves spoilt for choice when it came to deciding what to eat at each mealtime. All the food was freshly made each day and ranged from pasta dishes to various types of meat and fresh fish. The Italian restaurant is well worth a visit but please note you have to book and you can only visit once.

As has been mentioned in previous reviews this hotel is affiliated with a German tour operator, 1 2 Fly and the entertainment team were predominantly German or French but spoke excellent English and always went out of their way to make us feel included in all activities. We also took advantage of the extra all inclusive perks the hotel offers including hiring kayaks and mountain bikes. Special mention to the sports co-ordinators Sebastian, Cousee and Jacquie who really went the extra mile and are an absolute credit to their company.

During our stay we took a mountain bike tour with a local guy called Harry who is connected with the hotel. A file detailing his services and contact details can be found in the reception area. We really enjoyed the afternoon spent with Harry who was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the island and explained in detail the agricultural industry existing today. These tours are a must if you are a regular mountain biker or even if you are new to the sport and just fancy trying something different.

We only left the hotel for one night after meeting some friends and we came across a great bar run by two Brits. The 'Lively Lady Lounge' puts on a drag queen act 5 nights a week and then carries on into the early hours with karaoke. It was a popular place as the entertainment was hilarious and done in a tasteful manner. The owners (and stars of the show) were very friendly and helped make it a night to remember! (make of that what you will!)

In short, if your considering this hotel, don't think twice you won't regret it! I'd go back tomorrow.

Happy holidays.

Room Tip: I would recommend either a pool or sea view. We were in 105 which was a ground floor room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,729 reviews
22.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HD Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HD Beach Resort

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £129 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HD Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HD Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HD Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing