We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is still an awful smell.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

First of all let me get the subject of the smell of sewage/drains in the restaurant out the way. Yes it is still there and yes you can still smell it, however sometimes it is stronger than others and it does depend on where you sit in the restaurant. Our room was not ready when we checked in but we anticipated this as it was before 1400hrs but we were immediately given our all inclusive bands and were told the restaurant and pool side bars were ours to use whilst we waited until 1400hrs. The food in the restaurant is quite varied and and was always hot, we go on three all inclusive holidays a year and normally go to hotels with a better rating (4 star) than this and we have had worse food than this in those sort of hotels. The poolside bar at lunchtimes does not have much accept hot dogs and burgers which means that you have to go down to the restaurant if you want more. The poolside bar is also the place that you get your drinks throughout the day and my only complaint with this was that the cups were the type that you would get out of a vending machine and were very small, it just means that you have to fill it up more often!. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. The entertainment staff throughout the day were good and on the nightime it was the standard stuff that you always get, bird shows, parrot shows, spanish singers etc etc. Our room was very compact but also very modern. My wife did not like the fact that there was no mirror in the room for her to use whilst getting ready and the one provided in the bathroom was of course steamed up. Our room was not cleaned one day and when I complained at reception I was given no apology but was told that they would call the maid service. When we returned to the room all that they had done was put some fresh towels in the bathroom, I was not worried about the cleaning or making the bed but we did not even have toilet roll and had to get some from my sons room. Apart from this minor hick up the maid service standards were spot on. The big problem that we had with our room is that we were in the block above the restaurant and the room absolutely stung of drains/sewage as did my sons next door.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is 20ft away from the beach and is surrounded by good bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to somebody if they got it at the right price but would tell them to stay away from block 4. I fill that this hotel would be so much better without the smell although I know the hotel is doing its best to eliminate this. Would I stay again? Well I came to this hotel 3 times 10yrs ago when it was the Puerto Tahiche so yes I would come
again, if only for the location.

Room Tip: DO NOT go to the block above the restaurant as there is an awful smell. From what I saw the ground f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Jon, thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays and were satisfied with the food we offer, the cleanliness of the hotel and our friendly staff. We are sorry there was a problem with the maid service one day and will be sure to investigate further on this incident. The smell issue is being addressed by us and has highest priority to us. We apologize that you were affected by it and hope it will be resolved before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,466)
There are newer reviews for Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the Luabay 17th 24th Oct .The Luabay is a lovely hotel , friendly staff .good central location, very clean , food varied ate out couple of times .Definately will return if you just want to chill out go for walks read a book this is ideal .Overall good holiday in a good hotel .Would recommend the Luabay .

Room Tip: Seaview well worth extra beautiful in morning to see the sun and sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Elizabeth, thank you for being our guests and for sharing your feedback on here. We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays to the fullest and were satisfied with our staff’s friendliness, the food we offer and the overall cleanliness of our hotel. Your praise will be shared with the team and we hope we can welcome you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel room was excellent looking out over lovely beach, was very windy here in Costa Teguise and the wierd thing about the weather is it can be cloudy in the morning but the sun breaks through without fail at lunch time. Great holiday, felt safe as a single mum with my 2 girls. :)

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stead here in the beginning of April this year for our 25th anniversary, the hotel/room was clean, the food was brill, the staff were very happy, helpful and friendly. We were upgraded when the staff realised it was for our anniversary which i thought was extremely nice of them. Will be going here again (hopefully) in a few years time. Would like to explore more of the island first though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and i spent two weeks here in September. Do not normally bother with reviews because if we do not like it we just do not return . However, feel strongly that with a few tweaks this place could be so much better . We were upgraded to a superior room and it was comfortable and spotless. The staff are smiley and friendly without being intrusive. The relatively new Entertainment Team headed by Daniel worked hard and kept us amused. Give Daniel a bigger team and i think the entertainment would be even better under his management. He is very talented. Like most of the reviews here i did not think much of the food. It was repetitive and boring and, i am not a huge foodie person. On the plus side, you will not go hungry and we did not get the dreaded " delly belly ". Management - You need to open the pool bar at night . Climbing steep stairs to get a drink and no other option but to do so is not good. People with children and the elderly or disabled seem to be forgotten here.Forget the "Theme Nights" in the pool bar, (it is like dining in a canteen and does not have any atmosphere) incorporate them into the Restaurant and/or get a more creative chef in to produce better food. Let us have a drink there in the evening and increase the seating area outside .Oh and guys do not be put off by the smell it really is not that bad, not the Hotel's fault and the fact that the place is so clean helped me to ignore it. Finally i loved the surrounding area and will be returning to Lanzarote . I would return to this Hotel if they make some changes so, i will be watching this space.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Lynn, thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It is great to know that overall you had a lovely time and were satisfied with our staff’s friendliness, your room and the cleanliness of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your taste with the food we offer in our restaurant. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for giving suggestions what would improve your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to pass your comments about the food, the pool bar and general outside seating to the corresponding department and hope we can surprise you with some changes on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our first visit and hopefully it will NOT be our last. The hotel is perfectly placed with a 10 second walk to a beautiful sandy beach which is cleared of sea weed every morning. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff there are so friendly. The food was always cooked to perfection and the choice was more than adequate. If there was nothing there that you liked to eat...then you dont like food ! PLEASE DO NOT WORRY ABOUT " THE SMELL"...it`s a very brief whiff of drains when you go down the stairs to the restaurant and its not over-powering. We spent all week lying on the beach as that`s what we prefer to do, but the pool area looked clean and relaxing as well if you just want to stay and chat and make friends.Some of the evening entertainment was not our cup of tea, but it`s each to their own. Don`t be put off by negative comments about this hotel because there is no pleasing some people !...We had a perfect weeks holiday and we`re already looking to go back there again in 2014. Perfect hotel, perfect staff, perfect place.

Room Tip: send them an email requesting 1st or 2nd floor beach view room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Craig, thank you so much for being our guests and your very kind words. We appreciate your feedback and are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Your praise for the cleanliness, our staff’s friendliness and the food we offer in our restaurant will be shared with the team. It would be a really great pleasure if we could welcome you to our hotel again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from another wonderful holiday at the Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel in Costa Tequise (13th - 20th October 2013). All the staff are so friendly they just add to the holiday and make it that extra special. Its in a good location, the room was lovely, food was varied and very good and literally everything was included in this all inclusive - no extras at all. They even provide you with bottles of water to keep in the fridge in your room. They've also got towels available to use by the pool or on the beach and all you pay is a returnable deposit. I can't praise this hotel and its staff enough and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay. It is great to know that you were satisfied with every detail of your holiday and enjoyed a great time at our hotel. We would be very delighted if we could welcome you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £96 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing