We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bueno, for The Beach House”
other travellers have booked this property
The Beach House lounge and solar heated private plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach House lounge and solar heated private plunge pool
The Beach House solar heated private plunge pool The Beach House Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Beach House lounge and solar heated private plunge pool
The Beach House solar heated private plunge pool
The Beach House Lounge
The Beach House Master Bedroom
The Beach House Twin Bedroom
The Beach House Bathroom
En-Suite Shower Room
Interior view from the stairs
The Beach House  roof terrace with sea views
Sea View from The Beach House Terrace
Sea View from The Beach House Terrace
Path to Las Cucharas Beach
Las Cucharas beach, just outside of the Beach House
Arrieta beach, 20 minutes drive from the Beach House
Famara beach, perfect for practicing your surfing and kite-surfing. Around 20 minutes driving.
Arrecife old town, perfect for an evening stroll with many tapas restaurants. 15 minutes drive.
Stunning cactus garden in Guatiza. From the Beach House it's a 20 minute drive.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna-Loui...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bueno, for The Beach House”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We often go away and hire a car and buzz around Lanzarote but this time we only had a short break, were exhausted from a particularly busy time at work and really just need to RELAX!
Cue, The Beach House. It's in a great location, set back from the road in Costa Teguise resort and the beach is so close, I often went flip flopless! Because everything is in walking distance we didn't bother with a car on this occasion, which of course meant a couple of indulgent Sangrias here and there.
The Beach House itself is clean and airy and to the children's delight (and ours - because it kept them entertained for hours) it had its own pool. The roof terrace is a great way to utilise the year round sunshine, and you can hear the waves crashing on the shore as you sip your iced tea. Or sangria. Again.
It was roomy enough for all of our clothes/gaming equipment/books and the bathroom was large enough that we weren't tripping over each other.
As usual, Michelle and Tila sorted our transfers which once again came with chilled bubbles (there's an alcohol theme here). You can also order groceries on arrival, or choose from a host of shops close by.
With a BBQ and excellent kitchen we mixed relaxed cooking in the villa with lunches or evenings eating out. There are loads of fabulous restaurants and local tapas bars where you can eat and drink for under 10 Euros a head.
Lanzarote Retreats accommodation never fails to impress, and it certainly didn't on this occasion.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our holiday home.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Team Lanzarote Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“‘OVERATED, OVERPRICED AND CYNICALLY MISREPRESENTED AS SOMETHING IT PATENTLY IS NOT’”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This property is advertised as a “luxury villa” but there is absolutely nothing luxurious about it, other than that it is priced in the luxury property band (ie over €1,000 a week).We booked for a week, although only intending to stay for 3 or 4 nights, and accepted that a condition of booking entailed we had to pay for the full week. Notwithstanding owner photographic representations may give a false impressions of size by use of a wide angle lens and that the best features will usually be photographed from the optimum angle, and that prospective renters should be alert to that, we did expect the property to live up to at least some of its marketing hype. It did not. It was scruffy, inadequately maintained and overall poorly cleaned. It was anything but luxurious.

On arrival (on 25th December) we were met by an infestation of cockroaches and notwithstanding chemical traps were scattered around the property (a potential danger for children) they were patently inadequate and the place was in need of fumigation (in this regard we echo the remarks of GREG N from Lincoln and his review of 8th February 2012.) A washer/filter in the tap in the upstairs bathroom had disintegrated therefore there was no water; the dishwasher did not work; there was limited lighting (as bulbs which tenants the previous month had stated in the ‘remarks’ book were not working had still not been replaced); the coffee percolator had the mouldy remains of the previous tenants’ ground coffee welded to its interior and in the ‘master bedroom’ a used condom had been left under the bed (and an unused one in the bedside cabinet).

Everything about the property was shabby, unkempt and downmarket. As our photographs show paint/distemper on the whitewashed walls inside and out was peeling; the dead yucca referred to by Liz C of Glasgow on 14th March 2012 appeared not to have been removed and another houseplant (possibly a Spathiphyllum Chopin [Araceae] or ‘peace lily’) was in the last throes of life; the trap in the upstairs bathroom was not screwed down leaving not only a dirty surface but a jagged tile edge that could have caused a nasty cut; the shower floor was cracked, dirty and in need of grouting and sealant around the door to prevent leakage of water on to the remainder of the bathroom floor; there was a small damp patch on the upstairs bedroom ceiling; a chunk of plaster missing where walls met the timber roof; peeling/flaking paintwork and that room had no hanging space whatsoever – just one small chest of drawers and 2 small bedside tables.

The twin bedded downstairs was little better and the bathroom adjacent to that, though large and well-designed had simply not been adequately finished and maintained (for example the bath’s wooden surround was in need of a coat of varnish).

The courtyard area – largely taken up by an outsize jacuzzi or ‘plunge pool’ with only a very narrow ledge around three sides of it and less than a square metre of space on the 4th side under the fire escape steps leading to the roof terrace, had room only for one semi-reclining seat and (for some inexplicable reason) a plastic palm tree; the area was extremely uninviting not least as the high walls entailed the sun simply did not reach this area ( as described in Liz C’s review).

The very small roof terrace accessible by a steep fire escape staircase (unsuitable for very young, the elderly or those with any mobility issues) was adequate insofar as there was a small table, seating for 4 and two loungers albeit this area also was very poorly finished and in need of a clean – and would be very cramped for use by 4 adults. Also in this area were to be found a small cheap and lopsided rusty metal barbeque and a very dirty collapsed clothes horse (of little use even after cleaning as there were no clothes pegs to be found there or anywhere in the property and due to the windy nature of this coast any washing not secured by clothes pegs was likely to end up on a neighbouring roof or further down the coast!) The view from the roof terrace had little to commend it, being predominately of the adjoining properties roofs, heat exchangers, TV aerials and satellite dishes.

Everything about this ‘luxury’ property was cheap, nasty and shoddy with an absence of any luxurious features or facilities (eg there was not even any wifi) and even the basic features and facilities were of poor quality. For example the beds had uncomfortable foam mattresses; the bed linen was cheap with the lowest possible threadcount, the duvets were polyester and clearly designed to be disposable after limited use, towels were limited in number and though serviceable were far from being in the luxury category. With a little work, particularly on finish, this small property (better described as an apartment, given it abutted other properties on 3 sides and thus was inaccurately described as a “villa”) could be made adequate for the ‘budget’ market. The kitchen area is reasonable (appeared to be little used and in fairness was well cleaned, as were the toilets) and an effort had been made to make the downstairs lounge/dining and kitchen area reasonably attractive with use of marble tiling and some natural stone – but this property is not and is unlikely ever to be made ‘luxurious’. It is too cramped and lacking in facilities and finish for that. It would be suitable for backpackers and those on budget holidays – but not for people looking for even a tiny bit of luxury – or even the sort of standard you would expect from a Premier Inn or a Travelodge.

As found by reviewer GREG N of Lincoln any attempt to engage with the proprietor/company director is futile; although he (Tila Braddock) made the effort to come to the property after a complaint had been made to the staff in the office, he appeared to believe we too could be ‘bought off’ by a cheap bottle of Cava, the promise that a bunch of flowers had been delivered to a UK address (which in the event never arrived) and the offer of a 20% discount if we booked another property on the Lanzarote Retreats books (an offer declined!). His attitude was supercilious and arrogant and he would neither listen nor engage in any constructive dialogue – rather he preferred to blame everyone else for the defects and failings we found (even the dead yucca was blamed on chemicals in the water supply, outwith his control – although clearly neither plants in the living area had been watered in months!)

If you are looking for even a modicum of luxury – or even just an adequate and acceptable standard of accommodation for just over €1,000 a week this is a place to avoid.

Reviewed by J and L (Glasgow)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
We would like to make clear, why Linda M, & Janet Jones have added this shocking review of the Beach House. Linda and Janet had booked a 7 night stay with us. Due to bad organisation on their part, they changed their itinerary just weeks before their arrival and could only stay in the villa for 4 nights, but did not advise us of this until the last minute. It was clear to us at this late stage, that they wanted a refund on nights which they were not using as they were not going to be on the island. Not only did they want a refund for nights not used, they also did not want to pay the balance they owed for their accommodation (this is still an unpaid debt).

We would not agree to this their last minute changes as we had blocked the calendar in good will and turned away other enquiries, we clearly state on all of our terms and conditions that refunds are not given for any cancellations within one month of stay, therefore their justification for refund was to complain. The complaint issues raised are now totally different comments from the points they raised on their second day, the list changed again on their last day and now we see a new list of complaints here too.

We have rented this property for a number of years, and we pride ourselves on customer service and cleanliness. (continually 4 stars on trip advisor for this property). We were reminded on numerous occasion that Lindas profession. Linda (A barrister) threatened us, explaining that if we did not comply by offering a refund to the value of the days they were not on the Island (due to their bad organisation) that she would leave a bad report on Trip advisor. So here it is.. as promised.

Genuine issues raised such as, the dish washer was not working (it was working for the previous guest), was replaced immediately with a brand new one, on the same day along with a new coffee machine. (Points which Linda has conveniently forgotten to mention in her review) As far as we were concerned we had solved the problems completely. A member of staff even went to visit them that same afternoon to check everything was ok. Linda did point out a patch of paint that needed touching up in a corner by pool which we offered to do immediately but she refused, (obviously she wanted to get a photo for her Trip advisor review) this patch was treated and re-painted as soon as the guests left.

One example of their many un-truths which anyone can see clearly, is her comment about a wide angle lens used to represent the property in our advertising. The photos of the Beach House were in fact taken with an iphone..

Without going in to all the other fictitious, unjustifiable, and totally unfair comments they have left on this review, please judge our property from other guest reviews, the majority of which have enjoyed their holidays at our Beach House. We have since removed the plants and have touched in the areas which in all fairness need to be taken care of, this is something we would do every 3-6 months, and we always ask our guests to provide feedback which we will act on.

It is unfair to use Trip Advisor as a means to get what you want from villa owners, and constantly using your profession as a Barrister to this same effect is neither professional or acceptable. May I also add that shouting in the title of the review is against Trip advisor guidelines, I am quite surprised that this was not noted by the team? Beware other villa owners of renting to these people with this agenda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspired...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, Self contained, spotless house for wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in The Beach House. Everybody at Lanzarote Retreats looked after us and particularly Heidi who ensured we had everything we needed for a perfect holiday with our young son.

The Beach House is ideal for 3 or 4 people and is well equipped for a self catering holiday (although we ate out at the great local restaurants most evenings!)

We were looking for a holiday home from home and this provided us with exactly what we needed including the ability to cook and wash clothes if we needed to.

Our son loved having his own pool and made use of it every day.

The beds were very comfortable and the lovely hot, powerful showers were wonderful.

The fact that the house is only 100m from the beach was a great selling point for us and our son. It gave us great flexibility with our day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to enter this review, we appreciate your time and effort. Hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes.
Lanzarote retreats team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Beach House Costa Teguise, Spain”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed here, in the Beach House, Costa Teguise, and had a great holiday. Would definitely use Michelle et al again. The Beach house was functional and clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: Coming home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review.
Best wishes from
The Lanzarote Retreats team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveeatin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice house, good location, superb management team”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

All our dealings with this company, from booking the house to arrival instructions (beware though as the taxi driver could not find the property when we arrived..!), advice during our stay and arranging a departure taxi (for a horribly early Ryanair flight) was excellent - you couldn't fault this company in any way. Michelle & Tila, Sarah and the team were so incredibly helpful and accommodating. The location of the house right near the beach, night life and supermarkets was good - everything walkable, including the bus stops for buses to other parts of the island. Our only weeny niggles were that the house was a little cold in the evening (Jan/Feb) and no heating was available (we had to steal the duvets from the second bedroom for night time!). We also felt that the property could do with a little bit of TLC here and there. Don't look too closely at the upstairs double bed mattress - it should really be replaced..! There was no space to hang clothes in the upstairs bedroom so it meant either living out of a suitcase during our 2 week stay or hanging everything from the curtain rails (which I did..!). We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace which was fairly sheltered from the constant winds, but could have done with a little shade up there now and then. We were not so keen on the splash pool, which we didn't use and which we felt used up seating area outside - but of course if you have kids (it's not an adult pool) it would be ideal. Sometimes, sitting in the lounge, we felt as though we were at the bottom of a stairwell looking up at the sky - there are no views from the lounge area - just a brick wall and a fire escape type staircase to look at - a bit cell-like. Kitchen cooker wasn't very good for cooking anything properly - the halogen rings didn't really work & some of the pots and pans could do with replacing. In all honesty, we didn't really take to Costa Teguise and for this reason we wouldn't return here. Having been able to take a look at the nearby apartment that this holiday company also have to rent, we would have been better off staying there simply because the huge balcony gives great views when you are relaxing at home in the morning or late evening (although again it could do with a little TLC - and it is set above a commercial centre (being a former office) which might put some off). It does however have the benefit of WiFi which we missed in the Beach House, and better privacy, being less overlooked by neighbouring houses. All in all, we would give this holiday an overall 3 star rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Layout of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Thank you for this review, it has been extremely helpful. We have recently had a look at the house again to see where we can improve, and there are a few points which you have raised which I will action in the coming week..There is a new wardrobe going into the master bedroom, the mattress has already been replaced and we are looking at making the terrace less minimal in style as perhaps when adults are staying with out children they like it a as view rather than using it as a splash pool which is what it is intended to be. Your points are very valid and helpful for us. Its great to see trip advisor being used properly and as intended, well done!
we hope to see you again, perhaps at another location.
Best wishes
Lanzarote Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiddlingf...
Kilkenny
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

I had seen The Beach House a few years ago on No Frontiers an RTE holiday programme and it had been in my mind to stay there since.
The Beach House is in a perfect location in the middle of Costa Teguise about 1 min walk from Las Cucharas beach. None of the hotels or apartments are as near.
On our first night as we walked around we found Number One bar which we ended up going to most nights. Excellent cocktails there and Happy Hour 2 for the price of 1 between 8pm and 9pm.
Costa Teguise is perfect if you want a quieter sun holiday as there is no strip with loud music and night clubs.
I loved The Beach House and especially the little pool and the sun terrace. The only negative was the sign up saying not to use the pool area after 7:30pm. It said it was because the neighbours have young children but on a few occasions we were kept awake at night by the neighbours playing loud music and trying to sing so I don't see how sitting in the pool after 7:30pm could cause noise.
Apart from that I loved everything about The Beach House and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not being able to use pool after 7:30pm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
businesst...
London.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location property managed by a great team.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Location: Literally 100 metres from the beach. Management office also less than 100 metres away. Lots of choice of restaurants and bars and walking distance (with bags) decent supermarket.
Property: Very nice but not 5 star. So if you want 5 star luxury you'll need to rent a private villa in the grounds of the Gran Melia Salinas hotel, but expect to pay at least 5 times the price and even then there seems to be a number of less than favourable reports.
During our stay the wind was quite strong and so on a few days rather than brave the beach we used the roof terrace which provided an ideal and quiet windless suntrap.
Due to unusually cool weather we didn't use the small splash pool, but I suspect in warmer weather it would be a great bonus.
Be aware that if using both bedrooms there is only hanging wardrobe space in one bedroom.
Good choice of English TV channels including SKYnews.
Generally a nice property in a great safe location managed by accommodating people.
Photos are genuine, but there is now also a new leather sofa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not having a King size bed
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing