We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 Star Hotel,Great Food,Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good 4 Star Hotel,Great Food,Lovely Location”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just returned from a 10 day holiday booked through Voyage Privee .Our classic room was fine with sea view with decent storage..we took our own travel kettle ..and thank god we did.
The restaurant provided a great selection at either breakfast and dinner with everything cooked to order, plus some great Riojas to try! Seemed strange not to be greeted in the restaurant with a good morning/evening and can only say the service in there was adequate..not up to 5 star standard. The reception,cleaners and bar staff,especially Sebastian were great..and they really pull the stops out. The pool area is good with comfy sunbeds,although the water was too cold too enjoy a dip whilst I was there.
You can access The Level for 20 euros each for the day, and enjoy the beatiful serene calmness of the pool area,along with free tea,coffee,cava,beer,soft drinks and snacks..well worth it. Also ask to have a look inside one of the villa/bungalows..awesome!Just need to win the lottery!!
Thank you to the hotel for putting the card and cava in our room for my wifes birthday,
Although the hotel is showing its age in some parts it was definetly good value for the money.
They are over the next 5 years refurbishing the more antiquated parts.By and large a good 4 star hotel with great food and in a lovely location.
Will certainly be back

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd or 4th floors, better views without trees blocking your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddyjacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    1,006
    466
    160
    95
See reviews for
459
2,084
128
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just had a weeks stay at this hotel during May.
Friendly,clean, nice room and overall a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is 5 star all except the restaurant , which I would only suggest a 4 star rating. We were adequately fed but it just lacked that final "edge".
However, we would return, as the plus points far outweigh my one negative point.
Give it a try, we were pleased that we did.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

As I think alot of other reviews state, this is definately not a five star hotel it is however a lovely four star hotel. There is a private area which is restricted access unless your 'level 5' or something which im sure is luxurious. The room was basic but clean and had everything you would need apart from tea making facilities, but the balcony was great, the way they are built no one is overlooking your balcony and they are very private. We were half board and the food was good, lots of choice. The day we were leaving we were on a late flight and we were allowed to stay in our room until evening at no extra cost which was nice. Unfortunately the weather was very windy and cold at times, apparently April is a bad time to visit weather wise! Also treated myself to a facial at the hotel spa, although not cheap, it was lovely one of the best facials I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boogieIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Wanted a quick getaway for a week in the sun and got just that. Hotel fantastic OK maybe not 5* regarding decor which is a little warn here and there but definately 5* for food, location and a relaxing break. Our room was a basic one with a lovely patio facing the sea we decided not to upgrade as we knew we wouldnt be spending alot of time in the room and the beds were comfy, fridge, hairdryer, bathrobes, safe everything you needed so no need to upgrade. Beautiful hotel, location brillant there is a lovely promenade walk in the evening which takes you to the bars on the front and a short walk to the square where you will find lovely restaurants and bars and open air entertainment every night. We wanted a week of total relaxation and that is just what we got. Thank you Gran Melia

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing so only upgrade if you want the extra comfort of space and the use of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maryGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Gran Melia Salinas is well situated right on the beach front of Costa Teguise on Lannzarote. It is an easy walk to the centre of the Costa Teguise resort where you will find restaurants and bars to suit all tastes. The easiest way is either out of the main entrance to the hotel or along a path that joins the beach at the back of the hotel....if you are of an older disposition and a bit unsure on your feet go via the front as the step down on to the beach may be a bit awkward.

The facilities at the hotel are just as you would expect from a 5* Melia. The pool is very well laid but somewhat cold! It was generally quiet around the pool with lots of sun bed availability, although this may be due to Lanzarote feeling quiet in general.

Some may say that the hotel is feeling a bit tired in the rooms - this is not an unfair comment, however fact that the hotel was built (I believe) in 1977 and the current economic climate need to taken into account here. I have high standards and I was in general not disappointed with any aspect of the hotel.

The staff are excellent and very obliging. In particular Fabiola on reception was excellent in assisting me with finding my MAS Reward program id number, that I had forgotten to take, so that I would enjoy the benefit of a later check out and allocated points based on my spend at the hotel. One of the bar waiters who manned both the pool and the main bar after 2 days recognised me and knew my took number off pat (I am sorry I did not get his name to give him a mention, but he shorter than the others, has a full head of greyish hair and a smile for everyone!) - it is little touches like this that help make a holiday that bit more special.

Breakfast was superb! There is something for all tastes and nationalities from fresh fruit, cold hams and cheeses, freshly made omelettes, bacon and sausage, churros and cava! No 2 days were the same for me!

The reason I have not given 5 out of 5 is due to:
WiFi not being available in the room - only in public areas
The maid was not too diligent in her room cleaning duties - could have been a bit better
Not great on the room aircon front

We did not dine at the hotel other than breakfast and using the pool bar for drinks and the odd lunch (which was pricey but good).

Evening entertainment was varied - we generally caught the last 1/2 hour - the Sax player and the Mowtown tribute act are 2 to look out for.

If you are heading to Lanzarote then the Gran Melia Salinas is definitely a hotel to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the pool as they would probably be quieter at peak times. Ours look over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotchef1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Booked through Voyage Prive,Gran Melia is in our opinion a 4 star hotel,I reckon the hotel got its 5* rating based on the exclusive 'Level' restricted areas for 5* guests.Having been to Lanzarote 3 times previously it was extremely windy,we later found out we were not only in the windy season [April] but the windiest town.Facilities,pool etc were very good as was the food buffet with anything cooked fresh for you by chefs at the buffet.Staff were very good and we were allowed to keep our room on departure day till 7pm at no extra charge.Locality was a little tatty unlike Peurto Calero where we had previously stayed [Highly recommended]

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just returned from the Gran Melia Salinas after a short break, lovely hotel and surroundings we stayed on bed and breakfast basis, breakfast was lovely, all you can eat buffet, with very large choice, nice large pool, most of the staff very friendly, although some of the waiters and bar staff were a bit po faced. its about a 15 minute walk to the main restaurant area in the town, which is perfect for us as we like a small walk before and after our meal, plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: majority of rooms are sea facing, so any are good, spacious, and clean, nice comfy chairs on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,640 reviews
22.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,714 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Melia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing