We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge of Costa Taguise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“On the edge of Costa Taguise”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Good Hotel on the edge of this purpose built resort. Don't come with too high an expectation this is a Spanish island and may not be perfect in every way. Yes some painting and repairs required, but you get what you pay for. Buffet breakfast and evening meals are varied and good quality.

We stayed on B & B basis so only ate in once, plenty of choice of very good restaurants within a 10 min walk. (repair work been done on promenade and this did cause problems).

Entertainment on an evening was very good.

I would point out that this is an older hotel and therefore walls are thicker, we weren't disturbed by neighbours at all which was a bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guests,

at the beginning, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write a comment about your recent stay at out hotel Melia Salinas.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with our gastronmoy, the entertainment at night in the Onix Lounge and also with the room you were allocated in. Moreover, we are pleased to know that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your vacation with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to give you a new welcome at our hotel. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    1,024
    472
    162
    96
See reviews for
463
2,111
131
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just back from a 7 night break at Melia Salinas. As some previous reviewers have mentioned there are some areas that are looking a little tired, eg paths around the pool area, but all in all we found it to be a very friendly & comfortable hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful, the food was excellent & plentiful & much of it was cooked to order. The restaurant service did detiorate somewhat towards the end of our week as the hotel got busier & there seemed to be a lot less staff. Our room was comfortable & kept spotlessy clean. If I have to be picky the only thing I would mention is the fact that we were supplied with a kettle in the room but no tea or coffee sachets. We were informed by our rep. that we could buy a package from reception for 20 Euros a week & we would be kept supplied with these. We noticed that most people helped themselves from the breakfast buffet to take to their rooms anyway so they might aswell make them complimentary. Drinks were expensive so would recommend All Inclusive if you like a drink. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, thank you very much for taking your time to write your valuable opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with the service of our staff, our gastronomy and also with the room you were allocated in. Furthermore, we have taken note of all your comments and we have reported them to the General Manager and the head of the Departments involved, trying to improve our services for the next future. Overall, we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as guests at our hotel. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has definitely seen better days and is in need of a total refurbishment. The foyer is very impressive, with palm trees and a garden "indoors", exposed to the open air (the joys of living in a warm climate....) although the concrete construction is a bit dated (think a luxury version on 1970s multistory car parks in England).

Our room was alright. The furnishings were relatively new, and the balcony was nice, though once again the room itself could have done with redecorating.

The pool looks fantastic... from a distance. At the pool, you can tell how desperately it is in need of repainting - there is so much peeling paint, your feet are white from walking around!! And of course there's the issue of "beach towels at dawn" here, though that can be expected most places.

The breakfast was very good indeed, with a huge choice. The coffee machines (bean to cup) were excellent.

Overall, I'm sure this was once a genuine 5 star resort, though it's in need of work to return it to that standard. As things stand, a modern 4 star resort would definitely beat this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adr11iano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guests,

we would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel Melia Salinas.

After reading carefully all your comments, we have reported them to the General Manager and the head of the Departments involved, trying to improve our services for the next future. Moreover, we are glad that you were satisfied with our gastronomy and the room you were allocated in.

We wish to receive your visit in the near future here or to any of our establishments of our Chain, Meliá Hotels International. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Spent a week here in March. Its a really funky looking building in the quite quiet resort of Costa Teguise. The rooms are ok size with balconies, all facing the water and/or pool area. I would strongly suggest that if you want to avoid the screaming children you find in any hotel to upgrade to the rooms which offers you access to the Level wich is an adult pool only - soo worth the money! For us it was really woth is as there were loads of kids due to the spanish schoolholidays. Both pools are great, although a little cold, but you get used to it. Also good with beeing by the adult pool are the free snaks and not having to fight peopple for sunloungers.
We had a package deal which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the food is fabulous. Great selection and really tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess12246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a comment at tripadvisor about your last stay at the Melia Salinas.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our gastronomy and also with the pool areas, especially with our exclusive The Level part of the hotel. Furthermore, it is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as our guests here. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just back home after 4 amazing days @ the hotel. wow view from the balcony, spacious and confortable room, nice bars and restaurants, genuine warm assistance from all the staff
anything you need they were always more than happy to assist you
I had breakfast every day..great assortment ..also italian coffee was good not so easy to find in Spain..I had also 2 dinners at the Hotel restuaruant great fresh fish and local dishes very well prepared. After dinner nice music & cocktails at the bar if you do not want go out to enjoy the island nightlife
The perfect place for one week holidays and even for a short break.
The lobby is something spectacular...perfect fusion between nature & hospitality exactly the spirit of the great Cesar Manrique. For sure I will find the way to go there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bef60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write a comment at tripadvisor about your recent stay at our hotel Melia Salinas.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our gastronomy, the service of our staff and also with the room you were allocated in. Furthermore, it is a pleasure for us to hear that you have totally enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as guests at the Melia Salinas again. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Me and my partner got back from Melia 5 days ago, We enjoyed every part of our weeks holiday here..
We arrived at this hotel with our hire car and were immediately able to park in the car park (which was a good thing) , as we approached the check in desk we was given a iced tea drink by the porter which was a nice surprise after a dash from the airport.. We payed for a sea view balcony room but unfortunately when we arrived,all rooms of this type were fully booked, They told us they have to honor what we paid for so therefore they would find us an equivalent standard of room or above, they gave us our own private villa which had own small pool, patio area, sun bed and bali bed, it was just beautiful! ..thanks to the head receptionist (name began with M can't remember his name).. along with the private villa we had private access to the ''level'' only pool which was stunning!.. along with a bar that served all inclusive drinks/mini snacks, a very good branded variety of drinks was included in the all inc.
We ate in the restaurant most mornings, lunch's and evenings apart from when we was out during the day, the food is freshly cooked in front of you by the chef such as chicken ,steak,fish.. you could have it just how you wanted it! ..they had a wide variety of foods each night (i enjoyed the fajita night as they tasted amazing and were cooked in front of you).. The breakfast was nice although they had no hash browns, english sausages or large bacon rashions each morning, the bacon was mostly fat.. The desserts each night were lovely although they had nothing to go with the cakes etc like runny cream or custard only ice-cream which was in a tub and hard to get out onto your plate,other than those downsides the restaurant food was nice, The service was great! your plates were literally taken up within 2 seconds of leaving your seat to go up to get your next course, the waiters/waitresses were very friendly ,you do have to sign for each drink you get which is a bit annoying! but can't fault how much the waiters are try to help you. My partner was Spanish speaking,which was making orders and conversations a little easier with hotel staff.
The hotel itself is nice inside especially the indoor gardens and waterfall such a nice idea to set the hotel around it,had a nice few photo's here.
Had an amazing week here and would definitely return in future, thanks to all the staff for making our holiday great!

Room Tip: choose the villa! it's amazing like your own personal retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write your valuable opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas and also for recommanding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel, especially at your own Garden Villa in the exclusive The Level area. We would like to assure you that your comments have been sent to our staff, and it’s in their effort and dedication that we are able to achieve customer satisfaction.

We hope to get another opportunity to give you a new welcome in our hotel Melia Salinas. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Melia Salinas. I was worried about some of the negative reviews. It's true that the pool area needs some attention, but we loved the whole place. It is spotlessly clean. Service excellent. Food extremely good for buffet . Fresh and varied. We tried the a la carte restaurant and had a lovely evening there. We will certainly be using the melia group again and would return to the Salinas if in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guests,

we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write your opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas and also for the recommandation of our hotel.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and also with our gastronomy. Moreover, we are pleased that you have had a great time with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you as guests at the Melia Salinas again. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,731 reviews
22.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,071 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing