We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in the Melia Salinas from May 5 - 14 2014. We had a lovely holiday, we stayed B&B. The room was roomy enough and sea facing. Our room number was 109. Breakfast was plentiful and of a good variety, the cava was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel a la carte restaurant one of the nights we were there, it was an unusual menu but the food was good and the staff were very friendly. The piano music player was brillant in this restaurant. We tried a different restaurant each night in Costa Teguise and had lovely food every night. These are some of the restaurants we went to and had no compliants with any of them. El Bocadito ( very reasonably priced and lovely staff), La Chimenea ( big portions), La bohemia ( Great Steaks), El Patio ( Lovely fish). The square is a lively enough place to go to at night and has a good variety of restaurants to choose from. The Teguise market on Sundays is worth a visit, with traditional music playing in the square. We are going back in November but are staying SC because we know where everything is now. Would recommend Costa Teguise for a pleasant, relaxing, no hassel holiday resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeliaSalinas, Guest Relations Department at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mrs Joanne O,

Thank you very much for choosing the Meliá Salinas Hotel for your holidays.

It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
We will pass your comments to the staff who work in the "a la carte restaurant".
As always they try to do their best to satisfy our guests.

We hope to get another opportunity to give you another warm welcome at our hotel.

Kind regards

Fabiola Fernández
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,274)
There are newer reviews for Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 3,274 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The breakfast buffet was the best we experienced in three weeks of traveling in Spain. Very roomy, comfortable rooms. Huge gorgeous pool designed by the island's renown artist/architect. The hotel staff were responsive and professional. Although the structure is dated, all of our desired amenities were there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 523SM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeliaSalinas, Guest Relations Department at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Sarah M,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your review about your recent stay in Meliá Salinas Hotel.

We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet in our hotel.
Also we will pass your comments to our staff, as they always try do their best to satisfy our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again sometimes in the near future.

KInd regards,

Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely stay in Lanzarote. Stayed in the Melias for four nights. It was a pleasant stay, however we booked to stay in a classic room sea view, unfortunately it was very disappointing. The room was poorly maintain and was in need for paint and a deep clean. I would recommend an upgrade. We upgraded to master suite which was lovely but again it was only cleaned on the surface and needed more care. Jazzui was lovely on the balcony however because of more maintainance it let out a lot of dirt.
The pool was nice but is need of more frequent clean. If you don't mind cats you will be fine, however I hate them the good thing was they didn't bother you but looked like they need a good clean. The level one pool is nice but I struggled to get clean towels. However the most frustrating thing about this hotel was the poor internet connection.
We booked on a half board basis, which was definitely the right idea. The breakfast was really good and dinner was lovely lots of options. We had a lovely chef named Mercedes who was fantastic, she cooked everything to my taste.
Despite the negatives I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CharleneD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie C, Guest Relations at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mrs CharleneD85

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your reviews in tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your comments which are very important to us in order to improve day by day. As well as we will pass your special say to Mercedes at the restaurant, and like the rest of our staff they always try to do their best to achieve our customers satisfactions.

Looking forward to welcome you once more in the near future.

KInd regards,

Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After booking this holiday we were very excited in trying out this 5 star luxury delux hotel. It is far from Luxury!!!!

After checking in at reception we arrived at our room to a dirty unappetising hotel apartment. The whole place had not been cleaned well with dust and dirt everywhere. The fridge was covered with slime we had to report it to reception. There was even wasted matter on the toilet seat which is totally unacceptable for any hotel for that matter. Not very impressed for a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is very tired and needs some money spending on it. The pools are unusable as there was black sludge covering a wide area of the pool and you could not swim due to hygiene purposes.

We went half board with an added bonus of what the hotel calls the level very exclusive and really nice free drinks and snacks all day. The food breakfast, dinner is fantastic the entertainment is great too.

I cannot fault the staff who were very pleasant.

There set several aspects the hotel heeds to work on to make it a perfect 5 star experience.

We will not be returning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie C, Guest Relations at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr George S,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Meliá Salinas.
We do apologize if we could not meet your expectations.
We would like to say that we have taken note of your comments in order to check them with the departments involved.
Thank you once more for your review

Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Realtions Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this hotel, AMAZING FOOD...Loved. Great cocktails. Its best to go all inclusive to enjoy the full services of this amazing hotel. We upgraded our room upon arrival to the presidential suite on the LEVEL floor! best thing ever, Jacuzzi room, Jacuzzi balcony and private pool! Check this place out I would definetley go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamdollc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie C, Guest Relations at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs Glamdollc.

Let me thank you for taking your time to write so important review about your recent stay in Meliá Salinas Hotel.

Thank you again for your comments about our hotel, food and our service.
Looking forward to welcoming you once more in the near future.

Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from 3 weeks at Hotel Melia Salinas This is a beautiful and stylish Hotel in a perfect beach setting.ALL of the staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. Pacco on Reception and the Head Waiter in the Restaurant were especially good to me. I am an older lady who travels alone and so the staff are very important to me. The hotel is very clean and well managed. The food is always first class for freshness and variety with Chefs to cook your choice of fresh fish or meat on demand and a large selection of salads and hot dishes always available. I booked ALL INCLUSIVE which I strongly recommend as you can have as much to eat and drink as you require and it is all good quality.
I upgraded to a Master Suite on the 4th floor which was beautiful with spectacular views and a large private sun terrace with a Jacuzzi Bath/Shower both on the terrace and in the bathroom
I did view the standard rooms and they are all well equipped with lovely views. The Junior Suites are particularly spacious and attractive.
The entertainments Manager and his team are excellent and great fun with a selection of day time and evening activities on offer. The evening shows in the main bar area are the best I have seen. Particularly Noel and the Bollywood Dancers and the Flamenco/Ballet show
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in superb surroundings with every amenity in an excellent beach location within easy walking distance to town and shops look no further than Melia Salinas.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views. As always upgrade if you can but even the standard rooms on low...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie C, Guest Relations at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr lovesquality

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the melia salinas hotel with all the tripadvisor viewers.
it is nice to read reviews like yours. they will give us such a reward to all the efforts we do for our guests.
We will pass your nice comments to Paco from reception, our head waiter at the restaurant and our entertainments manager Ramón.
Thank you once more for your visit to The Melia Salinas Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Melia for one week, as a couple celebrating our wedding anniversary and informed the hotel by email prior to our arrival... On arrival, the receptionist seemed unaware but later we received a complimentary bottle of cava and chocolates which was a lovely gesture.
This hotel certainly is very beautiful and in the majority, does warrant it's 5 star rating. We loved the reception area and the central atrium, with the garden area with the waterfalls and planting and how all the rooms were centred above this area. The "frogs" sounds at night are soothing as we drifted off the sleep. Breakfast service was pleasant, never had to wait for coffee and plates were cleared quickly. However, we did notice a few strange breakfast items such a dishes of mixed vegetables and the sausages were odd looking, so we gave them a miss. Otherwise, everything was fresh and clean. To add on extra meals at the hotel is expensive if you opt to have breakfast only, as we did. Buffet lunch was €22 each or if you just fancied a bar snack, the menu choice was very poor.
There's a towel hut for fresh towels daily by the pool.. Now this pool is georgeous but was totally freezing, though a few brave souls did venture in the the afternoons briefly. Huge shame it's not heated. Lots of comfortable sun beds and shade around the pool which is big enough to have some personal space.
Now rooms with a split personality - We had paid for a sea view room and prior to booking, looked at photos on line... They looked fresh and modern so on arrival, imagine our bewilderment when we entered the room. If you stand with your back to the main door and look out to the balcony, yes the room is exactly like the lovely photos but turn the other way and what you see is old dark wooden wardrobes straight from the 1970s - remember louvred doors! They should be changed to white slide doors in keeping with the rest of the room. The bathroom was a major disappointment as it was small, dark and poky with the only very limited natural light from a tunnelled skylight. It's not a place you want to linger in and have a luxurious soak in the bathtub, because it's small, very narrow and tired. Sadly, I would say more like a 2/ 3 star self catering apartment. The tiles in the toilet area were discoloured and off putting (room 418).
The location is excellent, with a few bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets close by for your top up supplies and a nice 10-15 minute stroll along the beach promenade will take you to the "square" with all the nights entertainment and restaurants you need - taxis out of the hotel are plentiful - cost to the "square" was just €2.70.
In summary, I really wanted to fall in love with the melia and say I would return, (possibly, when it's completed) - however, a 5 star hotel should be just that... 5 star in every way and sadly the melias rooms/bathrooms were the biggest let down.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ppmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie C, Guest Relations Department at Melia Salinas - Adults recommended, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs Ppmaiden
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to celebrate your special wedding anniversary here with us.
We would like to say that we have taken note of your comments which are very important to us in order to improve day by day.
We would like to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Fabiola Fernandez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £121 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing