We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Successful family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Successful family holiday!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We decided to take our 4 kids ranging from 16 to 23 years for a weeks break to the Melia Salinas. Upon arrival we were whisked away by the lovely Barbara who checked us in. (We are Melia vacation members). Our rooms were super, very spacious and with fantastic views. The housekeeping staff do a good job of keeping them spotlessly clean. The buffet restaurant was nice and quiet which is the benefit of staying in an adult only hotel but the staff need to be more attentive and on some occasions there didn't seem to be enough of them. We would get our first drinks quite quickly and then struggle to catch anyone's eye for a refill! We had access to the Level pool which was lovely, nice and quiet with a great bar. The hotel is perfectly placed to stroll out and enjoy the town which my kids thought was great. Not sure about the entertainment quality, but the bar area is a very nice place to sit and enjoy a cocktail. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bugley600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    987
    456
    155
    90
See reviews for
447
2,019
123
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

On our arrival, the personal come up to us, before we really entered the lobby. We booked 3 rooms and all of it were very clean, very beautiful equipped and have a heavenly seascape.
The attractions are so diverse. Its for everybody, from fitness-center and spinning to aqua-gym.
All of it, its very funny and attended by very, very nice coaches.
Preferably, i want to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alessio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in Melia Salinas for a week 26/07 - 02/08/2014, for our first anniversary. Upon arrival, we were informed we had been given a room upgrade given the occasion. We were upgraded from a standard double to a master suite, very very generous! The hotel staff had kindly left dinner in our room as we missed it because of flight delays.

Our room upgrade included 2 flatscreen TVs, DVD player, music system, free safe, large kitchen and seating area, 2 balconies, one with sun loungers and the other with an outdoor jacuzzi, an indoor jacuzzi, an unbelievable sea view and massive bedroom with free WIFI.

Couldn't recommend highly enough, would definitely return in the future.

Food - excellent choice, chef's prepared steaks, burgers, kebabs on request at the dinner buffet. I would highly recommend the Wednesday night upgrade to table service in the private outdoor restaurant, extra 20 euros p/person but as much wine as you want! Pays for itself with the wine.

Pool - never seen such a big pool. Very relaxing, adults only so was quiet and peaceful.

Weather - constant breeze, made the heat bearable.

Staff - very friendly and helpful.

Hotel/entertainment - Very classy, entertainment each night from 9-11ish. Good variety of music.

Drink - Quite expensive in the hotel, around 6-8 Euros a drink. The beach bar was good at the back of the swimming pool, happy hour 6-7.

Activities - Free access to a gym, tennis courts, football pitch etc.

Great place to stay!

Kieran & Loretta

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After seeing many reviews stating how the hotel was 'no longer 5 star' we were quite worried after booking. However, the hotel is incredible! Can't understand the reviews that think otherwise!! The jungle in the middle of reception is beautiful and a treat to wake up too. Our rooms were also nice
and modern with a stunning sea view, we were over looking 'The Level' and honestly believe the normal pool is x100 better, the design is very beautiful with rocks surrounding the outside. Food is very very pleasing, fresh meat cooked in front of you! The location of the hotel is great in our opinion as you could easily access the beach and walk to the small square that is also very enjoyable to visit!
However! If you decide to go for a walk along the beach for an hour prepare to have your towels taken from your sunbeds by the hotel staff! We have never experienced this before and found it spoilt our last day.
We did have a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone, meeting very nice people throughout the holiday of different nationalities.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliviape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We upgraded on arrival as we had not been allocated a room with a sea view and high floor as requested through the UK travel company. The upgrade to a Master Suite was well worth it and excellent value. The hotel appears to be in the process of being upgraded and the initial faults with the suite that we reported were quickly rectified. The swimming pool at The Level was really enjoyable and gave everyone the opportunity to have really generous personal space and the benefit of free drinks and snacks. The main swimming pool was very eye catching but a facility we did not use. The food and entertainment was varied and suited all tastes. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Suites are large and have a sunny aspect. A/C very efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In need of a short break after a busy first half of the year I decided to take a single flight from Malaga to Lanzarote for a weeks rest. All the following comments were passed to the hotel prior to departure and also in the on-line questionnaire.
I had always wanted to stay at this hotel due to its history as a Cesar Manrique design and the beach front location and thought that as it was run by Melia and by choosing their "upgraded" product "The Level" it would meet my expectations. Sadly it didn´t and I came away from the hotel feeling that I could have spent my 2000 euros somewhere else as the quality of the accommodation does not match value or expectations and is indeed overall a rather "tired" property in need of some serious investment. In fact it may be true to say it probably only maintains its 5 star grading as it ticks the official boxes in regards to specifications from the Tourist Authority in regards to certain official amenities and facilities which are required by law.
The Level deluxe rooms, or at least the one we were allocated, had poor overall maintenance, in particular the bathrooms (cracked wash basin, old shower head, slats on the sliding doors dusty as were the wardrobe doors too. Rooms are painted in white so marks from squashed mosquitos and scuffs were easily noticeable. Positive side of the room is that it has a good size terrace with great sea views. Bathroom defects, including issues with courtesy amenities were reported. The Level also notes in its benefits a Nespresso Coffee machine...what they do not tell you in their pre arrival information is that once you have used the 4 capsules you have to pay 1 euro per additional capsule if you wish them replaced...hardly a benefit then for an upgraded product.
The Level also a lounge which is an area next to the private check-in area and it works like an Executive lounge in a Starwood or Hilton product in that snack, breakfast and courtesy drinks are available to Level" guests, that said the seating is not particularly comfortable. The Level does over a private pool area which is really the only plus point on paying the extra for "The Level" and the staff service levels by the Level pool were excellent during our stay, which did compensate slightly for the disappointing room quality. Soft drinks, water, house wines and cava and pastries are offered at no extra charge in this area and they also offer a short snack menu for lunch which is perfectly adequate.
We took half board and it must be noted that this hotel, as most in the Canaries, offers buffet only which for my personal taste is fine for a couple of nights but becomes monotonous for 7 nights! Service in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss in the evening and there were clearly some staff training issues in that new staff were not be adequately guided/trained in their duties. That said the staff we dealt with in general were very friendly and helpful in the bars and restaurants. Main Reception staff we found not to be very helpful (reasons explained in on-line questionnaire), but Daniel in the Level Concierge was great.
In conclusion, achieved what we wanted to do in that we had a good rest, but very disappointed with overall hotel quality as it did not meet expectations in regards to a superior quality product.

Room Tip: If you choose the level take some Nespresso Capsules !! Request high floor Do not take half board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel but we did upgrade to the level. This I think made the hotel special. Pool lovely (a little cold!) unlimited drinks and snacks (pastries etc) don't think I would have liked his hotel as much if we didn't go to the level.
Room was modern, apart from the brown wardrobes, would benefit the hotel to even pain these white to make them fit in more. Only problem with room is when we used all the shampoo etc was rarely replaced!
Food ok, breakfast good choice. We went half board but didn't eat in hotel every night. Show cooking was enjoyable, always found something to eat. If we didn't eat out would imagine getting bored of the food though (but that's maybe just me?!)
Location - not much around to be honest, if you walk further up there are nicer places to eat/ drink.
Enjoyed our stay overall but I do believe that is because we did go to 'the level' part of the hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carla12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,451 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,647 reviews
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Property: Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Melia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing