We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing luxurious holiday in a beautiful and interesting hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters wanted some sunshine and somewhere to relax in February. We chose Gran Melia Salinas Lanzarote and had a fantastic week. We booked two royal junior suites located on the top floor of this amazing hotel. The rooms were spacious with an enormous four poster bed, sitting area, dining area and a spacious en suite. The large patio windows opened up onto a lovely balcony with fantastic views over looking the sea. My husband and I were up early each morning to watch the sun rise from our balcony ...such a wonderful way to start the day. The food was excellent. We booked bed and breakfast as we thought we would go out to eat but stayed in the hotel every night and ate in the restaurante atlantida which was buffet service with a wide variety of hot and cold food.
We had access to the private pool with booking the royal suite. We would go there for fresh fruit, cakes , cheese and biscuits for lunch which was part of the royal service. You could have tea coffee beer lager soft drinks or as much champagne as you wanted.
The main pool was lovely too and so close to the beach for the girls.
We used the gym every night.....so as not to feel too guilty eating all the tasty food. The gym was well equipped and had a great view of the sea whilst exercising.
Everywhere you look around this hotel there is some interesting art work sculpture or plant. The entrance foyer is amazing with all the exotic plants .
The shops are a short walk across the road so we didn't have to venture far from the hotel.
With the hotel having an open foyer it was quite chilly in the evenings so take a jumper or cardigan for a night....but then it was february. Daytime temperatures were perfect for sitting out and sunbathing.
We will definately be booking this hotel again.
We will definateley be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliescottvantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 3,374 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

The hotel is interesting architecturally - very 70s, with lovely tropical garden atrium. Room was comfortable with good views, and quiet at night. Breakfast buffet excellent, but evening meals in restaurants too expensive for us - starting at 30 euros per head with no drinks. Pool bar was nice for lunch snack. Pool was lovely but water was freezing. Staff were pleasant and unobtrusive.

Costa Teguise resort is not good - modern featureless, Irish bars and fish and chips. However, we did find a nice Italian restaurant to eat our evening meals - Bacchus, along the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Like another recent reviewer we had planned to go to Eqypt. but had to change our plans at the last minute. The welcome was excellent and we had a beatiful sea view junior suite. This enabled us to use the Royal Service with a separate pool and with snacks and drinks available at the pool bar each day. The communal areas were well looked after and imaginatively designed.
The room was spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfasts and dinners had an unimaginable choice of excellent food, but the format becomes a bit dull after a while.
The shower was in the bath - a little old fashioned these days.
We ate at La Graciosa restaurant (in the hotel) but operated separately. It was Valentine's Day and there were about 5 occupied tables. The food was excellent, but when you have to wait 1 hour and 20 minutes for your starter to arrive, it means very disppointing service. The manager was completely unable to organise the food with the kitchen. However, if you have to wait too long, just leave and go and enjoy the buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We booked at short notice following cancellation of our trip to Egypt . Not knowing what to expect we were delighted with this beautiful hotel . Architectuarly it is a gem with its amazing tropical water garden at its heart . Each room has a balcony and lovely sea views across the landscaped grounds and pool area . The hotel is right on the beach with charming sandy bays within yards . The rooms were well appointed and the cleanliness was apparent everywhere . The restaurant was excellent with a vast array of food to meet all tastes . The staff were unobtrusive but very obliging even to giving us another room to use before our late afternoon departure . The island has some amazing scenery and places of interest with agencies nearby to book tours and visits . This amongst the best hotels we have stayed in and we have stayed in many . Not cheap but worth every euro . Entertainment was provided most evenings in the spacious bar area .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ART300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel is one of a kind. It's not a uniform guest factory, but a really individual piece of Spanish art and architectural history. The art collection, tropical gardens and pool designed by Lanzarote legend Cesar Manrique mark this hotel as truly unique. But what makes it a great stay is the service. The check in staff were great.... really welcoming and very accommodating. Our room was spotless, cool and stylish and even though other reviewers have commented on the need for a refurb, we felt that the attention to detail and old school style stood out. Big room, nice balcony, sea view, coffee service, whats not to love. The pool is fab, warm and masses of sunbeds in quiet corners. The bar staff were efficient, courteous and the breakfast service as comprehensive as any five star hotel. Overall, we will return.... a real treat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I have just enjoyed 11 days at The Gran Melia Salinas, on Lanzarote.
From the moment I arrived the staff had smiles and went out-of-their-way to be helpful and make my stay 'special'
My suite was absolute luxury, on the top floor with a whirl-pool on the terrace.
The buffet dinner each night was wonderful. Fantastic choice. Super Quality.
I met many couples who come out to this hotel every year. I understand why.
There is a large swimming pool area next to the beach, comfy sun-beds and room for everyone. The beach is not white sand but a lot better than I expected. Jogable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtic-ladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

From the minute we entered the hotel to check in we were shown where everthing was and given a map and events taken place and places to go. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Room and hotel was spotless even down to the mirrors in the lifts, shined every day. Pool was clean, loved the thick matress on sun loungers so comfortable and hotel right on the beach. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A bit expensive for food in the hotel but plenty of lovely restaurants to choose from in the resort.
Derek & Lucy (Ireland)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
14.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
22.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Salinas - Adults recommended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas - Adults recommended

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Melia Salinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £119 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas - Adults recommended 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-recommended hotel (min. 16 years) is surrounded by 2 white sandy beaches. Dive into the lagoon swimming pools or enjoy the lush gardens. Dine inside or out at your choice of 4 on-site restaurants. There is an evening bar and lounge, a pool bar and a beach bar. Other hotel facilities include a professional water sports centre, 3 floodlit tennis courts, beauty centre, and a wellness area with sauna and whirlpool.The hotel offers direct access to the beach. The property also offers The Level services in some rooms, including access to the exclusive The Level Pool, a private check-in area, rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu, and personalised concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Salinas - Adults recommended reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas - Adults Recommended Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing