We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from a 7 night AI stay at this lovely hotel. It is situated close to beach and shops. Hotel itself was amazing clean and very welcoming. We had a pleasant and very relaxing stay. Rooms at the hotel were fine, although we felt the air con could have been a bit more powerful in our room. The room was on the 1st floor, we did not have any noise from the evening entertainments, very quiet indeed. The room had a sea view, hotel has a private beach op. Beachwas clean but slightly rocky, there is another beach close by. Views were breathtaking. The only small gripe was that the hot water came out slightly yellow and we never felt really clean. The room also had a small fridge and safe was approx 3e per day. Maids cleaned our room daily. Lovely fresh white towels and bedding, an extra pillow if you wanted one. Beds were very comfy. Food was very fresh and plentiful but perhaps limited in choice. I would advise that if you are taking children then the food might not be best suited for them. The eating area was small but also has a outside area for you to eat and also every few days they had a lunchtime BBQ here. The food was very spanish style included lots of fish and salads, also melon and plenty of fruit is available. Fresh coffee and juice and even cava served for breakfast. Soups were amazing all freshly prepared. The drinks were of a good quality and didnt seem watered down at all. Self serve drinks from pool bar during day but had to queue to get beer or spirits. Evenings the main bar inside was very good and also served cocktails. Spinning bar - well didnt even need to have a drink to feel tipsy if you sat here for long. Very strange feeling and it also brought on a headache. Hotel staff were pleasant and friendly.Pool lovely and clean plenty of beds and other seating areas during the daytime and evenings, although very few ashtrays provided.There is a jacuzzi and sauna on site but I believe there is a small charge for this, also diving school on site, tennis courts and lessons but charges apply. You can also have a fish pedicure for 9.50e. We didnt see too many children here mainly older clientel perhaps this is why it was a bit quieter for time of year, there was also alot of spanish guests and a good mix of brits. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet and a relaxing holiday close to all things. if you get a bit bored with the hotel entertainment then Just outside the hotel entrance there is a pub op called La vida (Tues nights they do ska music) they also had a mods night playing The Who etc) also around the corner from there is an irish bar called The Shamrock, although a bit pricey we had a great time in these bars.
Trip to Fuerteventura via Last minute were worth every penny, we had a wonderful time. Booking company picks you up from outside hotel and drops you back. We paid 44e each for full day. We had already been to Lanzarote last year and would recommend trips to the volcanoes via this company, you can go to the market with them for 4e return. Love the resort of Costa Teguise we would like to come back again next year as we loved every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,501 - 2,507 of 3,341 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Like other reviews, when we stayed early Sept x 7days, the location is really excellent,corridors etc do rquire newer carpeting etc....rooms fresh enough but a bit dated
Remembering the hotel was opened in 1985...and been deservedly well used since I am sure
Restuarant, we were more than satisfied with...staff do work very hard (and in the main pretty cheerfully) turning around/clearing,new table covers etc...we never once had to wait...yes good plentifull food and service we felt..
The entertainment was not the greatest..but hey, it aint the Palladium..or BBC TV Variety shows...and as for a previous comment "that they do it for the staff "ie in Spanish sometimes,..cmon, there are/were Spanisgh guests also..which also tells you the Hotel is rated by them..
Yes refurbishment is needed...being done soon I heard...however for a good holiday in a good Hotel...(and we have been in a good few Hotels) you could do much worse...I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: All rooms do seem to have sea/ beach/pool views...a/c units were not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamonds1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

firstly - yes, it needs a bit of updating but this is purely cosmetic!
BRILLIANT HOTEL!
location, staff, food, entertainment, views!
my boyfriend + i (25 & 30) we stayed for 10 days, all iclusive, at the end of August. pulling up to the hotel in our coach was brilliant! the whole bus commenting on how spectacular it looked.....especially after seeing some of the drop-off's we had on the way in from the airport!!
walking into the foyer is breathtaking!
we had a wee wait for our room as we had an early flight but you are given your all inclusive band on arrival so we headed straight for the pool bar! dorada on tap, spanish spirits, cold sandwiches + pastries, ice cream, fizzy drinks all available here...with the latter available as help-yourself. pool bar open until 6.
we were given our key before 3 (which is standard check-in) and headed up to the 4th floor (room 440). the carpets do need replacing but honestly, if you're going on holiday to look at the carpets then you seriously need to find a hobby! the rooms are a good size, private balcony (all sea facing so dont pay extra for a sea view!), tv with usual spanish channels + english news, huge wardrobe + drawers, fridge, safe, air-con, etc. the rooms are cleaned every day and the maids do a fantastic job...definitely worth a wee tip at the end of your stay!! towels changed daily too, if needed.
the main buffet restaurant has a vast selection. during the week they hold bbq's on certain days at lunch with different meats, fish, etc. and at night they hold 3 speciality nights; spanish, italian and international. lots of differents choices and all kids around us seems pleased too! tip: try the breakfast scrambled eggs...looovely! champers with brekkie available too :)
the a la carte restaurant is open 3 nights per week. we ate here once. its a set menu, 5 courses and was beautiful!
the entertainment/animation team are definitely worth a mention here. they are on the go all day. you really couldnt complain about being bored as there is always something going on - however, it is not forced on you. if you dont want to take part, you dont need to! aquagym in the shallow pool @ 4pm is worth a visit - great laugh! the kids club seemed very popular too and the mini disco each night was entertaining to watch (though the same songs on repeat got a bit too much after hearing it 6/7 nights in a row haha!) the kids there seems to love it though!
at night, they have different shows on. the usual cheesy stuff but actually very good! my boyfriend was surprised that he actually enjoyed it himself! he even ended up on stage one night with the extreme jugglers.....the shame!
drinks are served until midnight and the revolving bar is quite a feature! try the cocktail of the day :)
the location couldnt be better - step right out on the street and eveything is there! i would recommend taking a walk around the seafront to the main beach, nice walk!
we only ate out one night and i have to say, i preferred the food in the hotel!
we went on the grand tour one day which is a full day tour up to the volcanoes and round the island, lunch included for 45euros (booked through customer travel who have a wee shop outside the hotel)
all in all, great holiday and the hotel + staff get all the credit!
*booked through travel republic.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view - request a higher floor :) all inclusive is definitely worth it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jmacdonald44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Goos points: stunning hotel, good quality food, kids activities, quality of drinks, cleanliness, pools, availability of sunbeds.
Bad points: entertainment shocking, 3 of our 7 night were hotel staff entertainment that we couldn't even understand-dreadful. Service at meal times - staff definitely over worked. Choice of food-especially for kids. Lack of food facilities being open- ie empty food tables where there should be more buffet out, meaning overcrowding at certain buffet tables, lack of so called restaurant being open, shabby carpets with plaster off the walls everywhere, miles from our room to the pool, walked corridor after corridor after corridor!!!
Nice holiday but wouldnt come again unless as cheap as the cheapo hols we have been on before and enjoyed more!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yoyoyoyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed two. Weeks ai and had an excellent holiday very impressive when you enter hotel but as others have said a little tired here and there .the hotel is in a superb location with all bedrooms having excellent views out to sea,the food was always well presented and had a wide choice from a international menu though it did get a little boring after two weeks we ate out several times for a change as there are some really good restraunts close by.the ai is good in the hotel and they serve drinks and sandwiches at the pool bar the ai finishes when the bar closes at twelve,all the staff are pleasant and friendly, both pools are salt water and cold.the evening entertainment is varied some was very good and some mediocre though we did not see all the acts.we think this is a good clean well run hotel and we would stay here again.costa teguise is a nice pleasant resort with no yobs wandering the sreets

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank les w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is fantastic
From the moment you walk in ,the reception area is gorgeous & the staff very helpfull
Hotel very clean & comfy beds
The view from your bedroom is just out of this world
Will be back ,just loved everything about this hotel
Very near shops beach etc

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank GILL6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A good hotel with nice communal areas; the bar rotates (thought I had too much to drink before I realised it was moving and not me!). The restaurant provided an extensive selection of hot and cold foods with some excellent salads. As a pescatarian who does not eat dairy or carbs I did find I was a little restricted on some days but as the salads were plentiful and the fish choices were great most of the time I was happy. The hotel runs a BBQ service every other lunchtime which was very tasty. Lovely fresh fish off the grill - delicious!
Two good sized pools - one shallow/one deep plus a kiddies pool. The pool management were strict on the 'reserve a sunbed' fraternity which was very welcome as there were some incredibly selfish people who pegged sunbeds early then didn't appear till around 4pm - when they could have had their pick of beds. I was happy to see towels being removed from unoccupied beds - makes a change from some places I have stayed at. The rule was before 9am you can only reserve a bed IF you are actually sitting there - or the pool manager took towels of empty beds and released those sunbeds to others coming down to the poolside. After 9am anyone can reserve a sunbed - it just stopped certain folks putting their towels out uber early then not appearing till late!
Entertainment at the hotel was quite fun. The animation team (especially Yara!) worked hard to get people involved in the various activities. Some of the shows were a little cheesy but still quite entertaining!
The down sides of this hotel? The whole place needs a little updating and tidying up. The corridors down to the bed rooms were a bit bashed about and there were some horrible 'stains' on the carpets! Not sure what had landed there but whatever it was it was foul looking! Also the cockroach community put in an appearance in the corridors and in some bedrooms so I heard. I only saw dead ones in the corridor (small brown jobbies!) which I reported to the reception who despatched a man with a toxic mix to exterminate the scurrying beasts. The bedroom my daughter and I shared was OK. The decor and furniture a little 'tired' and dated (do people still have bamboo furniture for sale?) but the room was clean and the cleaning team came in every day.
Overall I have rated the hotel break for the five of us in the group staying there for a week all-inclusive as very good as I think this reflects the total experience.

Room Tip: Aim HIGH! Floors 4 or 5 are best and go for the rooms that overlook the pool rather than those on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gemma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,729 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,260 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £93 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing