We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room - in need of re-furbishing, particularly bathroom which had peeling paint and black mould on tile grouting. Air conditioning not very effective.

Dining Room - very limited choice, though what was offered was generally good. Staff generally indifferent.

Entertainment Lounge - not enough roaming waiters...people took to queueing at the bar which you should not have to do in a four star hotel.

Pool Area - lot of cracked tiles. But good pools and plenty of sunbeds.

Room Tip: We had room 142 on same floor as reception, overlooking the pool. But immediately above entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    1,205
    468
    152
    72
See reviews for
772
1,594
101
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff work hard to keep place running well.food very good something for everyone but not for the normal meat pie and chips type the English food abroad people you best stay home lol.pool bit cold at times salt water I think.great little beach on edge of hotel fish love bread just watch them feed.sea views from every room except ours tree in the way the lobby area was brill .outside BBQ was the best ever had just loved the place .

Room Tip: Don't choose or get giving room 143 only room without view but a tree .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

arrived late at night but reception were very good, we were traveling as one couple and one single,[sister in law] could not get rooms close together but we were offered a family room for me and the wife and a room over looking the pool for the single.the rooms were both very good plenty of space in ours,we mentiond that we had been twice this year and next morning we both had carva and fruit in our rooms [nice thought] Again the staff were all very good and as always the food was good but could be hotter!.The down side-- Wifi slow, and the serve yourself wine and beer taken away,pitty about this, But we will be going back next year once or twice. Go on try it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popssafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A lovely weeks holiday from 17th -24th October. Room on top floor with superb views. Wonderful weather. Food very good. Service good and friendly staff. Rooms clean and bed linen and towels changed often. Shops open until late and plenty of choices of bars. Market square lively on market nights and Teguise market a place to behold. Would love to go back again for longer. Our second visit.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views and I do not like heights!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

where to start, stayed here on the 22nd - 29th oct 2013. check in was very quick and friendly plenty of lifts ,great views over reception, stayed in room 404 and the view from the balcony was the best we ever had. over looking the sea and pool and from the bedroom door at the volcanos, yes need referb, but how long do you really spend in there,pillows are not the best,and bed very hard, food and drink was very good, try the cocktails , BUT NOT TO MANY, entertement was not up to much but there are plenty to do outside, tegusie market was good but if you have been to oasis park ,fuerteventura, dont go to texas racho really poor, animals not very happy looking , shows nowhere as good no camel rides etc. back to hotel, staff worked very hard compliments to the chefs,and cleaners.

Room Tip: higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for a week 22nd to 29th of October 13, rooms desperately need updating but kept clean so not really a problem.Food generally ok with plenty of choice We thought service was very good and with so many people staying at the hotel sometimes you had to be patient but some people were not.Great location for bars, shops etc and a lovely beach you could access through hotel gate.I just wish hotels would be sensible about about extra charges ie: Wi Fi, safe and others, all inclusive should mean what it says. All in all not bad, we would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here end from 24-28 October 2013. Arrived before 3 but was checked in with a lot of help from management I must say as we had lost our printout of voucher. Was encouraged to go for lunch however room was not ready until almost 16:00 and we had had a very long day.

Rooms definitely need refurbishment and bathrooms also. Initial room was on first far away in the corner with a very dark hallway and had a horrible stench (128 I believe) we tried airing out the room and stayed the night there but woke the next day colds and blocked noses so complained. Initially housekeeping simply sent someone to spray the place, which was a joke, however once we complained again we were swiftly moved.

Good points
-location several shops and bars within walking distance....near beach...can sleep to sound of waves...amazing. Not far to bus stop for bus to puerto del carmen 2.90 euros although it is a 45min ride.

-food is average in taste but a fair bit of variety so everyone should find something they like. I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast

-Seems they have a good variety of drinks, although judging by the hangovers I had after just a few,the expensive drinks may just be for display.

-Staff are pleasant and helpful, especially in dining area

Bad points

- maintenance is very poor, I would actually describe the place as grubby, bar chairs need replacing (this shouldn't be too hard to do), bathrooms need renovating, tiles are chipped and walls stained with dirt, sheets had holes and were stained.

-Rooms are not cleaned very well and if you make the mistake of looking around carefully this could ruin your stay

-No internet in rooms, except at an expensive rate

I won't go in too much...... And sadly despite a good location I would not return to this hotel unless major renovation takes place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Property: Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing