We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
munlochy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“first time at this hotel.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed for one week mid Nov first time at this hotel having visited Lanzarote approx 5 times in the last 5 years. First impressions of the hotel are lovely but I have to say I was a little disappointed with our room No 260. Cracked tiles in bathroom and balcony area and the room in general looked very worn and in need of a refurb and was quite off putting. Having said that the overall impression of the hotel, pool side. atmosphere etc was great and had a really relaxing feel to it. We only took breakfast but it was pleasing and hot with plenty to choose from. I would love to return here but the room really has put me off. If they get round to upgrading the rooms would definately return if not sadly wouldn't want to stay in the rooms again as they are.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view, I have heard that the rooms on upper floors ie 4,5 and 6 are better than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    1,252
    487
    156
    78
See reviews for
809
1,665
107
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

At the end of November I with my friend stayed at the Grand Teguise Playa hotel. High quiality service, big variety of food made my vacaition one of the best in my life. Room was well organised and always very clean. Animation team has made the biggest impact on a good time spent at your hotel. Yara, David, Betty and Michela were amazing animators, who never give us time for becoming bored. It was a great holiday, which I would like to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We don't normally go to the same place twice, however as it was early December and we wanted good weather we plumped for Lanzarote again. We stayed for the first week in Playa Blanca and the final three nights in Costa Tequise at the same hotel we stayed at three years ago. We were pleasantly surprised when our superior room was upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost because of an availability issue. We found the staff helpful and pleasant to deal with and even recognised quite a few from our last visit.

Pros:- Cracking location right on the beach. Hotel has good facilities and the bar/entertainment area in the atrium is very impressive. Rooms were quiet and all have nice views from floor three upwards.

Cons:- The hotel is looking a bit sad and our room 602 was clean and spacious, with two balconies. However the cracked tiles in the bathroom and the general wear and tear mean that it really needs “doing up”. Shame because the hotel has a nice family feel about it despite its large size.

Would go back if I knew the place was being redecorated, because its location and the resort in general are really nice.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor from three upwars to ensure a clear view out into the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fetlar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I never thought I would have the need to write this review as it is not something I ever do. However I feel I really must make people aware of aspects of this hotel(some serious) which differ somewhat from other recent reviews I have read.
We arrived home on 9th Dec from a 2 week visit. Over the years we have stayed at this hotel on many occasions( this was our 3rd visit in the last 12months). We knew from our last few stays that the rooms were becoming tired but we accepted this as they were always kept clean by the hardworking, pleasant housekeeping staff.The bathrooms are particularly shabby though....cracked baths, stained washbasins etc) a lot of times it is the "luck of the draw" as to the room you are allocated.
The first impression as you enter the hotel is very pleasing and the majority of effort put into any superficial improvements are unfortunately directed to the public areas, not on the guests bedrooms. This hotel is definitely no longer worthy of it's 4star rating.
We have witnessed a noticeable reduction in staff numbers since this hotel was taken over by the "Be Live" hotel group. The management is weak and ineffective in many aspects. The "No Smoking" areas outside are openly flaunted by selfish guests and the pleasant seating areas were constantly abused by people leaving damp clothing and towels over the furniture in order to "reserve" their favourite spot, when they wished to go off and do other things. What chance do guests who are considerate to others have? The manager of the hotel, Ms Diaz, seemed unwilling to enforce rules which were in place but ignored by certain clients even though these things were brought to her attention.
The same weak management was evident in the restaurant as there was never anyone in charge of ensuring the smooth running of the dining experience. The waiters worked hard and, in the main, were pleasant.The food was bland and uninteresting but most importantly the hot food was often lukewarm and the replacement of empty serving trays on the buffet was slow, resulting in guests having to wait for fresh food to be brought out from the kitchen(often this was lukewarm giving the impression it had been standing around rather than kept hot).
This brings me to the most serious part of my review........We went "all inclusive" and ate no other food elsewhere throughout the holiday. We did not go on any excursions or to local restaurants therefore when I developed an "upset stomach" 2 days before the end of the holiday I knew it could only have been the result of something I had eaten at the hotel.
Suffice it to say that I was very glad to be returning home and was optimistic that things would settle down once back home. Unfortunately my condition worsened and following tests arranged by my G.P I was diagnosed with SALMONELLA!!!
Needless to say I am extremely upset by this and we shall never ever return to this hotel again. I urge anyone thinking of booking to think again if they don't want to return from holiday with more than a tan!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yvonne398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose to spend another wedding anniversary at the Grand Teguise Playa and were not disappointed. Our pre-arrival request for an upper 5th/6th floor room had been met and entering the room found a complimentary bottle of Cava. The hotel has been given a little face lift since our visit 12 months ago and appears brighter and fresh because of this. Similarly the promonade has been repaved and is is a very pleasant walk. The hotel public seating areas are all no smoking, although some people seem unable to recognize this, which helps a great deal. Meals are buffet which may not be to everyone's choice but the food is well prepared and kept at a good temperature during service. It can be a little predictable, but there is always 4 to 5 choices of main. The hotels best assests, the views and the staff.
We enjoyed another great break in this lovely resort and delightful hotel.
Be back next year for our 17th Anniversary.

Room Tip: Always go for 5th or 6th floor rooms. A little extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

action . all with in walking distance . so lets start .
room neat tidy clean beds comfortable but its was a bit shabby but hey hoe you cant have every thing just needs a bit of tlc . its a bath shower and it can be hard to get in and out and it has those power water saving shower heads on the shower . plenty of hangers and a safe 20 euros for 12 days average . air con if you want it all have a sea view all in all not bad at all .
food , needs an up date whilst the quality was not bad it was very bland and also very repetitive waitresses in the restaurant are very good in deed .
bars are run well and the booze is good , entertainment hit and miss for me the pro acts not bad some very good the animation team try their best but to be fair they were poor .
the beach is on your doorstep and is a delight especially when the fishes swim around the legs
all in all i really enjoyed my self and would go again i will still go all inclusive as its great value for money but i would eat out more

Room Tip: rooms away from the atrium are quite , ask for fresh orange juice or you get the machine muck , ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent a week at this Hotel, arrived back 5/12/13 . My first impressions were, wow. front of Hotel looked superb. The reception area was also good. Reception staff were just doing their job, no smiles, just got you away to see to another.. We were given the key and had to find the way to our room. Room 109. The Bathroom was not good. Basin cracked, mould under soap dish, mould down the side of tiles, and for the whole seven days a strong smell of urine. The food however was first class. Waiters and waitresses again, just doing there job,no smiles.
The pancake, eggs chef was superb, always singing. Entertainment, almost non existant. darts, table tennis etc. Evening entertainment same, from 9.45 until 10.30. Some eveninings to embarassing to watch, apart from our last night 3 singers who were superb. The town had plenty of bars, shops etc and there was a market there for a couple of occassions in the square. Restaurants very expensive.
If anyone decides to book this hotel, do not get confused with the Be Live Lanzarote, the sister hotel, which is over a mile away. I made this mistake and apparently it happens every week. This hotel should not be a 4 star, because of the dated bedrooms. But all in all it was worth what we paid.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor for the best view. All bedrooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiec00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
9.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Property: Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing