We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How nice to just relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Myself and friends are all celebrating significant birthdays this year and decided that a break in Lanzarote and in particular Costa Teguise would be the place to go and we were not disappointed.
The hotel Be Live Grand Playa Teguise is all inclusive and it was my first experience of all inclusiveness (if that's the correct phrase) I must admit I found it a pleasant experience not having to carry cash around with me all the time.

On to the hotel, as you can imagine it's big, very big, 6 floors, although they are all are very accessible (lots of lifts). The room I was in had a balcony as do all I believe and the view was just lovely.

The rooms are most definitely in need of a refresh though and In particular the bathrooms. The bath is round which I kind of liked, but was quite old looking and a tad stained with age although not dirty. The shower could be replaced too. It has to be said whilst both the bath and the shower were older and in need of an upgrade they worked well and the water had the best temperature control mechanism I've ever used, correct temperature immediately (I didn't spend ten mins trying to get it right, what a joy).
There were rather a lot of broken tiles around the bath and the whole lot needed replacing really. The chambermaids do a great job with what they have.
There was a broken wall hair dryer that was replaced on the first day,

In keeping with the time of year it was rather chilly in the evenings and one thin blanket on the bed was not sufficient as well as only one pillow, they were quick to give you more when asked though.
The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful although sometimes not as knowledgeable of local attractions as you would have thought ( I found that quite odd really but not problematic)
The food areas are vast as you can imagine and again clean and ordered with nice waiting staff. The food is inoffensive and hearty. There is a wide variety of choice catering mainly for European taste (particularly German & English) whilst not being set alight by the choice I never went hungry and never felt cheated by the choices of food I had already paid for.
One down side is there was no tea and coffee after breakfast service, not good for a tea total English women...... Ah well!!!

They need to look at there evening entertainment a little more it was all a bit mediocre and in some cases quite bad..

Pools good and clean, sports facilities a little tired but usable, spa, not so good, they need to sort out the plaster that is coming off the wall near the sauna-steam room, not pleasant

Overall though a lovely experience, I would go again and I would also recommend it as long as the management sort out a good refresh which it needs now, I appreciate in a hotel this size that would take quite along time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,161 - 2,167 of 3,413 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is one of the oldest hotels on the island and its beginning it show its age. Badly needs updating, its supposed to be 4 stars, but doesn't even have sky television. If you want to watch any T.V. sports, you have to leave the hotel and go find it in one of the many bars outside.
The food is very good here, but the dining-room was a shambles when we were there. Needs someone with organisational skills to sort it out. The same in the bar, people got fed up waiting to be served by waiters, and went to the bar themselves sometimes there were twelve people queuing to get served.
Really all it needs is dragging into the 21st century. Not quite ready for todays traveller and of course cheap tourism.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, which is its best feature. So you will get a sea view at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went to this hotel for Christmas there were seven family members with ages ranging from seven years to seventy and I have to say we all came home with very large smiles on our faces. I never thought I'd have such a great time on an all-inclusive package deal, we normal do a very different style of holiday, but this has been by far the most relaxing fun time we have had in years. The hotel is amazingly situated, and the staff did everything to make our holiday relaxing and fun from the reception staff, waiters and the wonderful bar staff, everyone was just lovely to be around for this special time of the year. There was something for everyone in our party and I did not see my seven year old much as he was having so much fun with the entertainment/animation staff all the time I had to drag him away to eat. He loved the children's mini-disco also in the evening, he wanted to bring David home with us. David Espinosa is a member of the amazing entertainment/animation team and from the first day we met him he put his heart and soul into our family having an amazing time, he could change the atmosphere wherever he went to people smiling and having fun. He has a very natural talent for entertaining and making everyone feel special and included, we all loved him and we felt that he was part of our family by the time we left! My son still misses him now, and we are looking to book again soon as our holiday was so good!! He also gave my husband a great game of squash so that was very handy for me to get some sun!

Room Tip: if you want a very quiet room make sure you get one to the side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

An absolutely fabulous holiday! We enjoyed every moment of it, from when we arrived to when we left. The location of the hotel was incredible, with the beach just seconds away, making a morning swim easy. The staff became a massive part of our trip and really made it special. The restaurant staff were very kind and friendly and the bar staff were just incredible. The entertainment team were the highlight of the trip, Yara, Betty and David made such an effort, and we always looked forward to seeing them. Especially David, who was fantastic with the kids and my 6 year old cousin adored him. The buffet had a huge selection, and there was always something for everyone. The drinks were amazing too - especially the cocktails! We are already planning to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageres at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week all inclusive the second week of January. Four of us in all. Stayed on the third floor which has amazing views over the pools and the sea. The food was very good. A wide selection for all tastes. The entertainment is good. The staff are very friendly. I can't fault it at all really. Ok the rooms are basic but all we did was sleep in them! Plenty of activities to do - FREE! Scuba diving, archery, mini golf, rifle shooting etc. there is a bar outside the hotel to the left which did reggae and ska nights..that was brilliant!! We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageres at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We decided to have a family Christmas in the sun and couldn't have made a better choice of hotel and location. Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. The Entertainment team of Yara, Bettie and David were great fun and worked very hard every night - the children's activities were delightful to watch. David was absolutely brilliant as Santa on Christmas Day and he's a fantastic personality and showman - his Boney M performance will never be forgotten!!. The Christmas Eve buffet was amazing and we wished we had stayed for New Year's Eve too. Generally, we were all very happy with the quality of the all inclusive buffets and drinks. We absolutely loved the suken bar area with it's revolving floor!! The location next to Jabillo Beach is superb and were able to swim in the sea most days. The hotel rooms could do with a bit of tlc but if you want a great place to relax, have fun in a pretty central location, then this is the place. Would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but the higher floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueAG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

another fantastic time,
restaurant staff unbelievable and food up there with the best for 4****.
bar staff very good, joe could smile more and be more attentive.
reception excellent but 1 member snapped nastily when asked about bath mat.
animation team work very hard, day and night..please let adults have there music and time in the evening its all/inc and after a few drinks adults will dance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10rockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTeguise, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear guest,
We have the pleasure of presenting you the improvements completed at our hotel.
• Better Wi-Fi service
• New Carpets on the corridors and “Alisios Bar”
• 2 Tennis courts
• Children Playground
• Children Pool
• Adults Pool ( now 27º)
• Gym area and new machines with TV
• New Pool Bar and Chill out Area
• New Reception furniture
• New Pool terrace furniture
• New Lobby Bar furniture and Lobby Bar renovation
• Restaurant floor and decoration renovation
• Renovated rooms on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor.
We will continue working on the improvements of our facilities and guest satisfaction.
I’m taking the opportunity to let you know that it would be an honor to see you soon again in our hotel and to know once more your personal opinion.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,291 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
9.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing