We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 2nd home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“my 2nd home”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

been 3 times since December, lotsa visits before that.
must say laura did help me with additional little things.
restaurant staff amazing, like the food. my room was attended to with pride
bar staff very attentive..Rachel the trainee was always asking people who queued for drinks, to take there seats, and she would take drinks to there tables.
very relaxing and restfull holiday all round for me see you all soon
ALAN ROCKET

Room Tip: higher the floor the better, but people have there own opinion just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10rockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Mangager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Alan for your comment, it was nice you mention my name. In fact we are many at this party working hard to make our guest´s holidays memorable.
We will try to keep improving so that we can surprise you when you come back a little more.
Sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    1,237
    484
    154
    78
See reviews for
796
1,648
106
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited this hotel last week for 7 nights. Check-in very smooth and speedy. Arrived at 8.30 p.m. so just had time to drop off cases in the room and go for dinner which finishes at 9.30 p.m.

The hotel is situated adjacent to the beach with a gate directly onto the promenade. To gain access to the hotel via this gate you need to use your key card. Opposite the main entrance there are numerous bars, restaurants, gift shops, duty free shops, a Spar and a pharmacy. The small beach is lovely. The sea is very safe for swimming as a reef has been built so the swimming area is like a lagoon.

Room - as mentioned in previous reviews the rooms (or some of them and certainly the one we we were allocated on the 2nd floor) need updating, especially the bathroom. We had a lovely large balcony with a gorgeous sea view, twin beds, TV which I don't think had many English speaking channels (only turned it on once), good wardrobe and drawer space, safe which cost just over 15 euros for the week. The bathroom was well equipped but old. There was mildew between the tiling and the bath. Despite this the room and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean by the hardworking household staff. The towels were nice as was the bedding. We had a room overlooking the tennis courts which was nice and quiet.

The restaurant service was good and we never had a problem getting a table at any time although the hotel was I think at best about half full. Good choice at breakfast, all the usual staff even hot green beans! I have seen criticisms in other reviews about the food but you have to remember that the hotel has to cater for other nationalities including Germans, French, Polish and Russians. We thought the food was good, well presented and in the main hot where required. Service in the restaurant was excellent. At breakfast there is a chef who cooks pancakes, eggs, omelettes and toasties. At lunch every other day there is a BBQ as well as a buffet inside. At dinner there is show cooking each night which includes usually a carvery. Some nights there are themed menus including Mexican, Spanish and Chinese.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis which we found to be very good value for money. Drinks and snacks available at the pool bar from 10.30 to 6.00 p.m. Good service and area kept very tidy. Would be nice though if people could be bothered to put their plastic glasses in the bins provided and not just leave them to blow off the tables. Pools and sunbathing areas kept very clean and tidy. One pool slightly warmer than the other. Programme of day time activites throughout the day and the animation team did come round inviting people to join in. Pool towels available for a refundable deposit of 10 euros each.

The lounge is very comfortable and the entertainment mixed. The bar service is excellent. You can either wait in a queue or ask a waiter for your drink. Bar closes at midnight.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. OK it does need updating in places and we understand that this is being done on a work in progress basis but I do feel that the criticisms made about this hotel are sometimes unfair. There are a few cracks in the tiles round and about the pool and the rooms certainly need improving but this did NOT spoil our holiday. We always try to look at the positives whilst away and not the negatives.

Don't be put off by negative points you may read about.

Room Tip: Don't choose a promo room - no balcony only a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AndreaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear AndreaMerseyside,
You are a great promoter of our hotel. I´m certain your extended comment will help other reader´s to make themselves a right idea of what our hotel is. Thank you for giving so an extended and balanced opinion.
We hope you come back soon for enjoy the relaxing experience that Be Live Grand Teguise Playa offers to its guests. The best choice for a have a break and disconnect from the stress of daily routine. We will be waiting for you.
Best Regards
Laura Díaz – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We returned last night from a long week end Friday - Monday. Having booked on line through Alpha rooms we took a cab from the airport to the hotel €20 arriving about midday. Check in was very smooth and our room was ready. We booked a standard room and were advised after contacting the hotel beforehand that we could upgrade for an extra cost per night we decided against this and were very pleased. Our room 146 had great views, was cleaned daily and had comfortable beds, yes the decor is a little tired and the room could do with a refurb but we didn’t spend a lot of time in there, only to sleep and get ready so it suited us. We were just above the atrium, so could hear the evening entertainment, this didn’t bother us as we had our own music on while getting ready and the bar closes at midnight (not a second later as we found out one evening).
There is free wifi if you sit in reception, we paid to use the hotels wifi (€15 per device for our stay) and this worked well in our room and by the pool.
The pools are lovely and clean and the areas around are also kept very clean, there was no rush for sunbeds in the morning although people do have their favourite spot and beds are reserved. We hired pool towels at reception (€10 deposit) these can be exchanged at the dive centre as often as you want.
The sandy beach is just beyond the pool, through a gate, very nice but small and not very deep water so good for children. There was another one further along the promenade that is bigger but this one was fine for us.
There is a squash court and a basic gym in a converted squash court – not big, but enough to have a little workout – also empty every time I went passed. There is a also a sauna.
The hotel is very nice with a strange design feature in the bar (the area around the bar rotates) I’m guessing when the hotel was built it was thought to be cool and unique; I’ve certainly not seen this before and I’m sure Del Boy would have loved it!!
The food catered mainly for Germans and Eastern Europeans. Breakfast you could get fried, boiled or scrambled eggs, the bacon etc was very greasy, there were cold meats and cheese, toast, cereal and fruit etc, cakes and churros (yes doughnuts at breakfast). Lunch was not great, there always seemed to be a BBQ outside along with the dishes inside but all the meat was very fatty, battered broccoli, over cooked pasta and a lot of fish, again all very greasy. The salads were not very good; they looked great but were soggy and salty; in fact everything had too much salt added to it. The same could be said for the evening food. Although I managed to find something palatable most days, even if it was just chips and a roll, I would not recommend the food and especially not if you had children. The best meal was on Sunday evening, they did an oriental theme, a huge platter of smoked salmon, another of sushi and hot food was spring rolls and noodles, all very good.
The staff were a huge disappointment however, we found the reception and bar staff very rude, miserable and not at all friendly, with the exception of Rachel (pool bar) and Kimmi (reception) who were both very polite and friendly, also the chambermaids we found to be very nice too. Unfortunately the rest of staff ignored us until they were ready to talk to us, walked off to answer the phone in the middle of talking to us or generally made us feel that they were doing us a huge favour when we asked for a drink! Have they ever heard of customer service or smiling? The animation team tried very hard during the day to get people involved in darts, salsa dance lesions, shuffle board etc but did not pester you if you were not interested and were friendly enough.
This resort is not for young people who want to go out and party, the hotel is mainly full of pensioners. We came for a few days of sun and to relax so it was fine for us. The resort is very small but there are a few bars in the square, Thanks to a lovely Welsh couple we met for this tip, go to Chispers it's by far the cheapest, with international branded drinks!

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade your room, we booked a standard twin and got 146 with great views. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Louise J,
We appreciate both: your criticism as well as the positive you mentioned.
Regarding the first one we will take this as an opportunity to improve, but let me point that there are some of your impressions we disagree with:
We don´t cater for any special nationalities, instead of that we increase variety, that’s what buffet are for: every one could select the food at his like, and the resort is not for any special age, we have something for everyone on the program of day and evening activities for all ages : sport, music , thematic presentations and shows from children to adults. It is only up to you to find your place and to choose the activities you like the most.
In addition, the Hotel Be Live Grand Teguise Playa is located at El Jablillo beach , with a 3 km long beach promenade, which offers access to fantastic beaches of Costa Teguise. Surfing, kite surfing , sailing, water skiing, jet skiing with a glide through the Atlantic Ocean or introductory courses in diving you can enjoy the outdoors .
The hotel is in the proximity of restaurants and bars that run late at night, and in the center of the island from where you can rent a car at very cheap prices and visit the main atractions of the Island : The Mountain of Fire , The Timanfaya Park, Jardin de Cactus , Green cave and the Jameos Cave , Mirador Rio , the Green Puddle , the Gulf , etc.
Weather, location, and a world of possibilities are at disposal of those who wants to see the good side of it.
We will be very pleased if you visit again the fantastic Lanzarote island and in particular our hotel.
Laura Díaz – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Used to go here a few years ago then it changed to all inclusive so stopped going but this year we found out you can get b/b so went again grand hotel very convenient to everything breakfast good room okay does need a bit updating but service very good

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager / Subdirector at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sue B,
Thank you very much for your comments, my team of Be Live Grand Teguise Playa appreciates it very much. I’m happy you remark that you like our breakfast the most.
I must say i agree with you. To wake up in the morning, to listen ant to look the sea from balconies our hotel, and to have a nutritious and substantial breakfast, make the day begin as in heaven.
This thought make us to strive to make a positive and memorable experiences for our clients.
Best Regards
Laura Díaz – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we have just spent 3wks at this wonderful hotel where all the staff,from are lovely maid(room 304) to the very hard working hotel mangeress, couldn't do enough for you,to make our holiday special,food excellent &again manager,&staff were top notch,hotel position had a lovely beach right in frount,position couldn't be better,rooms a little tired,but all had great sea views, cant wait to return for our next holiday also entertainment was very professional,

Room Tip: all have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager / Subdirector at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Angela w
Thank you for trust on the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa. for your holidays
All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests the best holiday experience they ever had, and comments like yours are the proof that we’re doing good job and that’s what make us happy. We will be waiting for you and your family with open arms, for another great stay in Lanzarote.
Laura Díaz – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from a two week break this is the sixth time we have been to this hotel. I cannot say enough about this hotel it's in a prime location overlooking the sea with a small bay with beach in front lovely promenade to walk either way. Staff are all excellent cannot do enough for u plenty of activitys going on for all ages, great professional entertainment on the evening much better than last year as the entertainment team used to do a numer of spots but not this year.Food we were AI and it superb such a choice always a carvery on offer and themed evenings with food from different country's.I felt I had to let people know this is a great hotel. ok the bedrooms need updating which I understand is going to happen but they are clean beds were good and the bed linen lively and white. No complaints we will be back again shortly

Room Tip: Don't pay for a sea view they all have them there is a lovely gym with all the equipment free to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Stephen M,
Thanks for your extensive and intensive review!, this encourages us to keep trying to improve and give our best to our customers.
The best memories from the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa staff.
Looking forward your return.
Laura Díaz – Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I recently went for a week away with my father who's in his 70's and my 3 year old daughter. We were given a ground floor room with triple beds which was ideal. The pools were an ok temp and my daughter loved them. Only gripe would be large quantity of people without children sitting round the childrens pool and some if them smoking. Think it would be wise for a no smoking policy around children's pool. Food ws great and varied. Entertainment was good. My daughter especially loved the circus act who even got her up on stage. The entertainment team were good and even invited my daughter to mini club which she loved. People are correct that the furnishings are a little dated but they are perfectly ok. Access to beach by key card locked back gate so you can use your room key. Overall great holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
8 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, General Manager at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Peter N
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the community of TripAdvisor. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and were satisfied with the hotel and its facilities. I am very sure that your review will help other travellers a lot to get to know the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa.
I´m especially pleased your little girl enjoyed pool, animation and shows. thank you for your feedback about non-smoking rules, be sure your comments had arrived to the right place,
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa.
Laura Díaz González – Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Property: Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing