We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews here before booking, we knew to expect some dated decor and that wasn't really an issue. The hotel is very well kept, clean and tidy.
Our room was a decent size and even on the first floor we had a great view across the 3 pools and to the beautiful beach and cove.
I have to echo another review about the shower being awful. We used a pin to unblock some of the blocked water jets which made it a bit better, but with a dodgy shower head it was like a pressure hose on sunburnt skin!
The entertainment was very loud and could be clearly heard in the rooms even with both doors closed, however we were rarely in bed before midnight so this wasn't too much of a problem.
I read some reviews here about rude staff, but we found everyone very helpful and friendly, from the waiters to the cleaners and bar staff. The bar staff coped very well under pressure and always greeted you with a friendly "hola". The waiter knew our drink order before the end of the week and always had it prepared at our table for each meal.
The food was lovely, great selection and variety; always something for everyone and we loved the themed nights. The outside grills were good too, but not always the fastest and queues built up quickly.
I also was surprised one night to see people having to queue up to enter the restaurant as there isn't enough tables for all the guests in one sitting.
I was a bit apprehensive of the salt water swimming pools, but they were great as the salt made it very easy to float and relax in the water.
Plenty of sun loungers, but not many moveable umbrellas to provide any shade, and many of the loungers weren't easily capable of adjusting their position.
It was nice to have a fridge in the room, but the electrics only worked when the room key was in the slot, so you couldn't really leave anything on when you were out of the room, and when in the room plug points were needed for hair driers, charging phones etc.
I was disappointed there was no bottled water, but it was easy enough to take drinks up to our room from the bar.
Cocktail nights were great! But the other cocktails from the machine tasted powder like and weren't the nicest.
The activities were good fun and well attended, however some of the animation team didn't always seem as enthusiastic to promote them as I've seen elsewhere. If you didnt know where to go at the right time you'd probably miss out. Many people turned up late to join in each day because of this.
Overall, a lovely holiday in a lovely resort. I would definitely go to this hotel again, but hope the planned upgrades are completed before our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
We want to thanks you for your review about your holidays at Be Live Grand Teguise Playa! As I always say... your opinion is our best way to improve!.
On behalf of the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa I would like to thank you for your nice opinion and for giving us your ideas. The experience of our customers and their needs are our best help to improve; therefore we take good note of your comments hoping to satisfy you even more the next time.
Once again, thank you and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit to Lanzarote.
Regards
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,905 of 3,294 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

stopped here 5th -19th june.third time weve been here and 7th overall in costa teguise. hotel has been done up and is nice place to stop,food fine repeated every week,room cleaned every day by lovely lady called rosario very well.staff are very good and helpful.
downside was we booked last year and asked for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor but we got a room on ground floor furthest away with no view and noisy neighbours.other people got late deals and better rooms so will never book early again.also a lot more younger people coming in 3 and 4 in the morning very loudly, so its just pot luck where you are put.also the dress code went out the window,and people wore whatever they wanted to in the resteraunt.
costa teguise is now catering for younger people bars open a lot later than they used to be, and people trying to get you to drink in there bars,which never used to happen.enjoyed drinking at the paradise bar with bob and anne from manchester, a lovely couple, and elvis and adele behind the bar.
if you need the public clinic for to see doctor ,it now has been moved to behind the barcelo apartments. you will need passport and e111 card, very good here and saw doctor within 30 mins. script cost 3 euros.
weather was fantastic and hope it remains that way for the future,there was no sunbeds on the beach as the company who supply them havent paid their taxes on something.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachmanTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,,
On behalf of the Be Live Grand Teguise Playa I would like to thank you for your opinion and for giving us your ideas. The experience of our customers and their needs are our best help to improve; therefore we take good note of your comments hoping to satisfy you more the next time.
Hoping to welcome you again in Belive Grand Teguise Playa.
Yours sincerely,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First of all please disregard the previous negative review stating that there was no free bottled water for all inclusive customers, bottled water was available from the main indoor bar and also cups from the dispensing machine situated at the pool bar and to suggest that the dining room area was shabby is ludicrous, it was always kept very clean and tidy with a wide variety of food, chicken, fish, veal, beef etc, most we found of good quality as well as salads and meals to cater for vegetarians, yes the rooms maybe a little dated but the maids worked really hard to keep them comfortable and clean and that was more than acceptable to us, many of the rooms are currently being modernised and i believe are scheduled to be completed later in the year, as for being disturbed by the noise from the entertainment, most of the shows were over by 10.30 or 10.45pm at the latest, the only bit of noise we encountered was from a small group of people one night mainly drunk hanging out around the pool area but they were soon moved on by the night watchman, this was around midnight, honestly i can't believe how some people nit pick over the smallest of issues, if you like to go to bed at 9pm or if you don't like entertainment then go somewhere quiet, just do your research, simple as, we stayed in room 216 which was not quite overlooking the pool but still had a good sea view nevertheless, on our first night we noticed that the sink tap in our bathroom was squirting out water on one side and was making a mess so i reported it to reception on our way out for a few drinks, when we came back a few hours later it had been promply fixed so no complaints, we particularly took a liking to one of the bar staff, Tomas, a happy chap who was always laughing and joking with the customers which i guess must be hard at times as they all work long hours and maybe for not a lot of money, the animation team also made the effort to keep the guests entertained with games such as killer pool and french bowls although we didn't take part in them all, another recent review commented about the fish swimming in the water around the bar area and the many types of plants including the ones hanging down from the ceiling seemed to give the hotel a very welcoming feeling, just take a look at the photo's and most of the other reviews for the hotel then make up your own mind, we travelled as a party of two couples and paid £680 each for 10 nights all inclusive which we thought was worth every penny so to sum up we all had an enjoyable stay at this hotel, clean, comfortable with mostly polite staff, what more could you want for a holiday?

Room Tip: Ask for one of the highest rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Nigel,
It is a pleasure to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us. Our animation team will be thrilled to hear that you fully enjoyed our activities. We truly appreciate your comment of our hotel being a remarkable place, as our team continuously works towards maintaining and improving our standards.

Again, thank you for this great recommendation and we hope you come back again to us in Lanzarote.
With warmest regards,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you think about going to this hotel please don't hesitate and book it. Don't listen to negative reviews. I wasn't sure about going to this hotel but I'm glad I did and I had a great time from 9th to 16th of June 2014.
This hotel has got everything you need for a relaxing and happy holiday. Food is very good, plenty of choice at each meal and very tasty (when I had a spaghetti back in England I fully appreciated food I had in this hotel). All inclusive drinks are great too, they are very generous with alcohol. Hotel is in great location at the sea, there is a beach in front of it and it's also close to shops, restaurants in town. If you want any excursions there is office 5 mins walk away from the hotel run by English guy. I recommend La Graciosa trip as it's a full day and it includes catamaran sail in open ocean and around small islands. I had a great time on this trip with the food on the boat and the drinks. Hotel staff is very hard working especially in the evenings when there are people queuing to get drinks but it was never longer than 2 mins. They all speak good level of English.
Rooms are a bit outdated but who needs 50" TV on holiday? You mostly sleep and change in it and rooms and whole hotel are kept very clean all the time.
People who complain about anything in this hotel must be some lords or other aristocracy. For normal people this is a great place to stay. I've also met very nice people during my stay and evenings were always fun. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed on 2nd floor but I think higher floors have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dariusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Mangeress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Be Live Grand Teguise Playa I would like to thank you for your very friendly review on TripAdvisor. As the satisfaction of our guests is most important to us, it is a real pleasure to find out that you really enjoyed your stay.
We truly hope to welcome you back on a future occasion and remain, until then, with our best wishes.
With sunny regards from Lanzarote,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Mangeress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Be Live. First of all after checking in we were told that the rooms would not be ready until 3pm, we checked in at twelve so we had three hours waiting but we were able to get food and drinks and there is lots of places to sit and relax. I have to say though that I have never had to wait for a room in any other hotel I have stayed in. The room we had was modern clean and very spacious a lovely bathroom and large balcony with a great view. The rest of the hotel was modern and very clean with lots of different areas to sit or sunbathe there were loads of sunbeds but you had to get up early if you wanted one. The restaurant was great the food was lovely with lots of choice and the staff were very efficient there was always a free table even when it was really busy. The bar service was one of the best I have had with a fast friendly service especially on a night in the main bar. I have to mention Chello who was really lovely and the lady at the pool bar whose name I have forgot. The animation staff and photographer were all great in fact it was one of the most friendliest hotels I have stayed in. There are alot of different nationalities and we spoke to a few different people from French to Latvian. The small beach outside the hotel is great and if you want a larger beach there is one twenty minutes walk away or a bus ride into Arrecife or Puerto del Carmen were the beaches are amazing. And I have to mention a lovely couple we met who were not from Luton you know who you are lol. So all in all a fantastic hotel and a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: We were in 146 overlooking the pool and sunbathing area it was quiet even when the entertainment was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear friend and guest,
It has been a pleasure to read your review. That our guests leave happy gives us energy to keep working.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got back from a 10 night holiday in the Belive Grand Teguise Playa in Costa Teguise, Lanzerote.First of all a lot of the comments about the hotel needing updating are true, but everything is clean, which for me is the main thing. The hotel is perfectly locate right on the beach in the center of Teguise its very impressive when entering the reception area, looking over the balcony to the bar area, with its large pond and plants. Vines hang down from every floor and the pond is stocked with fish including one big Koi carp and a large terrapin. The outside area is quite large with two free form salt water pools and a childrens splash pool,there are plenty of sun beds although these are looking a bit grubby. Access to the beach is through a gate which you need your room card to get back through. At the beach there is a man made cove which is great for snorkeling, lots of fish of various sizes. The choice of food varied from day to day and was of a pretty good quality, as they say there was always something everyone liked.The entertainment was very good when they brought in outside professional acts ,Two in particular stand out , the three Tenors and the four piece band, they were excellent. The rooms are quite big with good size balcony and superb views over the pools and sea, I would say that 85% of the rooms have sea views. Bar closes at midnight, drinks are not too bad, depends on what you like, baileys, gin, amarretto and wines are good others are quite weak. Overall a very enjoyable holiday and would return again if the price was right

Room Tip: Higher floors with sea views are better, we were on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honestpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for having chosen to stay at Be Live Grand Teguise Playa **** and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you spent a great holiday and enjoyed our facilities and our food. The fact that you were impressed by our hotel from the moment you entered makes us very happy, as the satisfaction of our guests and the creation of lasting memories are our greatest concerns. Again, thank you for this wonderful review and we would be pleased to welcome you back for a return visit to Lanzarote.
Sunny regards from Lanzarote,
Laura Diaz - Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On arrival receptionist was less than helpful ,went to the outside pool bar after a long and sweaty journey to be told no bottle water even when all inclusive,great views from level 5 sea view but rooms very out dated and tatty never a 4star.noise at night in your room from the entertainment was ridicules ,food hall very shabby 1toaster for approx 600 people very frustrating putting bread in a toaster 4 times to get toasted bread.the food was greasy very limited same most days,we ate out 4 days and nights which is poor when you have paid for all inclusive ,I have eaten better food in weatherspoons on a bad day.would return to the area but never the hotel,some bar staff and cleaners work there socks off and there was 2 nice receptionists .

Room Tip: My wife and I have just returned from a all inclusive week ,what a joke you had to pay for bottled w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeguiseGM, Deputy Manageress at Hotel Grand Teguise Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,
I take note of all the comments that can help us to improve and here some facts that more than qualifications could make our future guest decide.
- Water dispensers and ice are available at several points.
- At Restaurant it is more than one toaster, there is one on a frontal side, and another on the back side that may be you haven´t seen.
- Regarding eaten, we respect your tastes, but it cope with the taste of much of our guest´s ex. variety of our main course in our 14 days menu alternate between meat ( pork, chicken, veal, lamb, turkey, duck, etc ) and fish ( tuna, sword fish, bass, sardelen, sole, shellfish, etc ) , varied cook or raw vegetables, potatoes, pasta, rice, cold and warm soups, cheese, pizza, and our homemade pastry and fruits. Every two days we have a tema night: Oriental, Spanish, Mexican, Canarian, Italian. And at lunch time tree times a week we open Barbeue with freshly grilled fish and meat. Breakfast is our top with showcooking for omelets, fried eggs, pankaques and sandwiches, homemade marmelades, cava, pastries, sausages, beans, bacon, scrammble eggs, fried vegetables, spanish churros,etc, etc,
Nevertheless thank you for mentioning the effort of some of our staff, although the hotel didn´t ticks all your boxes.
Regards,
Laura Diaz – Deputy Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
1.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,231 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Teguise Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Address: Avda. del Jablillo, s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £98 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Teguise Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Teguise Playa Hotel is a hotel resort in Costa Teguise. Located in El Jablillo's coastline, this beach hotel is specially designed for couples and families with children who want to spend magical under excellent weather conditions at the Canary Islands. Common areas and Superior rooms have been recently renovated in order to offer to its guests more confort and quality during their stay. Rooms with balcony or terrace and spectacular sea views. For those who loves to play golf, The Be Live Experience Grand Teguise Playa Hotel holds agreements with the two existing golf courts in Lanzarote: the Lanzarote Golf and the Costa Teguise Golf. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Teguise Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Costa
Occidental Teguise Playa
Occidental Grand Teguise Playa Hotel
Occidental Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing