We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews i was dreading the hoilday. Me and my partner in our late 20s came to blue sea costa teguise gardens for a relaxed holiday without kids. Arrived at 10 in morning but already knew our check in time was 4pm. Got to reception where we got our a.i wrist band straight away and got showed where a bag drop area was with secure lockers and was €1. Got told to come back to reception at 2pm for check in. Came back before 2pm and reception staff were very helpful our room was ready and we got out keys. Went for lunch in restraunt food was average but edible. Hotel was clean no insects in room we had fridge freezer, 2 electric hobs and microwave in room also. Went down for dinner and same again average food a few different choices. Maids were at room every second day to clean and with fresh towels. Entertainment was average bingo, Spanish dancers, karaoke. We spent a lot of time in the square at centre were all pubs and restraunts were really cheap with lovely food. No complaints about hotel done what it had to and for the price we had paid (£255pp for full package flights and transfers) was really worth it. If you come expecting 4* u will be in for a shock you get what you pay for with hotel 3* standard holiday but it is what you make of it. Costa teguise is a quiet more relaxed hoilday for older couples not really much for families or partying u can get bus for €4 to porta del Carmen which is much more appropriate if you are want to come to party. Overall 7/10 food could be better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

As much as the company keep saying its advertised as a three star....its not....its advertised as a four star otherwise people would not keep on mentioning how it is misleading so that needs to change for a start....the hotel itself was generally clean and tidy...no cockroaches in the room like people have said and not dirty in the slightest...the pool was cleaned every evening and towels changed every other day....the only big thing that really annoyed me and my partner was how rude the front desk staff are.....especially GLORIA....how that girl hasnt been slapped or sacked i will never know!!! She is darn right awful....the other girls are also very rude too...its like they havent got the time of day for anyone...my answer to that is "if u dont like your job ...change it" instead of making people feel lile crap when they are on "their" holidays...that they have probably waited for all year and are in a great mood until they are greeted by the reception staff!! People like us are what keeps u in your job....try a smile now and again...u will findit helps!!! I will never go to that hotel again and its simply ONLY because of the reception staff...which is a shame really as it woyld be pretty good for money if they could only try and be nice...we stayed 10 days and they were like that everyday so before the company reply to this dont try telling me they where having a "bad day" its just not acceptable....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from a week at this awful place!!! went with my friend, when we arrived were told the room wasn't ready - Spanish 'pensioner' guests were sent straight t their rooms!!! after 2 hours we were told we had to wait a further 5 mins - returned after 15 mins to be told it still wasn't ready!!! when eventually got a room it was disgusting and asked to be moved - Gloria on reception was rude and nasty but did move us to not a much better room!!!!, the complex looks like a prison, the place is old and tired looking, the towels were thin and stained and only changed every other day!!! food was repetitive and disgusting, drinks served in plastic cups because we were all incl. pool bar shuts at 6pm sharp, no entertainment round pool, sunbeds are chained up until 10am and the majority of them are broken!!! place full of Spanish pensioners who got priority treatment!!! Staff were rude and arrogant especially Gloria on reception!!! couldn't wait to go home!!!! I could go on but just Stay away it's dreadful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just got back from a week in "hell".

Ok where do I start: On arrival at 1.30pm - no room ready, although the Spaniards were bing shown straight to their rooms. I kept asking GLORIA when the room would be ready she kept brushing me off saying she didn't know. 3 hours later we were shown to our room?! a DOUBLE be for 2 women, the patio door was broken. I complained to be again treated like something that crawled out from under her shoe, we were given a another room not much better - still a double bed.

Food- vile, cold the same every day, no vegie options, nothing labelled so one day the cheeses salad had bits of ham in it! Flies in he red wine. Orange at breakfast was non existence and was often broken. ended up eating out.

Drinks- Vile served in plastic cups blew away in wind.

Staff - overworked and surley

The whole place is tired, old and dirty, sunbeds broken, they don't "open" the pool till 10am! It feels and looks like a prison, the staff are afraid of helping you or going out of their way to help. I actually blame the higher management which I will be emailing shortly and On The beach asking for a refund! I could go on but I really am so tired and drained by the experience I can't! Just don't go there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yeatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guests,

We appreciate your review and comments regarding your stay at our complex, and we apologise for any inconvenience. Nonetheless we would like to clarify that rooms are not given to a certain nationality first, it just depends on the fact that the room is ready or not, and rooms are not ready at the same time simultaneously.

Many thanks again and best wishes.

Customer's Relations Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just back from our stay and happy to report for a week self catering for £500 we are more than happy, yeah yeah gotta hire some bits and pieces but they gotta make a few quid back some how ! The receptionist - was fantastic and very helpful, plenty to do in the resort and the local buses no.3 behind the blue bay run every 20 minutes and its only 3 euro to Porta Del Carmen, The Costa Teguise resort is def better than Porta Del Cramen - the shops in teguise are nicer and the restaurants also.....yes there are the usual souvenir shops but also nicer (normal) ones as well, plenty of British if you feel the need ;-/ themed places but also lots of nicer and better class restaurants - like the The Lighthouse.......the path walk along the beach fronts is great - hire a bike and go for a cycle on the pathed front....great resort - good enough hotel....ignore the bad press - you get what you paid for people

Room Tip: The cleaners come every other day and not at set times - so often caught us while we were in - you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

me and my husband have just returned from here this morning and the appartments are basic but nice we only went for a week bed and breakfast £450 for them and flights last minute deal spot on and the cleaners came three times while we were there the only down side was you have to rent a kettle toaster and hair dryer if you do not take your own I don't know why some people say they are dirty because they are not and the surroundings are wonderful especially the four poster bed and settee area over near the bottom pool which overlooks the sea what more could you want and even if you do go self catering there are plenty of places close by to eat slow boat Chinese excellent value for money and a fantastic day and night in the highlander pub just threw the square from Maggie and monty from bradford

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a lovely week in Costa Tiguese at the Blue Sea Gardens. Lucky to have 7 days of sun. As written before me ....slightly apprehensive of the reviews but i must say a pleasant surprise. We went with our 3 teenage boys, We had a large apartment (No 304) with 2 double rooms, 2 large patios with sea and mountain/resort views (nice one). Every thing was clean and tidy on arrival. We booked self catering as we planned to cook breakfast and then go out all day (you can buy into a breakfast package/dinner package for about 4.50/8Euro at the resort). Cooking facilities are limited but manageable. We did not try the food but the feedback was that they catered for everyone's needs.You will need to hire a safe and kettle (no big deal). Drinks are served in plastic glasses.... it didn't put us of a cool beer in the sun but glass would have been nice. Looking at previous reviews some people feel they have been let down, it is true to say it is a borderline 3 star but to be fair the staff were very helpful. When we needed anything from towels to toilet rolls and extra chair and cutlery ...on asking...we got it immediately....no problem. Don't expect a daily turn down service or daily maid service but they will help if they can.

There is a nice pool for the family. There are tennis courts and daily/evening activities available although i must say we did not engage purely because we were out most of the day but others said they had enjoyed themselves.

For us it was a good location at the back of the town giving us chance to explore with the boys but i would state that it is a good 15 minute walk into the main strip not a suitable distance for anyone with a disability or young family but be assured that they have a good cheap taxi service of 3-4 euro from town and local link bus out side the door.

If you are looking for fun things to do we adventured and rated the following -
Enjoyed many restaurants on the main strip (Calle las Olas) and live music and market in the square (mon/wed/fri eve).
The small turquoise blue bay in Costa Teguise - clear waters, fish in abundance & snorkeling.
4x4 off road trip for the day inc-camel rides, tapas, wine tasting and beautiful beaches.
Aqua park - 400m up the road, a great day out for the boys, there is loads to do for all ages. (dont take any notice of the reviews it great) Need loads of sun cream....limited shade.
Puerto Del Carman - parascending, beach (loads of water sports)
Puerto Calero - The Yellow Submarine a great afternoon (get them to collect you - online booking option). This is a beautiful tranquil small marina i wish we had time to stay there longer.
Public transport has local links for Costa Tiguese and main routes to other towns - easy to use.
Have fun.

Room Tip: 304 - 2 x Double/twin. 2 large patio with dual aspect, sea and resort views. If you have a disabil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank McDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are very glad to know, dear guests, that you had an enjoyable holiday. We thank you for your comments and your long, descriptive review.

Kindest regards.

Customer's Relations Manager for Lanzarote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
#37 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,809 reviews
11.7 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#79 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,164 reviews
1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens

Address: Avenida del Golf s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Oasis Timanfaya Golf Apartments)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southeast of the island of Tenerife, in the Callao Salvaje residential area, the complex offers a mixture of nature, relax and a holiday atmosphere. At the main restaurant you can enjoy a varied buffet or an extensive menu depending on the season. The restaurant is located around our three central swimming pools. We also have another pool with a solarium, isolated from the common areas of the complex, for guests who prefer to enjoy the sun in a more private setting. The apartments are fully equipped with all kinds of kitchenware for those who want to take culinary matters into their own hands. A deposit of 60€ will have to be paid on arrival, and will be returned on departure. The complex is not recommended for persons with reduced mobility (PRM). Pets up to 6 kg are allowed. A deposit of €30 will be charged on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens Hotel Costa Teguise
Oasis Timanfaya Hotel Apartments
Oasis Timanfaya Costa Teguise
Timanfaya Golf Apartments
Globalia Timanfaya Golf
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing